PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Jackie O's was O'Hooley's Pub and Brewery - Athens, OH
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
August 23, 2014 @ 04:44 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > OH > Athens > Jackie O's was O'Hooley's Pub and Brewery
Jackie O's was O'Hooley's Pub and Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Jackie O's was O'Hooley's Pub and Brewery
Overall: Great    Score: 74.5 / 100
24 West Union Street
Athens, OH 45701
United States
(740) 594-BREW
Listed Since: August 1998
Last Updated: July 2007
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Athens, OH
Beer Guide for Ohio

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
12 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(2 within 5 miles)
1) Casa Nueva Restaurant, Cantina and Bodega
(0 mile)

2) Skipper's Bar and Grille
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Bookhaven Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) AMERIHOST INN ATHENS
2) DAYS INN ATHENS
3) OHIO UNIVERSITY INN CONF CTR
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Athens B & O Train Depot
2) Athens State Hospital Cow Barn
3) Beasley Building
4) Clester, Joseph, House
5) Herrold, Thomas Jefferson, House and Store
6) Manasseh Cutler Hall, Ohio University
7) Mount Zion Baptist Church
8) Sheltering Arms Hospital
9) White's-Vale Mill
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) A Pizza Express
2) Albert's Cafe & Confections
3) Arby's
4) Avalanche Pizza
5) Bagel Street Deli
6) Benny's
7) Bescoe's Handy Carry Out
8) Big Mamma's Burritos LLC
9) Blue Gator
10) Bob Evans Farms Restaurant
11) Brenen's Coffee Cafe
12) Buffalo Wings & Rings
13) Burger King
14) Burger King
15) Burrito Buggy
16) Bw-3 Grill & Bar
17) C C's Pizza
18) C I
19) Captain D's Seafood
20) Casa Cantina
21) Casa Lopez
22) Casa Nueva
23) Cat's Eye Saloon
24) China Fortune Restaurant
25) China Garden
26) Cluck Cluck
27) Cold Stone Creamery
28) Columbus Road Deli LLC
29) Court Side Pizza
30) Court St Management
31) Court Street Diner
32) Cutler's Restaurant
33) D P Dough
34) Damon's
35) Deli
36) Domino's Pizza
37) Donkey Coffee & Espresso
38) Evolution
39) Famous Daves Corp
40) Gold Star Chili
41) Good Fella's Pizza
42) Goodfella's Pizza
43) Grand China Buffet
44) Great Steak & Fry
45) Happy KOBE
46) Hardee's
47) Hungry Howie's Pizza & Subs
48) Jimmy John's
49) Kfc
50) Lam's Garden
51) Long John Silver's
52) Lucky's Sports Tavern
53) Lui Lui Restaurant
54) Mama Einstein's Nightclub
55) Maplewood Inn & Drive Thru
56) Maplewood Inn & Drive Thru
57) Mc Donald's
58) Mc Donald's
59) Mistretta's Italian Market
60) My Favorite Muffin
61) O'Betty's Red Hot
62) Oak Room
63) Ohio University Inn
64) Papa John's Pizza
65) Pigskin Sports Bar & Grill
66) Pizza Hut
67) Pizza Hut
68) Ponderosa Steakhouse
69) Pub
70) Purple Chop Stix
71) Rax Restaurant
72) Redbud Cafe Ltd
73) Seven Sauces
74) Skipper's Bar & Grill
75) Stephen's
76) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
77) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
78) Taco Bell
79) Taco John's
80) Tefco
81) Tlg Restaurants Ltd
82) Tomatillos
83) Toscanos Italiano
84) Union Grill
85) Union Street Cafe
86) W G Grinders
87) Wendy's
88) Wendy's
89) Wendy's
90) World's Best Bagels
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Great
It has been too long since this place had a review. Guess College Towns don't get no love...or maybe just locals patron the place. Regardless, a great find. Up from NC for a conference @ OU. This place is serious about the beer. Monday night football is on but only if you really want to see it on the 19inch tv in the middle of the bar area. Love football but love good beer better. Band is setting up so I'm settling in with a 4 beer flight and small pizza. "Firefy Amber" is very good. "OPA," the "signature beer" is an excellent IPA type pale, well hopped with a fresh rye twist. In fact, the thing that can be said about all the beers, and food, is that it is fresh, including the spent grain crust pizza. Did I say fresh? The "Spiced Apple Ale," made from local apples (did I say fresh) is an autumn beer the way they should be made. I don't care for all the pumpkin brewsand that is what you mostly get in NC. THE END OF THE FIRST FLIGHT IS THE Mystic Man IPA. A step up from tHE OPA with a stronger hop aroma. Almost cask-like. They've got 3 other house brews and 12 guest taps but you'll just have to stop in and check them out yourself. Band is starting and Tennessee is up 7 on Jacksonville.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig C. Brookins Craig C. Brookins, Raleigh, NC
(10/18/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Granted being a proud OU alum, I'm biased. Love Athens, love my alma mater and this place was my local bar (then called O'Hooley's) '95-'99.

Back in the day, O'Hooley's had a great variety of beers brewed on site. I read some of the not so rave reviews of the quality of beers not being so great back then and perhaps it'd be better if there was a more "beer savy student body". Looks like the reviewer unfortunately understands neither beer nor spelling tricky words like savvy. ;-)

That said, I loved the Raspberry Wheat they used to have, the Pale was nice and Spinning Hippy would put you right on your a$$ with a smile. Not to mention the $1 pint power hour on Monday nights from 7 - 8 was the demise of many a well-intentioned night of studying. However, I still got in & out in 4 with a decent GPA, thank you very much. LOL

So I had high nostalgic standards to fill and the new ownership and new name, Jackie O's, did not disappoint. My mom and I stopped in and had a couple pints, great service and an overall great time! My first introduction was actually through wonderful nearby restaurant Casa Nueva. We had lunch and beers in the bodega (part of Casa). And, my beer of choice was Jackie O's Pawpaw Wheat. This beer was RIDICULOUSLY good! It also let me maintain a time-honored Athenian tradition of enjoying pawpaws. The hippies' will chase you out of the town w/torches if you don't have them at some point during your stay. Just kiddin'. Well, mostly.

Then we wandered over to Jackie O's proper where I enjoyed their Porter w/heavy coffee notes and another that I think was called Burnin Hill Ale. This was a smoky, smoky red. Almost bizzare how smoky it was, but would have no doubt been outstanding w/a nice side of ribs. All in all, a great local joint. Has been for quite some time & good to see it still is. Even got to take a growler of Pawpaw Wheat back to my hometown of Yellow Springs for my buddies' Summer Solstice party. Was a great addtion to a great party. Thanks, Jackie O's! Hope you all kick a$$ @ Ohio Brew Week!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sommer Sommer, Denver, CO
(07/13/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Last went here in July 97. Then went in 4th of July, 2006. The guy next to me said the new owners brought the brewing equipment up to snuff and they are now brewing beer again after a couple years of it being dormant! They had an "Ohio Pale Ale" which was light bodied and pretty hoppy (up my alley!). Similiar to Sierra Nevada. They had an Amber and Golden in the process. When we entered about a dozen folks watching the Italy vs. Germany World Cup semi final on flat screen HD TV. Most were rooting for Italy. I was for Germany, it being the homeland a few generations ago and all. Made for very fun atmosphere. A lot of excellent microbrews available in bottle, less so on tap. Bagels were the only food, so we passed since we were looking for something more substantial. Looks like they have a stage for music, so mostly a bar for drinkin' and jammin'. Nothing wrong with that.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Alan Gerth Alan Gerth, Lafayette, IN
(07/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A So So N/A Good Good
Stopped in early May and asked the bartender what their current brews were. He said they didn't brew their own. The fermenting tanks in the front window showed signs of disuse, so they may indeed have shut down the brew operations. Their only drafts offered were a variety of domestic megaswill and Guiness. This club is a popular spot with the OU crowd, featured live bands when we stopped in.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dr. John Dr. John, Greeley, CO
(05/22/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A N/A
Stoped by on a Saturday afternoon before they were opened. The brewmaster invited us in for a beer and the porter was wonderful!! If they only had food we would have stayed longer and sampled more beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Terrigirl Terrigirl, Jewett, OH
(02/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A Good So So
On a late September visit, only three house beers were available at O’Hooley’s, along with Guinness and a modest selection of mostly larger brewer brands in bottles. The Golden Ale was more flavorful than a mainstream lager, but is no doubt targeted at that crowd. The Scottish Ale had a nice reddish-brown color and a malt presence expected for the style. The Ohio Pale Ale, which I have sampled previously, is aimed at the hopheads, with an IBU rating of 87. Live music is found here many evenings. For beer variety and overall quality, this is not the best choice in Athens.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(10/01/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
An interesting array of seasonal styles - try the Scotch Ale.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Matt O'Sickey, Terre Haute, In
(06/01/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
By far one of my favs in the Athens area. A constant rotation of new and classic brews keeps me coming back. Not to mention the great bands and dollar pints during power hour.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Patrick, Oxford, OH
(03/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good N/A Good So So
I keep on expecting them to improve, unfortunately they don't. They tried serving a barley wine style that was sugary sweet this visit(not malty... but sugary like coffee after adding 20 packets of sugar to a cup). It's a real shame that they can't make decent beer here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from G. Michael Yingling G. Michael Yingling, Canonsburg, PA
(12/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Good Good
It has the best beer in town. Unfortunately, that's because almost everywhere else has only macro-swill. Every once in a while they'll make a decent beer, but often their attempts aren't worth having more than once. They either need a new brewer or a more beer savy student body to demand better.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from G. Michael Yingling G. Michael Yingling, Canonsburg, PA
(08/05/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Awesome! Good
Although the variety of the beer is fairly good, the overall quality is definitely lacking. The irish stout is flavorful, as is the seasonal barleywine. However, the pale ale and other standard beers are inconsistent in their flavor and hoppiness. Perhaps this will disappear with more time and experience. Either way, I would still recommend O'Hooley's as a required stop when visiting Athens, as it is the ONLY local brewhouse and houses quite a unique atmosphere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Steve, Athens, OH
(07/11/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great
Brewing is a recent addition to one of Ohio University's more popular bars. Beer loving alumni who have not been around in a while should check out all of the 6-8 beers on tap and the fresh draft root beer and cider. O'Hooley's has filled a niche that has been missing in Athens for quite some time.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J.B. Hoy J.B. Hoy, Athens, OH
(08/14/1998)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.249 seconds) 04:44:59 54.237.18.51, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS