PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Barley's Smokehouse and Brewpub - Columbus, OH
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 29, 2014 @ 04:27 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > OH > Columbus > Barley's Smokehouse and Brewpub
Barley's Smokehouse and Brewpub Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Barley's Smokehouse and Brewpub
Overall: Great    Score: 77.5 / 100
1130 Dublin Road
Columbus, OH 43215
United States
(614) 485-0227
Listed Since: September 1998
Last Updated: May 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Columbus, OH
Beer Guide for Ohio

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Barley's Smokehouse and Brewpub
41 Reviews / 2 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(17 within 5 miles)
1) Columbus Brewing Company
(0 mile)

2) Mac's
(0 mile)

3) Char-Bar
(0 mile)

4) Claddagh Irish Pub
(0 mile)

5) Saint James Tavern
(0 mile)

6) Betty's Fine FoodandSpirits
(0 mile)

7) O'Shaughnessy's Public House
(0 mile)

8) Barley's Brewing Company
(0 mile)

9) Flatiron Bar and Diner
(0 mile)

10) Gordon Biersch Brewery Restaurant
(0 mile)

11) Claddagh Irish Pub
(0 mile)

12) Mellow Mushroom
(0 mile)

13) BJ's Restaurant and Brewhouse
(0 mile)

14) Surly Girl Saloon
(2 miles)

15) Mad Mex
(2 miles)

16) Schmidt's Sausage Haus
(2 miles)

17) Flaherty's Thirsty Ear Tavern
(3 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) 50 Lincoln Inn
2) Harrison House Bed & Breakfast
3) Henderson House B & B
4) Lansing St Bed & Breakfast
5) Schopf House Bed & Breakfast
6) Victorian Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) AMERISUITES WORTHINGTON
2) BEST VALUE INN COLUMBUS
3) BW CLARMONT INN AND SUITES
4) COLUMBUS AIRPORT MARRIOTT
5) COLUMBUS COUNTRY SUITES
6) COLUMBUS MARRIOTT NORTH
7) COURTYARD COLUMBUS AIRPORT
8) COURTYARD COLUMBUS DOWNTOWN
9) CROSS COUNTRY INN OSU NORTH
10) CROWNE PLAZA COLUMBUS DOWNTOWN
11) DAYS INN COLUMBUS FAIRGROUNDS
12) DAYS INN DOWNTOWN WEST
13) DOUBLETREE GUEST SUITES
14) DRURY INN SUITES CONV CTR COLUM
15) FAIRFIELD COLUMBUS OSU
16) HYATT ON CAPITAL SQUARE
17) HYATT REGENCY COLUMBUS
18) KNIGHTS INN COLUMBUS DOWNTOWN
19) RED ROOF COLUMBUS DOWNTOWN
20) RED ROOF COLUMBUS OH ST UNIV
21) SUPER 8 MOTEL AT UNIVERSITY
22) THE BLACKWELL
23) THE COLUMBUS RENAISSANCE HOTEL
24) THE LOFTS
25) UNIVERSITY PLAZA HTL AND CONF
26) WESTIN GREAT SOUTHERN HOTEL
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Agler-La Follette House
2) American Insurance Union Citadel
3) Berry Brothers Bolt Works
4) Bradford Shoe Company Building
5) Broad Street Apartments
6) Broad Street Christian Church
7) Broad Street United Methodist Church
8) Central Assurance Company
9) Central Building of the Columbus Young Men's Christian Association
10) Central Ohio Lunatic Asylum
11) Columbia Building
12) Columbus Gallery of Fine Arts
13) Columbus Savings and Trust Building
14) Columbus Transfer Company Warehouse
15) East Broad Street Commercial Building
16) East Broad Street Presbyterian Church
17) Engine House No. 16
18) Felton School
19) Franklin Park Conservatory
20) Franklinton Post Office
21) Gantz Homestead
22) Garfield--Broad Apartments
23) Great Southern Hotel and Theatre
24) Griswold Memorial Young Women's Christian Association
25) Hamilton, Gilbert H., House
26) Hanna House
27) Harrison, Gen. William Henry, Headquarters
28) Heyne--Zimmerman House
29) Higgins, H. A., Building
30) Holy Cross Church, Rectory and School
31) House at 753 East Broad Street
32) Huntington, Franz, House
33) Indianola Junior High School
34) Jacobs, Felix A., House
35) Jaeger Machine Company Office Building
36) Jeffrey Manufacturing Company Office Building
37) Jeffrey, Malcolm, House
38) Johnson--Campbell House
39) Jones, W. H., Mansion
40) Joseph--Cherrington House
41) Kauffman, Linus B., House
42) Kaufman, Frank J., House
43) Krumm House
44) Levy, Soloman, House
45) Lincoln Theatre
46) Long and Third Commercial Building
47) Lovejoy, Carrie, House
48) Masonic Temple
49) Miller, Frederick A., House-Broad Gables
50) Miller, J.F., House
51) Morris, C. E., House
52) North High School
53) Ohio Asylum for the Blind
54) Ohio Farm Bureau Federation Offices
55) Ohio Farm Bureau Federation Offices
56) Ohio Moline Plow Company Building
57) Ohio National Bank
58) Ohio State Arsenal
59) Ohio State Office Building
60) Ohio Statehouse
61) Ohio Theatre
62) Old Governor's Mansion
63) Old Ohio Union
64) Orton Memorial Laboratory
65) Pataskala Presbyterian Church
66) Pataskala United Methodist Church
67) Pierce, Elijah, Properties
68) Pierce, Elijah, Properties
69) Plaza Hotel
70) Prentiss, Frederick, House
71) Prentiss--Tulford House
72) Pythian Temple and James Pythian Theater
73) Rankin Building
74) Rickenbacker, Capt. Edward V., House
75) Schlee-Kemmler Building
76) Schueller, Erwin W., House
77) Scofield--Sanor House
78) Second Presbyterian Church
79) Seneca Hotel
80) Sessions Village
81) Sharp--Page House
82) Shedd--Dunn House
83) Smith, Benjamin, House
84) St. Clair Hospital
85) Stoddart Block
86) Sullivant, Lucas, Building
87) Thurber, James, House
88) Toledo and Ohio Central Railroad Station
89) Tosheff's Restaurant and Hotel
90) Trinity Episcopal Church
91) Trinity German Evangelical Lutheran Church
92) U.S. Post Office and Courthouse
93) University, Hayes and Orton Halls
94) University, Hayes and Orton Halls
95) Valley Dale Ballroom
96) Welsbach Building
97) Welsh Presbyterian Church
98) Westminster Church
99) Wyandotte Building
100) York Lodge No. 563
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 31st District Round Table
2) 340 Vend
3) A Few Good Servers
4) A Matter Of Taste
5) A Touch Of Dutch
6) Adriatico's New York Style
7) All American Hamburger
8) Ana Moley's
9) Anna's Restaurant
10) Apollo's
11) Arby's
12) Arlene's Cuisine
13) Ashley's Dinners
14) Asian Wok
15) Asian Wok Ii
16) Au Bon Pain Inc
17) Axis Nightclub
18) B D Mongolian Bbq
19) B Hamptons Bar & Grill
20) Bananna Joe's Brewery District
21) Bar-Tec Inc
22) Barcelona Restaurant
23) Barley's Brewing Co
24) Barrister Hall's Party Room
25) Barry's New York Style Delicat
26) Basi Italia
27) Bbq Development
28) Beck Tavern
29) Bella's Italian Eatery & Night
30) Benevolence
31) Bento Go Go
32) Betty's Bar
33) Bier Stube
34) Big Apple Restaurant & Deli
35) Big Daddys Ltd
36) Big Easy Cajun
37) Blazers Pub
38) Blimpie Subs & Salads
39) Blimpie Subs & Salads
40) Blues Station Inc
41) Bob Evans Farms Restaurant
42) Boulevard Grille
43) Braddock's Diner
44) Bravo Lindeys
45) Bread & Better
46) Brewmasters Gate
47) Brian Boru's Pub
48) Brickyard
49) Brothers Bar & Grill
50) Brown Bag Deli
51) Brownstone Lofts
52) Buca Di Beppo
53) Buckeye Hall Of Fame
54) Buffalo Wild Wings Grill & Bar
55) Burger King
56) Burgundy Room
57) Bw-3 Buffalo Wild Wings
58) C B R's
59) C B Svc & Design LTD
60) Cafe Bourbon Street
61) Cafe Corner
62) Cafe Iliana
63) Cafe Iliana
64) Cafe Napolitana
65) California Pizza Kitchen
66) Calvin's Corner
67) Cameron Mitchell Catering Co
68) Cameron Mitchell Restaurants
69) Canabar
70) Cap City Diner
71) Capitol Grille
72) Cappy's Deli
73) Caribou Coffee
74) Caribou Coffee Inc
75) Carrabba's Italian Grill
76) Casino's Pizza
77) Catering Concepts
78) Catfish Biff's Pizza & Subs
79) Chambers Lounge
80) Char-Bar
81) Charley's Steakery
82) Charley's Steakery
83) Charley's Steakery
84) Chatterbox Bar
85) Cheeburger Cheeburger
86) Cheeseburger Inn Paradise
87) Chick-Fil-A
88) Chick-Fil-A
89) Chicken & Eggs
90) China Buffet
91) China Wok
92) Chipolte Mexican Grill
93) Chipotle Mexican Grill
94) Chipotle Mexican Grill
95) Chloe's Deli
96) Church's Chicken
97) Cinnabon
98) City Center Diner
99) Claddagh Irish Pub
100) Claddagh Irish Pubs
101) Clarmont
102) Club 185
103) Club 202
104) Club Diversity
105) Club Paradise
106) Coffee Table
107) Cold Stone Creamery
108) Columbus Brewing Co
109) Columbus Eagle Bar
110) Columbus Fish Market
111) Coney Express
112) Confluence Park Restaurant
113) Cosi All Day Cafe
114) Courthouse Pub & Grill
115) Courtyard Restaurant
116) Cove Lounge
117) Crazy Chicken
118) Cup O' Joe Coffee Dessert
119) D#1 Happy Family Club
120) Dagwoodz
121) Damon's
122) Damon's Catering
123) Damon's-Parke Restaurant
124) Dante's Pizza II
125) Darz Cafe
126) Dawg House Tavern
127) Del's Keg Room
128) Deli In The Alley
129) Dell Cafe
130) Diners
131) Domino's Pizza
132) Donatos Pizza
133) Donatos Pizza
134) Donatos Pizza
135) Donatos Pizza
136) Donatos Pizza
137) Doubletree Guest Suites
138) Down Front Cafe
139) Downtown Connection
140) Downtown New Orleans
141) Downtown New Orleans
142) Dragon Fly Organic Neo V
143) Dynasty Express
144) Easy Street Cafe
145) Easy Street Cafe
146) Easyriders Cafe & Bar
147) Easyriders Cafe & Bar
148) El Acapulco
149) El Areeazo Latin Grill
150) El Escondido
151) El Escondido
152) Elemental
153) Elevator Brewery & Draught
154) Emack & Bolios
155) Engine House
156) Escape Enterprises Inc
157) Espresso Cafe
158) Espresso Escapes
159) Estrada's Burrito Ville
160) Euro Cafe
161) Evo Cyber Cafe
162) Exile Bar
163) Fame's Diner
164) Fastcar Cafe
165) Fat Daddy's
166) Firdous Express
167) Firdous Polaris
168) First Watch
169) First Watch Restaurants
170) Five Loaves Catering
171) Flaming Wok
172) Flatiron Bar & Diner
173) Flavors Of India
174) Florentine Restaurant
175) Flying Pizza
176) Frezno Eclectic Kitchen
177) Friday's
178) Frog Bear & Wild Boar
179) Frosty's Bar
180) Fruitz Smoothie & More Store
181) Full Monty
182) Fusebox
183) Fusion
184) G & M Grill
185) G Michael's
186) German Village Coffee Shop
187) Gibby's Arena District
188) Gibby's Chicken Wings & Bar
189) Glass Garden Restrnt
190) Golden Eight Ball 11th
191) Goody-Boy Drive In
192) Grand Productions
193) Grandma's Pizza & Pasta
194) Grapevine Cafe
195) Greenstreets
196) Guido's Speakeasy
197) Haagen-Dazs Ice Cream
198) Haagen-Dazs Ice Cream
199) Hagen's Ale & Tee
200) Hai Ku
201) Handke's Cuisine
202) Happy Dragon
203) Happy Greek
204) Hartman Of Main
205) Havana
206) Haviland Club
207) Heil's Delicatessen
208) High 5
209) High-Beck Corner Tavern
210) Ho-Toy Thai-Chinese Restaurant
211) Hoggy's
212) Hoggy's Catering
213) Hoggy's Corporate Office
214) Hoster Brewing Co Wholesale
215) House Of Japan
216) Howl At The Moon
217) Il Fornetti
218) Indian Oven
219) Indoor Cafe
220) Inn Between
221) Isabella's
222) J & G Diner
223) J & R's
224) Jack's Sandwich Shop
225) Jackson's Chesapeake Food Bar
226) Japanese Steak House
227) Java Master
228) Java Time Plus
229) Java's Cyber Expresso Bar
230) Jeffreys Cooking Svc
231) Jenny's Splendid Ice Cream
232) Jersey Mike's Submarines
233) Jillian's
234) Jimmy John's
235) Jimmy V's Pub
236) Johnny Rockets
237) Jordan's Deli
238) Juergen's German Bakery
239) Juergen's Traditional Bavarian
240) Juice Bar Health Food Rstrnt
241) K 2u Bar & Grill
242) KAFE Kerouak
243) Ken's Diner
244) Kfc
245) Kfc
246) King Avenue Restaurant
247) King Pizza
248) Kooma Restuarant
249) Krispy Kreme Doughnuts
250) Krome
251) Kyrie Cafe
252) Kyrie Cafe
253) L'antibes
254) LA Bamba Mexican Restaurant
255) La Plaia Restaurant
256) Le Petit Bistro Inc
257) Lee's China Kitchen Inc
258) Lemongrass Asian Bistro
259) Library Bar
260) Lickety Split
261) Lin Lin's Restaurant
262) Lindey's
263) Lindey's Cafe
264) Little Palace
265) Long Street Entertainment
266) Ludlow's
267) M Restaurant & Bar
268) Mac's Cafe
269) Maggie Moo's Ice Cream & Trtry
270) Main Bar
271) Mall Cafe
272) Mally Gal's Lounge
273) Mark Pi's Express
274) Marquee Lounge
275) Martini Italian Bistro
276) Max & Erma's
277) Max & Erma's
278) Max & Erma's
279) Mc Donald's
280) Mc Donald's
281) Mc Donald's
282) Mc Donald's
283) Mega Wraps
284) Metro Bar & Grill
285) Mike's Carryout
286) Mike's Grill
287) Mitchell Cameron Restaurants
288) Mitchell's Steak House
289) Moe's Southwest Grill
290) Mojoe Lounge Short North
291) Molly Woo's Asian Bistro
292) Morton's Of Chicago
293) Mozarts Inc
294) Mulryan's Downtown
295) Mykonos Zyros
296) Native Grounds Cafe Inc
297) Network Restaurant
298) New Orleans 199
299) New York Pizza & Pasta
300) New York Pizza Oven
301) Nick's Diner
302) Nicolosi's Deli
303) Nida's Sushi
304) No Attitude Bar & Grille
305) Northfork Saloon
306) Notals III
307) Notals Pub
308) Novak's On High
309) O'shaughnessy's Public House
310) Old Mohawk Restaurant
311) Old School Lounge
312) Olde Gahanna Sanctuary
313) Oldfield's
314) Olive Garden
315) One Thousand Knights
316) Opium Lounge
317) Original Steubenville Pizza Co
318) Otero's Food Bar
319) Out On Main
320) Out-R-Inn
321) P S Columbus Inc
322) Panera Bread
323) Panima Deli & Takeaway
324) Panini Bar & Grill
325) Papa John's Pizza
326) Papa John's Pizza
327) Papa John's Pizza
328) Parke Street Tavern
329) Parson's Beer Dock
330) Patio Grill
331) Pauli's
332) Penn Station East Coast Subs
333) Phillip's Coney Island
334) Phillip's Original Coney Isle
335) Pierre's Catering & Pierre's
336) Pine Room Restaurant
337) Pita Pit
338) Pizza Gourmet
339) Place To Be
340) Planet Smoothie Cafe
341) Plank's Cafe & Pizzeria
342) Plaza Deli & More
343) Plaza Dining
344) Plaza Restaurant
345) Pochi Tea Station
346) Popeyes Chicken
347) Potbelly's Sandwich Works
348) Press Grill LTD
349) Press Grille
350) Pretzel Time
351) Primo's Pizza
352) PSN State Liquor
353) Pyramid Nightclub
354) Qdoba Mexican Grill
355) Queen Bee Restaurant
356) Quizno's Classic Subs
357) Quiznos Sub
358) Quiznos Sub
359) Quiznos Sub
360) Quiznos Sub
361) R Arena Bar
362) R J Snappers Bar & Gill
363) Radio Cafe
364) Rainbow Club
365) Rally's Hamburgers Inc
366) Ray Johnson Seafood
367) Red Brick Inn
368) Red Lobster
369) Red Sea Cafe
370) Red Star Tavern
371) Red Zone
372) Red-16
373) Ricky's Galaxy
374) Riffe Center Cafe
375) Rigsby's Office
376) Rigsby's Restaurant
377) Ringside Cafe
378) Road House Annie's Restaurant
379) Roger's Cafe
380) Roger's Cafe
381) Roger's Cafe
382) Roger's Cafe
383) Roosster's Inc
384) Rooster's Restaurant & Bar
385) Rossi Bar & Kitchen
386) Rotisserie Gourmet & Fresh
387) Rough Riders Cafe
388) Round Bar
389) Sabor Mexicano
390) Saigon Palace Restaurant
391) San Francisco Oven
392) Sarefino's At North Market
393) Sbarro
394) Sbarro
395) Schmidt's Restaurant & Ctrng
396) Schmidt's Restaurant Und
397) Scores Bar & Grill
398) Serenity Cafe
399) Serenity Cafe
400) Shades Restaurant
401) Short North Tavern
402) Siam Express
403) Siam Oriental Restaurant
404) Singles
405) Skambo
406) Skully's Bar & Grille
407) Skyward Concessions
408) Slammers
409) Smokey Bones BBQ & Grill
410) Sodexho
411) Somewhere Else
412) South High Pizza
413) Spaghetti Warehouse
414) Specialty Restaurant
415) Spinnaker's Restaurant
416) Spirits On High
417) St James Tavern
418) Star Bucks Coffee
419) Starbucks
420) Starbucks
421) Starbucks
422) Starbucks
423) Starbucks
424) Starbucks Coffee Co
425) Stats Cafe
426) Steak Escape
427) Steak Escape
428) Strada World Cuisine
429) Sub Express
430) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
431) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
432) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
433) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
434) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
435) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
436) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
437) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
438) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
439) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
440) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
441) Suki Hana
442) Summit Station
443) Sunset Lounge
444) Swiss Chalet Party House
445) Sycamore Cafe
446) Tabu Garage
447) Taco Bell
448) Taco Ninja LLC
449) Tapatio
450) Taste At Riversedge
451) TCBY
452) Ted Montanna Grill
453) Texas Road House Polaris
454) Theatre Cafe
455) Thirsty Scholar
456) Thurman Cafe
457) Tim Hortons
458) Tim Hortons
459) Tim Hortons
460) Tim Hortons
461) Tim's Bar
462) TMG Restaurants
463) Tommy Keegan's
464) Tommy's Diner
465) Tommy's Pizza
466) Tony's Restaurant
467) Trade Winds
468) Travelers Grill
469) Tremont Lounge
470) Triple L Lounge
471) UBU Catering By Charles
472) Union Station Cafe
473) Victorians' Midnight Cafe
474) Victory's Bar
475) Village Coney
476) Vine
477) Virus Inc
478) W G Grinders
479) Waffle House
480) Waiting Room
481) Wall Street Night Club
482) Walt's 50's Diner
483) Wendy's
484) Wendy's
485) Wendy's
486) Wendy's
487) Wendy's
488) Wendy's
489) Wendy's
490) Wendy's
491) Whale Fish Shrimp & Chick
492) Whale Fish Shrimp & Chicken
493) White Castle
494) White Castle
495) White Castle
496) White Castle System Inc
497) Wings Xtreme
498) Woody & Jo's House Of Ribs
499) Zeno's Victorian Village
500) Zola Dining Lounge
501) Zola Dining Lounge
502) Zuppa Catering & Bakery
503) Zuppa Downtown
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great
Haven't been to or reviewed Barley's in quite some time. 10 versions of their own brews (7 taps, 3 casks) during this visit. 9 guest taps available also. Katie's Summer had a slight cherry character to it, while the nitro Oatmeal Stout was smooth and dry with a fair amount of hops at the finish. The cask Pale, dry-hopped with Summit was my pick this trip--very interesting and reminiscent of Victory's Yakima Twilight. The cask Centennial IPA dry-hopped with Summit seemed to be a bit out of whack, perhaps the hops worked against rather than with each other. Got a taste of Great Lakes Lake Erie Monster and I'm sorry to say, it's "bigness" sort of gets in the way. Barley's Smokehouse is a great stop if you're in Columbus.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/05/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Good
Liked this location better than the downtown one. Beer, food, and service was much better.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick Fines Patrick Fines, Temple Hills, MD
(04/27/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good Lousy
Stopped by to try the new IPA and was dissappointed to learn of significant price increases. A pint of the IPA was nearly $7.00. I remember when they jacked their prices under the guise of a hops shortage. Do you think the prices came down after the hops inventory stablized?

I used to go to Barley's often but have found more reasonably priced establishments such as Bodega which offers pints of first glass craft drafts for as little as $2.50 from 4-7 and great food to boot.

Do your wallet and taste buds a favor and try Bodega, Elevator Brewing or CBC and patronize a business whose first mission is not to gouge the customer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from PubCrawler PubCrawler, Pickerington, OH
(11/04/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Great Good
I visited both locations to sample there selection of IPA's (only had the rye on tap) and of course enjoy some BBQ. Unfortunately I had to move from where I was sitting at the bar because some awful odor was wafting up into my face. The pulled pork was mediocre at best but definitely edible (I am picky about pork). The beer was good and I even took a growler of the Pale Ale home. I will return there again but hope they remedy the odoriferous emanations!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Detroit, MI
(03/29/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Probably my favorite of all the Columbus options. 6 taps of their product, 2 casks of the house brew also, with 9 guest taps avalable. Pretty much something for everyone. Centennial IPA was a real buzz saw of bitterness, good flavor from start to finish. Left Coast Pale a Sierra Nevada clone, very drinkable. St. Joan's Revenge on cask was a double stout, barrel aged weighing in at 11%. Booze noticable in the nose and a slight alcohol burn at the finish. My BBQ chicken burrito was super yummy--pulled chicken, black beans, and all the fixins! A good stop.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(06/28/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Very laid back and a little less busy than the main location. food was great! The Beer was very well made and true to form. Very friendly service and atmosphere. Well worth your trip!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from BENBREW BENBREW, HUDSON, OH
(06/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Stopped in on an early Sat. afternoon, the brewer took the time to talk which is always nice. Had the sampler of the house beers, all of which were excellant. They also have a large selection of guest beers. I had a tough time deciding which of the Pales or IPAs I prefered, it was a toss up between the one on tap, which was colder or the cask or the firkin. You have to love a choice like that. We had a sampler off the appitizer menu which was also very good. The chicken wings had to be the best I have ever had. The ratings I gave probably should have all been excellant but I always like to leave a little room for improvement, even though this place might not need it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Don Teeter Don Teeter, Mentor, OH
(04/04/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Good
The Pale Ale wasw great, almost an IPA. I ordered the Scotch Export. The waitperson served me the Scotch Ale which was tasteless (for all you MGD lovers out there). However when the Scotch Export arrived, it wasn't much better. Food was very good. Chicken part of the Combo was excellant, ribs were good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Morseburg Bob Morseburg, Seattle, WA
(02/09/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Great
Now no-smoking-great news.

Beers: Cask Scotch Ale: Great flavor & body with heavy malts and hops. Excellent.

Cask milk stout-a little thin for a stout but still very drinkable

IPA-thinner body but lots of hops and higher ABV. Very good.

Bartendress-not real friendly which seems to be a trend here if you're not a regular.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from R. Davis R. Davis, Spring, TX
(10/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
MY BREWPUB CHOICE WHEN IN C-BUS. YOU SIMPLY CAN NOT GET BETTER BARBEQUE ANYWHERE AND NOTHING WASHES DOWN BARBEQUE LIKE A CASK OR FIRKIN IPA! THEY ALWAYS HAVE 2 CASKS ON AND GOOD SELECTION OF OTHER MICROS. WIFE SAYS THE SALADS ARE THE BEST SHE HAS EVER HAD; THOUGH WINGS ARE BETTER AT DOWNTOWN LOCATION. ONLY COMPLAINT IS I WISH BOTH LOCATIONS WOULD START TO OFFER MORE STYLES. BUT IT MIGHT HAVE TO DO WITH THE FACT THAT I'VE BEEN TO THESE PLACES >100XS!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JIMBO JIMBO, SPRINGFIELD, OH
(07/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Good
This was the second stop on a pub crawl in the area, and considering the first stop was less then spectacular, it wasn't hard for this place to shine. A friend of mine recommended this place, comparing it to the likes of Great Lakes in quality of beer. I'm not sure that I'd rank it quite that high, but it was still good beer to say the least.

I opted for the Beer Sampler, and was impressed with the variety set in front of me. Most places I go, the sampler consists of the 4 or 5 Flagship beers, but not this place. I had one of each of their house beers, meaning a total of 10 beers and enjoyed them all. I'm not crazy about beers out of the English Beer Engines, so those were my two least favorites. Not because the beer was bad by any means, just not crazy about the Engine is all. The 2 offered through the beer engines were Oscar's Brown Sugar, and Centennial IPA. Both of which are available on the 'normal' taps as well. They also have another cask conditioned ale that rotates per week. This particular week was the Russian Imperial Stout. My favorite beer offered was the Coffee Stour called Pint o' Joe. It's an Oatmeal based stout with huge coffee aroma and taste. I liked it so much I bought 2 growlers of it.

The bartender (Jersey) was a little stand-offish at first, but that could have been because he was very busy and didn't have time for beer chat. He was very knowledgeable about the beer however and after things calmed down a bit became a little more talkative.

I had the Pulled Pork Sandwich, which was wonderful. Very juicy and full of flavor. I would go back for the food alone, but couple that with the prospect of finding a good tasting beer and it's a no brainer that I'd be back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Short Doug Short, Indian Springs, OH
(04/11/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good
I always try to get by here when I'm in Columbus. It does have a neighborhood feel but I've never been uncomfortable here.

Both casks were on-The Brown ale was decent. I didn't try the stout. The Scotch Ale was very good (and potent). The brewer assistant was tending bar and was very busy so he didn't have time to talk-although he was friendly enough.

Just a nice, laid-back place to have some quality brews and some guest beers as well.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from R. Davis R. Davis, Spring, TX
(03/27/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Awesome! Great Great
It's the BBQ that had me here on 2 of my 3 nights in Columbus -- and I'm kind of sorry I'd used the 3rd at Columbus Brewing. While the 3 Barley's brews I sampled didn't wow me, they do have a decent selection of guest beers which will nicely wash down those ribs and chicken. Not to mention the brisket quesadilla and the homemade soup. Had to give a split decision on the service -- had an indifferent waitress the first night and a helpful, friendly waiter the second.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from M. Kahn M. Kahn, Fairfax, VA
(03/27/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Good
The previous reviewer was correct--the sourkraut balls are great! The brisket sandwich was good as well. This place has a real neighborhood feel-and I got the feeling that the regulars didn't take kindly to outsiders--particularly those that asked a lot of questions about the beer. 7 of their own brews were on tap the day I was there (12-19-04): scotch ale, plae ale, Russian imperial stout, Christmas ale, St. Nick's winter warmer, IPA, pint o Joe. I tried all of them except the scotch ale and St. Nicks. No small feat since they will serve nothing less than a pint. All the beers were good, solid beer--but nothing exceptional. The pint O'Joe was my favorite. It had a nice coffee flavor but didn't have much body. The Imperial stout was my least favorite. It looked great-very dark--but the taste was pretty nondescript. All this sounds pretty negative and I don't mean it to be. If I lived near by, I'd be a regular (and probably feel more welcome).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, North Hornell, NY
(01/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Barleys Alehouse No 2 is more of a dining destination than the original, mainly because the location limits pubcrawling opportunities. Good barbeque joint food compliments the beer offerings, the deep fried sauerkraut balls are a great appetizer. The Cherry Porter, Scottish Ale, Pilsner, & Pale Ale were all quite good. Always 5-6 of their own brews on tap & a special seasonal offering. Serious brewpub attitude with tastings, cask conditioned brews, and firkin Fridays. Recommended if you are in the area, but I always found Barley's Alehouse No 1, across from the convention center, more fun for an evening out.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from beerserker beerserker, Columbus, OH
(12/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Needed a lunchtime stop when driving through, so I picked Barley's. I've found that it's easy to get to from I-70 by North 315, then to Dublin Road. Got to try several beers new to me: Xmas Ale, Pint O Joe Porter, and St. Nick's Winter Warmer (The last two on cask also). The Warmer barleywine was good, drinkable, but dangerous at 12%. They have a limit of 2 snifters with good reason. The porter was also nice with a hint of the coffee flavors coming through on the regular pour. There were 7 beers on tap, 2 on cask this visit. I ordered the wings, which literally fall off the bone. I wan't brave enough to try their Gates of Hell sauce, but did get some on the side. I would imagine you would drink a LOT of beer after an order of that! A great place!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(11/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
We've been here many times and always have a good experience.

I had the IPA which was awesome, hoppy and flavorful, and then the coffee stout. It rates as good, but didn't quite have the body I had hoped for.

All the food items we had were very good. We had the beef and barley soup and the BBQ sampler. It was very good, although the sampler sandwiches were noticeably smaller than they used to be. We also split the bread pudding for dessert. It was excellent.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from DR DR, Athens, OH
(08/02/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A So So Good
Could not get much conversation out of the bartender when inquiring about the beers (it was not during peak hours and the bar was dead). Nice selection of beers. Did not eat at this location, but did at their sister brewpub.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Mertie Scott Mertie, Nashville, TN
(06/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
A BBQ version of Barley's downtown. Excellent beer, and they had a couple on cask, the bitter was very good. Food was good, every now and then I go for the ribs, and these did not disappoint.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jon Bernardi Jon Bernardi, Hudson, OH
(03/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
I had 3 cask beers: Both the Scottish Ale and Pale Ale were very good, although a little cold. The Russian Imperial Stout was also good but a little thin for the style.

The food is good, not great.

The bar area gets very smoky-typical Ohio and midwest smokefest.

Definitely would go back for the great beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from R. Davis R. Davis, Spring, TX
(09/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Great Good
I had been to the Barley's just north of downtown many times, but never to the brewhouse. The beer was great as ever, so was the service, but the food was a little disappointing. I'd go back for the beer, not so sure about food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeff K Jeff K, Boca Raton, FL
(09/18/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
Fortunate to stop a second time this summer. As I said in last review, Pale was my favorite. Crowd was great! Mr. Smooth provided an excellent "old school" partner in conversation, and Buzz has to get the "Most Enthusiastic Bartender" Award. Throw in some anthropological info from Chris, the occasional idle flirtation, more good beer and you've got a winner! Keep up the great work Barley's!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(09/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Decent selection with the Pale being my favorite. Odd though, the pale is bigger and fuller than their IPA. Russian Imperial Stout very good also. Food good, crowd having a great time.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(06/26/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good
I visited this brewpub on 6/2/03. Brews available during my visit were Bavarian Wheat, Maclenny's Scottish, Pale Ale, J Scott Francis ESB, Dunklewiezen, & Alexanders Russian Imperial Stout. I am a hophead and the scottish was to hoppy for the style but still drinkable. The stout was loaded with alcohol. Being from Texas I would have to disagree with the Brisket being sold as Texas Brisket. It was good but it was not how we make it in Texas. Pint glasses are available.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from G. L. Averill G. L. Averill, Austin, TX
(06/10/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
This place made my visit to Columbus. It is a "must visit" every time for me now.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Nelson Mike Nelson, Buffalo, NY
(02/09/2003)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.405 seconds) 16:27:38 54.90.57.174, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS