PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Maui Brewing Company - Lahaina, Maui, HI
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
April 19, 2014 @ 07:05 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > HI > Lahaina, Maui > Maui Brewing Company
Maui Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Maui Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 79.7 / 100
4405 Honoapi'ilani Highway
#217
Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
United States
(808) 669-3474
Listed Since: September 1998
Last Updated: December 2006
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Lahaina, Maui, HI
Beer Guide for Hawaii

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Maui Brewing Company
34 Reviews / 6 Photos
hours of operation
Sun 11:00AM - 12:23AM
Mon 11:00AM - 12:30AM
Tue 11:00AM - 12:30AM
Wed 11:00AM - 01:30AM
Thu 11:00AM - 12:30AM
Fri 11:00AM - 12:30AM
Sat 11:00AM - 12:30AM

Recent News
Maui Brewing Company comes to the mainland


alternatives
(1 within 5 miles)
1) BJ's Pizza, Grill and Brewery
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Aloha Lani Inn
2) Aloha Sunset B & B/Guest House
3) Blue Horizons Bed & Breakfast
4) Garden Gate Bed & Breakfast
5) House of Fountains
6) Lahaina Inn
7) Old Lahaina House
8) Trinity Tours Inc
9) Wai Ola Vacation Paradise
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) ASTON PAKI MAUI
2) BEST WESTERN PIONEER INN
3) EMBASSY RSRT MAUI KAANAPA
4) GARDEN GATE INN
5) HYATT REGENCY MAUI
6) KAANAPALI ALII
7) KAHANA SUNSET
8) LAHAINA SHORES BEACH RESORT
9) MAHANA AT KAANAPALI
10) MAUI KAANAPALI VILLAS
11) OHANA MAUI ISLANDER HOTEL
12) OUTRIGGER MAUI ELDORADO RESORT
13) PENNYS PLACE INN PARADISE
14) PLANTATION INN
15) ROYAL HALE HOTEL
16) ROYAL LAHAINA RESORT
17) SHERATON MAUI RESORT
18) THE KULAKANE
19) THE WESTIN MAUI RESORT & SPA
20) THE WHALER ON KAANAPALI BEACH
21) WESTIN KAANAPALI OCEAN RESORT
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Hale Pa'i
2) Wo Hing Society Building
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) A & J Kitchen Deli/Bakery
2) Alexander's Fish Chicken & Rbs
3) Banyan Tree
4) Break Wall Cafe
5) C J's Deli & Diner
6) Cafe O'Lei
7) Cafe Sauvage
8) Cilantro
9) Coconut Grove Restaurant Inc
10) Cold Stone Creamery
11) Cool Cat Cafe
12) Dairy Queen
13) Dippin' Dots
14) Erik's Seafood & Sushi Bar
15) Front Street Grill & Bar
16) Gaby's Pizzeria & Deli
17) Haagen-Dazs Ice Cream
18) Haagen-Dazs Ice Cream
19) Hawaiian Village Coffee
20) Hawaiian Village Coffee
21) Hoaloha Catering
22) Hoaloha Productions
23) Java Living LTD
24) Ji-Mi's Asian Food Mart
25) Kaanapali Productions
26) Kahana Grill
27) Lappert's Ice Cream
28) Local Food
29) Mala Ocean Tavern
30) Mango Cafe LLC
31) Maui's Own Ice Cream Parlor
32) No Ka Oi Deli Inc
33) Old Lahaina Luau
34) Orange Julius
35) Penne Pasta Cafe
36) Pho Saigon
37) Pineapple Grill At Kapalua
38) Products Of Hawaii
39) Quiznos Sub
40) Ramon's Cantina
41) Reilley's Steaks & Seafood
42) RVN Deli Kitchen Catering
43) Sly Mongoose
44) Starbucks
45) Starbucks
46) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
47) Sunrise Cafe
48) Taste Of Maui Rstrnt Delivery
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
5 stars for the brew. Food was good, but it's all about the beer! Excellent selection of lagers and ales. IPA, Blonde Lager and Coconut Porter are available in cans at most stores in the islands, I was told that distribution to the West Coast is underway.

The Big Swell IPA was just what I wanted. Big flowery hoppy nose and piney bitterness. Hopalicious! (sorry Ale Asylum, had to use the description). Dry hopped for sure. If you like your ale a little less hoppy, the Pueo Pale Ale has about half the IBU's as the Big Swell.

The Coconut Porter was excellent, nice flavor addition, just a hint. Chocolate and coconut blend well, why not Porter and Coconut? This one is also available in cans. Also had the Mana Wheat with pineapple. Again, nicely balanced and refreshing. In pub only.

Also tasted their Trippel and Dubbel. Both right on style.

Craft brew lovers, do not pass up a chance to visit the Maui Brewing Company. Check their website, the main brew house is in Lahaina, with tastings available some days...we didn't get there, but we totally enjoyed out visit to their brewpub in the Kahana Gateway center.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Craig, Rockford, IL
(10/01/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
My husband and I went to MaLa in lahaina and they had the blond lager and it was the most amazing beer we've ever had and I just want to say as much as we'd like it here in McCall in our refrigerator, we can appreciate the reason it's not. Quality before quanity! Thanks for the experience! Nerida and Jusin Jones McCall, Idaho

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nerida Jones Nerida Jones, McCall, ID
(04/14/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
We spent two delightful afternoons in this fantastic place. Andrew, our bartender, was wonderful and a delight to talk to. He has ties to the Syracuse and other Upstate NY areas, so we had lots to talk aobut. I had the Wild Hog Stout (a Nitro) that I really liked. Tried their Coconut Porter also. Don't usually like beers with raspberry, etc. in them, but this was very, very good. We also had the Barracuda Bitter, Penquin Imperial Stout (watch out! That's 8 percent we were told.), and the Hempman Brown. The food is excellent, also - they have a great Cioppino soup which you can also get in a pasta. The people here are very friendly and we could not have asked for a better stopping place each day. Hope we can get back again today.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Berta Pettis Berta Pettis, Syracuse, NY
(12/10/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Stopped in for a beer on vacation last week and the Pale Ale was the daily special, so I tried one. Very good, aggressively hopped (maybe more like what I would expect from an IPA). Bartender was friendly - provided samples to help a few of the other customers select a style they might like.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Monte Monte, Morris County, NJ
(02/20/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
The name is officially Maui Brewing Co. All reference to Fish & Game has been dropped. New location (second) opening soon and cans coming as well!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Garrett W. Marrero Garrett W. Marrero, Lahaina, HI
(12/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
We stumbled across this fabulous brewpub on a recent trip to Maui. Who knew that it is the only local brewpub on Maui! And an awesome lunch and dinner menu as well. Excellent fish! And we learned these folks recently won some pretty awesome awards at national and international levels. We were sad that they were sold out of the one we especially wanted to try -- the Coconut Porter! Next time!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Debi Debi, Anchorage, AK
(05/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
Had a great time! This is by far the best experience at a restaurant ever, let alone a Brewpub. Not your everyday brewpub serving up the best meats and seafoods paired with some AMAZING brews. Across the board the beers, the food, the service were killer, all this and affordable too!!! A must visit in Maui.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Greg Lum Greg Lum, San Diego, CA
(11/11/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Great
The beers are world class, not stuck on one style, they've got great brews across the board.

Prices did go up a bit but still the most affordable restaurant on the West Side. New mgmt really making great things happen.

New owners giving great personal attention and are there every night. I even got to tour the brewery!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Greg Lum Greg Lum, San Diego, CA
(11/11/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Awesome! Great
While the beer can only be rated as "good", the killer fresh fish, super-friendly service, and the coolest Growler (custom manufacturer?)I have ever purchased make this spot a definate thumbs-up. For my Growler, I chose the limited "Super-Pilsner" (6.5%), which was, coincindentally, the first Pilsner I have liked well enough to take home (out of what is now 44 Growlers).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Long Beach, CA
(10/18/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
the Wild Hog Stout is the Nectar of the Gods! and the double-hopped IPA is simply delicious. all of the other home brews we tried were excellent, as was the service. its a low-key place, but we were kind of glad it hasn't become a tourist trap. 5 stars.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Frank Frank, Pacific Beach, CA
(03/26/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good Good
A fairly good IPA, but the best beer on tap was a guest tap from California. Food was pretty good. Even some locals said beer quality was hit or miss.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Oroville, CA
(01/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
A wide selection of brews, including a couple of stouts. The ribs were supper. Had a good local entertainer the night we were there. Going back for lunch before we leave.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Menlo Park, CA
(05/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good
I liked this brewpub. We had beer and appetizers there. The sampler was good with some of the lighter beers being my wife's favorites. I enjoyed the atmosphere and the live music.

The beers were nice and fresh. The food looked good and for those who like wine, the selection was good. I would suggest going there one night for at least a few beers before dinner and some appetizers. You can also avoid the crowds if you eat dinner there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tony Tony, Pinckney, MI
(02/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
Had a very enjoyable lunch here while on vacation. The hotel had said they closed, glad they were mis-informed.

Some of the lighter beers I tried had some diacytel, but overall the beers were VERY good. I really enjoyed the pale ale and the nitro stout that they gave me a sample of. Our waitress was very friendly, service was great, and even got a chance to chat with the brewer on the way out. When I get back to Maui, I'm going back to Fish & Game.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Rucinski John Rucinski, Dearborn, MI
(09/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Great
Great beer - I didn't expect any great beers on the islands and was flabergasted to find more than eight at this pub! The food was just as good! The brewer (Tom Kerns) is to be admired for his quanitity of quality brews! Moloha!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Mike Porter, Lawrence, Ks
(04/28/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A Lousy So So
Beer lacked any real character. The Brown Ale was the only ale that had a good flavor and hop characteristic. The bartender was not very helpful or happy to be there. Too busy complaining to other employees about scheduling to answer any questions we might have had

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Bob, San Francisco, CA
(03/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Lunch is 11:00 till 3:00 Happy Hour 3:00 till 5:00 Dinner 5:30 till 10:00pm Late nite 10:30 till 1:30am

We also have live, local dinner music nightly from 6:30 till 9:30pm.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review pittsburgh, pa
(02/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Awesome! Good
If your looking for a pub at dinner time, this ain't it. This may not be the pub atmosphere to which you've become accustomed. An excellent restaurant with decent beer. If you are accustomed to frequenting true pubs, be ready for sticker shock - this is Hawai'i. Excellent and knowledgeable wait staff that made our meal very enjoyable.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Anderson Paul Anderson, Los Alamos, NM
(01/13/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Most of the beer is about average as American brewpubs go, with one or two exceptions (the Primo Pilzner is right on target for a Czech pils, and the Wild Hog Stout is a pretty decent sweet stout). The food is good, especially for a brewpub. Service was hit-and-miss...our waitress was cold and forgetful, but we were there long enough that she went off her shift and our replacement waiter was very personable and courteous.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from EC EC, Denver, CO
(12/09/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
I've been to at least 40 or 50 brewhouses across the nation, and this would have to rate in the top 3. All beers were excellent, all had a slightly malt flavor, all smooth. My favorite was the Pale Ale. Food was also very good, in an atmosphere that is much better than most brew houses.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Darryl Strucko Darryl Strucko, Sterling, VA
(11/06/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Great
The brews were the best of the bunch of the Hawaiian brewpubs. Real flavor, real character, distictive styles. A beer geeks paradise, in paradise! What more could you ask for? Food. Alright, the food's great too. Plus fast, friendly service. Great deals on pints at happy hour 3:30 to 5:30. Go.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robert Boileau Robert Boileau, Philly, PA
(10/03/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Have been to Maui twice in the last four years and we make it a point to stop and spend some time at this outstanding restaurant!! It has everything you could ever ask for!! We have lots of brew pubs in Oregon and enjoy going to them and tasting different kinds of beers, the beer served at Fish and Game is just terrific!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Vikki Pointer Vikki Pointer, Stayton, OR
(08/15/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Awesome! Great
Very good beer and food. Waitstaff was very nice the two times we visited. Each day they have a $2 pint of one of their beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Josh Josh, madison, WI
(06/05/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
This is a sports bar that also runs a very nice restaurant. I went in for lunch and sat at the bar with what appeared to be a very local and regular crew - that's a VERY GOOD sign. I had a sampler because I just could not decide what I wanted and the beers were all fresh and tasty. I had a couple more pints of the pale along with a great burger for lunch. I will definitely stop in here for dinner the next time I go to Maui.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Gezelius John Gezelius, Orange, CA
(10/14/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A So So Good
I liked the place but since it was 9:30 AM I guess the server was busy getting ready for the rest of the day. When I finally got my bill she disappeared and I couldn't buy the logo shirt and logo glass I had intended to, so, no free advertising for them.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Renning Bob Renning, Glendale, AZ
(06/22/2001)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.246 seconds) 07:05:52 54.196.23.239, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS