PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Dillon Dam Brewery - Dillon, CO
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
December 20, 2014 @ 01:26 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > CO > Dillon > Dillon Dam Brewery
Dillon Dam Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Dillon Dam Brewery
Overall: Great    Score: 79.5 / 100
100 Little Dam Road
Dillon, CO 80435
United States
(970) 262-7777
Listed Since: September 1998
Last Updated: August 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Dillon, CO
Beer Guide for Colorado

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Dillon Dam Brewery
22 Reviews / 5 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(3 within 5 miles)
1) Pug Ryan's Steakhouse Brewery
(0 mile)

2) Great Northern Tavern and Brewery
(0 mile)

3) Cala Inn
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Alpen Hutte Lodge Hostelling
2) Lodge At Carolina in the Pines
3) Mountain Vista Bed & Breakfast
4) Summit County Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN LAKE DILLON LODGE
2) COMFORT SUITES DILLON
3) DAYS INN SILVERTHORNE
4) HOTEL SILVERTHORNE
5) LAGOON TWNHOUSE CRMR
6) LUXURY INN & SUITES
7) QUALITY INN & SUITES
8) SUPER 8 DILLON BRECKENRIDGE
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Frisco Schoolhouse
2) Wildhack's Grocery Store-Post Office
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) A Chef's Touch
2) Arapahoe Cafe & Pub
3) Basil Doc's Pizza
4) Bighorn Steakhouse
5) Bighorn Steakhouse
6) Cala Inn
7) Chimayo
8) Cold Stone Creamery
9) Dillon Dam Brewery
10) Dillon Pizza Co
11) Edgewater Cafe
12) Fritz Alpine Bistro
13) Garden Room Restaurant
14) Gastronome Gourmet Catering
15) Gilchrist Catering
16) Goat Soup & Whiskey
17) Haywood Cafe
18) Jersey Boys Pizza & Deli
19) Keystone Resort
20) Kickapoo Tavern
21) Kula's Cafe
22) Masato's Japanese Cuisine
23) Maxwell Sreet Grill & Pizzeria
24) Mexico Restaurant
25) Mosscow Moon
26) Paesano's
27) Pizza On The Plaza
28) Pug Ryan's
29) Ristorante Al Lago
30) Ruby Tuesday
31) Starbucks
32) Tiki Bar
33) Wild Bill's Pizza & Pub
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Awesome! Great
We were seated upstairs and our server was MIA. The staff from downstairs saw our plight and speedily delivered several wonderfull beers. When our waiter finally showed up, he offered free chips and salsa. Not bad. The beers were good, the pale was a little lacking in hop flavor. They appeared to be produced for the masses and not for beer lovers. I can't really blame them since they are trying to make a business. Overall worth a stop.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ryan Ryan, West Des Moines, IA
(09/27/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Good
Tried two beers here: the pale ale and the chili beer. The pale ale didn't connect with us. The chili beer certainly had the flavor of chili peppers, but little other flavors. After the first few sips, the novelty wore off and we didn't wind up finishing the beer. Didn't try the food. Lively bar with good bartenders.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Christian Christian, Philadelphia, PA
(09/18/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!
They had 7 different beers on tap, ranging from lights to stouts. I tasted their Dam Straight Lager, a very well done vienna style; their brown ale, well done, but not my favorite style; Extra Pale Ale, excellent with good hop nose, flavor and medium bitter; and the Stout, good all-around stout, but not outstanding. I went back for more of the Pale Ale.

The food was good and well portioned. A very good value these days. The bartender was friendly and attentive. I'll definitley go back during my stay in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Kassner Paul Kassner, San Mateo, CA
(01/29/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
isited Dillon Dam this past week. Good atmosphere, interesting experience to be seated next to a steaming brew kettle ! Had a sampler of 4 beers...Extra Pale, Sweet Georgia Brown, McLuhr's Irish Stout, & Yo-Han Bock. With the exeption of the Irish Stout, which just didn't taste right to me...all of the beers were great, and certainly something I would drink again. Food (Blue Cajun & BBQ Pork Sandwich) was also great, especially when measured against previous brewpub type establishments I've been to. Menu has a lot to choose from. I will definately be returning next time I'm in town.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from tamc tamc, Prosper, TX
(03/20/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great
Irish Stout -- creamy head one of the best I've had from a microbrewery (Comparable to Sam Smith Oatmeal Stout). Porter very good. Outstanding Pale Ale -- not too perfumy, very smooth.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lars Trupe Lars Trupe, Cardiff by the Sea, CA
(02/09/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
what a great reason for free wifi...i can sit at the bar, pounding down a few excellent brews and rate them at the same time....while i don't think i have been to a brewpub in colorado that i didn't like, and i have hit them all now except for the extreme southern area...this "DAM" place is in the tops...varied style selection, quality is above average and the service cant be beat. disparity in beers and styles...is a good thing...but i cant attest to the quality of the pilsner, didnt try it, not with and excellent ipa, coming in at 9% loaded up with cascades and who knows what else...had to drop down a notch and the epa was wonderful, just as pleasing on the palate, but having a few of won't land you in trouble with local law enforcement. i don't go there for the food, but the menu is as varied as their beers and good. i don't think you can get bad service in colorado...the people are very outgoing, friendly and helpful...so this place is no exception, always ready to help, get you a sample, explain the beer or give local info. definately worth the drive from breckenridge...matter of fact, this place is on the free bus route in summit county, so you don't have to even worry bout the drive...just down the road from the factory outlets...so let the lady shop while you sample!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ric Kempton Ric Kempton, Annapolis, MD
(06/26/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Good
I agree with the previous reviewer in that there was a disperity in the Ales vs. the lagers, but I think it was the ales that were better. It's nice to see a brewpub making lagers where so few dare to tread, unfortunately I found them to be medieocre. Pilsner had nice straw color and good clarity. DMS And diacetyl are both evident though low and in the background. Low hop aroma, low bitterness, pilsner malt flavor dominates. The Bock was better with dark red-brown color and good clarity. Strong malt and roast aromas dominate again with slight DMS and diacetyl. Flavor balanced toward sweet. Roast malt flavor evident, can't say there's any Munich malt in the Bock though. The Pale Ale was better golden color, good clarity low head retention but laced glass. American hop aroma dominates. No diacetyl this time but the DMS aroma persists. It must be caused by a brew system peculiarity or a slight infection. Dry mouthfeel and clean, refreshing finish. Better than average food. Cool alternative music playing while we were there. Service was nice, if average. Great lunch location for those traveling through the rockies on the interstate.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Doug, Chicago, IL
(05/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Good
Just off I-70, the Dillon Dam is an exceptional brewery, but not for the reason that one might think. While all of their brews are passable, it's not the quality of the beer that stands out. Rather, it's the great DISPARITY in quality between their lagers and their ales. In fact, as a die-hard ale drinker, I can say that this is the only brewery I've ever been to where I had a CLEAR preference for the lagers. The Dam Straight Lager, the Yohan Bock, and the Pilsener were all excellent! Even the light lager was really tasty. Given the quality of the lagers, the ales were a bit disappointing. The EPA and Brown Ale had a bitter aftertaste. It's well worth stopping in this place for a pint and burger (try the buffalo!).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ben Ben, New Haven, CT
(08/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Great
I visit brewpubs all over the country and this one is one of the best. I enjoyed almost everyone of their beers and if I hadn't been driving and visiting other brewpubs that day, I would have stayed much longer. The food was outstanding, as was the service. Noah the bartender was a very gracious host. Can't wait to go back!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rich Fanning Rich Fanning, Grosse Pointe Farms, MI
(07/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
Stopped for lunch on the drive from the mountains to Denver. Tried the hefe, since I enjoy that style in the summer and wanted to compare the offerings from the different brewpubs in CO I was visiting. It was very good - true to style, very refreshing. The bratwurst sandwich and fries were also very good (the fries especially). Place was packed at 1:00 pm on the Friday before the 4th of July long weekend. Seems like a good stopping point if you're heading to the mountain resorts (or on your way back).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Monte Monte, Morris County, NJ
(07/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Probably the best brewpub I have visited in the US. We were fortunate to have our trip acvross the Vail Pass stopped by a freak snowstorm on the Friday of Memorial Day Weekend. Since we couldn't drive we stopped for lunch and happened upon The Dillon Dam Brewery. The extra Pale Ale was the excellent as was the Sweet Georgia Brown. Food also was great with wonderful service from a very knowledgable bartender.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ed almekinder ed almekinder, raleigh, nc
(06/28/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
Any place that sells a shirt saying "Get your own DAM beer" has to be a lot of fun! Beautiful setting, good food and very nice people. Great way to end a day.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Brian, New Kensington, PA
(04/28/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I tried Sweet George's Brown Ale at Copper Mt. in March. It was nice, malty, and delicious.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul E. Milligan Paul E. Milligan, Columbia, MD
(04/07/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! So So Awesome! Good
Of the 8 samples I tried only the Sweet Georgie's Brown and Extra Pale Ale stood out. Service was great considering it was fairly busy the night I was there. Waitress was very helpful. French Dip sandwich was so-so. bread was fresh but the beef a little dry.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Morseburg Bob Morseburg, Seattle, WA
(08/06/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Good Great
A great small brewery, making an astonishing 8 beers. The Oatmeal stout was wonderful, and the American style wheat was fantastic. I liked the Dam Straight Lager best of all, generally in the Vienna style. Food was great too! Best part of this place was the attitude! With slogans like "Best Dam Beer in the Rockies," "Taste the Dam Difference," and "Get Your Own Dam Beer," it is a lot of fun. The view from the 2 story picture windows across the valley to Buffalo Mtn is fantastic!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lyle C. Brown Lyle C. Brown, Fredericksburg, VA
(07/07/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ZAM ZAM, Lakewood, CO
(03/27/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Great Great
A solid lineup of beers, but it's the food that makes this place a find. A fine place to spend an evening.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Rask Tim Rask, Solon, IA
(11/21/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
They have a very nice selection of beers with several dark beers. In fact the dark selections were the largest I've seen in my travels. The food was great which I understand from my sister was not the case when it first opened 3 years ago. Over all this was a very nice brewery and one that I will try again when in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lee Walko Lee Walko, Midland, MI
(08/13/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Lunch was great, not too busy and the beer was above average. Can't wait till I get my rental house built 5 miles down the road so I can go more often!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Andy Turner Andy Turner, Oshkosh, WI
(01/22/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great
We visited over the holidays and was impressed by the very friendly service. This spot appeared to have more "locals" at the bar which was a good sign. We had a sampler and most of the beers had taste, especially the darker ones. We didn't eat here but the menu looked good for a brewpub so we will be back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Hammell Joe Hammell, Atlanta, GA
(01/04/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Awesome! Great
The trout amandine was the best fried fish that I have had since I was about 12 years old. I adopted the waitress, she was so good. The beer was excellent, particularly the caramel-tasting Sweet Gerge's brown. I bought a case to bring home.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Jones Chris Jones, Flagstaff, AZ
(10/04/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
The beer, food, and service is all terrific! Besides the fact that they have astounding mountain views, great for apre ski. But, the summers are excellent too - after a day of mountain biking, hiking or even hitting the outlet center shops, the outdoor deck is a must. They have pool tables, live music (Arnie Green is great when he plays acoustic out on the deck), and the staff is excellent. Oh ya, and they have great beer too - I must recommend the Dam Straight Lager for myself, but the Yo Han Bock packs a powerful punch. They also have a Wilderness Wheat, Sweet George's Brown (named after the owner), and an Oatmeal Stout. They also have seasonal beers year-round.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ann LaVallie Ann LaVallie, Highlands Ranch, CO
(07/23/1998)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.391 seconds) 01:26:15 54.166.159.110, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS