PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Black Forest Brew Haus - Farmingdale, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
November 25, 2014 @ 06:51 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > Farmingdale > Black Forest Brew Haus
Black Forest Brew Haus Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Black Forest Brew Haus
Overall: Great    Score: 71.3 / 100
2015 New Highway
Farmingdale, NY 11735
United States
(631) 391-9500
Listed Since: October 1998
Last Updated: July 2001
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Farmingdale, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Black Forest Brew Haus
32 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(1 within 5 miles)
1) Mister Beery's
(3 miles)

nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN BAR HARBOUR INN
2) DAYS INN HICKSVILLE LONG ISLAN
3) EXTENDEDSTAY BETHPAGE
4) HOMEWOOD STE LONG ISLAND MELV
5) MARRIOTT MELVILLE LONG ISLAND
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Baylis, M., House
2) Everit, John, House
3) Grace Church Complex
4) Long Island Rail Road Station at Farmingdale
5) Sweet Hollow Presbyterian Church Parsonage
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 56th Fighter Group
2) A Cafe
3) Albert's Pizzeria V
4) Alitalia Pizza & Family Rstrnt
5) All Aboard
6) Amazon Cafe
7) Annabella Restaurant
8) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
9) Atlantic Deli Co Inc
10) Baridyne Assoc Ltd
11) Bella Napoli Restaurant
12) Bellagio Pizza
13) Black Forest Brew Haus
14) Blanche
15) Blimpie Subs & Salads
16) Blimpie Subs & Salads
17) Bollinger Family Restaurant
18) Boston Market
19) Boulevard Deli Inc
20) Burger King
21) Burger King
22) C & J Deli Inc
23) Cafe Royale
24) Captain Andy's Restaurant
25) Carlyle On The Green
26) Carvel Ice Cream Bakery
27) Changing Times Pub
28) China Ii
29) Corner Cafe
30) Crazy Donkey Bar Grill
31) Crystal Cafe
32) Dan & Vee Fast Food
33) Domenico's Pizzeria
34) Domino's Pizza
35) Downtown Bar & Grill
36) Eat Right 4 Life Inc
37) Ed Youngs Chinese Restaurant
38) Emerald Caterer
39) Epicurean Express Intl
40) Express Sandwich Shop
41) Fabio's Deli & Grocery Inc
42) Farmingdale Quick Mart Inc
43) Felico's Pizzeria Inc
44) Frankie's East Side Pizzeria
45) Friendly's Restaurant
46) Fulton Street Pizza
47) Fulton Street Pub
48) Gino's Pizzeria
49) Giovanni's Pizzeria & Rstrnt
50) Golden China Resaurant
51) Goodfellas Pizzeria & Deli
52) Granny O'shea's
53) Great Wall Kitchen
54) Grecian Grill
55) Greenfield A Brazilian
56) Hong Kong
57) Hong Thai
58) Houlihan's
59) Igloo Italian Ices
60) Inn On Main
61) Int'l Gourmet Express
62) Island Coffee
63) J & W Southwind Deli
64) J P's Long Island Grill
65) Jade Palace
66) Jaegerhaus
67) Java Room
68) Jennys Thai Restaurant
69) Jillian's
70) John Carmine's Pizzeria Inc
71) John's Market
72) Kin Wah Chinese Restaurant
73) King Caterers
74) LA Plaza Restaurant & Bar
75) Liberty Diner 110
76) Library Cafe
77) Lotus Garden
78) Lucky House Inc
79) Main Deli
80) Main Street Food Mart Inc
81) Mario's Int'l Gourmet Express
82) Mary's New Way Inn
83) Maxim's Chinese Rest Inc
84) Mc Donald's
85) Mega Deli
86) Melanie's
87) Mer's Pub
88) Merritt Delicatessen Inc
89) Moo Goong Hwa Korean Rstrnt
90) Morgan B
91) Mt Rose Ravioli & Macaroni Co
92) Muffins
93) Nathan's Famous
94) Nikki's Cafe
95) Nutty Irishmen
96) O'delicious China Buffet
97) Old Bethpage Inn
98) Out To Lunch
99) Oved Corp
100) Parks Sajos Deli
101) Pasta Cucina
102) Pasta Cucina
103) People's Deli
104) Pete's Deli
105) Pizzamania
106) Po Hing Chinese Kitchen
107) Railroad Deli
108) Ralph's Ices
109) Restaurante El Potrero
110) Rosemarie Pizza
111) Roy Roger's Family Restaurant
112) Roy Rogers Family Restaurant
113) Ruby Tuesday
114) Sandwiches Deli
115) Scoops
116) Scooters Sports Pub
117) Simple Pleasures
118) Someplace Else
119) Spartan Diner
120) Spartan Diner
121) Special Affairs Caterers
122) Starbucks
123) Stuart Thomas Manor
124) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
125) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
126) Taco Bell
127) Taormina Restaurant & Pizzeria
128) Top Hat Friendly Deli
129) Tru-Value Deli
130) Two Brothers Pizzaria
131) Ubaldo's Italian Restaurant
132) University Bagels Inc
133) University Pizza
134) Vasquez Deli
135) Villa Monte
136) Wahs Garden Kitchen
137) Weeping Willow Restaurant
138) Weeping Willow Restaurant
139) Wendy's
140) Wendy's
141) Wes Design
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Lousy Good Lousy
I literally signed up to PubCrawler just to vent about how bad this place was. Outside looks great, walking through the bar area looked even better. My wife and I sat down ready for good beer and food and could not have been more disappointed. The beer was ok, I tried the Pilsener and Amber. Neither was a drain pour but I would not drink either ever again. The food ranked among the worst I have ever eaten. I am trying to decide if it is the 1st or 2nd worst place that I ever ate in. The bratwurst/knackwurst looked like plastic toy hot dogs and did not taste much better. My wife got a chicken philo dough wrap, chicken was dry, spinach was sour and the philo dough was the texture of wet cardboard. The single worst thing on either of our plates was a cream corn side that was actually inedible. You physically could not chew the corn down to a texture that your throat would allow you to swallow. Waitress was really nice about the experience and gave us an fyi that the veal dish my wife was originally going to order is actually worse than the chicken slop that she decided on. The mere idea that a dish exists that is worse than what we got will give me nightmares tonight.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Steve, Reading, PA
(11/26/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Lousy Lousy
First of all, the day I went, the bathrooms were unsanitary. My waitress was rude and inexperienced. My food came out 15 minutes later than everyone else at our table and when it did come out, it was cold. I asked for the manager, he was most abnoxious. The beer was the only thing enjoyable here. Definitely not worth going back for the money it cost, the food and the service!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Wantagh, NY
(03/02/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
The food service and beer were all great. We can't wait to go back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Shane Shane , Farmingdale, NY
(06/12/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A Lousy Lousy
worst service ever...got there today at 11:45am with 6 people...ordered food at 12 noon....when 1pm came and the food never arrived we got up and walked out...whoever owns this restaurant is going to be losing business big time...three tables adjacent to us...same thing no food

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review patchogue, NY
(04/08/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great
I sat at the bar. Beer service was very good. I only had a pretzel which seemed to take 20 minutes to make. I must say it was fresh though. I am not a great fan of German beers but since yhis one was in closed proximity wo where i was visiting, I didn't want to pass it up. The pilsner was very good. I also tried the Schwarzbier, I didn't notice the hops they promote in it. It was refreshing but not worth $6 for a pint.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Morseburg Bob Morseburg, Seattle, WA
(08/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
A nice German style brewpub. The beers were all very good, although quite pricey; $5.00 to $7.00 for a pint. I started with the Big Rye Doppelbock, which had a nice malty flavor with a good deal of bitterness. It was rather strong (8.3%), but quite smooth. The rye adds a nice depth of flavor. My wife had the Black Forest Amber, an excellent, well balanced märzen/Oktoberfest style lager (GABF gold medal winner). I also had the Hefe-Weizen, which was excellent; a traditional Hefeweizen with a nice though not overpowering banana-clove flavor. The food was also quite good. They had a decent menu consisting of typical pub fare as well as some German specialties. We had some killer home-made pretzels that came with a great honey mustard. My wife and I split a great wing sampler that consisted of 30 huge wings (hot, BBQ, and Thai peanut). They were so big we had to take about 10 of them home with us.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bearded Dave Bearded Dave, Pine Springs, TX
(02/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Coonelly Paul Coonelly, North Babylon, NY
(12/05/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Great Great
The brewer is friendly and willing to talk about his beers (like most brewers I know). You'll always find a fresh pilsner and an amber on tap. I had an incredible alt last weekend. Excellent bitterness and plenty of malt. The hefe is fantastic, but you'll have to ask them to hold the lemon. The hefe is balanced between clove and banana, neither ester is overpowering. There's a maibock on tap now; I'll be heading back soon to try that, should be good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Donavan Hall Donavan Hall, Rocky Point, NY
(05/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great
If you only have time for one or two BPs on Long Island (thats all there is anyway) this should be the first stop...then BrickHouse.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Beertrekker, Baltimore, MD
(07/23/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome!
Other than a lack of enough servers at times, this is the place to go. There is a great assortment of German / American fare. Sauerbraten! Spatzle! The beer is always fresh and there is usually a good selection of brews...from the porters to the lagers. My favorite is the Amber and the "Willie Beer" Hefeweizen. There is also an outdoor bar area, which is great on hot nights. A++++++

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Vic Begs Vic Begs, Melville, NY
(05/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
We went this past Saturday for Oktoberfest, and it was sooo much fun!! They had an Ompah Band who kept us all dancing, friendly jello-shot girl (and her handsome boyfriend), good beer (I am not a conniseur by any means but have been to Germany and enjoyed this as much or more than anything I've had there). The sauerkraut was yummy, potato salad was very tasty, potato pancakes were very dense but I loved them. Food was suprisingly good considering it was an outdoor cafe. I will definitely go back!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kara Kara, Bayside, NY
(10/07/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good Good
I've been here before, a couple of years ago, and I was not impressed, but since it is the closest brewpub to my house, I figured that I would give it another chance:

Only 4 choices - mostly lagers - a pils, a dunkel, an amber and a seasonal which was an altbeir. I tried the alt and the dunkel, and both were good. We had basic pub grub and were pleasantly suprised. We left as the "dueling pianos" were starting up on the outside deck - interesting idea... I've read some negative reviews about his place and I don't agree based on today's visit. I think I'll go back again

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Irwin Markus Irwin Markus, Baldwin, NY
(07/07/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Good
The beers here were brewed with a close attention to the German heritage of the owners. There were only 4 on tap (pils, amber, dunkels, export), but they were all pretty solid, although served a bit too cold. The food was pretty authentic German cuisine, mixed with pub standards. We stayed with the German food and were pleased. I have to agree with others that have stated the atmosphere was lacking -- it was pretty dead on a saturday afternoon. Also, the server was efficient, but needed a little personality so that we didn't feel like we were interrupting his afternoon nap...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from steve steve, somerset, NJ
(06/17/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great
I stopped by the Black Forest last week while on a research trip through Long Island. I was very pleased with the care taken on brewing these lager beers: a full 8 weeks lagering time on each beer. Tried the pils, export, maibock, Baltic porter, and Amber/festbier. All were quite good, with the striking exception of the Baltic porter, which had a strong celery-homebrew taste to it. The brewer had told me it was near the end of the tank, but yeesh. The other beers were excellent, though, and I'd give it an Awesome if it weren't for the porter. I took a growler of the export along to my wife's family picnic, along with growlers from Middle Ages, Southampton, and Blue Point, and we all agreed that we would have liked to have about four more growlers of the Black Forest Export. Each.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Newtown, PA
(05/27/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Lousy Lousy Lousy
This place looked like it was transplanted from Germany so I was looking forward to some good German food and beer. Boy was I mistaken. They had 4 beers on tap, I tried the Pilsener, and could not even finish it it was so bad with a sour soapy taste. My food arrived BEFORE the beer, and it was barely edible. I then had to wait 25 minutes for my check. Lousy food, beer, and service: Do NOT go here!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Russ Hobaugh Russ Hobaugh, Birdsboro, PA
(03/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A N/A
The hefeweizen was excellent. I know these styles are not for everyone but if you like German style beer, they do a very good job.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from greenmon greenmon, Asheboro, NC
(09/05/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So So So So So
This place is like TGIF with a few specialty beers thrown in. The bartenders have absolutely no idea what they are serving. Start talking to them about hops, malt, etc. and you get the deer in the headlights look. I'm from Queens originally and now live on L.I., the crowd isn't that friendly. If huntington was waiting for a good brew house they have to keep waiting until on opens up. The only redeeming quality is that it has an outdoor deck for the Spring and Summer months.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Long Island, NY
(02/10/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So Good Good
Not what I expected. This is a large German themed restaurant. It must be awesome when they hold an Oktoberfest. Beers were uninspiring. Not much of an atmosphere. I went out of my way to visit this place and I wouldn't recommend to a traveling beer connoisseur.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, Macedon, NY
(01/25/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
Long Island has needed a good brewpub near Huntington for a long time-this is it. While 4 beers doesn't rate as an awsome selection, all the beers are excellent. The layout of the place is great too. It is obviously a large place, but broken up into comfortable areas.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chauncy Fields Chauncy Fields, New York, NY
(01/17/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Great Great Good
This place serves all German lagers. Pretty good stuff. The Lager was very clean, the Krauesen had a pleasant, mild sweetness, and the Pilsner had a nice little bite. Where the improvement needs to come (and where I rated them low) was in the selection. This was great beer, but truly aimed at the Lowest Common Denominator (ie. Bud) drinkers. I am certain that these guys have the skill to make stuff like a Hefeweizen, Dunkelweizen, or a Maibock, which would have been a great addition to their spring/summer lineup. Service and Food were both plentiful and excellent.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Tomlinson Tim Tomlinson, Austin, TX
(06/17/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!
We went with a perty of six. We all ordered different things and shared them. All the items were great. The flamecake was something different and the filet mignon was the best I had ever tasted. As far as the beer goes, it was just like being in Germany, no berries, fruits or nuts just real beer. It was a great experience. Beer the way it is meant to be.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review farmingdale, NY
(06/04/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Great
Authentic German beer, one has to travel to Germany to get the same quality beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review New York, NY
(03/16/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good Good
New beer every 2 or 3 months. Food Priced high (everything Ala Carte). Beer Expensive $4.00 for a mug. Porter excellent only available around Christmas. No live Music on weekends. They never buy you a beer!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Deer Park, NY
(02/27/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Good Good
Beer is uninspiring. The darkest available was an Amber that was O.K., everything else was on the light side. The group I was with thought the food was good not great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Hicksville, NY
(02/10/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So Good Good
Nice atmosphere. Music a little loud in main room (and I'm not that old). The bock was a bit light but drinkable. The amber wasn't amber or drinkable. The appetizers we ordered (a cold pretzel and mozzerella bread) were embarrassing. I'm surprised they were served to us. The main courses were OK. One good perk was a free growler since we spent over $50. Waitress was pleasant.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, NY, NY
(01/30/1999)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.742 seconds) 18:51:22 54.227.86.164, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS