PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Minocqua Brewing Company - Minocqua, WI
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
April 19, 2014 @ 02:36 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > WI > Minocqua > Minocqua Brewing Company
Minocqua Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Minocqua Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 70.9 / 100
238 Lake Shore Drive
PO Box 81
Minocqua, WI 54548
United States
(715) 356-2600
Listed Since: October 1998
Last Updated: February 2006
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Minocqua, WI
Beer Guide for Wisconsin

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Minocqua Brewing Company
71 Reviews / 10 Photos
hours of operation
Sun 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Mon 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Tue 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Wed 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Thu 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Fri 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Sat 11:00AM - 11:00PM

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Bonds Northwoods Bed & Brkfast
2) Tamarack Lodge & B & B
3) Whitehaven Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) AMERICINN OF MINOCQUA
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Boesel, Ella M., Boathouse
2) Fishers Island
3) Tom 2 Site
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Cabin Country Coffee & Gifts
2) Club 70
3) Cousins Subs
4) Happy Daze
5) Horhay's Java Saloon
6) KFC
7) Life Spring
8) Otto's Beer & Brat Garden
9) Prancing Pony
10) Rib-Er Side East
11) Tasty Take & Bake Pizza Inc
12) Thirsty Whale
13) Trigs Beverage Dept Cellar 70
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome!
I grew up in Minocqua and I have to say that the Brewing Company is my favorite restaurant in town. For starters the beer is great, especially the sampler paddle. The Brewing Company has a great selection of beers and the sampler paddle is the best way to try them all!

The Wheat Ale and Smoked Gouda soup, or as locals call it beer cheese soup, is amazing. Thick and creamy and served with a baguette.

The Julius Caesar is amazing. Huge caesar salad and half an avocado stuffed with chicken salad.

Also, try the sweet potato fries served with a lemon ginger aioli.

I have tried most of the items on this menu and have never been dissatisfied. In the summer there is usually a wait, but that's why there is beer! Try the Brewing Company, you won't regret it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jimmie Jimmie, Woodruff, WI
(01/04/2011)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So So So Lousy
We visit the Minocqua area every year. We have given the Minocqua Brewing Company a fair chance to impress us as we have gone there on several times over the last 3 years and we were disappointed more times than not. From the looks of the menu and the extra charges for this or that it appears they are out to collect any penny they can. We decided this year that the plan in future years is to not go to the MBC. The food is okay, the service is moderate and we know we can go elsewhere and get great food and service. I wish that one time there had been management that would pop by our table to ask how our visit was. I guess they don't want to know. I came to the conclusion that the MBC is NOT where the locals eat and that they may just be depending on folks that come and go into this lovely town.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Julie G Julie G, Milw, WI
(06/29/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
Since 2006 owner Ron has continued to upgrade his menu. Now I'd nominate the Minocqua Brewing Co. the best menu in town. Fresh, imaginative salads; well-prepared fresh fish; ambitious daily specials; great carrot cake to finish.

Beers were also very good, but no real IPA and no cask-conditioned ales. However the Wild Rice beer was very interesting - tasted a bit like sake. And the Brewmaster's Special, an Oatmeal Stout, very delicious with that Carrot Cake.

And if you're cross-country skiing out at Minocqua Winter Park west of town (arguably the best XC area in the midwest) they serve MBC beers in the Chalet!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Clark Maxfield Clark Maxfield, Chicago, IL
(01/10/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
Good beer. Most were very drinkable. Food was outstanding. Definitely worth a trip back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dick Poynter Dick Poynter, Springfield, IL
(10/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
Being under new ownership and the brewmaster self admittly new....the IPA was very very good and they had a seasonal that was fantastic. The food is not your typical pub food. The burgers are more of a gourmet meal. There could be more selections but this is a new establisment and they just need more time to settle in. With that said I will make this the only place for food and beer when I am in Minoqua. Oh yea the ambiance is comfy and the owners are nice and easy going, and that is reflected in the way the pub is operated.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ryan Ryan, palos hills, IL
(04/20/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
It has a nice atmosphere, everybody is nice, and has a great since of humor, and at most are outgoing. You will like the food, very flavorful, it has it's own uniqueness, it's not the same as before, same building but totaly different menu , the menu has great choices, but don't have anything before you go there or you may need a box to take it with you. It's rich looking dinning room of reds and gold set off a great feeling of a classy place and yet warm place to enjoy with family or friends. I really enjoy going there and you will to when you have experienced the menu and brew and staff as well.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Carrie Carrie, Minocqua, WI
(04/15/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good
This is a comfortable place, but in comparison to other Badger State brewpubs, the quality and selection of beers here is at best average. The food menu, on the other hand, is creative and what we tasted was really well prepared. Service at the bar was terrific; in the dining room it was slow and inattentive. All in all, the new ownership seems to have improved things considerably.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rick Bie Rick Bie, Stevens Point, WI
(03/02/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The brewery has undergone some dramatic changes since new owners have purchased the building. The old owners did nothing to restore the business after a fire caused the brewery to close. The beers are brewed with the same recipes, but the menu, atmosphere, and service are completely different. I encourage everyone to give the Minocqua Brewing Company a second chance, and if you are not fully satisfied with your experience, please inform one of the owners (yes they are always there) and they will do whatever they can to make your next visit more pleasureable.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nikki Nikki, Minocqua, WI
(02/11/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
I was in the brewpub in the summer of 2004. Never had any food, the service was so bad. Just tried it again and it is a whole world of different; the food, the beer, the service are all the best!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nick Schultz Nick Schultz, Cedarburg, WI
(02/02/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Yep, confirmed new ownership and management. My tireless badmouthing of Minocqua Brewing officially ends, and I am now willing to give them another try next time I'm in the area.

--The Enemy

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Chicago, IL
(01/30/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The Minocqua Brewing Comapany is reopened under new ownership and management. They have a very unique menu and great beer. Their website is minocquabrewingcompany.com.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Tom, Milwaukee, WI
(01/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Had a fire and closed for now.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dee Dee, Wausau, WI
(01/04/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
"To The Enemy: Who are you anyway? It's one thing to slam a business' products and services when it's up and running. Kicking them when they are down following a fire is quite another. How did you become so spiteful?"

Well Mr. Boston, if the snotty little bitch of a waitress had said about your wife what she said about mine, within clear earshot of our party, and management made no attempt to make amends, you might be a bit spiteful too. I almost never hold a grudge against some place where I had a bad experience but this is one exception. I don't care if the place just suffered a goddamned China Syndrome meltdown, much less a kitchen fire. Until I see some indication that it is under different ownership/management, I will badmouth it relentlessly. And except for Lundis himself, I don't care who bellyaches about the ensuing flame war.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from The Enemy The Enemy, Chicago, IL
(09/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
This place is closed for repairs due to a fire. We were told locally that it had been reopened but this was far from being true. Lots of work going on. Really nice location in a park like setting, by a lake. Check before you waste your time coming here, like we did.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Seven Nike Seven Nike, St. Louis, MO
(09/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So N/A N/A N/A N/A
The Enemy is one of the greatest beer snobs of all time. You don't believe me? Click the little folder next to his name and read his reviews. This guy knows what he's talking about. And although I've never physically been to the Minocqua Brewing Company, I'm weary of paying a visit due to the reviews I've seen in here, and I must confess, I've tried three of their beers at the local brewfest, but can't say I was really impressed. The Wild Rice Lager was simply no good. I tried the Holiday Special Ale, "brewed with real maple syrup", couldn't taste any maple syrup at all. The Pale Ale, on the other hand, was decent, had a nice Cascade hop bite. But based on the average of the three, I wasn't very impressed overall, so I'll take The Enemy's word for it on the rest. Probably not worth my time to visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David M. Taylor David M. Taylor, Two Rivers, WI
(09/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
To The Enemy: Who are you anyway? It's one thing to slam a business' products and services when it's up and running. Kicking them when they are down following a fire is quite another. How did you become so spiteful?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Boston, MA
(09/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Mr. Weekend says, "The only thing I can rate as consistent for this place is the location. Good thing they can't change that." Hey, who knows. Maybe they'll have to change locations after all, as their current place suffered substantial fire damage. Probably the best thing that ever happened to it. Good riddance. :P

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from The Enemy The Enemy, Chicago, IL
(09/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
My fiancee and I were here last weekend, and cannot understand the awful reviews. The place is definetley not outstanding, but not was also definetly not horrible. We both had the Pale Ale, which was decent. I had the Catfish entree which was terrific, and while my fiancee's fried perch left a lot to be desired, there was plenty of my food to share. They do not have cheese curds, which we were promised in a local advertisement, but were told they were coming back. Alas, we also heard that the place caught fire a day or two after we were there, so I guess there future is up in the air.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from montyburns montyburns, Wauconda, IL
(09/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good
The servers I saw were real busy, but then there were only two of them. I had the Rye Porter: Good Porter, didn't taste any rye. I also had a Nut Brown: fairly good. My wife had the Peach Wheat: She thought it was good, I thought it was definetely Peachie (which IMHO, should not be). Most of our party thought the food was good. I had a greek chicken sandwich on Focacia bread. The only thing is that the Focacia bread looked really similar to a hamburger bun, so much so that I called it a hamburger bun. I usually buy a tee shirt from the establishements I go to and this was no exception. However, they had a limited number of XL, and they were rather expensive ($20). I usually have a problem with paying a lot of good money so that I can walk around as free advertisement for someone else. I'll go back, but mainly because we vacation up in this area of upper wisconsin and it's the only brew pub around (captured audiance wearing free advertisement).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Don Kerber Don Kerber, Wauwatosa, WI
(07/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So So So Lousy Lousy
Maybe because Iam from Washington state,home of some of the best brewpubs in the world,Iam spoiled,but Minocqua Brewing is so off the mark that its a waste of time.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Cliff Pavechio Cliff Pavechio, James, WA
(06/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
With the many critical reviews of this place, I did not have very high expectations of Minocqua Brewing Co. But our experience on a recent weekday was OK. We did lunch and both beers that I had were solid – the respectable red ale and the amber-colored wild rice lager (a former GABF winner), which had a sweet, nutty taste like I might expect in a brown ale. My companions chose somewhat lighter beers. We returned later in the afternoon and did the entire beer sampler so that we could try them all. Other choices included a light honey ale, and amber light, an appropriately hopped pale ale, and a decent rye porter that was not quite as complex in flavor as the menu promised. I even saw a couple of Minocqua’s Island City beers in six packs in a liquor store in Rhinelander. This is not an outstanding brewpub, but ours was not a terrible experience as others have described. And it does have a great setting overlooking the lake.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(06/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good So So Good
The only thing I can rate as consistent for this place is the location. Good thing they can't change that. I agree with the many who find this place an enigma..either good or awful. I, too cannot fathom why you can't get the Wild Rice beer, and can't believe the rudeness of their staff. Maybe they're all from Chicago ;-)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mr. Weekend Mr. Weekend, Middleton, WI
(03/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
SKIP IT !!! SO MANY BETTER PLACES IN TOWN!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dennis Bell Dennis Bell, Nashville, TN
(03/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I absolutely love the brewery in Minocqua. Yes, I am a local, however, I've been many places in this world and always come back to this brewery for a great beer!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Angel Angel, Minocqua, WI
(02/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
The Red is the best.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Wausau, WI
(01/19/2004)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.221 seconds) 02:36:43 54.198.139.141, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS