PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Thunder Bay Brewing Company was Alcatraz Brewing - Auburn Hills, MI
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 31, 2014 @ 08:47 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MI > Auburn Hills > Thunder Bay Brewing Company was Alcatraz Brewing
Thunder Bay Brewing Company was Alcatraz Brewing Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Thunder Bay Brewing Company was Alcatraz Brewing
Overall: Good    Score: 70 / 100
[Closed]
Great Lakes Crossing Mall
Auburn Hills, MI 48326
United States
(248) 454-THUN
Listed Since: December 1998
Last Updated: July 2007
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Auburn Hills, MI
Beer Guide for Michigan

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Thunder Bay Brewing Company was Alcatraz Brewing
32 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(5 within 5 miles)
1) Big Buck Brewery and Steakhouse #3
(0 mile)

2) King Brewing Company
(2 miles)

3) Bo's Brewery and Bistro
(2 miles)

4) Liberty Bar
(2 miles)

5) C.K. Diggs
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Cobblestone Manor
2) Emily's Bed & Breakfast
3) Pride of Pontiac
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) AMERISUITES AUBURN HILLS
2) COMFORT SUITES AUBURN HILLS
3) COURTYARD PONTIAC
4) EXTENDEDSTAY AUBURN HILLS DET
5) FAIRFIELD INN DET-AUBURN HILLS
6) HAMPTON INN AUBURN HILLS
7) HILTON SUITES AUBURN HILLS
8) PONTIAC MARRIOTT
9) RESIDENCE INN PONTIAC
10) STAYBRIDGE SUITES
11) WINGATE INN AUBURN HILLS
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Casa del Rey Apartments
2) Central School
3) Eagle Theater
4) Gillespie Street--Clinton River Bridge
5) Grinnell Brothers Music House
6) Howard, Horatio N., House
7) Myrick-Palmer House
8) St. Vincent DePaul Catholic Church, Convent, and School
9) Torrey, Charles, House
10) Wisner House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Alfoccino Italian Restaurant
2) Altadona
3) American Grill
4) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
5) Arby's
6) Arby's
7) Arby's
8) B D's Mongolian Bar-B-Que
9) Bella's
10) Ben & Jerry's
11) Big Buck Brewery & Steak House
12) Burger King
13) Carryout Express
14) China Dragon
15) Chuck's On The Boulevard
16) Cottage Inn Pizza
17) D W's Bar & Grill
18) Dairy Delight
19) Dairy Queen
20) Dilly Deli
21) Domino's Pizza
22) Friday's
23) Garee's Pizzeria & Deli
24) Gloria Jean's Coffees
25) Great Wraps
26) Hoops Sports & Spirits
27) Hot 'n Now Hamburgers
28) Houlihan's Culinary Traditions
29) Hungry Howie's Pizza & Subs
30) Hunt & Grunt Pub
31) Jet's Pizza
32) Jimmy John's Gourmet Sandwich
33) Kfc
34) KFC
35) LA Shish
36) Lelli's
37) Little Caesars Pizza
38) Main Event Restaurant
39) Marioni's Family Grill
40) Martin's Nest
41) Maui WOWI
42) Max & Erma's
43) Mc Donald's
44) Mc Donald's
45) Mc Donald's
46) Miyako Japanese Steakhouse
47) Montana's Cookhouse Saloon
48) Mountain Jack's
49) Moy Kong Express Inc
50) Mr Pita
51) Mr Pizza Bootleg Party Store
52) New Garden Chinese Restaurant
53) O'malley's
54) Olive Garden
55) Oriental Forrest Buffet
56) Palace Grille
57) Papa Romano's
58) Patsy's Family Restaurant
59) Pettijons
60) Pizza Express
61) Popeye's Chicken & Biscuits
62) Post The Bar
63) Quiznos Sub
64) Quiznos Sub
65) Rangoli Catering Svc
66) Rangoli Indian Cuisine
67) Satay Ria
68) Shelley's Coney
69) Sonic Coney Island
70) Spargo's Coney Island
71) Starbucks
72) Starbucks
73) Stuffed Bun
74) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
75) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
76) Taco Bell
77) Taco Tool & Accessory
78) Taste Of Thailand
79) Thai Fortune
80) Tim Horton
81) Tokyo Sushi
82) Tubby's Sub Shop
83) Wendy's
84) White Castle
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Great Good
As of July 1st the brewery is closed. It was the only thing keeping Christmas shopping at the mall tolerable!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Brewer Chris Brewer, Mount Clemens, MI
(07/12/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
From what I understand, the beers here are brewed by the same brewmaster that brews for Etouffee in southfield. The emphasis there was on stronger brews, here the emphasis seemed to be on not as strong (7% or under) The beer was good, but I only had the chips and salsa to eat. The atmosphere is pretty much the same as when it was Alcatraz, just changed the theme to North Michigan (The jail bars are gone and the bridge now represents the mackinac) Not bad for a brewery that is located in a shopping mall.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan VanderKooi Dan VanderKooi, Muskegon, MI
(06/11/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good
Pretty average beers I suppose. Better than I expected though. I wish every mall had a brewery. I would rather drink here than choke down some Becks at a friggin Ruby Tuesdays.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Rob, romeoville, IL
(04/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Great Awesome! Great
First time we ate here. The service by our waitress, Katie Campbell was #1. The Chicken Penne was great, as was the macaroni and cheeese. The fish and Chips was a litte too much breading. Great freedom fries. Get Rum Runners-very good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rick Rakestraw Rick Rakestraw, White Lake, MI
(10/23/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So So So So So
I had lunch here today. Do not make a special trip. The beer is non descript lacking flavor and body. I had the IPA and Porter. Not worth a second visit with all ther really good beer in Michigan.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Don Pfeiffer Don Pfeiffer, Toledo, OH
(07/20/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo. Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(09/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Good Awesome! Good
I don't drink, so sorry I can't comment on that, but I had the grilled chicken salad, forgot the name of it. The ranch was watery and had no taste, but the salad itself was very good... when I came, it was very slow, but my server was excellent.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Pontiac, MI
(09/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Good Awesome! Good
I don't drink, so sorry I can't comment on that, but I had the grilled chicken salad, forgot the name of it. The ranch was watery and had no taste, but the salad itself was very good... when I came, it was very slow, but my server was excellent.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Pontiac, MI
(09/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy Lousy Lousy
We waited 30 minutes for our drinks. We had to inquire what happened to the waitress several times. The beer was warm when we finally got it. Our food was cold when we finally got it. We have tried this place twice and had the same experience both times. I would not go again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Lake Orion, MI
(09/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
I discovered this place by accident while in the area. The Motorhead IPA was very good as was the food. It is a large place with plenty of potential. I hope to be back very soon to try some of the others.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Allen, Ann Arbor, MI
(07/31/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
This place reopened recently as Thunder Bay Brewing Co.No Relationship to Alcatraz. Just same location and Brewing System.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robert Welch Robert Welch, Greenville, Oh
(07/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
We're so sorry they closed. My husband and I had so many good times there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Thomas & Alexandra Thomas & Alexandra, Lake Orion, MI
(09/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
We were recently in Great Lakes Crossing Mall and wanted to stop in, however it has, in fact, closed and is all borded up and vacant.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bradki45 Bradki45, Ferndale, MI
(09/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Man, you can always spot the "ringer" posts:

"The staff takes such good care of their customers. Food is excellent and the beer tastes GREAT!!!!"

All a moot point, since Beer Advocate reports the closing of this Alcatraz location.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from skidmark skidmark, Kalamazoo, MI
(08/13/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The staff takes such good care of their customers. Food is excellent and the beer tastes GREAT!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob, Darlene, Shell, Chris Bob, Darlene, Shell, Chris, Troy, MI
(07/15/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Good So So

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark  Bergeron Mark Bergeron, Allen Park, MI
(11/18/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Good So So

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Allen Park, MI
(11/18/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So Good So So
This place overuses nitrogen, incorporating it into styles where it does not belong. Commercial atmosphere, average food, I would skip this place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rick Georgette Rick Georgette, West Bloomfield, MI
(11/13/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bart Fellin Bart Fellin, Flemington, NJ
(08/19/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
A chain restaurant in a mall is prone to inconsistency, however, a recent visit rated well. The brown ale was good, the pale ale was a little watery, but not bad, and the service was attentive and friendly.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Carl Fielding Carl Fielding, Ann Arbor, MI
(03/25/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So So So So So
The beer is mediocre at best and the service spotty - you're better off going to one of the other bars in the mall, if you must eat in the mall ...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sean Henne Sean Henne, Waterford, MI
(02/23/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Lousy Lousy Lousy
What a waste of my time....decor was cool....but I come for beer. The selection had nothing worthwhile in a dark beer. The food took so long...I wanted to leave...and when it came...I wish it didn't. Will never step foot in there again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Tim, Romeo, MI
(10/22/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Good
I had the stout with a BBQ Chicken Pizza. The beer and the pizza were both good. The stout wasn't as bitter as one would expect. Someone sitting next to me mentioned that all their beers seem sweet compared to what you'd find elsewhere. The pizza was good other than it had corn on it. It wasn't bad, but I was expecting Jalepenos.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Jeppesen Mike Jeppesen, Phoenix, AZ
(09/05/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good So So Good
The selection here is very nice. All brews are light in body and pleasant on the palate. This was one of the better Blondes I've ever had, with a surprisingly sweet taste. The oatmeal-style stout was also excellent. The other selections were rather enjoyable overall, except for the Light which was one of the worst I've ever had anywhere. Although the place was nearly empty, the staff was quite unattentive and very slow. Food was good and not very expensive. The atmosphere was also quite nice. The location (inside a gigantic outlet shopping mall), was a major turn-off.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gary Messano Gary Messano, Apopka, FL
(08/17/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Very nice place. I stopped for lunch and enjoyed the stout. Not too weak. The food was very good. I hope to go back when visiting the Great Lakes Crossroads Shopping Center.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lee Walko Lee Walko, Midland, MI
(08/09/2000)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.923 seconds) 08:47:45 54.234.82.216, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS