PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Calhoun's Restaurant and Brewery - Harrisonburg, VA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 01, 2014 @ 01:47 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > VA > Harrisonburg > Calhoun's Restaurant and Brewery
Calhoun's Restaurant and Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Calhoun's Restaurant and Brewery
Overall: Great    Score: 79.5 / 100
41 Court Square
Harrisonburg, VA 22801
United States
(540) 434-8777
Listed Since: January 1999
Last Updated: August 2011
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Harrisonburg, VA
Beer Guide for Virginia

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
45 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) By Side of Road Bed-Breakfast
2) Joshua Wilton House
3) Kingsway Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Funk, Joseph, House
2) Harrison, Thomas, House
3) Rockinghan County Courthouse
4) Wilton, Joshua, House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Anthony's Restaurant
2) APB Management
3) Arby's
4) Blue Nile Ethiopian Cuisine
5) Bob Evans Farms Restaurant
6) Brewsters Ice Cream
7) Chanello's Pizza
8) China Gourmet Restaurant
9) Cici's Pizza
10) Ciro's Lasagna House
11) Cold Stone Creamery
12) Cuban Coffee
13) Daily Grind
14) Daily Grind
15) Daily Grind
16) Daily Grind
17) Dinner Bell Cafe
18) Dinner-To-Go
19) Domino's Pizza
20) Domino's Pizza
21) Early Katering Co
22) El Zarape
23) Enterprise Food Svc
24) First Choice Deli
25) Fourteen Carrots
26) G & H Foods
27) Great Wok
28) Guzman's Mexican Restaurant
29) Heavenly Ham
30) Hong Kong
31) Italian Touch Pizza
32) Jess' Lunch
33) KFC
34) Kline's Dairy Bar
35) Kline's Dairy Bar
36) Kyoto Japanese Steak House
37) L'Italia
38) L'Italia Pizza & Pasta
39) LA Hacienda
40) Luigi's Pizza Co
41) Macondo's
42) Mc Donald's
43) Mc Donald's
44) Mr J's Bagel & Deli III
45) O'Charley's
46) Panera Bread
47) Pupuseria Salvadorena Rstrnt
48) Qdoba Mexican Grill
49) Quiznos Sub
50) R T's Chicken & Grille
51) Ruby Tuesday
52) Sarah's Ice Cream & Coffee
53) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
54) Thai Cafe
55) Traditions Family Style Dining
56) Valley View Hospitality
57) Valleys 24
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good
Stopped by Cally's last week (Wed, Aug 15th), while driving through the mountains on the way back home from the beach.

The food was good really good. My hamburger (had some cajun spices and a nice sauce) was excellent.

The beer selection was all right for a brewpub. I would definitely go back and try a few more, but only got the chance to try two while I was there this time.

The best was the smokin scottish. I was hoping for something along the lines of a wee heavy, but it wasn't that strong. It's probably along the lines of a 60 or 70 shilling, but very good nonetheless.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James S James S, Morgantown, WV
(08/21/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Great Awesome!
We visit Cally's once or twice a month. The microbrews are usually fantastic, though they might only have 4 or 5 at a time. You can always find something you'll like. The Smokin' Scottish and Apricot Ale are my two favorites. They also have an 8% alc. brew that just sweeps me off my feet. You can sample all the brews on tap for a small price.

They have a great selection of gourmet appetizers that you won't find at any Ruby Tuesdays or Chili's. Everyday at 4:30 is happy hour: $1 off beer and half price appetizers. Their bacon-wrapped scallops are superb and you can't beat them for $5 during happy hour. They're a meal alone and go great with a Scottish.

The after work crowd is full of regulars and the bar is usually packed. But there is plenty of space to sit and relax if you get there before 5:15pm.

As a pub, Cally's excels with great dinner food and great atmosphere which is always calm, cool and collected. The televisions are muted. The smoke never carries. There's no loud music to talk over.

The wait staff is friendly and they are used to hosting large parties of people while also keeping good eyes on their small parties.

Cally's is one of, if not the only, "it" place in Harrisonburg.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Justin Justin, Grottoes, VA
(08/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Great
This was my favorite place to have a meal with my daughter when she was a student at JMU. I averaged one "Calhoun's Attack" a month. The ales are great, especially the Smokin' Scottish. There was not a great variety of food to select, but always the burgers were superb.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Daniel Biles Daniel Biles, Abbottstown, PA
(08/06/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
We visited calhoun's in may and june this year. The staff was friendly and helpful. The food was excellent, well designed, seasoned, and prepared. The beer selection had changed out between our visits, so that we enjoyed a stout in may, but also loved an apricot ale in june. Harrisonburg is not a typical college town. The atmosphere is discreet and casual. It is not a rowdy college bar(though I am not sure that they have those at JMU). Calhoun's was a great place for my friends and I to sit down, have a nice meal with beverages, and "catch up". The growlers are reasonably priced as well. We won't ever miss this place when we are in VA again. P.S. There will be a name change coming about in the near future due to some trademark issues. I believe the new name will be ? Cali's ?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from kelly kane kelly kane, altoona, PA
(06/23/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Great
Went here a few months back. Seems like a great place to hang out on the weekends. Tried the brow, scottish and kolsch, all where good but nothing special, actually I really did enjoy the kolsch.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Shepherdstown, WV
(05/24/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Good Great Great
The SMOKIN' SCOTTISH ALE is one of the best beer's I have ever had. Had the Reuben and it was above average. The atmosphere is good but a little bland. Overall worth a try even if it is just for the scottish ale.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Dave, Roanoke, VA
(05/21/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great
Only stopped in for one beer. Had a very good stout.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo. Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(03/05/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!
I must disagree with the other review of Calhoun's in many ways. First I will address the "assistant brewmaster" issue. He not only helps out sometimes, he helps the brewmaster make every batch of beer to exacting recipes that they have developed. Second, this bar is far from a college destination. I often retreat to Calhoun's to escape any subtle College Influence that this so called "College Town" exudes. Also the menu has great food, yeah I'd like to see more turnover on the menu but the food is consistent and quality. Lastly may I advise that when writing a review or such an establishment that you use specifics such as; I really enjoy the Irish Stout that Calhoun's seasonally produces while my fiance prefers their award winning Smokin Scottish. Thanks

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David David, Harrisonburg, VA
(11/03/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great So So So So Good
The taste and quality of the beer varies between brewings -- probably the result of an "assistant" who helps with the brewing from time to time. The beer is usually good, however. The food is only fair and is not worth getting excited about. The restaurant is in need of a new menu altogether. Also, there is a noted "attitude" at this establishment that seems to say "we don't care if you come here or not". Were this not a "college town" where there is a continous turn over of patrons, this establishment probably would not do too well.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Tim, Waynesboro, VA
(09/29/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Great Great
We found this by accident (no, really) looking for a place to have brunch. They have a fantastic brunch menu. Only four beers on tap, but the Apricot Wheat and the Scottish were both very good. There's a nice patio upstairs overlooking the square in the center of Harrisonburg.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David David, Asheville, NC
(05/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This was unplanned stop on the the way back to New Jersey after driving all day and it was a pleasant experience. Please make it a "planned" trip, because I know it will be for me the next time.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Essex County, NJ
(02/25/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
4 on tap this visit. Smokin Scottish continues to be as good as advertised--very, very drinkable. Winter Warmer was nice, displaying a good mesh of hops and spices. Kolsch was crisp, true to style, refreshing. Golden Ale mild, hops not noticable. Grabbed an early bite as their lunch crowd filled in. Salad very good, generous portions.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(01/25/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Awesome! Great
Only three of their brews on tap--was told the recent college graduations have hit their supply hard. Kolsch, crisp and clean; IPA rather mild in hops and malt, seemed much like a British version. Smokin' Scottish was tasty, malty, slightly smoky. Excellent happy hour crowd--half-price apps M-F 4:30-6:30. Clientele friendly, liked to talk about my travels and PA beers they enjoy. Server (Vanessa) very competant and attentive; I remembered her from a stop maybe 3-4 years ago, she's that good!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(06/05/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
On behalf of the Star City Brewers Guild in the Roanoke Valley, thanks to Eric for spending the day with us at the restaurant. Our 11-member crew enjoyed many rounds of his wonderful craft beers and were happy to bring several growlers home for later enjoyment. Our 1st annual roadtrip was quite a success, and Calhoun's was the perfect place to go, only 2 hours from Roanoke. We were given the complete brewery tour, and our servers could not have provided better service. The food was excellent, as well as the beer. Thanks for a great time!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Esther King Esther King, Elliston, VA
(04/24/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
We were passin g through from Pittsburgh. All the beers wer excellent. My wife and I often differ in our taste in beer. But we both agreed that we would order any of their beers. The Belgian (11%) WOW!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Larry Kelly Larry Kelly, Saltsburg, PA
(03/06/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Great
Stopped by on the way home to Philly, so was unable to try all the beers, but the stoudt I tried was excellent!!!! Probably one of the best I've ever had. Brewer was hanging around talking to all the customers and explaining all his brewing processes. All I had was a sandwich so can't really comment too much on the food, but the staff seemed knowledgable about the beer and very friendly. For sure worth the stop when travelling down 81.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick Patrick, Burlington, NJ
(06/04/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
Still had to dribe 4 hours so I only had 1 beer. The Smokin Scotish. Pretty good stuff. The chicken fingers and death by chocolate everybody else had was pretty good. For a complete review check out my site

thedanandjohnbeersite.com

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Berger Dan Berger, Philadelphia, PA
(03/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Awesome! Great Great Great
Wow! A first time for me AND my wife found suggested it! They were hitting on all cylinders at 3 on a Sunday afternoon! The Porter was ***** the Honey Amber was ***+ and the Kolsch was ****. The food could not have been better. I liked the feel. I will be back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Tom, Waynesboro, VA
(03/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! Good Great Great
Over the years the brews at this place have continually improved (and they were pretty good to start with). They usually have four or five on tap, and the selection changes constantly. They offer one or two rather bland brews (in order to introduce lite beer drinkers to better things), awesome IPA, ESB, stout & porter (for the rest of us); and some rather curious seasonal brews appear from time to time.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Paul Helbert, Tenth Legion, VA
(03/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

I had the pleasure of drinking here on 2 separate occasions in June. If you happen to be traveling on the interstate near Harrisonburg this brew pub is definitely worth a stop. The nights I was there they had on tap honey blond, kolsch, Scottish ale, ESB, nitrogen injected porter, and amber. In addition to a sampler, I had pints of the porter and amber which were outstanding. The porter was full bodied with wonderful tastes during and well after each taste. I'm not much of an amber type but one of the brewers whom I met recommended it so I gave it a try. A magnificent flower nose gave way to a perfectly balanced beer. The porter and amber are "must buys" from my point of view. The brewers were friendly, sat at the bar and answered all of my simple questions, most especially a nice young fellow named Lincoln. I also tried the grilled tuna sandwich which I could recommend. Overall a wonderful experience

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Duane Geruschat Duane Geruschat, Annapolis, MD
(09/30/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
We stopped in for lunch while passing through the area...It was a Monday, during lunch hour, but the place was dead. It should be much more crowded, because the place was really nice. Very clean, and the service was pleasant and efficient. Unfortunately, there were only 3 beers on tap...looks like they normally have 6ish. There was a Honey Blonde that was smooth drinking, sweet; an Irish Brown, which was smoky and delicious; and an ESB that wasn't quite right (smoky tasting, also), but it was still drinkable. I enjoyed my grilled chicken sandwich, but the missus wasn't thrilled with her chicken skewers order. I'd stop in again if I was passing thru (not far off of I-81) -- hopefully for a wider selection of brews!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from steve steve, somerset, NJ
(04/24/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Spent a very nice Saturday afternoon at Calhoun's for a great lunch and some delicious brews. Pouring at the moment was five beers, including a kolsh, a golden ale, an apricot ale(seasonal), a scottish ale(peat smoked malt), and a porter. I found the beers to be of outstanding quality. The Apricot Ale had very nice apricot aromas and flavors, but also had a nice pale malt base and hop balance, a very well done fruit beer. The Smokin Scottish Ale was rich, hearty, slightly warming and delicious. Lots of sweet and caramel malt flavors paired with some nice peat smoke flavor made this a very satisfying brew. The Ploughman's Porter was exceptional. Lots of good chocolate malt flavors, coffeeish notes with a roasty, bitter finish.

Food, atmosphere, and service were equally impressive. The bar area is very cozy and clean with a full view of the brewery behind glass. The bartender was very friendly and attentive, providing great service. I enjoyed a fantastic lunch of Soutwestern Chicken and Dumpling soup, loaded with hunks of chicken breast, vegetables, and dumplings, in a spicy Soutwestern broth. The "Whiskey Chicken" sandwich was delicious. Marinated and grilled in a Jim Beam bourbon sauce, and then topped with cheddar cheese and smoky bacon.

I found Calhoun's to be a excellent brewpub experience and a trip well worth making. I would have like to have seen maybe a beer or two more pouring in the rotation, but I was pleased with the range of styles that was offered that day. Excellent brewpub, I highly reccommend it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John T. Sherman John T. Sherman, Washington, DC
(10/02/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A Great Good Great
Upon arriving in town during a college visit with my wife and son, I was pleased to find such an oasis. I can't say the waitress knew much about the beer, but I had two that were very good. That was 6 months ago, so I'm unable to specify which ones I had and enjoyed. Hopefully I'll get in there tomorrow night and update you again in a week or so.

Great website. Keep up the good work. 'm looking in a town that seems to have seems pretty short on pubs or chain restaraunts that you can go to antwhere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bobby Sands Bobby Sands, Doylestown, PA
(08/20/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A N/A
I sampled the Oatmeal Stout at the Dominion Beer fest last month. This was one of the best beers at the festival. I'll have to make a road trip and try the rest.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Paynter Eric Paynter, Richmond, VA
(07/30/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This roomy restaurant with lots of wood and exposed ceilings contains a glass-enclosed brewery. They offered 4 beers on draft: Golden Light, Honey Blonde, Nut Brown and Smokin Scottish. The Brown and Scottish were very good, although the Light and Blonde were VERY light. The pub menu was very reasonably priced, and the portions were huge (try the sweet potato fries). The servers were courteous and prompt. Calhoun's was a pleasant surprise...you can find bigger beer in a smaller town.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike McKenna Mike McKenna, Aberdeen, MD
(06/05/2001)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.416 seconds) 13:47:35 54.197.3.233, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS