PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Brewer's Apprentice (BOP) - Freehold, NJ
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 21, 2014 @ 06:58 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NJ > Freehold > Brewer's Apprentice (BOP)
Brewer's Apprentice (BOP) Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery
Brewer's Apprentice (BOP)
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 86.7 / 100
179 South Street
Freehold, NJ 07728
United States
(732) 863-9411
Listed Since: January 1999
Last Updated: December 2003
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Freehold, NJ
Beer Guide for New Jersey

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Brewer's Apprentice (BOP)
14 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(1 within 5 miles)
1) U Brew
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Hepburn House Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) DAYS INN FREEHOLD NJ
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Church Street School
2) Court Street School
3) Hankinson-Moreau-Covenhoven House
4) LeMoyne, F. Julius, House
5) St. Peter's Episcopal Church
6) St. Peter's Episcopal Church
7) Taylor, George, House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Angelo's Brick Oven Pizza Cafe
2) Antogitos To Go
3) Attilio's Restaurant & Pizzera
4) Baccio Ristorante
5) Bagels By Michael
6) Bella Vita Cafe
7) Belosa's Italian Specialties
8) Bistro Express
9) Blimpie Subs & Salads
10) Brooklyn Bagels & Deli
11) Burger King
12) Cabin
13) Cafe Colore
14) Carvel Ice Cream Bakery
15) Cinco De Mayo Taqueria
16) Citrus Restaurant
17) Coffee N Cream
18) Cornerstone Caffe
19) Dairy Queen
20) Davinci's Pizzeria
21) Denims
22) Domino's Pizza
23) Dragon House
24) Dunkin Donuts
25) Dunkin Donuts
26) Dusal's Italian Restaurant
27) Escondido's Mexican Restaurant
28) FGI & Affiliated Pub Co
29) Fred & Murry's Kosher Caterers
30) Freehold Gardens Hotel
31) Gia's European Coffee House
32) Gibson Place Grill
33) Gibson Place Grill
34) Gloria Jean's Coffees
35) Golden Bell Diner Inc
36) Golden China
37) Goodfella's Brick Oven Pizza
38) Gourmet Barbeque
39) Grante Pizza
40) Great Restaurants
41) Great Restaurants
42) Greystone Manor
43) Haagen-Dazs Ice Cream
44) Il Monacone
45) J & J Restaurant Group
46) J B's Diner
47) Johnny B's Diner
48) Kohr Brothers Frozen Custard
49) La Mirage Diner
50) LA Piazza Seafood & Grill
51) La Rosa Chicken & Grill
52) Mahzu Japanese Restaurant
53) Marco Polo Buffet
54) Marielles Catering
55) Mei-Mei Chinese Restaurant
56) Mi Casa Agency & Svc
57) Mister Smoothie
58) Moore's Tavern & Restaurant
59) Oak Hill Deli
60) Oyako Tso's Steakhouse & Sushi
61) Panera Bread
62) Park Avenue Grille
63) Pat's Market
64) Pepe's Deli & Pizza
65) Pizza & Pasta Factory
66) Primavera Pizzeria
67) Renzettis Place
68) Right Stuff
69) Rita's Water Ice
70) Romeo's Express
71) Romeo's Restaurant & Pizzeria
72) Rosario's Deli
73) Sammie D's Deli
74) Solo Trattoria
75) Sorrento's Other Side
76) South Street Grille
77) Starbucks
78) Starbucks Coffee Co
79) Stefanos Pizza & Restaurant
80) Stooges Taverns & Liquors
81) Szechuan Star Restaurant
82) Terrace Catering
83) Tiffany's Steak House
84) Tony's Pizza & Restaurant
85) Upper Crust Trattoria & Lounge
86) Vinnie's Pizzeria
87) Weaser's Ices
88) Wendy's
89) Windmill
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
cant wait to tax Ron's brain with my next recipe almost always have the grains/yeast on hand great bunch of friendly people to stop by and chat with try someone newest brew addition,sincerly BOG Brewery

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Glenn Glenn , Keyport, NJ
(07/18/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
BEER QUALITY: The beer quality is probably the best home-made beer that you will ever taste anywhere! The receipes provided by BOP are well seasoned, time tested recipes that have wonderful track record. It's been my experience over the past few years, BOP stands behind their product as long as their receipes and staff instructions are followed to the letter. They try to accommodate request for outside receipes, however you can not expect them to be guaranteed.

Please note that once you start brewing beer at BOP your "individual taste" for good quality beer will change and you eventually find yourself having a hard time buying store bought beers that will measure up to your new beer standards!

BEER SELECTION: With over a 150 receipes available, the beer selection is expansive with at least one or more receipes that should compliment anyones taste! One could spend hours going through all of their receipe books just as I did on my first time at BOP.

FOOD: Bring your own!

SERVICE: The service at BOP has to be amongst the most friendliest and attentive I have every experienced in a local business. Yes, there are times the folks (Ron, Joe, Pat, Jenny & the new guy Matt) at BOP are very busy during the late evening hours and especially on weekends when you may have to wait a bit for help; but they try their absolute best at all times!

OVERALL EXPERIENCE: My overall experience with BOP has been one not only pure enjoyment but an incredible learning experience. I was introduced to BOP over 3 years ago thru my next door neighbor who needed a fourth person to fill-in on their "Brew Team". Typically, we brew 4 kettles at a time, 2 to 4 times a year to ensure plenty of variety to compliment our tastes. Many of the beers we brew are seasonal beers along with the traditional lagers and ales. More recently (last month) we brewed 4 kettles, one triple strong belgium, one heavy/strong stout & two IPA's. To date I (we) have brewed over 25 kettles at the BOP, and let me say that the fun factor is the same today as it was over three years ago, what an awesome experience!!!!

PS: The mess left behind is cleaned up by the staff! Sorry Guys!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sandy Smith Sandy Smith, Toms River, NJ
(11/05/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
I have to preface this review by saying I have no idea what the guy, "Phil" was talking about in the previous review. I've been to the Brewer's Apprentice a few times and have had nothing but a great time... and I, like many of the people that I have met there (both employees and cusomters), are very experienced home brewers. I've asked them in past about doing a custom brew (my own recipe ~ a funky, high alcohol beer) and they told me right up front that they wouldn't be able to guarantee the quality due to that, which made sense to me... any "experienced" brewer would know that experimental beers (those that are higher in alcohol, use an eclectic mix of ingredients, etc.), are much more prone to various fermentation "problems" (such as oxidized flavors)... if you wanted a guarantee you should either come up with a better recipe or picked one from their expansive recipe books (I could spend hours just looking through them)!

With that out of the way... I've always had a great time every time I've brewed at the Brewer's Apprentice. I get to learn new things from the staff (Ron, Joe, and Pat are really cool), and even from the customers, every visit. You get to sample other customers beers while you brew, and you don't have to clean anything up... heaven. And they DO guarantee their beers.

The only thing I notice about the place which I would change is the floor... which is well used. I guess from all of the sanitizers they use in the place... but I guess it gives the place some of its charm.

This is a great place to come, whether you know nothing about brewing, or you've been brewing for years. Everyone is friendly and the price is fair. I highly recommend the Brewer's Apprentice!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Dan, Oakhurst, NJ
(10/03/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy N/A N/A Lousy
A friend and I went, both very experienced homebrewers there last year. Our batches were both infected and oxidized. When I complained to the owner about this, she blamed us because we used our own recipes and not theirs.

Oxidation is caused by introducing air to the batch after it has fermented. As the staff at BA transfers the beer around, my friend and I could not be held accountable. Infection is caused by using equipment that has not been sanitized. As the staff at BA is responsible for cleaning and sanitizing the equipment, my friend and I could not be held accountable.

Neither of these problems is caused by recipe formulation! The owner did not want to hear this but couldn't come up with any explanation for our problems. Her only defense was that she has been in business for so long and no one ever complained before.

I guess she never had experienced homebrewers there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Phil Phil, New York, NY
(08/16/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
I've been going here over the last 2 years to brew. they are the greatest! always helpful (yes, even though sometimes busy - SATURDAYS). recipe selection is top notch and never made a bad beer. Might I suggest to bottle condition, it adds to the flavor and presentation of your beer. JoEllen, Kevin and the crew are the best. make sure you sample while you're there to see what you want to brew next! anyone want to case swap?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bud Lavin Bud Lavin, Clark, NJ
(10/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
its been a while since someone commented on this place, so i thought it deserved an update.

This place is fantastic. The selection is tremendous. The provide suggestions and what each recipe resembles (Killians, Fosters, Pete's Wicked, etc). The service is very friendly, though sometimes they are so busy, it is hard to get their assistance for a while. Go ahead and make a mess, they clean it up for you. This is a lot of fun and takes about 2 hours to brew and another 2 hrs to bottle. Samples are provided during brewing and it seems tradition to sample the fruits of your labor as you bottle.

Fair warning, if you try this once, you'll be hooked...thank god for the frequent customer discounts...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Triple B Triple B, Pompton Lakes, NJ
(08/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
The brewers' is a fantastic place and Jo-Ellen is one terrific lady. She has always made me feel at home, like one of the family. Her employees are very knowledgeable about the beer styles and processes and make your time there enjoyable. I'll be a customer for life.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Hayward Bob Hayward, Brick, NJ
(10/26/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
This place is GREAT.... You make your bevereage of choice. You bottle it.. and They clean up. What more could you ask for? We go at least 3-4 times a year to make our Seasonal Brews and Wines. Jo-Ellen and Barbara are terrific. Be it your first time or on return visits they are always there to help.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Coughlin Dan Coughlin, Freehold, NJ
(03/16/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
What a wonderful place to brew beer! The selection of brews is so vast, it is hard to decide what you want. Beers, wines, ciders, meads, you name it, you can make it! Barbara & Jo-Ellen were very helpful and understanding when my stout boiled over. They'll certainly try to accommodate special requests even! Never brewed before? Doesn't matter. They will walk you through every step of the process. Make your own label..choose one of theirs..your option! Great for gifts or just drink it yourself! Don't miss this experience..I may never brew at home again...they do the cleanup! I will be going back for a Holiday Ale very soon! Don't wait, do it!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Haynie Mark Haynie, Somers Point, NJ
(08/15/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A
Members of the New York City Homebrewers Guild recently made three batches of beer here for the guild picnic. All three beers went over extremely well. Brewers Apprentice is a great place to make beer!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Phil Bravado Phil Bravado, Bronx, NY
(06/12/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
An enjoyable outing suitable for the entire family. One may bring their own recipe or choose from a tremendous selection of all different types of beers, ales, etc.. Now they've added wines and hard ciders. If you've tried the plastic "brew at home" product and became disillusioned with the whole process (as did I) don't despair. At The Brewers Apprentice, you'll use only spotlessly clean professional quality equipment, with results that are consistant from batch to batch. The staff is friendly and very knowledgable, so don't be afraid if you've never made beer before. Simply tell them what you want to end up with and they have a recipe and the ingredients necessary for it. Better still, they do the clean up! If you really enjoy top-notch beer, this is a place you must patronize. Fair warning, though: Once your friends learn that you have the best beer in town, you'll be hearing from them often!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Forked River, NJ
(05/21/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Great beer and I didn't have to clean at all!! The staff was great, I thought I was in my own home. If you love beer, you've got to check them out!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Elizabeth Elizabeth, Aberdeen, NJ
(01/30/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
This brew on premises facility gives the novice lots of help and the more experienced brewer creative support. The two session brewing and bottling steps will only take a couple of hours but give lots of fun, especially when the micro you pour for your friends has your name on it. The facility is spotless, well provisioned to support almost any kind of brew, and very friendly. The results are usually 6 to 7 cases of 20oz, bottles of great beer/ale/etc. for about $100.00. They just began wine making too! Regular private tasting parties featuring a known regional microbrewer are a great way to learn more about the art and have a fun evening! I have brought friends who are now regulars and also given a brewing as a gift.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robert Smith Robert Smith, Holmdel, NJ
(01/21/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
This place is great! Just tell one of the very knowledgable and helpful staff members what kind of beer you like, and they've got the recipe. You make the brew from start to finish, then come back in 2 weeks to bottle and taste the best brew you've ever had! It's a lot of fun, and in addition to the great people that own and work at Brewers Apprentice, you'll meet some new friends who share your passion for great beer, ale and wine too!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Jackson, NJ
(01/19/1999)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.97 seconds) 18:58:16 54.81.163.254, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS