PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Power Plant Restaurant and Brewery - Parkville, MO
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 30, 2014 @ 11:05 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MO > Parkville > Power Plant Restaurant and Brewery
Power Plant Restaurant and Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Power Plant Restaurant and Brewery
Overall: Good    Score: 69 / 100
[Closed]
Two Main Street
Parkville, MO 64152
United States
(816) 746-5051
Listed Since: January 1999
Last Updated: August 2011
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Parkville, MO
Beer Guide for Missouri

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
21 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(1 within 5 miles)
1) Granite City Food and Brewery
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Bed & Breakfast-Down To Earth
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) CLARION HTL ARPT KANSAS CITY
2) COURTYARD KANSAS CITY AIRPORT
3) DRURY INN & SUITES KCI AIRPORT
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Banneker, Benjamin, School
2) Mackay Building
3) Scott, Charles Smith, Memorial Observatory
4) Waddell "A" Truss Bridge
5) Washington Chapel C.M.E. Church
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Cafe Des Amis
2) China Star
3) Corner Bar
4) Gambino's Pizza-Parkville
5) Gilbertson Restaurants
6) Hi Boy Enterprises
7) Nick & Jake's
8) Olde Mill Catering & Banquet
9) Outback Steakhouse
10) Pangea Catering
11) Piropo's Restaurant
12) Pizza Shoppe Franchising Inc
13) River Rock Coffee Co
14) Shabby Hattie's Tea Room and Boutique
15) Starbucks
16) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
17) Sugar & Spice Catering
18) Yoshiko Japanese Steak House
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
As of October 9, 2008, the Power Plant Restaurant & Brewery in Parkville, MO has closed its doors. I will sorely miss Gordon Gerski's fine beers and the great people at Power Plant. Restaurant co-owner Angelo Gangai said they are putting everything in storage and are looking into the possibility of moving to a new location in the Kansas City area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Randy Meyer Randy Meyer, Lees Summit, MO
(10/10/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
They finally closed 10/02/08. Feel bad for the employees, No one to blame but Management. I hope they Don't reopen under same management. They finally closed 10/02/08. Feel bad for the employees, No one to blame but Management. I hope they Don't reopen under same management.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JOHN GREEN JOHN GREEN, minisink hills, PA
(10/08/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Great
First off, the parking for this place isn't the greatest. It is in the middle of a little town. Don't get me wrong. It is a very nice brewery. The environment is awesome! It is in an old train station. The beer was really good. I didn't get the food, but it looked really good. They have a stout that is really good. It is a very smooth and chocolately stout. The IPA is pretty good as well. You should check this place out.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Zach Zach, cottage hills, IL
(08/18/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
First off, I am vegetarian but I decided to try the Power Plant since it says "Pasta" on the the window outside the restaurant. Well, when I went inside it turns out they have one pasta dish on their menu (and it wasn't offered as a special that night). To me that's false advertising, since "Pasta" being put on the window would give the impression that they have at least two or three options. Secondly, the night I went in they were only had 2 of their 6 beers (plus a seasonal beer not on their menu). To me that is unacceptable for a brew pub. Then when I received my food, which I ordered the one pasta dish they have only I asked for it to be made without meat, it was the most bland food I ever tasted. I told the person I was with that the dry packet of sauce mix I can get at any grocery store has more flavor than what I was given. I asked him how his food was, and he said it was okay (but certainly not good or great). Also, there was only one waitress on Saturday night for our entire section, so long after we were done with our one beer each, we didn't see her. We still didn't see her until long after we were done with our food and had our plates stacked on the table. On top of all of this, we were in the non-smoking section and while the smell of smoke does not bother me, I realized in the middle of dinner that there is no solid wall between the smoking section and non-smoking. So the smell of people smoking is extremely strong, which may bother some people. I love a good brew pub when the food is good and the beer is good (and available), but this had neither (the beer was good, but not available). Overall my experience here was awful, and I would never recommend this place to anyone.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Leavenworth, KS
(07/13/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
I went there on a recommendation from a client I was seeing. The place was not crowded so that can't be used as an excuse. I had to wait about 15 minutes to be served, and the service continued to be very slow. My first beer selection was the Col. Park Pale Ale, but they were out. My second selection was the Southbound Nut Ale, but they were out. How does a brew pub run out of two beers. Must be poor management. I finally selected the Derailed Red Ale. It was OK, but not great. I ordered the Surf and Turf. Here I am in Kansas and the beef was tough and with no flavor. They couldn't find a steak knife. The shrimp was extremely salty and my ears are still ring. I will not be returning.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Marietta, GA
(06/10/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
One thing I like about Gordon, the brewer, is that he ALWAYS trying new beers. You can go on consecutive weeks and get something different. A lot of places just have the normal beers and an occasional "seasonal", but for Gordon it's always different. Some are better than others, but some are fantastic. He's getting ready to bring out one of the best beers I've EVER had, ANYWHERE. It's called "A Beer Named Sue". He's made it twice before and it barely lasted more than a day! It's a Double-IPA with TONS of malt and hops! But it's got a mellow and sweet finish. Very complex taste profile and I LOVE IT! He's hoping to have it on tap regularly. If so, they'll need to rent me a cot in the corner!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Nelson Tim Nelson, Overland Park, KS
(01/29/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Good So So
It's been 2 years since I visited this place. Nothing has changed same average food and same watered down beers. How can the company that owns this place not figure out what they need to do, like they have done with 75th Street? I give up.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gary T Gary T, Plattsburg, MO
(09/09/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good So So Good
I was disappointed with this place. They were out of their seasonal beer, plus their blackberry wheat, and their mocha porter. The stout was weak and needs more roast flavour. The brown was good, pretty malty and the Pale ale was their bezt by far. We sat at the bar, while waiting for a table and the bartender was excellent. Unfortunately that is the only excellent thing about this place. Once we sat down the waitress was surly and did not seem to care about her job. our dinners were less than rousing. We had the Cajun steak, but there was no seasoning on them and rather bland. I would not recommend going to this place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Alan Alan, Moline, IL
(10/30/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo.  Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(11/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
We went recently on a Saturday night, sat at the bar with Lori. She was awesome! Started with the seasonal ale Blackberry wheat, tasty, but the IPA was perfect, nice balance. We went to the "coal room" for dinner. The 100 year old building was the site of the Park University Steam Plant, great character. We had the Spinach and Artichoke dip..it was fantastic, fish and chips and a great mid-rare Smoked Prime Rib Dinner complete with twice baked potato and vegetable. Keep up the great work! We will be back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Liberty, MO
(07/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Great Good
This is a very nice place to go but the food is over priced. Happy hour is a good time to go (the beer is good but can't see paying full price for it) the building is very nice to see the service was great i may go back

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Farrell Steve Farrell, Leavenworth, KS
(06/23/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Great Good
Food average but could be great- need to motivate the help...especially the Chef...to be interested in his work...try some new recipes...you would pack the place all the time.......

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Candy Thomas, Gladstone, MO
(04/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good So So Good So So
General impression: Overpriced for less-than-average pub grub, beers unexceptional. I've been 3 times, less impressed with each visit. Last visit: 2 of our 3 orders was served just warm. Prime rib sandwich was dry. Steam beer was flat, no carbonation whatsoever. They should have at least gotten either the beer or the food right. Go to Freestate or 75th st brewery for both.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dale Wheeler Dale Wheeler, Overland Park, KS
(11/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
Located in a restored turn of the last century power plant in touristy Parkville, The Power Plant is an enjoyable brewpub that blends quality ales and upscale American cuisine and sandwiches. The sampler contains all six of their brews and except for the two lightest offerings these beers are distinguishable. Although on the pricey side, the food and beer are worth the visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joseph C Topping III Joseph C Topping III, Huntsville, TX
(07/13/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy Lousy Lousy
By far the coolest brewpub setting in the city. Unfortunately, the food and service are cold as well. The menu only goes to prove that what you see isn't always what you get; namely fatty prime rib, cold potatoes and overcooked lobster and pasta. We complained to the teenage server who told us that the kitchen was "having a bad night", laughed it off and didn't even try to replace or comp our meals. She was far too busy flirting with a table full of boys at the bar. When we left we saw what appeared to be a chef outside on their deck. This leaves one to wonder whether the kitchen was having a "bad night" because he was on the deck or maybe management kicked him out of the kitchen to improve food quality. Overpriced and judging by the number of diners on a friday night,(the place was packed) over-rated.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Samantha Gooden Samantha Gooden, Lenexa, KS
(04/15/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Great
The beer is very good, very consistent, but pales a little in comparison to Boulevard, High Noon, Free State and McCoy's which are all some of the best that can be had... Nice people, and the building is still the coolest around!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Aaron Dougherty Aaron Dougherty, Kansas City, MO
(02/26/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Good So So
Beer, food, etc. unremarkable. Why go?Especially when Free State in Lawrence and 75th Street in KC, two top-notch brewpubs, are so close by?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin C. Stewart Kevin C. Stewart, Baton Rouge, LA
(05/20/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Great Great
I remember only three beers, though there may have been more. The brown was very good. The place itself is way cool! The architecture is really well done - simple unfinished steel railings and bare conrete floors, cool lights. The back-bar is one of the old cast iron boilers opened up on its bottom side so glasses and stuff can be stored inside. If you like trains, one comes barreling along at an arms reach away every few minutes. In the future, it would be nice to see their selection expand and their prices drop.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Aaron Dougherty Aaron Dougherty, Kansas City, MO
(03/07/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Matt is doing a wonderful job with the beers and the selection he has on tap. The food is also always superb. Keep up the good work.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Leavenworth, KS
(12/30/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Awesome! Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ron Raney Ron Raney, Overland Park, KS
(01/27/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Great
New brewpub that just opened in December 1998. Excellent atmosphere in an abandoned brick power plant. Outdoor seating on the rooftop overlooking the Missouri River is a definite plus. I gave it a good rating but has the potential to get even better. Would definitely recommend.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Kansas City, MO
(01/19/1999)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.338 seconds) 11:05:51 54.234.244.98, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS