PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


South Street Brewery - Charlottesville, VA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 31, 2014 @ 03:02 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > VA > Charlottesville > South Street Brewery
South Street Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
South Street Brewery
Overall: Great    Score: 78.7 / 100
106 South Street
Charlottesville, VA 22902
United States
(804) 293-6550
Listed Since: February 1999
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Charlottesville, VA
Beer Guide for Virginia

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
24 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(5 within 5 miles)
1) Court Square Tavern
(0 mile)

2) Beer Run
(0 mile)

3) Starr Hill Restaurant and Brewery
(2 miles)

4) Blue Light Grill
(2 miles)

5) Kegler's
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) 1817 Historic Bed & Breakfast
2) 200 South Street Inn
3) Guesthouses Bed & Breakfast
4) Inn At Court Square
5) Inn At Monticello
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN CAVALIER INN
2) BOARS HEAD INN
3) COMFORT INN CHARLOTTESVILLE
4) COURTYARD CHARLOTTESVILLE
5) COURTYARD UNIV MEDICAL CENTER
6) DAYS INN CHARLOTTESVILLE VA
7) ECONO LODGE NORTH
8) ECONO LODGE UNIVERSITY
9) FAIRFIELD CHARLOTTESVILLE
10) HAMPTON INN CHARLOTTESVLE
11) HAMPTON INN CHARLTSV UNIV
12) OMNI CHARLOTTESVILLE HOTEL
13) QUALITY INN CHARLOTTESVILLE
14) RAMADA CHARLOTTESVILLE VA
15) RED ROOF CHARLOTTESVILLE
16) RESIDENCE INN CHARLOTTESVILLE
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Abell--Gleason House
2) Anderson Brothers Building
3) Armstrong Knitting Factory
4) Barringer Mansion
5) Belmont
6) Carrsbrook
7) Carter-Gilmer House
8) Clark, George Rogers, Sculpture
9) Dabney-Thompson House
10) Delevan Baptist Church
11) Ednam House
12) Enderly
13) Faulkner House
14) Ficklin-Crawford Cottage
15) Four Acres
16) Gardner-Mays Cottage
17) Hard Bargain
18) Hotel Gleason/Albemarle Hotel, Imperial Cafe
19) House at Pireus
20) Jackson, Thomas Jonathan, Scuplture
21) King Lumber Company Warehouse
22) King-Runkle House
23) Lee, Robert Edward, Scuplture
24) Lewis Farm
25) Lewis, Meriwether and William Clark, Sculpture
26) Locust Grove
27) Marshall--Rucker--Smith House
28) McConnell-Neve House
29) Morea
30) Mount Zion Baptist Church
31) Oak Lawn
32) Patton Mansion
33) Paxton Place
34) Peyton-Ellington Building
35) Piereus Store
36) Pitts-Inge
37) Robertson, Judge William J., House
38) Rose Cottage/Peyton House
39) Rotunda, University of Virginia
40) Stonefield
41) Timberlake-Branham House
42) Tonsler, Benjamin, House
43) Turner-LaRowe House
44) Updike, Robert L., House
45) Vowles, John, House
46) White Cross-Huntley Hall
47) Woolen Mills Chapel
48) Wynhurst
49) Young Building
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 20 South Catering
2) A & J's Deli
3) A Pimento Catering
4) American Dream Catering Svc
5) Amigos Mexican Restaurant Ii
6) Anything Goes Baking & Ctrng
7) Applause Catering
8) Asian Buffet
9) Atomic Burrito
10) Awful Arthur's Seafood Co
11) Baggby's Gourmet Sandwiches
12) Baja Bean Co
13) Baja Bean Co Restaurante
14) Bashir's
15) Bazcones
16) Betty's
17) Biltmore Grill
18) Bizou
19) Blimpie Subs & Salads
20) Blimpie Subs & Salads
21) Blue Bird Cafe
22) Blue Light Grill & Raw Bar
23) Blue Moon Diner
24) Bluegrass Grill & Bakery
25) Boar's Head Caterers
26) Boar's Head Inn
27) Bodo's Bagel Bakery
28) Bomb Shelter
29) Breakers Restaurant
30) Brick Oven
31) Buddhist Biker Bar & Grill
32) Burger King
33) Burger King
34) Bw-3 Grill & Pub
35) C & O Restaurant
36) Cafe Cubano
37) Carretta Food Svc Inc
38) Chandlers Ice Cream
39) Chaps Ice Cream
40) Charlotte's Restaurant
41) China King Buffet
42) Christian's Pizza
43) Cici's Pizza
44) City Centro
45) City Limits
46) Claiborne's Restaurant
47) College Inn Restaurant
48) Continental Divide
49) Corner Meal Plan
50) Coupe Deville's Restaurant
51) Court Square Tavern
52) Daihachi Japanese Restaurant
53) Damon's
54) Delta Bluff
55) Dippin' Dots
56) Domino's Pizza
57) Domino's Pizza
58) Domino's Pizza
59) Dotties Cafe
60) Downtown Inn
61) Eastern Standard Restaurant
62) El Birasol
63) El Cabrito's Restaurant
64) El Puerto Inc
65) El Rey Del Taco
66) El Tapatio
67) El Tepeyac
68) Elle's Grill
69) Escafe' Restaurant
70) Everyday Gourmet Catering
71) Fellini's
72) Fleurie Restaurant
73) Fox's Cafe
74) Fuel Co
75) Garden-Sheba Afro Roots Food
76) Goodfellas Restaurant
77) Gravity Lounge
78) Greenskeeper
79) Guadalajara Mexican Restaurant
80) Hamiltons' At First & Main
81) Hardee's
82) Hardee's
83) Hardware Store Restaurant
84) Hardware Store Restaurant Bkry
85) Harvest Moon Catering
86) Henry's Restaurant
87) High Street Steak & Grill
88) Historic Michie Tavern
89) Hog Heaven
90) Homeboy's Bbq
91) I Can't Believe It's Yogurt
92) Immigrant Soul Restaurant
93) Indian Restaurant
94) Inn At Court Square
95) Jade Garden
96) Jak'n Jil
97) Jerry's Subs & Pizza
98) Jewish Mother
99) Jinx Pit Stop Restaurant
100) Kfc
101) Korner Restaurant
102) Krispy Kreme Doughnuts
103) L'avventura
104) LA Cucina
105) LA Taza Coffee House
106) Lin's Restaurant
107) Liquid Smoothie & Juice Bar
108) Little Hunan
109) Mamma's Place
110) Marco & Lucas
111) Marco Luca Noodle Shop
112) Martha's Cafe & Catering
113) MAS
114) Mc Donald's
115) Mc Donald's
116) Mel's Cafe
117) Mellow Mushroom
118) Metropolitain Restaurant
119) Michael's Bistro & Taphouse
120) Miller's
121) Miyako Japanese Cuisine
122) Mono Loco
123) Monsoon Restaurant
124) Moondance Cafe
125) Moores Creek Restaurant
126) Nook
127) Nowell's Catering
128) Nowhere Buffet
129) O'neill's Pub
130) Omni Charlottesville Hotel
131) Orbit Billiards & Cafe
132) Oregano Joe's
133) Outback Lodge
134) Outback Steakhouse
135) Oxo Restaurant
136) Papa John's Pizza
137) Papa John's Pizza
138) Paragon Catering
139) Peking Chinese Restaurant
140) Petra An American Bistro
141) Philly Grill
142) Pig Daddy's Bbq LLC
143) Pita Inn
144) Pizza Bella
145) Pizza Hut
146) Ponderosa Steakhouse
147) Pupusa Crazy Restaurant & Bar
148) Rapture
149) Red Lantern Chinese Restaurant
150) RESTAURANTDININGMENUS.COM
151) Revolutionary Soup
152) Rhett's River Grill & Raw Bar
153) Ristorante Al Dente
154) Riverside Lunch
155) Rockford Corp
156) Saigon Cafe
157) Sakura Sushi & Noodle
158) Sal's Pizza
159) Sam's Hotdog Stand
160) Sao's
161) Shang Hai
162) Shoney's Restaurant
163) Sloans Restaurant
164) Soup To Nuts
165) South Street Brewery
166) Southern Culture
167) Splendora's Gelato
168) Spudnut Shop
169) St Maarten Cafe
170) Starbucks
171) Starbucks
172) Starbucks
173) Starr Hill Restaurant & Brwery
174) Steak Escape
175) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
176) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
177) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
178) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
179) Sweet Choices Deli Bakery
180) Sweetbones
181) Sylvia's Pizza
182) Taco Bell
183) Take It Away Sandwich Shop
184) Take Out Tonight
185) Tastings Wine Shop
186) Team Room Restaurant
187) Thai Thip Restaurant Inc
188) Timerlake's Drug Store
189) Tubby's
190) V & K Enterprises
191) Veggie Heaven
192) Vinegar Hill Grill
193) Vinegar Hill Grill-Meadowcreek
194) Virginian Restaurant
195) Waffle House
196) Wendy's
197) Wendy's
198) White Spot
199) Winner's Circle Grill
200) Zocalo
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good So So Good Good
Arrived shortly after 4:30pm when they opened to find the main door locked ... regulars knew to go in a different door, but I had to wait to see what the deal was. The bartender was reasonably friendly, and I started with a Hefeweizen, which was good but not outstanding. Next was a Kolsch, which was very well balanced and refreshing. I finished with the Porter, which is nitrogen-pushed for a beautiful appearance. The flavor (with a hint of toffee) was good but thin.

The food was pretentious and over-priced, and cigarette smoke hung in the air, spoiling the flavors of both the food and beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Anderson John Anderson, Longmeadow, MA
(07/31/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good
THE PALE ALE IS DEFINITELY THE WAY TO GO HERE. ONE OF THE BEST I'VE HAD. THE REST OF THE BUNCH WERE JUST RUN OF THE MILL. COOL BUILDING! STARR HILL BREWERY IS JUST ACROSS THE STREET.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JIMBO JIMBO, SPRINGFIELD, OH
(05/27/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
South Street Brewery is one of the better brewery-restaurants I have been to. The copper bar is definitely cool. Try the Satan's Pony and what ever they have on cask. That's right I said CASK, they usually have one of their beer that has been cask aged. Food is not the normal bar fare, it is a little more upscale and very good. A must see!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Dave, Roanoke, VA
(05/21/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
They have a phone number different than that listed. It is (434)-293-6550 The reviews are very good so I will visit soon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from steve steve, arlington, VA
(04/04/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Stopped by right at the 430 opening bell. JP Ale is an all-around nice beer. Cascade and then some in this American Pale. Absolution ale is an English old ale, malt carries the day on this one, some hops at the finish. Porter creamy, slightly sweet, not super roasty with a subtle coffee hint. My tostada was huge and very filling--an excellent value. 5 of their taps, 1 Starr Hill, Stella and a cider round out their offerings. Tuesday $2.50 beers until 9PM.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(02/03/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Good Awesome!
I have lived in Chville too many years(40) yeah I am old..If you want great beer,,,awesome food,,and waitresses that are a little slow(You get more private time with your lady silly) go to Southstreet. Top notch highly recommend it and no I am not related to the owners....Smokey J

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Smokey Jordan Smokey Jordan, Charlottesville, VA
(01/15/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great So So So So So So
Prepare yourself for a slap in the face. The wait staff and manager does not care whether you visit them or not. The attitude has remained pretty constant over the years -- obviously the fault of the owners and manager(s). The beer is usually good but for some reason, the flavor and quality seems to vary between batches. Get ready for a hassle if you bring growlers. Their growlers are "pinhead" one-liter bottles and REFILLS are 5 bucks. 2 liter growler refills are 10 dollars (average price I've seen over the years is 7 dollars for a 2-liter vessel). Atmosphere is ok. Menu says "cigars, clove cigarettes? DON'T EVEN THINK ABOUT IT!!". Yet cigarette smoke hangs over your head. I don't eat there. The food is too fancy and rich and really doesn't taste that good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Tim, Waynesboro, VA
(09/29/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Very popular and with good reason. Great beer right on the downtown mall.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jonathan Grove Jonathan Grove, Staunton, VA
(02/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great
Made my annual (or at least I hope it will be) visit to South Street. Arrived maybe 40 minutes after the opening bell and the place (especially the bar) was packed! Good for them; they merit a good crowd. Found a bar seat and began enjoying a nitro IPA. Delicious and smooth with just the right amount of hop bite. The Chocolate Russian Imperial Stout was an excellent follow up--big and bold enough but still letting the chocolate come through. This brew could definitely cause some problems if not careful! Had a sample of the cask stock ale and was equally fine. Would have had a full one, but for an impromptu pub crawl with some beer lovers I had met earlier. I told the bartender that Starr Hill may win lots of the awards, but South Street has the best beer. Give them a try!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(01/25/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great
Had beem here quite a few years ago and was eager for a return visit and hopefully some new beers to taste. Doesn't open until 4:30, and the kitchen opens at 5. 7 of their own taps plus a handpump (while it lasts) and a guest cider. Tuesdays are $2 pints, so they didn't offer sampler trays, but were accomodating when asked for a small taste to help in my selection. Absolution Ale was dark, mellow and all about the malt--a definite keeper. Weizen bock good also, but I had set my tastes in a different direction. Either the Irish dry stout and Chocolate Espresso Porter was going to be my next choice; both were excellent, the stout strong but dry and the porter a great mix of flavor. Luckily the barternder (who was very helpful and friendly) told me that there was still winter warmer on cask (they put on a fresh cask every Mon) and gave me a taste. It was a delightful mix of hops and spices and malt, served just right! The menu was varied but with just enough choices as to not be overwhelming. In an old hay/grain warehouse from the late 1800s with a long bar and a crackling fireplace--comfortable and enjoyable. Definite stop-again material!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(12/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Really enjoyed both the IPA styles of beer.Certainly worth a visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James James, Warren, NJ
(11/21/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A Great
Great beer, great selection of beer, beautiful place with the long bar and two-sided fireplace. Looking forward to bringing some friends to this place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Philadelphia, PA
(03/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Happened upon the Happy Hour. Had a blast. The place was very busy but still got good service at the bar.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Adrienne Knight Adrienne Knight, Schenectady, NY
(07/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good So So Awesome!
Great beer, constantly trying new recipes. Food overpriced. Area is often too loud for conversation.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review John, Richmond, VA
(04/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Good Great
Nice old builing, fireplace, live jazz being playednight we were there. The kind of place you can put your feet up and stay awhile. Highly recommended!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(02/28/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The Satan's Pony is amazing. It is taking the city by storm. This smooth, potent, amber brew is a pleasure to partake.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Charlottesville, VA
(07/09/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
Started with the el jefe's hefeweizen. Had excellent flavor qualities that were easily detected. It was unfiltered. Then I tried the hogwaller Kolsch. This was not too hoppy and was very refreshing. the third one was the cask conditioned Nut Brown Ale. This tasted way too much like lemon for a nut brown. Burger was excellent and there special is 2 dollar pints on tuesdays. You cant beat that for the quality and selection of beers offered.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Donald Donald, manalapan, NJ
(05/11/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A So So Good
Nice atmosphere; backlit brewing vessels viewed through brick archways behind the bar... nice. Went there to eat, but the menu wasn't too appealing - ate elsewhere. Tried all the beers... Porter lacked "robustness." Wrecking Ball was pretty good - nice malt flavors. Really enjoyed the hop flavors in the JP Ale - I understand why it won the Gold. Their other beers weren't "bad," but they weren't anything to write home about either. Overall, I appreciated the establishment, but I was left a little high and dry.

Cheers!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Aubrey Aubrey, Richmond, VA
(10/09/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So Good So So
The Beers were least the impressive, lacked any body. the Kolsch was the only one I somewhat enjoyed...the rest were too watery and plain. Menu was very limited...would not recommend the Pizza.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Albrecht  Steve Albrecht "Ohiobrewman", Columbus, OH
(07/24/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great
Cool place with couches and great beer! The amber was true to style, but my two favorites were the Irish stout (on nitro) which was smooth and rich and the very hoppy jp ale (an American style ale). Service was excellent. When my wife was disappointed with the lack of hoppiness in the ipa, our waitress dumped it and brought her the jp ale instead. Now that's the way to please beer snobs!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Phil Buteyn Phil Buteyn, Beaver Dam, WI
(06/27/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Awesome! Great
Very nice place. Everyone enjoyed their meal; although we can't recommend the pizza. The waitress was very nice (there were seven of us with two children), and the service was great. The beers were pretty good. The Belgian Ale (a golden ale) was kind of non-descript - especially for a Belgian style beer - but drinkable. The Kolsch was enjoyed by everyone, although I though it was just a little light in malt and hops. The Scotch Ale was about right for the style. The pale ale was nicely hopped. All of the beers we tried were very clean, crystal clear, but just a little thin in body. They also had a pilsner, porter, and hefeweizen, none of which we tried. We will visit here again next time we are in Charlottesville.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rick Henry Rick Henry, Frederick, MD
(08/19/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Beautiful converted warehouse space with lots of character. 8 beers on tap, all spectacular. The Satan's Pony scottish ale rang true. Porter's porter, nitrogen dispensed, was loaded with wonderful chocolate malt and subtle hops. El Jefe's hefeweizen was one of the best I've had. The food selection was excellent and well above the standard. Be sure to sit at the bar and ask for Joe. He can talk beer for hours.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from F. Wright F. Wright, Alexandria, VA
(04/27/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Lousy So So
Only my first visit but the place is a little new so I'll try again. The Porter was GREAT! My wife had a Hefe Weisse that she liked a lot. My problem was waiting for such a long time to be served very cold food (fairly priced). Then a visit from a previously friendly hostess that was rude and also failed to say I'm sorry. It's a shame because the food was very good after being sent back & reheated. It's just a shame that they had to deliver it back to the table with an attitude. The place is nice. If I have a better visit next time I'll submit another review.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Waynesboro, VA
(04/20/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Good Good Great
Great beer, food is tasty but upscale (a little expensive for student budgets). Not bar food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Charlottesville, VA
(01/27/1999)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.371 seconds) 15:02:05 54.82.53.231, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS