PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Huske Hardware House Brewing Company - Fayetteville, NC
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 23, 2014 @ 07:05 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NC > Fayetteville > Huske Hardware House Brewing Company
Huske Hardware House Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Huske Hardware House Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 79 / 100
405 Hay Street
Fayetteville, NC 28301
United States
(910) 437-9905
Listed Since: February 1999
Last Updated: June 2010
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Fayetteville, NC
Beer Guide for North Carolina

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Huske Hardware House Brewing Company
83 Reviews / 4 Photos
hours of operation
Sun 11:00AM - 60:0PM
Mon 11:00AM - 10:00PM
Tue 11:00AM - 01:00AM
Wed 11:00AM - 01:00AM
Thu 11:00AM - 01:00AM
Fri 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Sat 11:00AM - 02:00AM

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Mac Pherson House Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Maxwell House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) B & B Sports Tavern
2) Baldinos Giant Jersey Subs
3) Blue Moon Cafe
4) China Garden
5) Cloud Nine
6) Club Palace
7) Domino's Pizza
8) Dutchpot Jamaican Restaurant
9) Gotham Blues
10) Grandmas Soul Food Grill
11) Hideaway
12) Hot Diggidy Dog
13) Ice & Hot
14) J C's Tavern
15) John J's
16) KJS Family Restaurant
17) Mc Duff's Tea Room & Emporium
18) New Adventure Grill
19) New York Deli
20) New York Hot Dogs & Smoothies
21) Pierro's Italian Bistro
22) Pizza Palace Restaurants
23) Playhouse
24) Rainbow Room
25) Robertson's Food Svc
26) Secrets
27) Systel Happy Deli
28) Thai Pepper Restaurant
29) True Delight Club
30) Upscale Restaurant & Lounge
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Visited 9/26/10 for lunch. Sledgehammer stout and Farmhouse Ale were pretty good. The Shepard's Pie was great and the salmon spread with potato pancakes was especailly awesome... a great find. Worth the side trip off Interstate 95.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed J Ed J, Alexandria, VA
(10/01/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The review from the gentleman from Tulsa is nothing more than slander from an angry customer venting after being irresponsible and wanting to leave their car parked all weekend at a busy Brewpub all weekend. This is standard business practice.

This type of review is a discredit to Pubcrawler whose purpose is to promote honest critique. It sould be taken off as it does not offer any critique other than after spending $400, one can reason that the beer and food must have been pretty good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Fayetteville, NC
(10/25/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
You won't find a better place in Fayetteville, or a better beer in all of NC. Once pretty much a dive in the run-down downtown of Fayetteville, this place was reborn last year under new ownership and quite simply, it ROCKS! Great decor, superb craft-brewed beer and a solid menu all of which easily stand alone. I would use the place for small business luncheons during the week, plus it would be great for Welcome / Farewell type dinners or events earlier in the evening before the nightlife really kicks in, because when it does, it really kicks ass! In the end, though, if you aren't into the nightlife or food, come for the beer. It IS that good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from a_mere a_mere, Southern Pines, NC
(10/25/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The Beer: First things first - the in-house crafted beers are excellent. I especially enjoyed the Rusty Nail Pale Ale and the Irish Red. I think that I've tried them all over the past couple of weeks. A real improvement from what I remember years back. The new brewmeister is some sort of "High Priest(ess) of the Beer Church" - no kidding - she seems to really know her stuff. The beers are winning all sorts of awards/contests, and it's going to start being available in other bars/liquor stores/groceries sometime in the near future - the folks I talked to didn't know when. The Resaurant: The same great things can be said about the food and atmosphere of the place - now my favorite place to bring the family for dinner or throw back a few with friends and relax. The Beef Tips, Jambalaya, and Ribeye are probably my favorite entrees, and I can't help but getting the Drunkin Dip for an appetizer every time I go. Service: The service was good and seems to get better every time I go. Price: Moderate - It was cheaper than I expected, though for the quality of the place. Having been away for a while, it's great to see historic downtown Fayetteville really turning into a class act and the Huske Hardware doing so, as well. I would definitely recommend this place for just about any occasion - a date, casual or business lunch/dinner, general drinking with the guys, whatever. Great place!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Bill, Fayetteville, NC
(09/13/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Outstanding historic district type brew pub/restaurant. The Farmhouse Ale was top rate as was the stout. The beer is way better than I remember it from the previous owners. Overall, great experience and atmosphere with good food to boot! Worth a visit for sure

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick Patrick, Fayetteville, NC
(09/07/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good
They have a great selection of beers to choose from as they have number of other brews on tap as well as their own. Service was good and personnel were friendly. I tried a number of their brews and the one I enjoyed best was the "Grand Cru". I visited a few times while in the area on business and found the Monday $1 beer night a great time to indulge & sample the brews.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bif Bif, St Peters, MO
(07/05/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
DON'T EVER LEAVE YOUR CAR AT HUSKE'S IT WOULD BE BETTER TO DRIVE HOME DRUNK THEN TO LEAVE YOU CAR GET IT TOWED FOR $200! OUR GROUP SPENT OVER $400 AT HUSKE'S ON FRIDAY NIGHT AND SATURDAY OUR CAR WAS GONE. THEY HAD TO TOWED ALL THE WAY TO RAEFORD ROAD AND IT COST $200 TO GET OUT. AFTER TALKING TO THE OWNER, WHO IS FAT AND OBVIOUSLY DOESN'T SUPPORT THE MILITARY, SHE MADE IT CLEAR THAT OUR CAR WAS TOWED FOR THE $10 PARKING SPACE WE WERE BLOCKING! IF YOU ARE MILITARY YOU SHOULD NEVER EAT THERE AGAIN!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review tulsa, OK
(04/26/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
This place has re-opened under new ownership.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Fayetteville, NC
(08/27/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Great Good Good
I really like the atmosphere, however, the beer is tastes sour, almost vinegar like.... The bathrooms gave a new meaning to bad smelling the night I was there! The food is pretty good, just couldn't get the waitress to come back with any frequency!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Fayetteville, NC
(08/25/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
What a fabulous place! Plenty of room to move, great artwork and historical artifacts. Beer is first rate. The McNair Scottish Brown Ale is awesome. Gorgeous wait staff that accentuate the whole food and drink experience.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Robineaux John Robineaux, sacramento, CA
(03/16/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
As a former employee myself, I have to say that this review probably came from a disgruntled former employee that was obviously fired. The bathrooms are cleaned on a daily basis, the steaks are NOT microwaved, but yes the chilli is canned. That's about the only thing this person had right. I'd also like to add that the beer is not that bad. Let the consumer be the judge of that!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review fayetteville, NC
(02/17/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Good Good So So
As a former employee I have to give fair warning to anyone who wants to venture beyond the doors of what the locals call "The Huske". Remember...the building is OLD...almost 100 yrs if I recall correctly, and it is in a downtown area where there is much construction going on and plenty of open area underground. Spend a summer night on the patio and you wont fail to see at least 1 or 2 humongous brown roaches, and dont think they dont make their way inside. Id be lying if I said I never saw a run across a table or into the storage closests. Not an avid beer drinker, I'd be hard pressed to describe the taste, but I think one reviewer had it right when they said SOUR. HOnestly, youre better off sticking to Bud Lite or Guinness from a bottle, refrain from getting something in a glass. I know for a fact the steaks are throw on the grill for markings and then microwaved to the right temp. Sadly, my favorite item of all, The Chili, comes out of an industrial sized can, but at least it does taste like Hormel. One reviewer called the place clean...I dont know. Perhaps theyve changed since my days there, but as of my date of exit they hadn't had a cleaning crew go through the bathrooms in about 1 1/2 years. Mopped and bisseled every night yes...CLEANED, no. You could second guess me and go to Huske...but do you really want to take a chance? Id reccommend the Mash House, for a good night of Beer Tasting.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Fay, NC
(02/12/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The quintessential brewery. Old brick building. Spacious. Beautiful brewing equipment. Friendly staff. The Regimental Red was superb and the IPA has a nice snappy hop taste. Food is the best we've had in Fayetteville.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sam Shepard Sam Shepard, St. Petersburg, FL
(02/02/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy N/A Good Lousy
Stopped in yesterday and was terribly disappointed. All of the beer was horrible. They only had 4 on draft, the sampler consists of 5, so the bartender told us he'd give us a second sample of whichever we liked the best. They were so bad we didn't even get a last sample. No hops at all all were very falt. Three of the four tasted exactly the same, and can only be described as dishwater. The place has a great atmosphere I will say.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mandy Mandy, Raleigh, NC
(12/30/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Having our Christmas party here was one of the best decisions we've made. Large open seating areas, great ambiance, spectacular service, food, and beer!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, Fayetteville, NC
(12/26/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Visited these guys at the Charlotte Oktoberfest as well. One of the first brewers to run out of beer as I recall. A real crowd pleaser.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Jacobs Mark Jacobs, Charlotte, NC
(11/23/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
This is the worst bar that I have ever been to. The music is horrible throughout the entire night and the service is the worst I have ever had.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Fayetteveille, NC
(11/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Beer, food, and service first rate. The Scottish Brown is a big beer with smooth finish. Will come back often.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ron Dowers Ron Dowers, Denver, CO
(11/06/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Good Great Lousy
I was very disappointed in the beer. We go to microbreweries for good beer and atmosphere. The beer had a sour taste and very little flavor. I was very disappointed. I would not recommend this place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Keith Sutton Keith Sutton, China Grove, NC
(11/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good N/A So So N/A
Tried the Mash House and Huske Hardware after reading the continuing debate on these pages. Too easy. Huske's beer is sour-tasting. I'm not a brewmaster, only know what my tongue tells me. Beer at Mash House was quite good. Server at Huske splashed each beer into the mug...no tilting, sit the beer glass down and pour from 8 inches up. Guaranteed flat that way. And did I mention sour-tasting? Probably got that apathetic-bacillus the other reviewers mentioned. I'm no technician, mind you.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Tom, Augusta, GA
(06/06/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Beer, food, service, and entertainment are all first rate. Will definitely be back!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J. Henner J. Henner, Boston, MA
(11/04/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good N/A Great So So
I try this place once or year or so when in the area. The beer never improves.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from George Miller George Miller, Plymouth, CT
(10/25/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Fabulous place to enjoy the downtown area. Beer and food are excellent.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Chicago, IL
(07/19/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So N/A Good Lousy
The beer is awful; probably the worst micro I have ever tasted and worse than most homebrews. We had the scottish brown and the ipa. No need to describe the beers here - they were terrible. A shame, because they have a great space for a brewpub - downtown, on the railroad tracks, in a very well renovated old building (hardware store, obviously).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Raleigh, NC
(07/11/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Joseph Mark Joseph, Providence, RI
(05/12/2005)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.403 seconds) 07:05:52 54.196.168.78, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS