PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Rio Salado Brewing Company - Tempe, AZ
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
August 21, 2014 @ 11:04 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > AZ > Tempe > Rio Salado Brewing Company
Rio Salado Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery
Rio Salado Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 79.1 / 100
1520 West Mineral Road
Tempe, AZ 85283
United States
(480) 755-1590
Listed Since: February 1999
Last Updated: May 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Tempe, AZ
Beer Guide for Arizona

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
14 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(14 within 5 miles)
1) Old Chicago
(2 miles)

2) Streets of New York Brewery was Uptown Brewery
(2 miles)

3) Hollywood Alley
(4 miles)

4) Tombstone Brewing Company
(4 miles)

5) Dave's Electric Brewpub
(4 miles)

6) Taste of Tops
(4 miles)

7) Rula Bula
(4 miles)

8) Gordon Biersch Brewing Company
(4 miles)

9) Four Peaks Brewing Company
(4 miles)

10) Mill Avenue Beer Company
(4 miles)

11) Casey Moore's Oyster House
(4 miles)

12) Sleepy Dog Brewery
(4 miles)

13) Whole Foods Market-Chandler
(5 miles)

14) Buffalo Wings and Rings
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) B & B Accommodations-MI Casa
2) Hyde Out Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) AMERISUITES TEMPE AIRPORT
2) AMERISUITES TEMPE/AZ MILLS
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) 1931 Tempe Bridge
2) 1931 Tempe Bridge
3) Administration/Science Building
4) Andre Building
5) B. B. Moeur Activity Building
6) Borden Milk Co. Creamery and Ice Factory
7) Elias-Rodriguez House
8) Elliott House
9) Farmer-Goodwin House
10) Frankenberg House
11) Gonzales-Martinez House
12) Goodwin Building
13) Green, Mary and Moses, House
14) Hackett, Roy, House
15) Harrington-Birchett House
16) Hayden, C. T., House
17) Industrial Arts Building
18) Laird, Hugh, House
19) Long, Samuel C., House
20) Main Building, Tempe Normal School
21) Matthews Hall
22) Miller Block
23) Miranda, Jesus, Homestead
24) Moeur, W. A., House
25) Morrow-Hudson House
26) Mullen, C. P., House
27) Petersen Building
28) Petersen, Niels, House
29) President's House
30) Redden, Byron, House
31) Redden, Lowell, House
32) Rohrig School
33) Scudder, B. H., Rental House
34) St. Mary's Church--Our Lady of Mount Carmel Catholic Church
35) Tempe Beach Stadium
36) Tempe Concrete Arch Highway Bridge
37) Tempe Concrete Arch Highway Bridge
38) Tempe Cotton Exchange Cotton Gin Seed Storage Building
39) Tempe Hardware Building
40) Tempe Woman's Club
41) Vienna Bakery
42) Walker, Harry, House
43) White, E. M., Dairy Barn
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Aji Dulce Cafe
2) Arby's
3) Armando's Mexican Food
4) Atlanta Bread Co
5) Aurora Espresso
6) B J's Eating Place
7) Bahama Buck's Of Tempe
8) Baja Fresh Mexican Grill
9) Ball Park Pub
10) Barro's Pizza
11) Barro's Pizza
12) Barton Enterprises Inc
13) Baseline Sports Bar
14) Baseline Sports Pub
15) Baskin-Robbins
16) Billy Joes Barbecue
17) Blimpie Subs & Salads
18) Blimpie Subs & Salads
19) Boeatos Wrap Co
20) Boston Market
21) Boston Market
22) Burger King
23) Burger King
24) Burger King
25) Byblos Restaurant
26) Cabana Cafe & Juice Bar
27) Capistrano's Italian Deli
28) Carlos O'Brien's Mexican Food
29) Carmen's Bistro
30) Casa Romero
31) Casanoba International Gourmet
32) Chili's Grill & Bar
33) China Lite Healthy Food Bistro
34) China Panda
35) China Town Buffet
36) Chopstick Express
37) Chuck's Cafe
38) Church's Chicken
39) Chuys Mesquite Broiler
40) Classic Italian Pizza
41) Cousins Subs
42) Culinary Cafe
43) Dairy Queen
44) Dairy Queen
45) Denny's
46) Denny's
47) Diego's Mexican Grill
48) Discoteca Georgina
49) Docs Fat Pattles Restaurant
50) Domino's Pizza
51) Domino's Pizza
52) Domino's Pizza
53) Efes Turkish Cuisine
54) Einstein Acquisition Corp
55) Filiberto's Mexican Restaurant
56) Filito's Inc
57) Final Round
58) Gandolfo's New York Deli
59) Gourmet Wok
60) Graham Central Station
61) Happy Bowl Samurai
62) Heidi's Home Catering Inc
63) Hogi Yogi
64) Honey Bears Barbeque
65) Horse & Hound Restaurant
66) House Of C-Fu Restaurant
67) Hunter Steakhouse
68) Ichi Ban Japanese Restaurant
69) Jack In The Box
70) Jack In The Box
71) Jack In The Box
72) John Henry's
73) Kfc
74) Kfc
75) Kyoto Bowl
76) Legends Sports Grill
77) Leghorn's Bar & Grill
78) Life Cafe
79) Lite Weight Cafe
80) Little Caesars Pizza
81) Loco Gringo's Mexican Rstrnt
82) Longhitano's Restaurant
83) Lucky Dragon
84) Luz Maria's Grill
85) Lynchee Inn Fine Chinese
86) Mahogany Run Restaurant Inc
87) Mandarin Choice Chinese Rstrnt
88) Mc Donald's
89) Mc Donald's
90) Mc Donald's
91) Mc Donald's
92) Mi Amigo's Mexican Food Rstrnt
93) Mochajumbie's Island Cafe
94) Olive Garden
95) Pacific Grill
96) Panda Express
97) Papa John's Pizza
98) Papa John's Pizza
99) Papa-Razzini
100) Pasand
101) Pearl's Chinese Restaurant
102) Pei Wei Asian
103) Pete's 19th Hole Restaurant
104) Peter Piper Pizza
105) Pizza Hut
106) Popeyes Chicken & Biscuits
107) Pump It Up Of Tempe
108) Quiznos Sub
109) Quiznos Sub
110) Quiznos Sub
111) R W Pockets
112) Red Devil Catering
113) Red Devil Italian Rstrnt-Pizza
114) Rivas Mexican Food
115) Rosati's Pizza
116) Rubio's Baja Grill
117) Schlotzsky's Deli
118) Schlotzsky's Deli
119) Serrano's Mexican Food Rstrnts
120) Sesame Express
121) Someburros
122) Sonic Of Temple
123) Souper Salad Restaurant
124) Spectrum
125) Sub & Munch
126) Sublime Deli
127) Subs N' Such
128) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
129) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
130) Sukiyaki Express
131) Taco Bell
132) Taco Bell
133) Tacos Mexico
134) Tom's Bbq Chicago Style
135) Tom's Bbq Chicago Style
136) Top Bun Management Inc
137) US Egg
138) Village Inn
139) Village Inn
140) Vine Tavern & Eatery
141) Wendy's
142) Wildflower Bread Co
143) Wong's Place
144) Wyco Fast Foods
145) Yee's Chinese Restaurant
146) Yoshi's
147) Zorro's Fresh Burrito Grill
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
They are closed

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Alan Alan, Fitzwilliam, NH
(12/22/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
CLOSED-a big loss.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from R. Davis R. Davis, Spring, TX
(12/12/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great
Stopped by for the first time in several months. Had the: Apricot Hefe: Marvelous concoction of Hefeweizen with just enough apricot to taste. Wonderfully hazy color and full-bodied. Great beer.

Hefeweizen-the original version is here. One of best HW you will find in Phoenix,if not the entire southwest US

Bought a liter bottle of Dubblebock (SP?). Nice full-bodied beer that was very drinkable. A little different....

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from R. Davis R. Davis, Spring, TX
(07/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Lousy So So
Visited while in Tempe for Spring Training. I stopped into the pub on Mill Street for a couple of pints. The beer was OK, but the selection was pretty poor, only 4 available. Plus, the service was pretty poor. Next time I'll go th their microbrewery location. Perhaps it's better there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Aaron Kilmer Aaron Kilmer, Azusa, CA
(03/15/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
I stopped into the location nearby ASU while spending some time in the Tempe area with friends. I was a bit disappointed to see that they did not have an I.P.A. or something else hoppy on draft at the time (how many bocks does one place need?), so I settled for the Maerzen. A pretty good interpretation of the style, malty and balanced. Just not my usual choice. They did have Stone I.P.A., but if I wanted that I would go to San Diego (or my bar in NYC.) The atmosphere was a little "fratty" for me, but if I was in the area again I would give it another shot.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kirk Struble Kirk Struble, New York, NY
(04/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Tried the Pale Ale, Shwarz beer (both great), the Hefe, and the Wit (both good). My wife loved the Cherry Weiss. We unfortunately arrived one day late for the pig roast and homebrew fest.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bearded Dave Bearded Dave, Pine Springs, TX
(11/19/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
I went to the one on Mill Street. I am guessing it hasn't been open for long. It is in funky little place that could use a little work. The beer was pretty good and they have a $2 special on one of their beers running. It was definitely the place to hang out and have a couple on Mill. I think it definitely had a tendency to cater to the college crowd, which is to be expected considering its' location. Overall a nice place to stop for a couple while in downtown Tempe. For a more satisfying experience hit Four Peaks.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Phillips Doug Phillips, Austin, TX
(11/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!
Actually have never been to the pub, but have had all of their beers, at numerous beer festivals, and local bars. Without a doubt the best Heffe in the US of A!! Very true to style, wonderful bananna and clove esthers, great hazy straw color, great aromatics, and wonderful flavor. DO NOT ADD A LEMON!!! Great amber, marzen, scwartzbier, pilsner, and cherry kriek!! This beer is a must try!! I plan to hit the pub soon!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from The Beer Traveler The Beer Traveler, Tucson, AZ
(02/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Good
This is a micro in an industrial area-not a "hot spot" as far as the discoteque scene but typical of most micros I've run across. Mostly locals as the slick bar buzzards won't put this on their list of crawls.

They have a nice, comfortable set-up with a couple of rooms of tables and a smallish bar area.

Beers: Hefewiezen was very nice and tasted similar to many good German wheat beers I've had. Spring Bock-lighter color beer that packed an 8% abv punch. Smooth going down and the alcohol doesn't overwhelm the beer. I bought a sixer of this to carry home. Sampled the pale ale-typical but not special. No cask conditioned ale available.

This would be a great place for a Friday TGIF on the patio. A return trip will be in the works.

This

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from R. Davis R. Davis, Spring, TX
(01/31/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great
The beer was good. The atmosphere was excellent. Small place. Real friendly people!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Brian, Moreno Valley, CA
(12/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
This is currently my favorite Phoenix area brewery. The Schwartz is unique and quite versitile - enjoyed well by dark/stout drinkers like myself as well as lighter beer drinkers. Solid flavorfull beer with a lighter feel. They also put on some very good special beers - if they have the Helles(sp) Bock on when you are there you must try it. My Hefe drinking friends also rate their hefe at the top of the list!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from DrFish DrFish, Tempe, AZ
(07/27/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
area code changed to 480 phone 480.755.1590

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Terry Terry, Decatur, IL
(02/14/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Now open 4-9 pm, 7 days. Great beer and very friendly local crowd. Highly recommended, we were given a tour and didn't even request it!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo Miller Geo Miller, Plymouth, CT
(11/10/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!
This is a brewery-only, but they do have tours with generous tastings every Saturday at 1pm. Plus, their beers are catching on at restaurants and bars all around Phoenix. The brewery is a little hard to find, but it's well worth it (it's in an industrial park off of Priest Rd, between Elliot and Guadalupe Rds.). The place has excellent beers brewed in strict German styles (predominantly lagers, but with an ale or two thrown in for good measure). When we visited, they had an Export, a Kolsch, a Maerzen and a Schwarz Beer on tap, all of which were INCREDIBLE! The brewmaster (Tim) is formerly from Deschutes Brewery in Oregon (among other places) and really knows what he's doing. Plus, the brewery itself is quite impressive with all new computer controlled equipment. Check it out some Saturday...you won't regret it! Or, better yet, try one of the Rio Salado beers at a local restaurant or pub.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John McCaffrey John McCaffrey, Phoenix, AZ
(02/19/1999)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.266 seconds) 23:04:30 54.91.255.151, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS