PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Shepherd and the Knucklehead - Haledon, NJ
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 31, 2014 @ 12:43 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NJ > Haledon > Shepherd and the Knucklehead
No logo - please upload one (logo placeholder)
Type: Beer Bar
Shepherd and the Knucklehead
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 81.5 / 100
529 Belmont Avenue
Haledon, NJ 07508
United States
(973) 942-8666
Listed Since: March 1999
Last Updated: September 2001
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Haledon, NJ
Beer Guide for New Jersey

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Shepherd and the Knucklehead
64 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(3 within 5 miles)
1) Front Porch
(1 mile)

2) Doc's Bar and Grill
(4 miles)

3) Office Beer Bar and Grill
(4 miles)

nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) HARRIMAN MOTOR INN
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Ackerman House
2) Ackerman House
3) Ackerman-Boyd House
4) Ackerman-Hopper House
5) Ailsa Farms
6) Archibald-Vroom House
7) Baldwin, David, House
8) Belle Vista
9) Berdan, G. V. H., House
10) Berdan, Richard J., House
11) Botto, Pietro, House
12) Cadmus-Folly House
13) Cairns-Whitten-Blauvelt House
14) Cathedral of St. John the Baptist
15) Cooke, Frederick William, Residence
16) Cruse-Hossington House
17) Danforth Memorial Library
18) De Gray House
19) Demarest House
20) Demarest, Jacobus, House
21) Demarest-Hopper House
22) Dey Mansion
23) Erie Railroad Signal Tower, Waldwick Yard
24) Ferguson, John W., House
25) Folly House
26) Garretson, Peter, House
27) Great Falls of the Passaic and Society for Useful Manufactures Historic District (Boundary Increase)
28) Hermitage, The
29) Hopper, Garret, House
30) Hopper, Hendrick, House
31) Kossuth Street School
32) Lozier House and Van Riper Mill
33) Masker House
34) Myers-Masker House
35) Packer House
36) Paterson City Hall
37) Public School Number Two
38) Radburn-Fair Lawn Station
39) Rea, John W., House
40) Reaction Motors Rocket Test Facility
41) Ridgewood Station
42) Smith, Albert, House
43) St. Michael's Roman Catholic Church
44) Stagg, John C., House
45) Storms House
46) Terhune House
47) Thompson, Daniel, and Ryle, John, Houses
48) Van Blarcom - Jardine House
49) Van Blarcom House
50) Van Blarcom House
51) Van Blarcom, Albert, House
52) Van Gelder House
53) Van Horn-Ackerman House
54) Van Houten House
55) Van Houten-Ackerman House
56) Van Houten-Ackerman House
57) Van Houten-Hillman House
58) Van Koert-Winters House
59) Van Riper-Hopper House
60) Van Voorhees-Quackenbush House
61) Van Voorhis-Quackenbush House
62) Van Winkle House
63) Van Zile House
64) Vanderbeck House
65) Waldwick Railroad Station
66) Westervelt-Cameron House
67) Westside Park
68) White Tenant House
69) Winters, Aaron, House
70) Wortendyke-Demund House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Al Pomodoro
2) Alexus Steakhouse & Tavern
3) Andy's Bar & Grill
4) Andy's Corner
5) Angelina's Fine Italian Deli
6) Anthony's & Mario's Family
7) Azzurro Catering
8) B & R Quality Deli & Catering
9) Beanie's Bar & Grill
10) Belamari Tea Room
11) Belmont Grill
12) Belmont Resources
13) Big Jim's Pizzeria
14) Blimpie Subs & Salads
15) Brother Bruno's Pizza
16) Brownstone House
17) Carousel Pizzeria
18) Casa Bella Italian Grill
19) Casa Di Calabria
20) Casarella
21) Celebrities Cafe
22) Charlie's Famous Pizza
23) Chef King
24) Chicken & Rib Crib
25) Chili Pepe's
26) China Kitchen
27) China Town Chinese Restaurant
28) Colucci's Ristorante & Cafe
29) Cousins Gourmet
30) Dantes Pizza & Restaurant
31) Dee's Fish House Inc
32) Deli Central
33) Domino's Pizza
34) Dragon Chinese Restaurant
35) Duffy's Riverside Grill
36) Duffy's Tavern
37) Dunkin Donuts
38) Front Porch
39) Gilmore Family Style Rstrnt
40) Great Wall
41) Haledon Grill
42) Haledon Pizza
43) Haledon Pork Store
44) Hawthorne Buffet
45) Hawthorne's Best Pizza
46) Ice Cream Bakery
47) Il Capo Restaurant
48) Ingwersen's Delicatessen
49) J & E Bar & Grill
50) Jiggles
51) Jimmy Geez Sports Bar & Grill
52) Kathy's Deli Plus
53) King Garden
54) LA Bahia Restaurant
55) La Neve's Exclusive Caterers
56) Macaluso's
57) Meals For Kids
58) Michael's Deli
59) Napolean Restaurant
60) New Taste Of China
61) Nicola's
62) No 1 Kitchen
63) Papa Joe's Bar & Restaurant
64) Patria's Restaurant
65) Plaza Diner
66) Popewiny's Luncheonette
67) Preakness Restaurant
68) Quiznos Sub
69) R D Benders
70) Ralph's Deli & Restaurant
71) Rincon Del Sabor
72) Ristorante Florio
73) Riverside Pizza
74) Ronny Liquor & Bar
75) Rosita's El Toque Dl Sabor
76) Sams Coffee Shop
77) Sandwich World
78) Sandy's Bar
79) Scanio's
80) Scheck Brothers Delicatessen
81) Scoopy Doos
82) Shepherd & Knucklehead Pub Inc
83) Shine Cafe & Lounge
84) Shortway's Barn
85) Sigi's Restaurant
86) Simply Elegant Super Deli
87) Skuffy's Subs
88) Sprinkles Ice Cream & Yogurt
89) Steve's Place
90) Stewart's Lafayette Deli
91) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
92) Taco Tico Restaurant
93) Talisman Restaurant
94) Taormina Pizzeria & Italian
95) Tastee Pizza
96) Terrana's Pizza
97) Third Avenue Delicatessen Str
98) Tides Of North Haledon
99) Tip Of The Boot
100) Tony's Campus Cafe
101) Tony's Pizzeria
102) Torpedo Base USA
103) Trajanoski Tavern
104) Triangle Diner
105) Tropicana Palace Bar
106) United Deli Inc
107) USa Fried Chicken
108) V & J Pizza
109) Vernissage
110) Villa Rosa Restaurant
111) Village Gourmet Deli
112) Who's Inn
113) Wizard's Pub
114) Wo Lee Restaurant
115) Zakaria's Deli
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Dear Mark

I have tried to change your mind about how to be nice, in general. I have spanked you publically verbally; I have tried pointing out how being a bully has never benefitted anyone. The only thing left to do is I suppose after being opened and very prosperous for ten years and hopefully 20 more to come is just forgive you and love you.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Schiavo Chris Schiavo, Hawthrone, NJ
(10/10/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
The best beer selection around. 21 taps to choose from. Beer is always fresh and always changing.

To name a few beers that have made an appearance: Rogue, Flying Fish, Troegs, North Coast, Dogfish Head, Bar Harbor, Left Hand, Palaner, Sierra Nevada, Anderson Valley, Victory Brewing, Weyerbacher, Ipswich, River Horse, Otter Creek, and Allagash.

You get the idea great microbrews on tap. The selection is always changing – your experience may vary - so stop by to see what’s on tap.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Greg Greg, Bloomingdale, NJ
(08/22/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
happily, this rumor is false and the Shepherd is still very much open and will remain so! so come on down and enjoy a fresh and tasty beer at your favorite little pub - see you there!

~allison, weekend bartender

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from allison allison, fair lawn, NJ
(06/19/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great
Sad to say rumor has it this placed has closed it's doors for good. NJ loses one of it's great beer bars.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Passaic, NJ
(02/17/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
great place to share a few drinks and a few laughs with friends in a laid back atmosphere. awesome jukebox, and music is never too loud!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Smith Paul Smith, wyckoff, NJ
(06/12/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
The bartenders are amazing...helpful, knowledgable and adorable. Friends are easy to find. It's the only place I know a girl can feel comfortable going alone.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review wayne, NJ
(01/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
After reading all the reviews I have no clues about the beer. Most of the reviews sound like kids from my high school day and the owner of this place has used this page as his own Web Page the web page listed for the place has nothing about the bar.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from fred m fred m, mahwah, NJ
(10/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A So So Great
Does this place still exist. From the reviews (most seem from one time reviewers) it sounds like a male go go bar. Are they still around?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Passaic, NJ
(09/24/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Awesome! N/A Lousy Good
I don't know whatever happened to Alison but the place is worse off w/out her. disappointed in the service - good selecton of beer - but where's my alison????????

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from b.coles b.coles, wyckoff, NJ
(10/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Awesome!
Great place,relaxed setting.Being a smoker from NY, It's nice to see a bartender smoking behind the bar.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Broomlip Broomlip, Warwick, NY
(07/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Hey Dan, I'm very surprised to see this a friend told me you wrote. I'm surprised you want to talk to me considering our last conversation. Anyways check your email at yahoo I dont want to talk over this site its too private. Connie

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Connie Lozada Connie Lozada, Paterson, NJ
(06/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Awesome!
I've been to this place before, but have been visiting a lot lately with my firend Victoria and I have to say that I love it. Especially the bartenders they are great, Ralph, Rich and of course crazy James (yum). Chris the owner is cool and I'm not just saying that cause my friend Pat says so he is really nice. GO THERE!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Connie Lozada Connie Lozada, Paterson, NJ
(05/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
Home of Wackee Jackee with the Kung Fu Grip..if you do not know who she is...well... next time a vivacious red head walks through the door and the whole place stands and cheers, you'll meet her. An amazing bar, with an amazing owner, with beautiful bartenders... we love you boys...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from v. v., ROCK LAND, NJ
(04/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
To feel at home in a bar... ahh it is a touch of home. The regulars at this place are such a fine diverse crowd, that if you wanted to stroll to the bar alone... you can find a friend. The atmosphere is great. The beer is fantastic and the bartenders really know how to poor a drink. KUDOS to Chris, Rich, Ralph, and the infamous James... keeping the spirit of free thinking and excellent drinking!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed Kamenitzer Ed Kamenitzer, Hawthorne, NJ
(04/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
Closing?? I do not think so. Visited on Friday 4/2/04---The area behind the bar appeared to be cleaner than what I remembered from my last visit, the prices were fair but I wished the bartender would put his cigarette down long enough while his poured my beer. I know this bar is not the Wayne Manor but take a little pride in your work. This will not stop me from coming back but smoking behind the bar in front of customers is not called for.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from OTS OTS, ., NJ
(04/04/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A So So Good
New age slacker service with a hippie attitude. Don't know if I'd go back again, but I hope other people do and this place stays in business (but I hear it's not). Good beer selection and well worth the trip.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sandyman Sandyman, Oakland, NJ
(03/31/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
STICK A FORK IN HER. I HEAR THE OLD SHEP IS GOING GO-GO (LIKE VICTORS TAP ROOM IN E. ORANGE). GUESS THAT JUST LEAVES ANDY'S.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Chris, READINGTON, NJ
(03/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Am I to believe from the previous reviewers that the "Shep" is now or is becoming a go-go bar! Though I haven't been there in over a year I will go there forwith and give them my full support by bying a round or two (and if I am to late, wait for girls night!).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Hollie Hollie, Hawthorne, NJ
(02/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
I for one enjoy the "hippie" life style and if you don't "get" this place than it's your problem. The Shep is right out of the East Village and we like it that way. The day I walk in and find that the Shep is a go go bar is the day I go back to drinking Bud- as if!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Famous Ray Famous Ray, Oakland, NJ
(01/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A So So Great
Stopped in with a date and found this place interesting. The crowd seemed a bit on the hippy side and college mixed (there is a college nearby). The people behind the bar did not seem interested in serving us, but I've been to Company Bees and this place has almost as many taps (though without my glasses I couldn't see what they were). The bartender just gave me one or two word answers. I would go back, but would bring my buddies next time.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Chris, Wayne, NJ
(12/28/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! N/A Lousy Good
ya lousy service

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review wayne, NJ
(12/15/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Lousy So So

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Trenton, NJ
(12/11/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
where have all the good bartenders gone? still a good bar - but far less enjoyable service nowadays

I guess I was right when I said bartenders must be harder to find than customers. I guess he didn't make poor Allison a partner after all.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Passaic, NJ
(11/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
best damn spot i ever been to in jersey, it's small but believe me it's all good and i wouldn't have it any other way, and chris is the man, know that, go to the shep, you will not regret it, if you don't like it for some reason then get your head checked, 22 beers on tap - how 'bout them apples?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review john, little falls, nj
(03/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Sorry folks, I do this late at night! Its the 29th of October, tuesday at 9pm! World Wie Stout will be on draft as well as their Pumpkin, not Pumkin! And we will have some of their bottles there as well, bot bittle...whatever that might be? ...thanks Chris

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Schiavo Chris Schiavo, Hawthorne, NJ
(10/22/2002)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.322 seconds) 12:43:11 54.204.142.143, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS