PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Cannon Brewpub - Columbus, GA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 29, 2014 @ 04:08 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > GA > Columbus > Cannon Brewpub
Cannon Brewpub Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Cannon Brewpub
Overall: Great    Score: 76.6 / 100
1041 Broadway
Columbus, GA 31901
United States
(706) 653-2337
Listed Since: March 1999
Last Updated: January 2007
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Columbus, GA
Beer Guide for Georgia

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Cannon Brewpub
41 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Gates House Bed & Breakfast
2) Rothschild Pound House Inn
3) Woodruff House & Mansion
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BAYMONT INN & SUITES COLUMBUS
2) BEST WESTERN COLUMBUS
3) COMFORT INN COLUMBUS
4) COMFORT SUITES COLUMBUS
5) COURTYARD COLUMBUS
6) DAYS INN
7) DAYS INN
8) ECONO LODGE FT BENNING
9) EXTENDEDSTAY COLUMBUS AIRPORT
10) FOUR POINTS SHERATON
11) HAMPTON INN COLUMBUS AIRPORT
12) HILTON GARDEN INN COLUMBUS
13) HOWARD JOHNSON EXPRESS
14) LA QUINTA INN COLUMBUS
15) RAMADA LTD PHENIX CITY
16) SLEEP INN COLUMBUS
17) SUPER 8 CEDAR RAPIDS EAST
18) WYNDHAM COLUMBUS GEORGIA HTL
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Berry, George O., House
2) Broad Street Methodist Episcopal Church South
3) Brooks-Hughes House
4) Building at 1007 Broadway
5) Building at 1009 Broadway
6) Building at 1400 Third Avenue
7) Building at 1429 Second Avenue
8) Building at 1519 3rd Avenue
9) Building at 1520 Second Avenue
10) Building at 1524 Second Avenue
11) Building at 1531 3rd Avenue
12) Building at 1606 Third Avenue
13) Building at 1612 3rd Avenue
14) Building at 1617 Third Avenue
15) Building at 1619 Third Avenue
16) Building at 1625 Third Avenue
17) Building at 215 Ninth Street
18) Building at 221 Ninth Street
19) Building at 303 11th St.
20) Building at 920 Ninth Avenue
21) Building at 921 Fifth Avenue
22) Building at 944 Second Avenue
23) Bullard-Hart House
24) Bush-Philips Hardware Co.
25) Butts, Thomas V., House
26) C.S.S. MUSCOGEE AND CHATTAHOOCHEE (gunboats)
27) Cargill, Walter Hurt
28) Carter and Bradley, Cotton Factors and Warehouseman
29) Cedars, The
30) Central of Georgia Railroad Terminal
31) Central of Georgia Railroad Terminal
32) Church of the Holy Family
33) Church Square
34) City Fire Department
35) Cole-Hatcher-Hampton Wholesale Grocers
36) Columbian Lodge No. 7 Free and Accepted Masons
37) Columbus High School
38) Columbus Investment Company Building
39) Columbus Ironworks
40) Columbus Stockade
41) Cooke, Wm. L., House
42) Curtis, Walter W. House
43) Davis, John T., House
44) Denson, William H., House
45) Depot Business Buildings
46) Dinglewood
47) Dismukes, Robert E., Sr., House
48) Elisha P. Dismukes House
49) First African Baptist Church
50) First African Baptist Church Parsonage
51) First National Bank
52) First Presbyterian Church
53) Fletcher, John T., House
54) Floyd-Newsome House
55) Fontaine Building
56) Fort No. 5
57) Frank Brothers
58) Gann's Pharmacy
59) Garrett-Bullock House
60) Girard Colored Mission
61) Girard High School
62) Goetchius-Wellborn House
63) Golden Brothers, Founders and Machinsts
64) Harrison-Gibson House
65) Highland Hall
66) Hilton
67) Hofflin & Greentree Building
68) Hunt, William P., House
69) Illges House
70) Illges, John Paul, House
71) Isaac Maund House
72) Joseph House
73) Kress
74) Lafkowitz, Abraham, House
75) Lecroy, John, House
76) Ledger-Enquirer Building
77) Liberty Theater
78) Lion House
79) McArdle House
80) McGehee-Woodall House
81) McSorley, Patrick J., House
82) Methodist Tabernacle
83) Mischke, Charles, House
84) Morgan-Curtis House
85) Mott House
86) Octagon House
87) Old Dawson Place
88) Peabody-Warner House
89) Pearce, George A., House
90) Pemberton House
91) Phillips, George, House
92) Pond, George, House
93) Pou, Joseph F., Jr., House
94) Power and Baird, Wholesale Dry Goods and Notions
95) Price, William, House
96) Rainey, Gertrude Ma Pridgett, House
97) Rankin House
98) Roberts, John Spencer, House
99) Rosenberg, Max, House
100) Rothschild's, David, Wholesale Dry Goods
101) Rothschild, David, House
102) Secondary Industrial School
103) Shapre-Monte House
104) Sixteenth Street School
105) Southern Railway Freight Depot
106) Spencer, William Henry, House
107) Springer Opera House
108) St. Christoper's Normal and Industrial Parish School
109) St. Elmo
110) St. John Chapel
111) Stewart, John, House
112) Swift-Kyle House
113) Triangle Building
114) Trinity Episcopal Church
115) Turner, Charles E., House
116) U.S. Post Office and Courthouse
117) W. Jacob Burrus House
118) Walker-Peters-Langdon House
119) Walton, James A., House
120) Wells-Bagley House
121) Wolfson Printing and Paper Co.
122) Woodruff, Ernest, House
123) Woodruff, Henry Lindsay, House
124) Woodruff, Henry Lindsay, Second House
125) Woolfolk, John W., House
126) Wynn House
127) Wynnton Academy
128) Wynnwood
129) Y.M.C.A.
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 13th Street Bar-Be-Que
2) A & A Cafe
3) Alcador Mexican Restaurant
4) Anna Marie's Catering Co
5) Arby's
6) Bab's Hotdogs & Groceries
7) Bagel Break
8) Ben's Wings & Things
9) Big City Club
10) Big Daddy's Bar-B-Q
11) Big Redds Kitchen &Catering
12) Blimpie Subs & Salads
13) Bludau's Goetchius House
14) Blue Plate Catering
15) Bonanza Steakhouse
16) Bone Head
17) Breakthrough Restaurant
18) Buford's Brownies
19) Bullets Burgers Chicken & More
20) Burger King
21) Burger King
22) Cafe 222
23) Cannon Brewpub
24) Captain D's Seafood Restaurant
25) Carmike Cinemas Inc
26) Castello's Italian Cafe
27) Charlie's Barbecue
28) Chester's Barbeque
29) Chicken Comer's Bar-B-Que
30) China Buffet
31) China Inn Chinese Restaurant
32) Church's Chicken
33) Church's Chicken
34) Club Elite
35) Club Javoa's
36) Columbus Georgia Convention
37) Columbus Hilton Pemberton's
38) Cook's Hot Dogs 2
39) Cottage Kitchen
40) Country Kitchen
41) Country Life Vegetarian Buffet
42) Country's Barbaque
43) Depot Billiards
44) Dinglewood Pharmacy
45) El Vaquero Mexican Restaurant
46) El Zapata Restaurante Mexicano
47) Evelyn's Cafe
48) Felix Restaurant & Lounge
49) Fish King Restaurant
50) Fountain City Coffee
51) Fourteenth Street Grill
52) Fredrick's Cafe
53) Girlfriends At Rosemary's
54) Gourmet Deli & Catering Co
55) Gus's Diner
56) Hattie Mae's Cafe
57) Hidden Grill
58) Hot Wings Express
59) Houlihan's
60) International Cuisine
61) J & J Lounge
62) Kfc
63) Kfc
64) Krystal
65) Krystal
66) Larry's Giant Subs
67) Lee's Golden China
68) Lil Kim's Cove
69) Linwood Lunch
70) Locos Amigos Cantina
71) Loft
72) Lunch Box
73) Mad Hatter
74) Main Ingredient Cafe
75) Mario's Restaurant & Pop
76) Martin L King Restaurant
77) Mc Donald's
78) Miles Seafood
79) Minnie's Uptown Restaurant
80) Miriam's Cafe & Gallery
81) Olive Branch Cafe
82) Park Place Deli
83) Part Iv Inc
84) Picasso Pizza
85) Popeye's Chicken & Biscuits
86) Quiznos Sub
87) Rankin Quarter Dining-Catering
88) Red Lobster Restaurant
89) Refuge
90) Rose Hill Seafood Restaurant
91) Rose's Caribbean Food
92) Rose's Caribbean Food
93) Rosemary's
94) Royal Cafe
95) Ruthann's Restaurants
96) Sandwich Shanty
97) Savana's
98) Scruffy Murphy's Irish Pub
99) Serving Spoon
100) Smokey Pig Barbecue
101) Sonic Drive-In
102) Spectrum Oil
103) Sputnik Bar
104) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
105) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
106) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
107) Taco Bell
108) Tavern On The Square
109) Thornton Bar-B-Que
110) Top Hat
111) Twelfth Street Catering & Deli
112) Twenty-Third Street Grill
113) Tyler's Restaurant
114) Uptown Tap
115) Wendy's
116) Willy Scenarios Good Italian
117) Wooden Nickel Pub Inc
118) World Famous Hot Dogs
119) Wynton Pitt Bbq & Diner
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great So So Good So So
I am a repeat customer of several years but the beer quality and food has deteriorated. I hear they are under new management. They were out of the one item I really wanted and one waitress w/ a tatoo'd neck was quite rude. The place smelled stale. I wont remain a repeat customer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Huntsville, AL, AL
(11/28/2011)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
The brewpub has a good selection of beers. Of the 3 brews I ordered, the Golden Ale was decent, their wheat beer was good, but I enjoyed their IPA best of all. They have good pubgrub although their menu may be a bit extensive. Service was good. The Brewpub is worth another visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bif Bif, St Peters, MO
(03/15/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
MP - they have new owners and everyting is much better. The regular beer maker is away until first week in December, 2008. The new owners really improved everything and left that that didn't need "fixin'" alone!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Columbus, GA
(10/25/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
In regards to you review: The regular Brewmaster Hank is away until the first week in December. He is attending the Siebel Institute (Chicago and Munich) to become an accredited brew master. Don't give up on the Cannon - the new ownership has improved a lot of things but they did leave Hank and his brewing alone. SO - hang on, he'll be back. Make sure you tell the management what a difference it made!! Yep, the bald headed dude is filling in.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Shelia Robinson Shelia Robinson, Columbus, GA
(10/13/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good Great Great Good
What happened? I have been to the Cannon a few hundred times over the past 3 years and all of a sudden within the span of 5 weeks the beer went to crap. I mean I was literally there one day and then 5 weeks later and all of the beers have changed! Is it the same recipie, same brewer? If not the managment needs to reconsider their choices. The IPA in particular was WAY off target. I remember the brewer from a year or so ago, and I hope the fat, bald dude with the goatee hasn't replaced him. BRING BACK MY BEER, please! On a brighter note my service and food were outstanding. I really like the new menu. I had the Bulldog Burger and it really hit the spot...I just wish I could have a decent IPA with it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Brown Michael Brown, Columbus, GA
(10/06/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A Awesome!
12/2007 Seven long years. We miss you Jim! Glad to see the brewpub lives on.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Duvall, WA
(12/19/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Good Great
I only been there once but when i was there ther Beer was the best in the south.The pizza was to dream for. With that been said What ever happen to those to two pizza guys that was one hell of of a team. Shawn and Lamar. But the beer still got you beat by a slim margin.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bobby Flay Bobby Flay , New York City, NY
(11/10/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great So So Lousy Good
I have been to this place a handful of times. They dont have a HUGE selection of beer, but what they do have is pretty good. The IPA is a personal favorite. I ordered food there only twice and both times it was pretty gross. I recommend that you order a burger, keep it simple at this place. The service is and always has been pretty crappy. It is obvious that the servers have their "Regular Customers" and pay a lot of attention to them. We waited 10 min. to be seated by the hostess, who was off hanging out at a table with some other people. If you are in the area and have some time to burn, I suggest you swing by. NOT for the food, or the selection, and DEFINETLY NOT the Service. But the novelty of the place will keep you occupied for 30-45 minutes.

Its also pretty funny how EVERYONE from Columbus thinks this place is the GREATEST. "REGULAR CUSTOMERS" maybe????

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from MP MP, Boston, MA
(11/06/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Denise ,the bar tender, was absolutley GREAT. I visited while on a weekend educational outing with my 2 children. Denise, along with the brewer, gave us detailed information on how the brewing process works. The non alcoholic drinks we tried were Great. A wonderful establishment with a wonderful aire of friendleness.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tracey Rozwalka Tracey Rozwalka, Marion, KY
(02/12/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Lousy Good
Good though not great beer, very good food, horrible service every single time I've been there. The uilding is a very nice restored historic place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Washington, DC
(02/02/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Great
The beer at this place is generally great. The red jacket is one of my favorites. They seem to have a good selection of liquor, but I don't drink hard liquor very often so I really could say.

The food there is alright, but generally overpriced and it takes a while to get to the table. The "Canon Burger" is good, but how hard is it to make a burger?

My only complaint about this place is the service. It's almost always "average" to better, but every now and then you get a really incompetent jerk. That's what the "Tip" section on the receipt is for, though.

Honestly, if you're unlucky enough to come to Columbus, you should certainly visit the Canon and check out downtown in general.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from lunacy lunacy, Columbus, GA
(01/28/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Great
try the GOLDEN beer. It rocked.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Preston Hill Preston Hill, Madison, AL
(08/25/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I loved this place for the years that I have spent there. The endless stories only the owns that go regularly. I've loved the ones still there and the ones that are lost. Many drunken days/nights with caring friends I've built many relationships with. I love all yall guys and gals. Guess who? I love ya and miss ya

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kimberly Kimberly, Pelham, GA
(02/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I love the cannon!!!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from tamarah benford tamarah benford, columbus, GA
(02/03/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy Good Lousy Lousy
I agree with Jay. The ale is so so at best. Generally aweful. Better off with a domestic bottle at the Cannon. They need to take brewing lessons from real ale and bitter brewers in the UK. The cannon has the worst staff in the world. I think the management must look for the laziest, incompetent, and stupid degenerates they can find. Only people from Columbus who have never left to experience a fine brewpub would think the Cannon is a good place to get a pint. Fire all the staff, sell the place to a new owner (because he's a jackleg too), and learn how to make beer and then you might be able to call yourself a good brewpub.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JW JW, Columbus, GA
(12/09/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!
WOW! What a great place to have a great beer! I was just passing through Columbus on my way to the beach and stumbled across this incredible brewpub. All of the beers were exceptionaly good! My favorite was the Special 'Ops I.P.A. What a hop-monster! I had a chance to speak to the brewer (Hank) in depth about the history of the brewery and the town. I will mark this place on the map as one of the best pubs in a 100 mile radius! Hank also told me of their Double I.P.A. called the Sledgehammer. Can't wait to try this 9.5% giant among beers! Keep up the great work guys!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Evilelvis Evilelvis, Atlanta, GA
(01/09/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Being an affirmed alcoholic, I must say that the Cannon Brewpub has offered and continues to offer a high quality product. My brew of choice is their piney, crisp, delicious Special Ops IPA. This is not to say the their entire arsenal of beer is not fabulous in it's own right.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick Patrick, Columbus, GA
(11/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Actually, doll, beer is my business. Just giving my opinion. We all have one.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jay Jay, Atlanta, GA
(11/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
i can not understand how the former comment of lousy was assesed. people should not take out there bad day on wonderful brewers. obviously all he ever had was bud ligh to start with. eventually when his taste matures, then he may be able to apperciate the quality that the cannon produces.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from cora cora, columbus, GA
(11/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Good Lousy Lousy
The beer was very disappointing. The brewer was an arrogant jerk. Overall a very bad experience. Let's put it this way, I'd rather drink a Bud Light.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jay Jay, Atlanta, GA
(11/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
My third visit - each time just gets better. The wine tastings are fun and the food served was wonderful!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jo Masterson Jo Masterson, Duvall, WA
(05/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Good Great
The IPA is a monster! Great beer, good quality food, and attentive service. I'll go back the next time I'm in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mc Mike Mc, Mobile, AL
(10/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Great Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from A. Petty A. Petty, Columbus, GA
(10/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So So So So So
While we were there, only 3 of their beers were available due to some spoilage of their stock. The wheat beer was tasty but the stout was a little too strong on coffee. Unfortunately, two of the entrees at our table were bland and watery, and the service was negligible. I hope the management is on top of these issues; we were really not very impressed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Erica, Baltimore, MD
(03/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Good So So Great
i think that the beer the cannon has to offer is spectacular; the stout is a little thin for my taste but he taste is rewarding enough to drink if you like a full flavoured stout. The Special Opps IPA is a god in my book ive never had a better tasting beer in my life. Having had over 300 types/brands of beer id still drink this nectar of love they call Special Opps over any beer in the world. The other the other 5 beers are of the same quality as well. pizza are excelent such as the swamp thang crawfish laced cajun style pie. burger are huge and tasty. would go back again and again.......uh wait i do. thank you cannon for a benchmark beer selection.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from dick dick, pheinx city, AL
(01/02/2003)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.251 seconds) 04:08:12 54.227.63.195, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS