PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Silver Peak Restaurant and Brewery - Reno, NV
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 26, 2014 @ 02:22 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NV > Reno > Silver Peak Restaurant and Brewery
Silver Peak Restaurant and Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Silver Peak Restaurant and Brewery
Overall: Great    Score: 79.1 / 100
124 Wonder Street
Reno, NV 89502
United States
(775) 324-1864
Listed Since: March 1999
Last Updated: June 2003
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Reno, NV
Beer Guide for Nevada

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Silver Peak Restaurant and Brewery
46 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Mon 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Tue 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Wed 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Thu 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Fri 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Sat 11:00AM - 02:00AM

alternatives
(9 within 5 miles)
1) Foley's Irish Pub
(0 mile)

2) Buckbean Brewing Company
(0 mile)

3) Great Basin Brewing Company
(3 miles)

4) Donley's Irish Pub
(3 miles)

5) Rail City Ale House
(3 miles)

6) Brew Brothers Microbrewery
(4 miles)

7) Sierra Tap House
(4 miles)

8) Ole Bridge Pub
(4 miles)

9) Silver Peak Grill and Taproom
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Wildflower Village
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) ADVENTURE INN AND WEDDING CHPL
2) AIRPORT TRAVELODGE
3) BEST WESTERN AIRPORT PLAZA HOT
4) CIRCUS CIRCUS RENO
5) COURTYARD RENO
6) DAYS INN RENO
7) ECONO LODGE RENO
8) ELDORADO HOTEL CASINO
9) EXTENDEDSTAY RENO SOUTH MEADOWS
10) FAIRFIELD INN RENO SPARKS
11) FITZGERALDS HOTEL & CASINO
12) HARRAHS RENO
13) JOHN ASCUAGA NUGGET
14) LA QUINTA INN RENO
15) PEPPERMILL
16) PLAZA ON THE RIVER
17) QUALITY INN SOUTH RENO
18) QUALITY INN SPARKS
19) RENO HILTON
20) RODEWAY INN RENO
21) SANDS REGENCY
22) SHOWBOAT INN
23) SIENA HOTEL SPA & CASINO
24) SILVER CLUB HOTEL CASINO
25) SILVER LEGACY
26) SPEAKEASY HOTEL
27) SUPER 8 MEADOWWOOD COURTYARD
28) SUPER8 SPARKS RENO AREA
29) VAGABOND INN RENO
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) 20th Century Club
2) Billinghurst, Benson Dillon, House
3) Burke, Charles H., House
4) El Cortez Hotel
5) First United Methodist Church
6) Frey Ranch
7) Giraud, Joseph, House
8) Glendale School
9) Graham, William J., House
10) Gray, Joseph H., House
11) Immaculate Conception Church
12) Lake Mansion
13) Landrum's Hamburger System No. 1
14) Levy House
15) MacKay School of Mines Building
16) McCarthy-Platt House
17) Morrill Hall, University of Nevada/Reno
18) Mount Rose Elementary School
19) Nevada-California-Oregon Railroad Depot
20) Neveda-California-Oregon Railway Locomotive House and Machine Shop
21) Nichols, Mary Lee, School
22) Nortonia Boarding House
23) Pincolini Hotel
24) Rainier Brewing Company Bottling Plant
25) Reno National Bank--First Interstate Bank
26) Riverside Hotel
27) Southside School
28) Tyson House
29) US Post Office--Reno Main
30) Vachina Apartments--California Apartments
31) Veteran's Memorial School
32) Virginia Street Bridge
33) Washoe County Courthouse
34) Washoe County Library--Sparks Branch
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 1099 Club
2) Acapulco Reataurant
3) Albita's Mexican Restaurant
4) Alibi Lounge
5) All Girlz Deli
6) Amelias Restaurant & Bar
7) Asi Es Mi Tierra
8) Bar USA
9) Belle's Tea Cottage
10) Best Donuts In Town
11) Black Bear Diner
12) Blue Sky Restaurant Inc
13) Bobs Saloon & Eatery
14) Bully's Sports Bar & Grill
15) Cafe Alfresco
16) Cafe At Franktown Corners
17) Cafe De Thai
18) Cantina Ruby's Bar
19) Carl's Pub
20) China Empire
21) Chip & Sherri's Ice Cream
22) Cinnabon
23) Club Infinity
24) Club Sandwich
25) Coach's Grill & Sports Bar
26) Coffee On The Go
27) Confetti's
28) Corrigan's Bit O'Ireland
29) Creative Catering-Auto Museum
30) Delivery Diner
31) Dish Cafe & Catering
32) Domino's Pizza
33) El Pescador
34) Espresso Plus
35) Fig Tree Catering
36) Floyd's Fireside Chat
37) Fresco's Take 'n Bake Pizza
38) Frog Pond
39) Fusion Express
40) Giovanni's Gourmet Pizza
41) Golden China Restaurant
42) Good Times Co
43) Great Wall Chinese Buffet
44) Harry's Watering Hole
45) Hi Point Coffee
46) Hideout Lounge
47) Hoagie Hut
48) Honey Mountain Hams Of Reno
49) Hub
50) India Garden Restaurant
51) Jake's Place
52) Jalapeno's Fresh Express
53) Joe Bob's The Wing King
54) LA Shay Lounge
55) M & M Fish & Chicken Shack
56) M R Clark Construction
57) Mack Associates
58) Mariscos Las Islitas
59) Mc Donald's
60) Mc Donald's
61) Mexican Salvadorian Foods
62) Mountain Mike's Pizza
63) Mr O's
64) Murrieta's Cantina
65) Napper Tandy's Irish Pub
66) Odette's
67) OPA Deli Subs Expresso
68) Paisan's
69) Palladium
70) PGB Inc
71) Players
72) Polo Lounge
73) Porky's
74) Port Of Subs
75) Port Of Subs
76) Port Of Subs
77) Resort At Red Hawk
78) Revol Again
79) Romanza Ristorante Italiano
80) Round Table Pizza
81) Rutherford's Ol'south Rstrnt
82) Ryan's Saloon
83) Sardina's Restaurant
84) Sassy's Deli
85) Semenza's Pizzeria
86) Shotz
87) Si Senor Mexican Restaurant
88) Sneakers Bar & Grill
89) Sparky's Sports Bar & Grill
90) Spiro's Sports Bar & Grille
91) Starbucks
92) Steak Escape
93) Steak House
94) Stinger's Good Time Bar
95) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
96) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
97) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
98) Sullivan's Sports Bar & Grill
99) Super Pollo
100) Surf City Squeeze
101) Sushi Boat
102) Sushi Pier II
103) Swiss Chalet
104) Szechuan Express
105) Taco Bell
106) Taste Of India
107) Tequila Rock
108) Thai Chili Restaurant
109) Tiffin Box LLC
110) Tiger Tom's
111) Tokyo Grill
112) Toucan Charlie's Buffet
113) Tronix
114) Val's Pub
115) Vassar Lounge
116) Viet Pho Vietnamese Cuisine
117) Visions
118) Wendy's
119) Wonder Bar
120) Wong's Genghis Khan
121) Zanzibar Lounge
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
Actually this is for the new Slice pizza and beer location near the new stadium...great place!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beertrekker Beertrekker, ellicott city, MD
(12/09/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
Tried the porter, rockbeer (smokey, but like a porter) and the Sierra IPA. The Jambalya was really good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Louie Strano Louie Strano, Gabriola, BC
(04/24/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good So So Good
Stopped in a couple hours before heading to an Aces ballgame (hot new ticket in town). Just a short drive down and a block off Virginia St. from the strip. They eleven brews listed but were out of the Blonde and their signature Red Roadster. Opted for a pint each of the IPA and Amber. The IPA seemed to lack that traditional bite and the Amber tasted like it was on the way out. The saving grace was the small glass of Vintners Chocolate Stout. The bartender made a point of not overpouring as he looked up to a security camera. "They keep an eye on us". Sweet! Ordered The Santa Fe Chicken Sandwich which, once I finally did get it, was great. Took quite a while considering it didn't seem all that busy. Taking all things into consideration, would imagine making Silver Peak my local watering hole if I lived in the area. Nice rooftop patio.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J. King J. King, Campbell, CA
(05/25/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Reno, NV- Lots of beer, lots of food- and all I have is a camera with 3 days to find out whats good and not.

A year ago we visited a restaurant called Silver Peak. Met the head brewer there- Trent- and he spent some time sitting down with us talking about his beers. I told him I was in love with the Porter they had by far- turned out it was his particular beer that he made his way. When you've got a good one, everyone beats a path to your keg...

This time we went to the original Silver Peak Brewery, located at 124 Wonder Street, Reno NV.

They have a sampler there which, for the cost of 8.75, can be yours. The one we received had Red Roadster, XXX Blonde Ale, Baileywheat Hefeweizen, Sierra Amber Ale, Peavine Porter, Silver Peak India Pale Ale, and three specialties- Sunset Raspberry, Honey Ale, and Kolsch Ale.

The samplers weren't over filled so they didn't spill or contaminate (you'd be surprised) and were served in a stainless tray with accompanying documentation. Of course, a pair of ours were out of order but it's fairly easy to recognize the differences between a Pale Ale and a Porter :)

Red Roaster: Excellent hops but too much malt/unfermented sugars. Far too sweet to drink more than a sip- 2/8/10 (based on a sip. Based on an entire glass that 10 falls to a 2/8/4)

XXX Blond Ale: Not a fan, but that's me. 1/4/5 BaileyWheat Hefeweizen: A good Hef, if only I drank it more. Got very spoiled in Germany... so the low scores: 1/5/7

Sierra Amber Ale: Excellent taste with mild malts and good hops to finish. 2/5/7

Peavine Porter. When I had this last I don't remember it being so ... limp. Maybe it was a bad pour from the bottom of a keg, maybe it was just a low pressure day, but this beer needed more head than it was served in. 2/7/4 - and I LOVED it the last time I had it. Great coffee and bitterness to round out everything.

Silver PEak India Pale Ale: Extra hoppy but not overwhelming with a massive burst of one type of 'alpha acid rules' hops. Great nose- and even better finish. I wish I'd ordered a pint of this over the roadster- 3/8/9

Sunset Raspberry- Specialty beer. Skip it- you'll burn your taste buds. In fact, cut it with the Hef or the Blond, but served as it is it'll strip the flavour centers of your brain to their bare wires. I didn't even score it.

Honey Ale: Great flavor, not overpowered by the honey. Little more hops to give it some bite and it would be perfect, IMHO. 2/6/4 (for finish was lacking aroma hops)

Kolsch Ale: Great tasting all the way. Can't get much better than this in the US I'd imagine. 2/8/8

As for the food- Delicious. I had Rosemary flatbread with roasted garlic + brie. The brie I wish had been spread out a bit but that would have ruined the aesthetics of the dish, I'm sure. the main meal was the Brewers burger- undercooked slightly (I ordered medium, got medium rare) but they hit my double cheese with no problems.

Wait staff was attentive and quick on responses. Can't go wrong there.

This was the original Silver Peak and it's quality is excellent- Thanks for a great evening!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jason Hirsch Jason Hirsch, Rochester, NY
(08/03/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Four of us had great food, beer and service. It can get pretty loud, but we will return.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Salem, OR
(05/10/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
Great beers with a great selection - a regular porter and a Baltic porter - not many places have two porters. Unique menue. I had a grilled lamb burger. I've been to a lot of brew pubs. This is in the top 10%.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brad Seibert Brad Seibert, Oakton, VA
(10/02/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Awesome! Good
First, the beer: When I was there they were out of their IPA (which is what I went there for). But I did try: Red Roadster - Nice but mild Hop bite and nose, the flavor intensified once the beer warmed-up a bit; Heffewiesen was very good, with a nice esters sweetness; Big Daddy Hooch (Dopplebock), it was very smooth with a malty finish.

But the food...was Just OK. I went on Pasta Night, so I tried one of the specialties - The Chicken was rubbery and the sauce was watery/runner. The food tasted very good, but the texture and presentation wasn't there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim H Tim H, Cypress, TX
(01/22/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
Since Wednesdays are my "Beer Nights" at Thunder Canyon Brewery in Tucson, I thought I would continue my little tradition and check out Silver Peak while on a trip to Reno. I was not disappointed! The Red Roadster was superb and the Schell Pilsner was excellent. The atmosphere is nice for happy hour as it is outside on a veranda with views of the surrounding mountains and a nice cooling breeze. Service was prompt and professional. This is certainly on par with my usual digs and, if I ever make it back to Reno, it will be one of my first stops.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dennis Dennis, Tucson, AZ
(07/12/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ZAM ZAM, Lakewood, CO
(07/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
Overall not a bad establishment. Many beers to choose from for all tastes. Sample Platter of all their beers on tap.. only $7! Service is friendly and the Pizza's multi-grain crust is Great. A wonderful stop if you are in the Reno area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ani Ani, Alfred, NY
(06/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good N/A
Pretty good place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Glenn Glenn, Bakersfield, CA
(02/28/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Good
Tried a sampler of 7 beers, all were average with nothing outstanding. My pick was the IPA followed by the Scotch Ale. The chicken pizza was good with an awesome multi-grain crust.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kenneth N Kenneth N, Flagstaff, AZ
(12/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good So So Good
I tried both the original and downtown locations on a recent visit to Reno. I had the stout and the porter at the original location; both were thin and overly-carbonated. The IPA at the downtown location was better - creamy and true to type.

The salmon fish & chips was excellent. The pork tacos were nothing special.

I'm giving it a "good" because its one of the few worthwhile stops I could find in Reno.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Chris, Falls Church, VA
(10/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great
This was one of the highlights of our trip to Reno. The blonde was somewhat (predictably, IMHO) lacking, but the IPA, Scotch Ale, and particularly the Blackberry were great!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jennifer Jennifer, Wheaton, MD
(09/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
The IPA is pretty good as is the food. I have been to the original location a few times, the last being Saturday 6/11/05 and am always pleased. The only redeeming feature Reno has to offer, IMHO.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Matt Peterson Matt Peterson, Concord, CA
(06/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
they just changed the menu and replaced the great rib dinner with macarroni and cheese. (go figure). the place is a great place, but if you are a non smoker, the bar is not the place to hang out.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from mike lentz mike lentz, reno, NV
(04/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great
The IPA is pretty good. Food is average. Best brewery in town. New location downtown is small and noisy but hoppiin at night on the weekends.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review carson city, NV
(04/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
super beer! food is good too. i had great service at the bar, but the waiter the nextday was kind of a doofus(young guy). But i don't hold it against the establishment nor should you. just justifying the rating i gave for service. read the other reviews, then immediately book a flight to reno for BEER!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Vince Gorman Vince Gorman, Pittsburgh, PA
(04/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Good
Beer is really good. Especially enjoy the Red Roadster and the Ipa. Only draw back is there beer do not have enough body to pour a good Black & Tan. If you don't beleive me ask them to pour you 1. Food is outstanding. I do love this place though and always make a stop when we are in Reno.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from michael michael, port orchard, WA
(02/27/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
spent some time recently in reno. this is a "must do". most of the time visiting a micro-brewery its all about the beer (and it should be), but this place its all about the people. i thought the beer was outstanding i loved the ipa, and the wheat. lets get back to the people; kristen was our bartender, she was a total delight "beautiful and witty" we then had matt "real nice guy" we enjoyed him also. we met the owner jake who was always enjoyable and took the time to say hi to everyone. then came the "brewmaster" mickey the boy has a nack for good beer, very knowledgeable and pleasant. the food was great also please don't miss the salmon fish & chips (they were great). if you are ever in reno you must go here "please please please" you will be rewarded with great beer, great food and wonderful people. please tell them you read their review here on the pubcrawler.com, they didn't even know they had reviews on this web site. tell them paul & cindy from ny said hi

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from paul wyak paul wyak, binghamton, NY
(02/23/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
I don't even know why I'm writing a review. Everyone agrees - this place is great!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chad The Brewery Guy Chad The Brewery Guy, Houston, TX
(02/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Awesome! Great Great
A favorite dinner spot for us. The food is always worth the trip and the beer is generally good. Favorites of ours include the IPA, and the Red Roadster. A great keg beer is the XXX Blond, as it seems to satisfy a wide variety of micro and non-micro drinkers.

The only complaint I can have is that they have recently been running out of their better beers because of their participation in local events. While, it's great they're being involved locally, it is a real dissappointment when you go to the restaurant and your selection is between 2 or 3 of our less favorite beers. So, here's to hoping they increase their capacity soon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Reno, NV
(12/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
We visited while in Reno from WA. Read the reviews online prior to visiting. Just happened on it on the way into downtown Reno. Not sure we would have found it otherwise. Really enjoyed the beer, the IPA and the Hefeweizen. The server was attentive and friendly. Steady stream of customers for a late Tuesday afternoon. Had the Happy Hour nachos for $3.00, unbelievable for the price. Would come back again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave and Susan Bradley Dave and Susan Bradley, Shelton, WA
(07/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Great beer and food. Tried all the beers, not a bad one in the bunch. We went here first upon arriving in Reno, with plans to go to Great Basin next. After going over to the Basin (overrated), we came back for a second visit. Both visits were good. Food and service was decent while the place was very busy. They are opening a second location closer to downtown. The best beer in the Reno brewpub scene.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Daryl VB Daryl VB, Lakeville, MN
(04/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
A very good brew pub-clean and efficient. I particularly enjoyed their "Bighorn Brown" Ale. The "Sierra Amber" was also good but you will not go wrong with any of the others. Appetizers and food served in ample quantities.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from TRN TRN, Albany, MN
(03/09/2004)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.215 seconds) 02:22:02 54.204.127.191, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS