PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Moon River Brewing Company - Savannah, GA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 25, 2014 @ 12:48 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > GA > Savannah > Moon River Brewing Company
Moon River Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Moon River Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 77.3 / 100
21 West Bay Street
Savannah, GA 31401
United States
(912) 447-0943
Listed Since: May 1999
Last Updated: April 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Savannah, GA
Beer Guide for Georgia

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Moon River Brewing Company
78 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(13 within 5 miles)
1) Crystal Beer Parlor
(0 mile)

2) John's Bar @ City Market
(0 mile)

3) Molly MacPherson's Scottish Pub and Grill
(0 mile)

4) Wild Wing Cafe
(0 mile)

5) Six Pence Pub
(0 mile)

6) O'Connell's Irish Pub
(0 mile)

7) Mellow Mushroom
(0 mile)

8) Vinnie Van GoGo's
(0 mile)

9) Churchill's Pub
(0 mile)

10) BandB Billiards
(0 mile)

11) Kevin Barry's Irish Pub
(0 mile)

12) The Distillery
(0 mile)

13) Old Savannah Brewing Company
(3 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) 912 Barnard Victorian B & B
2) Abercorn Inn
3) Azalea Inn
4) Bed & Breakfast Inn
5) Broughton Street B & B
6) Catherine Ward House Inn
7) City Hen B & B
8) Claudia's Manor
9) Comer House
10) East Bay Inn
11) Eliza Thompson House
12) Foley House Inn
13) Forsyth Park Inn
14) Fox House Inn
15) Garden Inn
16) Gaston Gallery B & B
17) Gastonian
18) Granite Steps
19) Green Palm Inn
20) Habersham Inn
21) Hamilton Turner Inn
22) Haslam House
23) Jade Nicole Bed & Breakfast
24) Joan's on Jones B & B
25) Manor House
26) Mc Millan Inn Inc
27) Olde Georgian Inn
28) Olde Harbour Inn
29) Paradise Inn
30) Park Avenue Manor
31) Presidents' Quarters
32) Rsvp Savannah B & B Resvtn
33) Sarah's Garden Inn
34) Sea Cabins
35) Senator's Gate B & B
36) Under the Rainbow
37) Whitaker Hundingdon Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN CENTRAL INN
2) BEST WESTERN HISTORIC DISTRICT
3) CLUBHOUSE INN & SUITES
4) COMFORT SUITES HISTORIC DIST
5) COUNTRY INN SUITES SAVANNAH
6) COURTYARD SAVANNAH MIDTOWN
7) DAYS INN & SUITES
8) DAYS INN OGLETHORPE MALL
9) EAST BAY INN
10) ECONO LODGE HISTORIC DISTRICT
11) ECONO LODGE KESSLER AFB
12) ELIZA THOMPSON HOUSE
13) EXTENDEDSTAY SAVANNAH MIDTOWN
14) FAIRFIELD INN SAVANNAH
15) FOLEY INN
16) GASTONIAN INN
17) HILTON SAVANNAH DESOTO
18) HOMEWOOD SUITES BY HILTON
19) HOWARD JOHNSON EXP INN SAVAN
20) HYATT REGENCY SAVANNAH
21) LA QUINTA INN SAVANNAH MIDTOWN
22) MARSHALL HOUSE
23) MASTERS INN SAVANNAH MIDTOWN
24) OLDE HARBOUR INN
25) PLANTERS INN
26) QUALITY INN HEART OF SAVANNAH
27) RESIDENCE INN SAVANNAH
28) RIVER STREET INN
29) THE KEHOE HOUSE
30) VILLAGER LODGE SAVANNAH
31) WESTON SAVANNAH HOTEL
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Central of Georgia Depot and Trainshed
2) Charity Hospital
3) Davenport, Isaiah, House
4) Drouillard--Maupas House
5) Federal Building and U.S. Courthouse
6) First Bryan Baptist Church
7) Fort James Jackson
8) Green-Meldrim House
9) Hill Hall at Savannah State College
10) Hodgson, W. B., Hall
11) Massie Common School House
12) Owens-Thomas House
13) Scarbrough, William, House
14) Slotin Building
15) St. Philip AME Church
16) Sturges, Oliver, House
17) Telfair Academy
18) Two Pierpont Circle
19) U.S. Customhouse
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 17 Hundred 90 Inn Restaurant
2) 514 West Restaurant & Lounge
3) 606 East Cafe
4) A Heavenly Scent
5) A Vida Restaurant & Wine Bar
6) Al Salaam Deli
7) Alligator Soul
8) Amanda's
9) Anchorage Lounge
10) Angel House Cafe
11) B & D Burgers
12) B Matthews Bakery Eatery
13) Baldinos Giant Jersey Subs
14) Bar Bar
15) Barbary Coast Burritos
16) Bay Cafe
17) Bayou Cafe
18) Baystreet Blues
19) Belford's
20) Ben & Jerry's
21) Bernie's River Street
22) Big Pete's Old Style Pizza
23) Billy Bob's
24) Bistro-Savannah
25) Blaine's
26) Blimpie Subs & Salads
27) Boar's Head Grill & Tavern
28) Bob's Lounge
29) Boba
30) Bryson Hall
31) Burger King
32) Burger King
33) Cafe At City Market
34) Cafe At Main Inc
35) Cafe M
36) Cafe Metropole
37) Carlito's Mexican Bar & Grill
38) Casbah Moroccan Restaurant
39) Chao Chinese Restaurant
40) Charms
41) Chart House Restaurant
42) Checkered Flag Restaurant
43) Chef's Ho Chinese Take Out Res
44) China Star Ii
45) Chuck's Bar
46) Church's Chicken
47) Church's Chicken
48) Churchill's Pub
49) Circle Faith Restaurant
50) Clary's Cafe
51) Club 1 Jefferson
52) Club 309 West
53) Cobblestone Cafe
54) Cobblestone Coach House
55) Coffee Cake Cafe
56) Community Cafe
57) Conga
58) Coop's Classic Grill
59) Cotton Exchange Tavern
60) Country Cafe
61) Courtyard Cafe
62) Creole Reds
63) Crystal Beer Parlor
64) Deana's Restaurant
65) Debi's Restaurant
66) Dockside Seafood
67) East China Restaurant
68) El Potro
69) Elizabeth On Thirty Seventh
70) Elysium
71) Emma Lou's Soul Food Rstrnt
72) Empire Express
73) Express Cafe & Bakery
74) Faces II Tavern & Restaurant
75) Fat Pat's Downtown Pizzeria
76) Fiddler's Crab House
77) Finnegan's Wake
78) Firefly Cafe
79) Forty Five South Restaurant
80) Frozen Paradise
81) Gallery Espresso
82) Garibaldi's Cafe
83) Geneva's Famous Fine Foods
84) Good Eats
85) Gottlieb's Restaurant & Bar
86) Grandma's Country Kitchen
87) Granny's
88) Great Wall Restaurant
89) Gryphon Tea Room
90) Hannah's Southern Cafe
91) Happy China
92) Hardee's
93) Hip Huggers Discotheque
94) Hot Dogs & Things
95) Huey's On The River
96) Ibiza Nightlife Of Savannah
97) Ice Cream Etc
98) Il Pasticcio
99) In The Cut
100) J J Cagney's
101) Jay's Fish & Chicken
102) Jazz'd Tapas Bar
103) Jean Louise Restaurant
104) Jinx
105) John H Baker III Creative
106) John Nichols Catering
107) Johnnie Ganem Deli & Caterers
108) Johnny Harris Restaurant
109) Juarez Mexican Restaurant
110) Jupiter Cafe
111) Just Cuzzins
112) Kayak Kafe'
113) Kenya & Berry Intl Inc
114) Kevin Barry's
115) Kfc
116) Krispy Chic
117) Krystal
118) L & J Ribs & Things
119) LA Boheme Bar
120) Lady & Sons
121) Lady Lou's Soul Food
122) Larry's Giant Subs
123) Leopold's Ice Cream
124) Liberty Deli
125) Little King Restaurant
126) Loco's Deli & Pub
127) Lounge Two Guys Grill Guys
128) Magnolia Restaurant
129) Malone's Food & Spirits
130) Massetti's
131) Maui Smoothies
132) Mc Donald's
133) Mc Donough's
134) Mellow Mushroom
135) Mercury Lounge
136) Metro Coffee House
137) Michael's Restaurant
138) Middle Eastern Cuisine
139) Mila's Gyro & Pizza Pub
140) Ming Garden Restaurant
141) Mitylene's Soul Food Rstrnt
142) Moe's Southwest Grill
143) Mom & Nikki's
144) Monk's Kitchen & Sandwich
145) Moon River Brewing Co
146) Mr Wonderful
147) Narobia's Bea's Bonton
148) New China Restaurant
149) Ni's Takeout
150) Nita's Place
151) No 1 Chinese Restaurant
152) North Beach Grill
153) Notorious
154) Olympic Cafe
155) One Eyed Lizzy's
156) Outback Steakhouse
157) Oyster Bar
158) Oz
159) Peking House Restaurant
160) Peking House Restaurant
161) Pepper's Cantina
162) Pete's Sandwich Shop
163) Piccadilly
164) Pink House Restaurant
165) Pinkie Master's Lounge
166) Pirate's House Restaurant
167) Pizza Subs & Deli
168) Popeye's Chicken & Biscuits
169) Popeye's Chicken & Biscuits
170) Quiznos Sub
171) Rail Pub
172) Ray's Famous Cafe
173) Rib Hut Bar-B-Que & Seafood
174) River House Restaurant & Bkry
175) River Street Riverboat Co
176) Riverstreet Deli
177) Roly Poly
178) Rosco's Country Kitchen
179) Ruby Tuesday
180) Saigon Restaurant
181) Sakura Japanese
182) Sapphire Grill
183) Savannah Coffee House
184) Savannah Coffee Roasters Cafe
185) Savannah Down Under
186) Savannah Station
187) SAVANNAHMENU.COM
188) Sawyer's
189) Say Hey's & Mary
190) Seafood Haven
191) Seaport Winds & Things
192) Seasons Asian Bistro
193) Seasons In Savannah
194) Sentient Bean
195) Sey Hey Bull Street Eatery
196) Shabazz Seafood Restaurant
197) Sharon's Lounge
198) Shenanigan's
199) Shrimp Factory
200) Shuge & Kym's Bar & Grill
201) Sister's Palace
202) Six Pence Pub
203) Skyler's
204) Slicer's Deli
205) Smokey's Babrbeque
206) Soda Pop Shoppe Ii
207) Soho South Cafe
208) Sophia's
209) Sorry Charlie's
210) SOS Restaurant
211) Spanky's Pizza Galley & Saloon
212) Spanky's Pizza Galley & Saloon
213) Starbucks
214) Starfish
215) Starlander Coffee House
216) State Street Cafe
217) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
218) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
219) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
220) Sushi-Zen
221) Suzabelles
222) Suzy's Little Italy
223) Tanner's Restaurant
224) Tapas Inc
225) Tgi Friday's
226) Tim's Burgers
227) Tokyo Seafood Steak House
228) Tony Roma's Famous For Ribs
229) Trattoria Rivazza
230) Tubby's Tank House
231) Tuscon Grill
232) Twin Cactus Of Savannah Mall
233) Typhoon Asian Cuisine
234) Valerie's
235) Venus De Milo
236) Vinnie Van Go-Go's
237) Voodoo Cafe
238) W G Shuckers Seafood
239) Wall's Bar B Que Restaurant
240) Warehouse
241) Wendy's
242) Westin Savannah Harbor Resort
243) Westside Video
244) Wet Willie's
245) Wet Willie's
246) Whistle Stop Cafe
247) Whitaker Street Saloon Inc
248) Window's Restaurant
249) Wok Inn
250) Wright Square Cafe
251) Zuncis Take Out
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
I visited the Moon River back in 2002 and carried the memory of it since then. This week I have had distinct opportunity to visit Savannah and the Moon River once again, as I sit here for third time in two days savoring a Swamp Fox IPA, I cannot help but think this is one of the best IPAs I have had in a long time. I think I could live in this place. The service is great (thanks, Melissa), the food really good - though I have not experienced a lot of it, the Moon River is a wonderful place to kill a few hours. I know this won't be my last visit, even as I make my way back to West Virginia.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David White David White, Berkeley Springs, WV
(01/28/2014)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good So So Awesome! Great
Tried three styles of beer and all were good, the chocolate donut was great. Great service from the bartender. Great location. Only had the garlic fries and they were ok.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick Fines Patrick Fines, Temple Hills, MD
(07/15/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Great
Have been for beer in the past, but went for full dinner experience recently. The food was really good; the scalloped potatoes w/ gouda cheese were particularly excellent. The stock beers are very good, but the seasonals/specials were truly excellent -- the cask version of their fest bier w/ american hops instead of german was wonderful hoppy treat, and their anniversary double IPA aged in burbon cask was a complex, truly unique brew. Highly recommend if you're ever in Savannah!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Ferrand Dave Ferrand, Charlotte, NC
(05/26/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Stopped by for both pre and post dinner drinks - our hotel was about 2 blocks away. I had the Foxxy Swamp which was pretty unique. It was an imperial IPA aged in bourbon barrels. I really liked it and it was very different with a nice vanilla undertone. I had the regular IPA and the porter, both were good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Paynter Eric Paynter, Richmond, VA
(05/21/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Awesome!
Had the beer sampler. The Claire was by far the best followed by the Wit and Boddington style. The IPA had too much hops and the cider was just bad. The Fest, Slow Savannah and porter were very good. Bartender was more interested in what looked like a 21st Bday party than paying attention to customers at the bar.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Donald Donald, manalapan, NJ
(03/28/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
First visit at Moon River Brewing. Tried the Savannah Fest and the Swamp Fox IPA. Both were great, liked the IPA better. With that said I am an IPA drinker and they make an excellent one. Service was great and we really enjoyed the food. Well worth your time when in Savannah.

AL Albuquerque, NM

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from AL AL, Albuquerque, NM
(10/12/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
Had a great time at Moon River. Definitely go for the sampler, all their beers are quality, but I enjoyed the porter and the wacky wit the most. Although I only ate there once, the ribs were outstanding. Definitely a must when in Savannah.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Andrew S. Horne Andrew S. Horne, Lexington, KY
(08/13/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
I love the Swamp Fox IPA and my wife loved the Russian Imperial Stout and Captain's Porter. We make the trip from Hilton Head just to come here. The service has mostly been great with a couple of exceptions. The food has always been great, the Double Cut Porkchop is a favorite and we have liked everything else we tried.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brad Knott Brad Knott, Madison, SD
(08/08/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Lousy Good
When you go into a brewery in the heart of wonderful Savannah, you expect the beer and the staff to complete the experience. The beer they have, however the service seems more like you are in (no offense) New York City. I grew up just outside of Savannah, and do not have a warped view of the hospitality. I've even been there when the owner is serving the beer, and maybe it's because I'm younger (24), but he seemed like he would just as likely prefer if nobody came in that day. Unfortunately for us, and fortunately for them, the beer , and food, is good enough to continue going.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Greensboro, NC
(04/04/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The Fried Green Tomatoes were fantastic. I had the ribs and my wife had the Ahi Tuna. Both were great. Service was fast and friendly. The best part was the beer. I had the Swamp Fox IPA and my wife had the Whit. Both were hearty and unique. Local brewpubs like this were once all over Baltimore and now many are gone. Residents and visitors of Savannah should be glad to have Mood River! We will be back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Don Don, Baltimore, MD
(02/09/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Lousy So So
Second visit. I thought the service was lousy a year and a half ago and apparently that is the norm. The IPA was very good though. Ordered dinner and was told the kitchen was out of vegetables, but they could sub stuffing. I know this is the old south but, how do you run out of vegetables. Also, the bar was fairly busy and one of the best spots was taken by a young couple who ordered a water and a bowl of soup and then shared it. The owner would have loved it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nate McDonald Nate McDonald, Harrisburg, PA
(01/13/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
I took a party of 8 to Moon River Brewing for a birthday celebration.

While we were waiting to be seated, I tried to get the attention of a waitress to find out the location of the rest rooms. She ignored me and made a face as if I was bothering her. I immediately informed Chris, the manager of her poor conduct.

When we placed our dinner orders, we were informed that they were out of onion rings and sirloin steaks. At this point, we canceled the entire order and left. I spoke to Chris again to let him know our disappointment. He told me that they ran out of many of the menu items because they were busy Friday and Saturday nights. This is poor food inventory management!

WE WILL NEVER RETURN TO THIS ESTABLISHMENT, AND WE WILL INFORM OTHERS TO STAY AWAY!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gwen Gwen, Atlanta, GA
(11/16/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great So So Good
Sat at the bar and ordered up a sampler and an Iced tea. Took a long time for the tea and we had to find our own menu's The Tater bers was tasteless The Savannah fest was like a Miller. and didn't have the wit. The samp fox IPA and their seasonal triple were both very good. The Ipa was hoppy and had a great taste. The triple was very smooth. I'll try them again if in the neighborhood, just for the IPA if nothing else

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Allen Burt Allen Burt, Ypsilanti, MI
(10/25/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
The beers are well done, love the IPA, and the pulled pork was the best I've ever had. The overall facility has been upgraded and the lunch hour was well attended. Quite suprised to see Hercules Double IPA on tap, and then shocked to see the familiar "Red V" of Victory Brewing as a guest beer. Great place to down a few pints!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kurt O. Kurt O., WEXFORD, PA
(07/10/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Lousy Lousy Lousy
After waiting more than 15 minutes after my order, I got a pint of a satisfactory - though not stellar - belgian style white - sans lemon or other accompaniment. We then waited more than 30 minutes for our food order - which was only a couple of burgers. They were delivered undercooked, with badly wilted lettuce and dried out red onion as a topping, and accompanied by an announcement that the entire restaurant was out of ketchup.

Kinda something that woulda been useful to know before ordering burgers, fries, and onion rings.

Overall, and incredibly unsatisfying experience (though my second pint was delivered (albeit slowly) with the promised lemon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Chapel Hill, NC
(04/02/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Great
Beer selection was awesome, we had 10 different beers. Most of them were very good. Nice atmosphere, except upstairs is haunted. We took a haunted pub crawl and started here. We didn't see or hear any ghosts.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Ogle Doug Ogle, Floral Park, NY
(02/12/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Stopped in twice in Jan., the beer and food were great each visit. The Fest beer was a surprise, nice and hoppy, the Clarie de Lune was very refreshing. But on the second stop they had a stout on that was wonderful. It was so filled with coffee taste and aroma I was surprised I got any sleep at all that night. A great light bodied stout.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Don Don, Mentor, OH
(01/25/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
After selecting the sampler can confirm our large party all found a beer they really liked. The service and food all great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James James, Warren, NJ
(09/03/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
I only wish I could spend more time at Moon River. Usually we can only stop for a couple of beers and lunch, as we have to make our way back to Hilton Head the same day. The place just gets better. My only disappointment was that they didn't have a specialty beer available. Oh well. I made do.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kurt O. Kurt O., Wexford, PA
(07/31/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
With a limited time in Savannah my friend & I went with the sampler--11 4 oz. pours--whew! We were very comfortable here as two women and were not disappointed in the experience--the beer and the food were both excellent. Our waitress was also amazing--very knowledgeable about the beer & great recommendations for the food (and the city as well). Also, the ghost tour our waitress mentioned (but did not push) that included their upstairs area was well worth the time, for the guide, the participants, and the info about the locations were all beyond what was expected.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Bozrah, CT
(05/04/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great
I had the sampler: they were pouring 10 brews, at 4 oz each, whew!

IPA was nicely hopped--a fine IPA. Stouts and Porter all were black, full-bodied, with hints of coffee and hops. Excellent.

If we lived closer, I'd go back and study their dark beers...though, gotta admit, their unfiltered wit beer was mighty fine stuff. And the hard cider was so smooth, even the beer-hating companion liked the cider.

I had the Whammy sandwich: ham, slaw, and shrimp...sounds wierd, but works! I'd get that again inna heartbeat. The biermaiden was not at all impressed with the pulled pork: thought it bland.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Old Orchard Beach, ME
(03/09/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Great
I had the sampler, and followed up with a pint of the Captain's Porter and the Wild Wacky Wit to go. Nearly all of the beers I found to be excellent examples of their style, with only a few lacking in depth. Many beers here are worth an evening spent getting to know better. Nearly all are well-balanced, and the Savannah Fest, Captain's Porter, Swamp Fox IPA, Claire de Lune (Kolsch) and the Wit are fine companions for a stroll around the River Street area. I had the pulled pork sandwich and slaw, not done on site but barbecued by locals. Tasty but not spectacular. Maybe as other reviewers claim not all items on the menu are fresh and local, a little bit of thought will guide you to the gems that can be found here. I visited on principle, and was glad I did. Good food, better beer, excellent service; what more can you ask? Worth a return trip.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Cal Frye Cal Frye, Oberlin, OH
(01/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Great
Visited last week. Captain's Porter was excellent. Didn't have time to sample any others.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review China Grove, NC
(12/09/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Awesome! Great
I'm glad I didn't read some of the later reviews before I stopped at Moon River, because our visit was an enjoyable one. I tried a sampler, and all of the beers were quite drinkable. I especially enjoyed the IPA and coffee stout. My wife had the crab melt and I had the pulled pork, which we both very much enjoyed. Our server was polite ,attentive, and had knowledge of their beers and beer styles. If I didn't live 1,000 miles away, I would visit this establishment often.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Steve, Medina, OH
(11/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
To Mr. Ben from Jax, FL, It has been some time since I last read my reviews on Pub Crawler. To my horror, I read your posting from February and I am very upset to hear about your experience. We, the owners of MRBC, are in no way motivated by racial predjudice and we do not allow or tolerate the exhibition of such by our our staff or our patrons. We work very hard year round to provide our patrons with an enjoyable, if not exceptional experience at Moon River. Having said that, I should point out that I or my business partner cannot be everywhere at all times that our doors are open and at times our standards may not be met by everyone employed here. Again, I am very diappointed that you were not treated well. With out more information, I can think of a hundred reasons why we may not have gotten you seated right away, but rest assured, I find it hard to imagine that in my brewery, the color of your skin would have any thing to do with it. Please accept my apology. I hope to have another oportunity to serve you. Sincerely, John Pinkerton Brewmaster/Owner

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Pinkerton John Pinkerton, Savannah, GA
(11/09/2005)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.588 seconds) 00:48:26 54.226.7.15, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS