PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Brick House Brewpub and Eatery - York, PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 31, 2014 @ 06:33 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > York > Brick House Brewpub and Eatery
Brick House Brewpub and Eatery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Brick House Brewpub and Eatery
Overall: Great    Score: 75.8 / 100
[Closed - Summer 2002]
3320 East Market Street
York, PA 17402
United States
(717) 757-3100
Listed Since: June 1999
Last Updated: February 2003
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for York, PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
67 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(3 within 5 miles)
1) First Capital Dispensing Company
(3 miles)

2) Mudhook Brewing Company
(3 miles)

3) Cobblestones
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Emig Mansion
2) Stone Mill Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) COMFORT INN CORPORATE GATEWAY
2) COUNTRY INN SUITES YORK
3) DAYS INN YORK PA
4) FOUR POINTS YORK
5) HAMPTON INN YORK
6) OLDE YORK VALLEY INN
7) QUALITY INN & SUITES
8) RED ROOF YORK PA
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Billmeyer House
2) Bixler, Michael and Magdealena Farmstead
3) Bobb, Barnett, House
4) Chestnut Hill
5) Codorus Forge and Furnace Historic District
6) Cookes House
7) Diamond Silk Mill
8) Emig Mansion
9) Fairmount Historic District
10) Farmers Market
11) Forry House
12) Gates, Gen. Horatio, House, and Golden Plough Tavern
13) Laurel-Rex Fire Company House
14) Nook, The
15) Schultz, Martin, House
16) Stevens School
17) Strickler Family Farmhouse
18) United Cigar Manufacturing Company
19) York Armory
20) York Central Market
21) York Dispatch Newspaper Offices
22) York Meetinghouse
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Al Dente
2) Aloha Snow
3) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
4) Arby's
5) Arby's
6) Aroma Buffett & Grill
7) Auntie Anne's Hand Rolled Soft
8) Banana Max
9) Barracuda's Seafood Pub
10) Bel Paese Italian Ristorante
11) Big Apple Bagels
12) Big Apple Bagels
13) Bojangels Restaurant
14) Bojangles' Famous Chicken
15) Brick House Brew Pub & Eatery
16) Burger King
17) Burger King
18) Central Pizza
19) Chang's Buffet Chinese Rstrnt
20) Cheesesteaks
21) China Crane
22) China Shuttle
23) Chubby's Pizza
24) Chuck E Cheese's
25) Cindys Restaurant
26) Dairy Queen
27) Deli Thyme
28) Denny's
29) Domino's Pizza
30) Domino's Pizza
31) Eagles Nest Restaurant
32) Eat'n Park Restaurants
33) El Serrano Mexican Restaurant
34) Embers Steakhouse & Seafood
35) Fat Daddy's Night Club & Bar
36) Festive Board East
37) Fox's Pizza
38) Friendly's
39) George's Pizza
40) Ginmiya Chinese & Japanese
41) Gloria Jean's Coffee Bean
42) Golden Dragon Restaurant
43) Handel's Ice Cream & Yogurt
44) Hardee's
45) Heavenly Ham
46) Hercules Gyro
47) Heritage Hills Golf Resort
48) Hoss's Steak & Sea House
49) Hungry Parrot Pizza Co
50) India Grill
51) Isaac's Restaurant & Deli
52) Jim & Nena's Pizzeria
53) Kfc
54) Knickers Pub & Grill
55) Knotty Pine Tavern Inc
56) Korner Kupboard Buffet
57) Leader Heights Diner
58) Leaning Tower Of Pizza
59) Ledo Pizza
60) Little Caesars Pizza
61) Mack's Home Made Ice Cream
62) Madhu's Enterprises Inc
63) Magg General Partnership
64) Maggie Moo's Ice Cream
65) Maggie Moo's Ice Cream & Treat
66) Mamma's Pizza
67) Marcello's Pizza
68) Marcello's Pizza
69) Marcello's Pizza
70) Marino's Pizza & Pasta House
71) Mc Donald's
72) Mc Donald's
73) Mexitaly
74) Mocha Joe Cafe
75) Nino's New York Style Pizza
76) Outback Steakhouse
77) Paddock Restaurant
78) Panera Bread
79) Papa John's Pizza
80) Pargo's
81) Perkins Family Restaurant
82) Piazza Romana Restaurant
83) Pizza Hut
84) Pizza Hut
85) Pizza Zone
86) Porky's Place BBQ Catering
87) Pretzel Time
88) Primo Pizza Express
89) Pub On The Trail
90) Quick 6 Beer & Sub City
91) Red Lobster Restaurant
92) Rita's Water Ice
93) Ruby Tuesday Restaurant
94) Rudy's Beach House Carryout
95) Sbarros Italian Eatery
96) Starbucks
97) Stevie B's Pizza
98) Stonybrook Family Restaurant
99) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
100) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
101) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
102) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
103) Sweet House Chinese Restaurant
104) Sweet Willows Creamery
105) Taco Bell
106) TCBY
107) Texas Roadhouse
108) Thirsty's Quick Stop
109) Victor's Italian Restaurant
110) Village Green Family Rstrnt
111) WEIS Market Deli
112) Wendy's
113) Wiener World
114) Wisehaven Banquet & Expo Ctr
115) Yellow Umbrella
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Are the places he opened in the area or out of state? He was a great person and we enjoyed going there. Really miss him, nothing in York compares!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Bob Fruehauf, Lancaster, PA
(01/10/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I spoke with the same law firm, and I don't think they would have said this regarding a previous client, and if so, I would not recommend using them. He did not break into the building and steal the equipment that he was purchasing on credit. This is how rumors get started. Know the facts first! The beer equipment was never stolen. After closing the restuarant, the equipment was sold to a local brewer. As far as getting behind on the rent, maybe so, but the rent was raised by the new landlord(market value), I was in the estate meetings myself. Joe went to Italy to visit family for a month, in the meantime has opened two new thriving restaurants!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review york, PA
(01/04/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
The lawyer should be disbarred. Even if it were true (which it is not as I now know the entire story and it explains this kind of libelous behavior on the part of the lawyer), legal ethics require confidentiality. Like I said, his lawyer should be disbarred.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review York, PA
(07/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
From the law firm who represented Joe I was told that he got behind on his rent . When he was evicted, he broke back into the establishment through a window and stole the brewing equipment , which he didn't own. He sold it and skipped town to Sicily. Obviously his law firm was embarassed particularly since he made up the increased rent story to cover his reputation.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Lancaster, PA
(02/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This place was the ONLY place we ate for the years it was here. The GREEDY inheritors of the building (the owner died in the spring of 2002) tried to raise his rent to pay the taxes and was asking an extra $1600 a month, no negotiation. So he said, "Va in quel paese" and shut down. He went home to Sicily for the first time in fifteen years, and I don't know if he ever came back. We are still devastated by the loss of this superb eatery in a town with truly mediocre food otherwise. What a huge loss and what a bunch of idiots those people were/are/will always be. The building is STILL for sale. Good luck.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review York, PA
(02/04/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
"Beer Island", Did Joe indicate that he may relocate? Hate to lose him!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Bob Fruehauf, Lancaster, PA
(08/21/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I ran into Joe Grigoli last Friday. I hadn't heard that they were closed. I was pulling into the parking lot after a drive up from Virginia and I was quite surprised to see him locking the door at 7:30. He told me me that there was a landlord change due to a death in the family and that the raised rent was way too high. Oh well. I alsways enjoyed my visits there and there was always something decent to drink. The Nordic White was a unique product as well. RIP

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beer Island Beer Island, Lancaster, PA
(08/16/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Called the Brickhouse,was told by operator that the phone is disconnected. Any one know why they shut down? The food and beers were always great!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Bob Fruehauf, Lancaster, PA
(08/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Signs were down and the doors were locked on a Friday. I assume they are closed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review York, PA
(08/09/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy N/A N/A N/A N/A
The Brickhouse appeared to be a nice pizza shop/italian eatery, not the typical brew pub atmosphere. We stopped in to sample the beer and perhaps the food. We started off with the nut brown. It had no body, was flat and had a sweet taste. We finished our nut brown and left dissappointed. Perhaps this was a bad batch. If it is what they normally turn out I do not recommend it. We did not try the food or any other beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Randall S. DiPalo Randall S. DiPalo, Williamsport, PA
(07/15/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! N/A Awesome!
I own a restaurant and beer pub serving many styles of beers and I really enjoyed all the beers on tap especially the brown ale (Bricklayer). All the beers were Great!! The food was also very good!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review John, Hanover, PA
(05/16/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A N/A
I stopped in to see what was going on about a week ago. Our part of the country was in the midst of a horrible heat wave and the lager, wheat, and pils were just the ticket.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Lancaster, PA
(04/27/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Awesome! Great Good
My wife and I spent Valentines evening at the Brick House and were not disappointed. The chicken fajita pizza and Philly sub we shared were both delicious. Our waitress was friendly and always on the spot when we needed something. The only thing I can gripe about is the beer. The stout had a decent body but the taste was lackluster(throw in more chocolate malt or something), and the lager was average. However, I was happy with the Bricklayer Brown, not alot of body but I liked the taste and strength of this unusually strong brown ale. Overall we both had a good time and a pleasant experience and would recommend stopping by if you are in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brent Baughman Brent Baughman, Hagerstown, MD
(02/21/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Great So So So So
Good food, but some of the worst beer I have ever had in my days of brewpubbing. None of their beers had much flavor or body. The stout was almost undrinkable as was the brown. Only found the pilsner to be somewhat drinkable. Unfortunatly in Pennsylvania you need a seperate liquor liscense to sell other beers or hard liquor. Since this place doesn't have one, you can only drink their awful beer or a couple of Pennsylvania wines. Although the food was good, I wouldn't stop again unless they change their beer selection.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Syracuse, NY
(02/18/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! So So Good
The beer and food were great. My boyfriend liked the Stout and the California Lager especially. We had Philly Cheese Steaks ... they were awesome !! Overall, it was a nice place but it lacks atmosphere. Who ordered the flourescent lights??? It's like visiting a medical center. The dining room atmosphere is COLD ... although the pub area is better. Turn the flourescents off and the pub could be a very cozy hideout. Just a recommendation if you want us to return. The waitress knew nothing about the beer. My boyfriend wasn't impressed. Keep the food and beer as is ... improve the service and atmosphere and you'll have a winner.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ann & Julie & Jim Ann & Julie & Jim, York, PA
(01/30/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This has become a regular stop for my wife Pat and I when we are in York or west on Rt 30 and heading back to Lancaster. We are there 2 or 3 times a month,the food has always been "awesome" And so have the beers! The staff is outstanding!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Bob Fruehauf, Lancaster, PA
(06/09/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A N/A
The Bricklayer is now on tap. At 7.8%, this brown ale is extra smooth and drinkable. It's nicely balanced with the dry hop tang working well with all the malts. This, plus the First Cap, make the trip worthwhile. Check these out.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from "Beer Island", Lancaster, PA
(03/22/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
Brick House is serving up a very tasty lager right now. Smooth blend of malt and hops goes well in all beer drinking situations! Check it out.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from "Beer Island", lancaster, PA
(02/23/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Great
Came in for the 1st time as recommended by some of my friends. We had a fabulous dinner and although originally skeptical about drinking beer brewed by the restaurant we found it to be better than any we've had before, including microbrews. We were pleasantly surprised and after tasting the sampler we found they had a 'MEADE' which is the first I've ever tasted and it was so good we drank late into the night. The food was superb ... I can't think of a better place at the moment. We certainlly enjoyed ourselves and will recommend to others.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob and Tricia Bob and Tricia, York, PA
(12/10/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great
I am from England and came in with one son to see my other son play at the Brickhouse. The beer was surprisingly good and really thought I was back in England. Of particular liking were the Oktoberfest and the Market Street Ale. Bravo old boys, keep up the good work.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David David, London England, GB
(09/30/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A Good
Brick House has just added a very tasty Oktoberfest to the lineup. This is a nice malty brew that isn't as tart as a lot of 'fests. Extremely drinkable!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from "Beer Island", Lancaster, PA
(09/22/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
We waited quite a while to sample their beers and food after early poor reviews. We were very pleased with our first visit and now find ourselves regular customers. Their beers are certainly better than mass produced competitors and the food is very good. It's also very nice to not be rushed thru dinner. We plan to return at least twice a month and expect to be satisfied.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review york, PA
(08/16/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Lousy Awesome! Lousy So So
The food selection was excellent for an Italian/Pizza/Continental Restaurant. The beer was fresh but the Pale Ale was not Pale (it was darker than an Amber) As an Amber Ale, the Pale Ale was good but needed more hops to balance its maltiness. The Stout, which was nitrogen-dispensed, was good, a little too sweet for my liking. Only four beers available, the two aforementioned plus a Hefe-Weizen which was also darker than expected and a Light (in other words, it was better than Bud). Go there for the food, not the beer!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from R. White R. White, Keystone, PA
(07/29/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Good Great
Drank the 'Irish Stout' and thought it was fantastic. I felt it was as good as DuClaws. In fact I had 5 of them! The service was very friendly but a little disorganized ... but the place was packed so I can understand. I'll be back for sure.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gus Gus, Belaire, MD
(07/16/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I too can not believe some of the bitter comments preceding. I went to the Brickhouse for the first time yesterday and everything was great! New beer was being brewed, owner came over and spoke with us, great job! Personally, I don't think they are going for the best brew in York, nor would it go over very well--in the past other brewpubs have not survived in York. A "hoppy" beer would not fly in a town of bud and coors.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review york, PA
(07/12/2000)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(1.023 seconds) 06:33:24 54.161.181.49, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS