PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Growlers was Summit Station Restaurant and Brewery - Gaithersburg, MD
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 23, 2014 @ 04:02 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MD > Gaithersburg > Growlers was Summit Station Restaurant and Brewery
Growlers was Summit Station Restaurant and Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Growlers was Summit Station Restaurant and Brewery
Overall: Great    Score: 75 / 100
227 East Diamond Avenue
Gaithersburg, MD 20877
United States
(301) 519-9400
Listed Since: June 1999
Last Updated: May 2010
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Gaithersburg, MD
Beer Guide for Maryland

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Growlers was Summit Station Restaurant and Brewery
136 Reviews / 2 Photos
hours of operation
Sun 10:00AM - 01:00AM
Mon 11:00AM - 01:00AM
Tue 11:00AM - 01:00AM
Wed 11:00AM - 01:00AM
Thu 11:00AM - 01:00AM
Fri 11:00AM - 01:00AM
Sat 11:00AM - 02:00AM

alternatives
(8 within 5 miles)
1) The End Zone Bar and Grill
(0 mile)

2) Buffalo Wings and Beer
(3 miles)

3) Hard Times Cafe
(3 miles)

4) Gordon Biersch Brewery and Restaraunt
(3 miles)

5) The Vyne American Bistro
(3 miles)

6) Baying Hound Aleworks
(3 miles)

7) Guapo's
(4 miles)

8) Dogfish Head Alehouse
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Reynolds of Derwood B & B
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) B W WASHINGTON GATEWAY HOTEL
2) COMFORT INN SHADY GROVE
3) COURTYARD ROCKVILLE
4) HILTON WASH. DC N/GAITHERSBURG
5) HOMESTEAD GAITHERSBURG
6) MARRIOTT WASHINGTONIAN CENTER
7) OAKWOOD GAITHERSBURG
8) QUALITY SUITES SHADY GROVE
9) RED ROOF WASHINGTON DC ROCKVILL
10) SLEEP INN SHADY GROVE
11) SPRINGHILL SUITES GAITHERSBURG
12) STUDIOPLUS GAITHERSBURG
13) SUMMERFIELD SUITES GAITHERSBRG
14) TWNPL STES GAITHERSBURG
15) WOODFIN SUITES
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Beall-Dawson House
2) Belt, J. A., Building
3) Bingham-Brewer House
4) Gaithersburg B & O Railroad Station and Freight Shed
5) Gaithersburg Latitude Observatory
6) Ridge, The
7) Rockville Railroad Station
8) Third Addition to Rockville and Old St. Mary's Church and Cemetery
9) Thomas and Company Cannery
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) A Y Jalisco Restaurant
2) Acajutla Mexican Restaurant
3) Aloha Inn Restaurant
4) Always A Sensation
5) American Cafe
6) Armand's Chicago Pizzeria
7) Atlantic Seafood Market Inc
8) Bare Bones
9) Bare Bones
10) Basil's Pizza
11) Bethel Tea Room
12) Blanca Restaurant
13) Boston Market
14) Bread & Kabab
15) Broadwalk Fries
16) Broadway Pizza
17) Buffalo Billiards
18) Buffalo Wings & Beer
19) Bugaboo Creek Steakhouse
20) Burger King
21) Burger King
22) Burger King
23) Campus Cups
24) Canton Delight
25) Caribbean Cafe
26) Cedar Italian Cafe
27) Cedar Italian Cafe
28) Charcoal Chicken El Carbon
29) Charley's Steakery
30) Checkers Restaurant
31) Chi-Chi's Mexican Restaurant
32) Chick-Fil-A
33) Chicken Basket
34) Chicken Out Corporate
35) Chicken Out Rotisserie
36) Chicken Out Rotisserie
37) Chicken Out Rotisserie
38) Chicken Place
39) Chili's Grill & Bar
40) China Jade Restaurant
41) China King Carry Out
42) China Star Restaurant
43) Chinese Express II Inc
44) Chipotle Mexican Grill
45) Cho Catering Svc
46) Chop Stix Of Muddy Branch
47) Chris' Steak House
48) Chuck E Cheese's
49) City Lite Buffet
50) Clubhouse Restaurant
51) Corner Bakery
52) Dairy Queen
53) Diamond Deli
54) Diamond Pizza Inc
55) Dippin' Dots
56) Domino's Pizza
57) El Mexicano
58) Fingers & Claws Restaurant
59) Food Lion
60) Fountain Cafe
61) Fu Shing Cafe
62) Gallagher's Catering
63) Gallagher's Catering
64) Germaine Catering
65) Golden Bull Grand Cafe
66) Great China Restaurant
67) Guapos Cantina
68) Hershey's Ice Cream & Cake
69) Hershey's Restaurant
70) House Fortune II
71) House Of Chinese Delights
72) Hunan Best Restaurant
73) Hunan Palace Restaurant
74) Ichiban Japanese Restaurant
75) Il Forno Pizzeria
76) India Kitchen
77) International House-Pancakes
78) Italian Pines
79) Jamaica Sunrise Caterers
80) Java Junction
81) Jerry's Subs & Pizza
82) Jerry's Subs & Pizza
83) Jerry's Subs & Pizza
84) Jerry's Subs & Pizza
85) Jj Muldoon's
86) Joe's Crab Shack
87) Joe's Place Pizza & Pasta
88) Juanita's Restaurant
89) Junior's Chicken
90) Kenny's Sub Shop
91) Kfc
92) Koo Koo Roo
93) L' Academie De Cuisine North
94) La Frontera Restaurant
95) Las America
96) Lone Star Steakhouse & Saloon
97) Lunch Corner
98) Masci Restaurants Inc
99) Mc Donald's
100) Mc Donald's
101) Mc Donald's
102) Mc Donald's
103) Mediterranean Cafe
104) Metro Dhaba
105) Mi Bue Blito Restaurant
106) Mi Peru
107) Mo's Pizza & Subs
108) Momo Taro Sushi Japanese Rest
109) Mr Smoothie
110) Natraj Indian Food Caterers
111) New Fortune
112) Nick's Chop House
113) Old Country Buffet
114) Old Siam
115) Old Town Cafe
116) Panda Express
117) Panera Bread
118) Pastelandia
119) Peking Eastern House
120) Perkins Family Restaurant
121) Philadelphia Mike's
122) Pho Nam Restaurant
123) Pho Viet
124) Pizza Hut
125) Pizza Hut
126) Planet Pizza & Subs Restaurant
127) Popeye's Chicken & Biscuits
128) Prime Choice Caterers
129) Prime Grill
130) Quiznos Sub
131) Rainbow Restaurant
132) Ramino's Restaurant
133) Red Hot & Blue
134) Red Lobster Restaurant
135) Red Robin Gourmet Burgers
136) Redland Grill
137) Ricky's Rice Bowl Ii
138) Rico Y Rico
139) Rio Entertainment Ctr
140) Romano's Macaroni Grill
141) Roy Rogers
142) Roy's Place
143) Royal Carry Out Ii
144) Ruby Tuesday
145) Sams Pizza
146) Sbarro
147) Silver Diner Inc
148) Sir Walter Raleigh Inns
149) Song Toy Restaurant
150) Spinnaker's Restaurant
151) Starbucks
152) Starbucks
153) Starbucks
154) Starvin Marvin Pizza Shop
155) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
156) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
157) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
158) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
159) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
160) Summit Station Restaurant
161) Sun Chinese & Japanese Rstrnt
162) Taco Bar
163) Taco Bell
164) Tartufo Ristorante
165) Tea Room
166) Texas Barbecue Factory
167) Thai Jasmine Bistro
168) Tippy's Taco House
169) Tonys Carryout
170) Vie De France Restaurant
171) Village Green Restaurant
172) Waiter On The Way Inc
173) Wendy's
174) Wendy's
175) Wendy's
176) Wok Express Chinese Restaurant
177) Woodlands Indian Restaurant
178) Ziggy Deli
179) Zio's Italian Restaurant
180) Zodiac Express
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
Arrived right at opening. Expressed my interests in beer as I was trying a couple of the brews. The beautiful young lady that was tending bar, brought out the brewer and introduced him. Got to sample a couple more brews, they have 6 different on tap. Plus, I found out that the brewer supplies some of the vegetables for the menu from his own farm. Altogether a delightful place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nate McDonald Nate McDonald, Mechanicsburg, PA
(07/22/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Formerly Summit Station Restaurant and Brewery .

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick Fines Patrick Fines, Temple Hills, MD
(04/27/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Great
It seems that many of the regulars seem to remember and love Summit Station. I never visited and this was my first time to Growlers. I drove passed the brewpub the on Friday night and saw that the place was VERY crowded so I decided to wait and visit the next day (October 6th) in the afternoon... when many places aren't really that busy. First thing I noticed was the place was pretty crowded... I also noticed that there were 10 taps and no beer engines (I always have to look for one). I sat down at the bar with my back to the front window... to my left was a window that looked onto the copper-clad brewing. The bartender came over and pointed at the current bear list on a chalkboard over the bar. On tap was the Growlers Delight, the Cream Ale, the Kolsch, Hardings IPA, Irvington's Pale Ale, and Logtowne Porter. My first pint was the Kolsch... most Kolsches are pale yellow or the color of straw... this was almost red... but it sure did taste like a Kolsch... very refreshing and one of my favorite summertime styles of beer. I ordered the Crab Stuffed Pretzel off the menu and it was very good... something I would definitely tell my friends to try. I noticed that the dude next to me was drinking Coors and I thought that was sort of sad with the fresh beers on tap. He said he was a friend of the owner who would kill him if he saw him drinking Coors. I was then told that Growlers is sort of in transition... either the old brewer just left or he is getting ready to leave. But whatever the facts are about the brewer... the beers are pretty darn good... I left my corner and moved out to the more open part of the bar... I had the Hardings IPA next... it smelled of medium hops... had a dark copper color... lightly carbonated. It was OK but no where as hoppy as the DFH 60 Min IPA. Tried the Logtowne Porter next& Had some chocolaty notes in the aroma and also had light carbonation... not stale or anything like that... but light. Fortunately the flavor was much more interesting then the smell... very dark and earthy but well balanced with hops... no over sweetness that so many porters suffer from. Turns out that this could be one of my favorite porters to date. Earthy without tasting dirty if you know what I mean... just awesome. I also tried the Irvington's Pale Ale... it was OK but the Hardings was better. Unfortunately they were out of Growlers Delight and I will save the Cream Ale for the next visit. Obviously they have Growlers but I dont remember the price. The only suggestion that I could make is that the copper clad brewing system was a bit stained... I think if a brewing system can be viewed easily from the sidewalk in front... and from the bar area.... that it should be kept VERY clean.

I am looking forward to returning to Growlers and bringing my friends. AWESOME!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Todd Hansell Todd Hansell, Roslyn, PA
(10/10/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Been a while since I was there but I recall that the new place is pretty much the same as Summit Station...no better no worse.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beertrekker Beertrekker, Ellicott City(Baltimore), MD
(08/15/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good So So Good
Joe Kalish doesn't even like beer. When you see him at the BREWERY, he has a glass of wine in hand. Joe was good years ago but no longer cares about the beer and it shows. It is time for some new blood. Heard that a retirement may be on the horizon so a change be be a'brewin' anyway. So let's wait and see and hope for the best - this is a decent location that deserves some good beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from mt mt, Rockville, MD
(08/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Good
The only thing that saves this place is the fact that they have the same brewer Joe Kalish. The beer he brews is excellent. Their Irvington Pale Ale is the probably the best beer I have ever had. The new owners painted the place an especially hideous yellow, raised prices and stopped beer dinners. The staff is mostly changed and not as knowledgeable as before. No one seems to care about the customer. The answer I received a number of times when I asked questions is; we are no longer Summit Station. Not sure they will be able to make a go of it without some changes.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick Patrick, Washington Grove, MD
(04/07/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Lousy N/A
Been coming to this establishment since 1996. Always loved it ... until it became Growlers with certain bartenders who may or may not serve you a drink, depending on whether they feel like it or not. And, it seems, management doesn't care about.

The regulars who patronize this place are the most wonderful people. It's just a shame that good Customer Service is not a priority.

Until it is - DogFish Head is the place to go. Good Beer, Good Food, Good service.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from APV APV, Gaithersburg, MD
(03/24/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
No more weekend happy hours, they are gone, No more weekend happy hours, they are gone, No more weekend happy hours, they are gone, No more weekend happy hours, they are gone, No more weekend happy hours, they are gone, is this 50?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from pat pat, silver spring, MD
(02/15/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Centennial time agian, Have not tried it yet. Your Mug club has expired. Irvington was good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from pat pat, silver spring, MD
(01/18/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Saturday happy hour is changed to 12 to 5, 2.00 beers, the mug club does not apply to weekend or monday happy hours, you will not get upgraded to a mug for the 2.00 price. The mug club never emailed me for tappings or special events. Anyway, The irvington and porter are excellent, fresh and tasty as ever. Cheers

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from pat pat, silver spring, MD
(11/28/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great
First stop since the name change. Hardings IPA is nice, not too hoppy, but pleasant. Logtowne Porter had a rich coffee finish but the hops were noticable throughout. Happy hour special on mussels was excellent, best I've had out in a while. Locals at bar pretty standoffish, but who's to say why. Overall appearance inside much nicer than before as Summit Station. Worth a stop.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(11/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Having been a regular of Old Towne Tavern and Summit Station, and given the previous mixed reviews entered soon after Growler’s opening, I thought it best to make several visits before inserting my own two cents (or two pints). First thing, Joe Kalish’s beer is still here. Currently (as of yesterday), he offers 8 taps, including Belt’s ESB, Harding IPA, Irvington IPA, the highly alcoholic Centennial, which is brewed every 100th batch, a Kolsch, a Blueberry Wheat and two guest beers (Dominion Octoberfest and Shiner Hefeweissen). All well-bodied ales at excellent prices – and a bargain for this area.

Growlers will continue Happy Hour prices at the bar and have been honoring Summit Station Mug Club Cards through the end of the year. They now have a $2.25 night on Wednesdays and Saturday food specials during college football season. Since Joe regularly rotates certain styles, you should call ahead for the latest on tap – especially if seeking the brain-raping Centennial.

Much like the previous operations, the menu here goes beyond the average “pub grub.” Having only tried the burger and roast beef foccacia (very filling), I can’t attest for the rest. The prices are about the same. Of course, Pubcrawlers never go anywhere simply for the food.

While I do miss Angel, Keisha, Tim and The Angel, the barstaff have been friendly, proficient and knowledgeable on the beers. One complaint is the hideous centerpiece that now overlooking the bar; it reminds me of an industrial Dutch Oven. One nitpick is the removal of the handy hooks from beneath the bar – no more hanging coats, etc.

Finally, the infamous Summit Station bathroom has been relegated to history and is now a somewhat twee space with faux marble and wooded wainscot. A perfectly fine place where one can puke in grandeur. America is truly a great country. And Gaithersburg beer afficiandos still have a great brewpub.

Note: to the Dogfish Head Alehouse reviewer who recently maligned us “Summit Station regulars,” this is one regular who will be happily dividing precious beer-drinking time between both fine establishments. But, let’s be honest, aren’t we a big improvement over the countless lite beer drinkers you seem to attract?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jerry Boesen Jerry Boesen, Gaithersburg, MD
(09/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Ale Hound,

Fact: 2Brew disappears and you arrive with similiar style. Coincidence, maybe.

Fact: The beer you had on both visits was the same. Why the difference of opinions or ratings?

Fact: I am real and use my own name not a moniker.

First of all,I apologize if you are not 2Brew. I had a few beers in me and found similiar styles between the two of your posts.

I am a complete supporter of free speech and opinion. This board and ones like it are a very useful tool to the beer community. I think this is the purpose of this board and I like it. Even though you improved your review, I just don't think I could get online and "give a less than positive review" on a place that just opened and also request cheaper beer prices. It would be like judging someone you just met. As for my posting, all I did was "reply" to your review. That is why "reply" is there. I wish I could just "reply" to you but that is not the case.

In closing. Sorry about the name calling and hope you enjoy many more tasty premium malt beverages at Growlers in the future.

Cheers, Barrett

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Barrett Lauer Barrett Lauer, Baltimore, MD
(09/04/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
The beer rocks...I enjoy the lighter beers and the Kolsch, the Summer and the Cream Ale do it for me. I'd love to see the Cream Ale around a bit more often but hey...Joe is brewing and that's all that matters. They are all great! Haven't tried the food yet but looking at the menu I can only hope they add to the soup and salad choices. Trying to keep my girlish figure ya know! :)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review germantown, MD
(08/31/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great
Barrett,

FYI - You are flat out WRONG. I am NOT "2 Brew" or any other moniker. Unlike you, who does not seem to understand the purpose of these boards (which it to provide an honest review of an establishment, positive or otherwise), I posted my honest opinion of my experience with this place when it opened. Being that it was a newly opened business and my first post was less than postive, I felt it would be best to post a follow-up to relate the fact that, in my opinion, things are improving. Regardless of what you think, I've only posted 2 reviews of this particular establishment.

These boards are for posting one's review of an ESTABLISHMENT, not reviewing the people posting. It's all about one's opinion of the ESTABLISHMENT, not their opinions of other posters. Opinions sometimes are not always positive - let's keep it real.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ale hound ale hound, gaithersburg, MD
(08/31/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Ale Hound= 2Brew= TurboDoucheBag

This guy keeps bashing and then loving this place. I hope the owners ignore his "Happy Hour" requests. Keep this board positive and keep brewpubs alive.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Barrett Lauer Barrett Lauer, Baltimore, MD
(08/29/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Great
Stopped in on Sunday. What I liked about Summit Station I still like about Growlers -- good food and beer in a pleasant setting. I enjoyed a sampler of six beers (Kolsch, Hefeweizen, IPA, Nut Brown Ale, Stout, Porter) in 4-ounce glasses (6-ounce glasses also available), followed by a pint of the IPA. I thought the Hefe and Brown were good, and the Kolsch and IPA were great. The IPA is well-hopped without being overdone. At that sample size, I found it hard to distinguish between the Stout and Porter, but full pints next time might fix that.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul E. Milligan Paul E. Milligan, Columbia, MD
(08/22/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Glad to see to good ole boys are back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review gaithersburg, MD
(08/20/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great
Friday evening Happy Hour was kickin' at Growlers - it was great to find that the beers are probably the best they've been in years (MUCH better than opening night), and at a reasonable price ($3/pint). They have a Summer ale on tap that is light, yet quite flavorful, and, as was always the case with Joe's beers, the Irvington and the IPA are most excellent if you like a hoppy taste. They had about 7 or 8 beers on tap Friday, the service was good and the staff were very friendly. The food was ok - one of our group got the Happy Hour pizza and was quite disappointed at the small size for $6 (not too much pizza considering the size slice you can get in just about any pizza joint in NYC for around $2) The Happy Hour wings were very tasty - the dry rub spices provided quite a "kick" and it is a pleasant change of pace from wings drowned in hot sauce.

If your looking for some OUTSTANDING microbrews, this is the place to go - I think that they are only going to get better as they get their system down and get things figured out - I'm definitely going back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ale hound ale hound, gaithersburg, MD
(08/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! So So Great Great
Oh, one more thing on the new Growlers...get rid of the video games! Quite honestly, they were the only thing I found annoying on an otherwise great opening night. Do we really need video games here? They take up needed space and are just plain annoying.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Debbie Debbie, Rockville, MD
(08/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! So So Good Great
Well, Growlers has finally opened and it was actually worth the wait. Having been a fan of this bar since it was called Olde Towne Brewery, then on through its lean years as Summit Station, Growlers is a fairly nice improvement. You'll find the same Kalish beers on tap, which is a relief. But more importantly, you'll find changes that needed to be made. The place has had a small facelift and is actually clean now. The bars have been resurfaced and the upstairs dining room bar has even been intelligently expanded. Moreover, there are several new flat screen televisions just in time for football season!! Wow, someone is thinking!! Finally, women will find that the bathrooms are now spacious, orderly and most of all, CLEAN. As for the menu, well we weren't able to sample that on opening night, as they had only pizza and fries to offer. But, most of us regulars know that there was nowhere to go but up with the food here. As Summit Station, the food here was a huge disappointment, particularly because they marketed themselves as somewhat "upscale." Time will tell if the food will keep customers coming in. Overall, the beer scene in Gaithersburg is back and us beer lovers are quite pleased! Keep up the "so far so good" work!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Debbie Debbie, Rockville, MD
(08/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great So So Lousy Good
I have to agree with Jimmy - the long-waited re-opening of this establishment was a MAJOR disappointment. I am a big fan of Joe's brews, but something was amiss Friday night - the beer was definitely sub-par compared to what used to be served here. Customer service was non-existent (one would expect a few glitches on opening day, but this was really bad). I think the prices are comparable to the better establishments around, but we were totally caught off guard that there were no Happy Hour prices on their own brews.

I plan to give them a few weeks to get the wrinkles ironed out in their system and then give it a second chance.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ale hound ale hound, gaithersburg, MD
(08/06/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Lousy So So
Bring lots of time and a thick wallet if you want to enjoy a night out here. Having recently moved to the area, I waited with much anticipation for the opening of this bar within walking distance of my home. I was somewhat disapointed. I know they just opened, but the service is horrible. I waited 45 minutes for six chicken wings ($7.85 by the way!) and in that time the waitress only checked on us once.

The food is quite expensive compared to similar bars nearby such as dogfish. The beer is so so, heavy on the alcohol and average on the taste. The waitress confided that they were really not ready to open yet but had a band booked so they didn't want to take the loss.

Maybe things will get better once they work out the kinks. The building is beautiful and I really do hope it imporoves, I would love to become a regular but not unless the service improves and they add some more reasonably priced fare to their menu. I also have to think the beer might have been rushed in order to accomodate the opening. I'm the brewmasted is quite good, so I really hope it was just a fluke. Oh well, good luck.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jimmy Jimmy, gaithersburg, MD
(08/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Opening Friday, August 4.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul E. Milligan Paul E. Milligan, Columbia, MD
(08/03/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I have been part of the renovations here at Growlers since we have begun the process. I'm very happy to be here in Gaithersburg and have enjoyed speaking with all of the local beer fans who have called (I answer a lot of the phone calls.) We are finalizing the renovations and expect to open late next week. Our menu looks great, Joe's beer tastes great, (being from Upstate - Finger Lakes NY, I've tasted a few!) and the inside renovations are impressive. Thanks for all your patience; stop in and say hello to me in the kitchen when we open.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Adam Marshall Adam Marshall, Gaithersburg, MD
(07/28/2006)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.901 seconds) 16:02:48 54.166.108.167, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS