PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Rams Head Tavern - Savage, MD
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 02, 2014 @ 10:39 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MD > Savage > Rams Head Tavern
Rams Head Tavern Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Beer Bar
Rams Head Tavern
Overall: Great    Score: 76 / 100
8600 Foundry Street
Historic Savage Mill
Savage, MD 20763
United States
(301) 604-3454
Listed Since: September 1999
Last Updated: December 2003
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Savage, MD
Beer Guide for Maryland

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Rams Head Tavern
15 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(5 within 5 miles)
1) Blob's Park
(2 miles)

2) Frisco Grille and Cantina (was Frisco Burritos)
(4 miles)

3) Victoria Gastro Pub
(4 miles)

4) Pub Dog Pizza and Drafthouse
(4 miles)

5) Champion Billiards
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Joshua Barney House Commodore
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BRIDGESTREET STONE HAVEN
2) BRIDGESTREET SUMMIT RUSSET
3) BW BALTIMORE WASHINGTON ARPRT
4) COMFORT INN FORT MEADE
5) COMFORT SUITES LAUREL LAKES
6) COURTYARD COLUMBIA
7) COURTYARD FORT MEADE
8) ECONO LODGE LAUREL RACETRACK
9) EXTENDEDSTAY COLUMBIA 100 PRKWY
10) EXTENDEDSTAY COLUMBIA CORP PK
11) FAIRFIELD INN COLUMBIA
12) FAIRFIELD INN LAUREL
13) HILTON GARDEN INN COLUMBIA
14) KNIGHTS INN BALTIMORE S JESSUP
15) OAKWOOD LAUREL
16) QUALITY INN & SUITES
17) RAMADA INN LAUREL MD
18) RAMADA LIMITED LAUREL
19) RED ROOF WASHINGTON JESSUP
20) STUDIOPLUS COLUMBIA GATEWAY DR
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Avondale Mill
2) Barney, Commodore Joshua, House
3) Bollman Suspension and Trussed Bridge
4) Christ Church Guilford
5) Laurel High School
6) Laurel Railroad Station
7) Snow Hill
8) Trinity Church
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Avanti Restaurant
2) Bagel Bin & Deli
3) Blob's Park
4) Bottom Of The Bay Seafood
5) Burger King
6) China Dragon
7) Crysen Cafeteria
8) Great Room At Savage Mill
9) Ma's Kettle
10) Mandarin House Restaurant
11) Mc Donald's
12) Mc Donald's
13) Mc Donald's
14) P W's Place Inc
15) Pizza Milano
16) Putting On The Ritz Caterers
17) Ram's Head Tavern
18) Savage Mill Manor
19) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
20) Taco Bell
21) Wendy's
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great
The best part of going to the Ram's Head at Savage Mill is the location. My friend and I thought the tavern would be in a cheesy modern mall, but the location is in the heart of the old town mill district. Indeed, the tavern is in the reconditioned mill. It is a small mill, so the parking is at a premium on busy nights, but there is much safe parking within the town commons area, a short walk.

If you like old pubs settings, with a cozy atmosphere, you will love this place.

The food is plentiful at a reasonable price and the service is prompt and friendly. Watch to bar tender,however, he will cheat you of your drinks. We order wine by the glass. Not only did we get shorted, but the wine was house wine at the best wine price. If you are having more than one glass of wine, each, get a bottle; and have it opened in front of you. The beer selection is very good for a small pub. Fresh local micro brew and mega brewery, too, are enjoyable.

We are returning this Saturday for a diner; as last time, I will have the rack of lamb. The portions were huge and the price little. My friend had the steak, which she said was quite good.

If you are in the area, don't miss this gem.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Austin, TX
(12/04/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A Good
On July 1, I was part of a group that spent a little time at the Rams Head prior to a wedding reception in an adjacent facility at the Savage Mill complex. We all just had a beer or two each, so my comments will focus on the beer and the overall feel of the place. Draft beers include the Fordham Brewing Company beers and a variety of other choices. Several of us liked the Fordham Tavern Ale, an American-style pale ale with nice hops. Both the Fordham Copperhead Ale (light in body for an alt) and the Fordham Oyster Stout were considered to be underachievers for their styles. The Fordham Lager and the seasonal maibock were also sampled, but I did not hear significant comments on either of those. The tap selection includes a range of imports and other craft brews. This is a large place with a restaurant on the top floor, a middle floor with more of a pub atmosphere and a bar area, and a lower rathskeller area with its own separate bar. There is also a large outdoor deck. Note that the all the draft selections are not the same at both bars. For example, the rathskeller had Resurrection ale from Brewer’s Art, which was not available at the bar on the main floor.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(07/22/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
Tried the brand new Slam Dunkel last week, very nice! Rich malty brew, slightly sweet - great with oysters.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beer Island Beer Island, Lancaster, PA
(02/19/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
It has a little older crowd than Rams Head Annapolis. Although both have a very good atmosphere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from AC AC, Houston, TX
(03/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Good Good Good
Food was good. Nothing special, bit certainly fresh and tasty. Portions were small for the price. Atmosphere is nice though, very enjoyable lunch while shopping and especially nice window view in the rain. Basement Keller is good too.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Seattle, WA
(09/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Lousy So So So So
tavern ale good, rest selection ok, Food sucked, steamed old bay shrimp were lacking old bay and tasted reheated, On the other side, the happy hour free german sausages were MUCH better, mustard was great, you'd think when you pay for food it would be at least average though...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from andrew stroter andrew stroter, baltimore, MD
(09/04/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good So So Great
There are only two brewpubs within 20 miles of Bowie and since I am half way in between the two, I have a hard time choosing which one to attend. Their seasonals are always good and the Helles and Genius Stout are good staples. They have opened two other brewpubs in Savage, MD and Rehoboth, DE

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Bowie, MD
(06/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
My recent visits here have been extremely enjoyable. The first was on a Tuesday which is Mollusk Night for happy hour. Two buck pints (of the Fordham products) and free oysters out on the deck on an Indian summer afternoon; what's not to like? The selection of non Fordham taps is pretty good as well. The Oyster Stout is real good right now, particularly mixed with either ale. It's in a unique setting by the creek with all the shops and ambience. Check it out.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beer Island Beer Island, Lancaster, PA
(10/13/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
One of Maryland s two best bars. Ropewalk Baltimore the other Great Fordham Alt/Copperhead best ale ever!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from AmyShuster AmyShuster, Baltimore, MD
(02/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good So So Great
Great beer and awesome music. Keep your eye on the barstaff. Given the chance, they'll try to cheat you out of your money.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Bel Air, MD
(08/05/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
The Ram's Head Savage Mill has just added two attractions: a basement "Rathskeller" and an outdoor deck (just in time for winter). New bare-bones Web site is at http://howardcountymd.com/dining/ramshead.htm

The Rathskellar is designed to lure the drinking crowd away from the restaurant area.

They have excellent live music six days a week, especially the jazz combos at Sunday Brunch. (Real jazz, not "smooth jazz" - yuck!) The beers are the same as at the Annapolis "parent" location, and are above-average. The food is well above average, and qualifies the restaurant as one of three decent places in the Laurel area (the others being "Pasta Plus" and the "Café de Paris").

Service will improve as the Tavern staffs up and trains people fully.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Henning Eric Henning, Laurel, MD
(11/09/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good So So Good
Black-eyed Susan Wheat is a yeasty, dark, and unfiltered wheat beer. Not to my personal tastes, but appropriate to the style.
Had dinner with a large group. Service was a bit slower than the group size should account for. We were surprised to be charged for second baskets of bread while we waited for our entrees. (I would have been surprised even if the waitress had told us.) The food is good, and the dinner specials are priced well, but other items are bit high-priced. $4.95 seemed a bit much for a cup of the soup du jour.
If you don't know the area, check SavageMill.com for directions. They aren't the greatest directions, but they're better than nothing.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul E. Milligan Paul E. Milligan, Columbia, MD
(11/24/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
Five of their own Fordham beers from Annapolis on tap, plus five or six other taps (including Guinness) and a long list of bottles. The Fordham Copperhead Ale and Oktoberfest were good, and I really like the Tavern Ale. I enjoyed my meal, a crab cake sandwich, and others in my group were pleased with their selections. Our waiter did a fantastic job handling our large happy hour group.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul E. Milligan Paul E. Milligan, Columbia, MD
(11/06/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy Good Good
Has great beers, octoberfest, oyster stout (could taste hops), copper ale, degroen marzen, and celebrator dopplebock (bottle) between two people. The chilli had one spoonfull of meat.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick Patrick, Wheaton, MD
(09/28/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great
Open about one month with no publicity that I know of, but Thursday happy hour was still busy. $2 happy hour pints. I didn't get a look at the menu. It's an attracive setting overall. There is live entertainment, some nights at least, but no stage as in Annapolis (at least not yet). Bartendress Mary handled the happy hour crowd better than most I've seen.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul E. Milligan Paul E. Milligan, Columbia, MD
(08/19/1999)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.369 seconds) 22:39:37 184.72.154.124, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS