PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Hops Grill and Brewery - Newington, CT
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
December 19, 2014 @ 05:41 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > CT > Newington > Hops Grill and Brewery
Hops Grill and Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Hops Grill and Brewery
Overall: Great    Score: 72.5 / 100
[Closed]
3260 Berlin Turnpike
Newington, CT 06111
United States
(860) 594-8808
Listed Since: September 1999
Last Updated: May 2010
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Newington, CT
Beer Guide for Connecticut

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
10 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(1 within 5 miles)
1) Corner Pug
(3 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Chester Bulkley House
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN NEW ENGLAND INN
2) CASTELLO DELL OSCANO
3) DAYS INN - NEW BRITAIN
4) DAYS INN HARTFORD
5) GRANTMOORE MOTOR LODGE
6) HARTFORD MARRIOTT ROCKY HILL
7) STUDIOPLUS HARTFORD FARMINGTON
8) VILLA ADA
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Armsmear
2) Barbour, Lucius, House
3) Barnard, Henry, House
4) Beach, Charles E., House
5) Burritt Hotel
6) Butler, Roger, House
7) Charter Oak Place (Boundary Increase)
8) Charter Oak Place (Boundary Increase)
9) Church of the Good Shepherd and Parish House
10) City Hall-Monument District
11) Colt, James B., House
12) Colton, Benjamin, House
13) Congress Street Historic District (Boundary Increase)
14) Day-Taylor House
15) Engine Company 15 Fire Station
16) Engine Company 6 Fire Station
17) Engine Company 9 Fire Station
18) Erwin Home for Worthy and Indigent Women
19) First Church of Christ and the Ancient Burying Ground
20) Frog Hollow Historic District (Boundary Increase)
21) Gillett, Asa, House
22) Goodman, Timothy, House
23) Hartford Electric Light Company Maple Avenue Sub-Station
24) Holmes, Francis H., House
25) Hooker, Henry, House
26) Hooker, Sarah Whitman, House
27) House at 140 and 144 Retreat Avenue
28) Hyde-St. John House
29) Kellogg, Gen. Martin, House
30) Kelsey, Enoch, House
31) Masonic Temple
32) Morley, Edward W., House
33) New Britain Opera House
34) Newington Junction Railroad Depot
35) Northam Memorial Chapel and Gallup Memorial Gateway
36) Polish National Home
37) Royal Typewriter Company Building
38) Saint Anthony Hall
39) Seymour, Elisha, Jr., House
40) Sloper--Wesoly House
41) South Congregational Church
42) St. Mary's Parochial School
43) Stanley--Woodruff--Allen House
44) Sts. Cyril and Methodius Church
45) Temple Beth Israel
46) Tephereth Israel Synagogue
47) Washington School
48) Webster, Noah, Birthplace
49) Wethersfield Avenue Car Barn
50) Willard Homestead
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 4-Play Restaurant
2) 99 Restaurant & Pub
3) A Dell
4) Angelina Pizza
5) Bertucci's Brick Oven Pizzeria
6) Blimpie Subs & Salads
7) Boston Market
8) Burger King
9) Carrington's
10) Chili's Grill & Bar
11) Chuck E Cheese's
12) Cugins
13) Dairy Queen
14) Dominic's Of New York
15) Doogie's
16) Dunkin Donuts
17) Dunkin Donuts
18) Elm Hill Pizza
19) End Zone Cafe
20) Grand Buffet
21) Hops Restaurant & Brewery
22) Hunan Wok Chinese Restaurant
23) International House-Pancakes
24) Jade Lee Restaurant
25) Mc Donald's
26) Mc Donald's
27) Ming Moon
28) Ming Palace
29) Mortensen's Restaurant
30) New China
31) Newington Pizza & Grinders Inc
32) Office Cafe
33) Outback Steakhouse
34) Pizza Hut
35) Pizzeria Uno
36) Porto Alegre Restaurant
37) Puerto Vallarta
38) Roy Rogers Restaurant
39) Ruby Tuesday Restaurant
40) Ruth's Chris Steak House
41) Sal's Snack Bar
42) Steve's Place
43) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
44) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
45) Tom's Pizza
46) Town Line Pizza & Restaurant
47) Vito's Pizzaria
48) Wendy's
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Closed - now is Carson's Restaurant and Brewery..........

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Pittsburgh, PA
(04/10/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Good Good
I went in yesterday and found that it has gone down hill. For some reason their Red tasted like an ashtray. Ive been in here a few times and all the beers are always the same, there has not been a rotation in quite some time. Even what they brew, they dont do it well.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Somewhere, CT
(07/31/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Good Great Good
Wow! Let me just say the oatmeal stout is out of this world. Nice and full.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave T. Dave T., newington, CT
(04/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
This place doesnt deserve bad reviews even though it is a chain establishment. The beer is really good, especially the Skeeter Pale Ale, and the food is very good quality. Seems like people are afraid to admit when a corporate chain can actually produce a good micro beer. I even talked to the brewer for a while and he was nice enough to write down the recipe for skeeter in a homebrew partial mash version.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J Babek J Babek, Ivoryton, CT
(09/05/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Good
I havent been to this place in over a year and was quite pleased. I dont know what the last reviewer was smoking, but the beers were all flavorful and had no off flaovrs, this comming from an avid home brewer. After talking to the bar tender, I learned that the brewer now has more freedom then he did before. I cant wait for that they have on next. The ESB was great!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Kyle, Hartford, CT
(03/01/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy Good Good So So
I was excited for about 2 minutes when I heard that a brewpub would be opening up down the street from me. Then as I found out more and more about "HOPS," my elation quickly waned. Still I gave it a chance, several in fact. For those of you that have never been to one of these places, think, average chain restaurant with beer making capabilities. There is no need to seek one of these out for a good drinking experience. If you want to go out with the family, or you happen to drive by one, sure, stop in. It's like a "TGIF" or "Ruby Tuesday" sort of experience, nothing wrong with that, just not a place to seek out good beer. From what I understand, and I could be wrong, the brewers in each one of these can only brew what the company tells him/her to brew. I don't think there can be any experimentation or personal interpretations. I'm sure this works on a franchise level to brand the products with the chain, but for the beer snob (I say that proudly), it's a disaster.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beertraveler Beertraveler, Meriden, CT
(05/31/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Good N/A
This is an okay restaurant. Similar to a TGI Fridays or Chilis. This is not a brewpub. The food is decent with a decent menu. The beer is mainstream... A step above St.Louis finest. It's not fair to beat up Hops for their food or service but if you're a real beer drinker; try City Steam or Troutbrook in Hartford, Willimantic Brewing in Willimantic or Union in Glastonbury

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joseph Baran Joseph Baran, Windham, CT
(08/10/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Awesome! Great
We have been here twice but just havn't got around to writing a review.The beer was great.The food was great and reasonably priced.the service was good with a friendly wait staff.We are looking forward to the opening of the Hops in Warwick RI.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from FRANK & GWEN ZDANCEWICZ FRANK & GWEN ZDANCEWICZ, PRESTON, CT
(02/14/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Awesome! Great Awesome!
It's obvious that the review by Angela Bassett was viscious to say the least!I have been to this establishment many times and have nothing but the word "awesome" to describe it. Hops- keep up the good work. Don't change a thing!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review South Windsor, CT
(10/25/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy N/A Lousy Lousy
To make a long story short, this place is one of a monster brew pub chain out of Florida if I am not mistaken. The building went up pratically overnite as most chain places do. I generally dont like chain brew pubs but I had a coupon for a free pint. The woman bartending was very rude when I asked what they had on tap, thru a menu at me and pointed saying nothing, nice. The beer selection is the smallest of any place I have ever been at with only three on tap. What the beer actually was as a style goes was very unclear. A light for the bud drinkers a red and a very weak sort of half-porter. Trying the half porter was a great dissapointment, very, very cold out of the tap, thin bodied and very flavorless, the roasted grains added almost as an afterthought, for added color only. This is the only pub I have ever almost walked out of after three sips, without finishing my free beer. An employee told me with a smile, that they were not actually part of a chain per-se addmitting nothing else on the matter. She also told me to my dissapointment that they were opening two more locations in CT. Its pretty obvious that the oweners of this place are in buisiness strictly for profit and have no real passion for the products they produce. Its sad when places like this pop up. Dont waste your time.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Angela Bassett Angela Bassett, Broad Brook, CT
(10/03/1999)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.378 seconds) 17:41:44 54.166.14.218, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS