PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Skagway Brewing Company - Skagway, AK
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 25, 2014 @ 03:58 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > AK > Skagway > Skagway Brewing Company
Skagway Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Skagway Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 77.7 / 100
7th & Broadway
Skagway, AK 99840
United States
(907) 983-2294
Listed Since: October 1999
Last Updated: September 2007
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Skagway, AK
Beer Guide for Alaska

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Skagway Brewing Company
20 Reviews / 3 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Chilkoot Trail Outpost
2) Cindy's Place
3) Grizzley's Inn B & B
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Ak Wild Restaurant
2) Alaska Gourmet Express
3) Bonanza Bar & Grill
4) Dee's Cafe
5) Fifth Ave Juice Bar
6) Frontier Bar
7) Glacier Pizza Co
8) Gold Rush Trail Camp
9) Haven Cafe
10) KONE Kompany
11) Liarsville General Store
12) Ofelia's Restaurant
13) Popcorn Wagon
14) Portland House Rstrnt & Inn
15) Red Onion Saloon
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great
I walked in with very low expectations - expecting a tourist trap, but came out very happy. Their own beers were Pale, IPA, Brown, Porter and their flagship Spruce Tips. They also have several other regionals on tap. We tried a sampler plus pints of IPA and Spruce Tips. All were very good to excellent. The Spruce Tips was subtle, not overwhelming.

Everyone in my party of 6 enjoyed their meals. It's unusual to not hear one of my kids complaining about something.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brad Brad, Oakton, VA
(07/12/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Awesome! Awesome! Great
I ordered the Skagway Brewing's beer sampler. The sampler consisted of Boomtown Brown, Red Star Amber, Spruce Tip Ale, and Chilkoot IPA. The latter three were...disappointing. They were not bad but they just were not great or extremely flavorful. Chilkoot IPA, however, was quite good. It was not overstated but that is not necessarily a bad thing. I mean, not all beers need to be extreme. Chilkoot IPA is a good solid middle of the road American IPA. Skagway Brewing brewed a special barleywine for their one year anniversary (under the current ownership) which was celebrated on July 4th. I tried the barleywine and found it to also be quite good and a worthy beer to celebrate their anniversary with.

We were there on the Fourth of July and the place was really hopping. Although things were a bit crazy this did not detract from the quality of the food or the service; both were exemplary. We were well taken care of and the food was excellent!

Overall our dining experience at Skagway Brewing was a good one and I would recommend checking it out if you are ever in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Stihler Scott Stihler, Fairbanks, AK
(07/09/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
Only the Second summer since they reopened and they are producing seven beers and have severale fine gest taps as well. The spruce tip ale is worth the four the four day ferry ride, wow I realy mean it wow its great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Skagway, AK
(06/02/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Awesome! Great
I was disappointed when I searched PubCrawler last spring that this establishment was not a beer joint anymore. Imagine my surprise when we made our port call in Skagway and the Skagway Brewing Company was up and running! I visited on 11 July 2007 (I forgot to post my review until now), and they had been opened a week.

SBC hadn't started brewing their own beer yet (problem with equipment) but planned to do so in the near future. They had a good selection of "local" (Alaskan/Canadian) brews on tap, with a very good sampler. The food was tasty and the service supreme. The wait staff was professional, friendly, and honestly happy to have the establishment back as a beer joint.

Oh, I was also happy that it was a smoke-fre establishment.

I highly recommend anyone to check it out if or when they are in Skagway!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Shannon Shannon, Beavercreek, OH
(10/03/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
The Skagway Brewing Company has been resurrected at a new downtown location. The brew system must be fairly small, as we were told it was located on the second floor above the brewpub. Two Skagway brews were available during our visit in late August  Chilkoot Trail IPA, and Boomtown Brown Ale, both solid versions of their respective styles. A beer sampler consisted of four tasters  the house IPA and three guest beers from Washington  Pike Kilt Lifter, Fish Tail Organic Pale Ale, and Leavenworth Whistling Pig Wheat. Other craft beers and imports were also available. The only food we sampled was a plate of tasty fries.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(09/17/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome!
soon brewing their own beer(construction started in a cold alaska january) restaurant is running after opening in early july. open 10-11 serving the best bar food in town, they offer good selection of belgiums, NW micros e.g. rogue, kiltlifter. covered patio, beautiful country, great local owners with great community. still building stage for live music. the bar was recycled from the golden north hotel in town.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review eugene, or
(07/20/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
Gand re-opening July 4, 2007...definitely recommend.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from georgie georgie, Juneau, AK
(07/13/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Boy was I pissed two years ago while on our honeymoon, my wife and I spotted the sign. We'd just done a mountain biking excursion, so a good beer was in order. Walk in and nothing but a gift shop. Please change the name to "T-Shirt Shop"

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Rob, New Orleans, LA
(01/22/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Let me see if I've got this straight. Four people during 2003 submit a review and say the brewry is closed. Somehow, "Frank" from Germany shows up "again" in November or there-abouts and says the beer is great. Sounds like "Frank" must have been pounding his "furter" in between Alaskan Ambers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Ellis Bill Ellis, Ft. Wright, KY
(12/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great
We`re comming from good old Germany, Bavaria exactly, we were there 2 years ago (june 2001) and we`re still fond of this beer and this hotel!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Frank Frank, Eltmann, Bavaria, Germany, BY
(11/28/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
CLOSED and out of business, indeed. Now the location is merely a tourist shop, selling knick-knacks and such, some related to the former brewery and some not. Good deals on Skagway Brewing hats and shirts, but for nostalgia purposes only...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from EB EB, San Diego, CA
(09/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
It's not a Brewery. I was there 5/03.They don't serve beer. Apparently they used to but don't anymore. Some nice Brew t-shirts,glasses,etc. But no beer. Skagway Fish House Near the Cruise Dock has some decent locals on tap & killer fish & chips.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Roy Gosselin Roy Gosselin, Suffield, CT
(08/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Yup- No Beer just lots of T-shirts, mugs, etc.If you're on a cruise try the Fish restaurant (sorry, forgot the name)which is the first one on your left as you leave the Cruise ship dock on the short road into town. Quite a few local beers ( including Alakan Brewery beers) on draft and Great fish & chips!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Roy Gosselin, Suffield, CT
(05/26/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
The Brewery is now a gift store. Bottom's Up! or is it bottomed out?!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Jan Wrentmore, Real Skagway, ak
(05/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
The outside terrace at the Golden North is a great place to relax and watch the cruise crowd (which we were part of) stroll through town. Beer, ffo and service was quite acceptable during our visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Henry Block Henry Block, Miami, FL
(08/25/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A So So So So
We were here on a port stop in July, trying to hit all the brew pubs Alaska had to offer! Selection the day we were there was slim - out of this and that. However, one person in our group had the Spruce Tip Ale - of course had a "piney" smell. He liked this one. Another had the Boomtown Brown which she liked. I had the Blue Top Porter - this was a "typical" Porter. The 4th person in our party had a diet Coke (obviously not a beer drinker!) - her comment was it, too, was "full bodied"! Most bars in the Alaska cities carry the Alaskan Amber Ale (also available on the cruise ships) - not a bad beer, especially if the other choices are Bud, Coors, etc.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Berta Pettis Berta Pettis, Roswell, GA
(08/09/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A N/A N/A
ALL beers are unfiltered which is somewhat unusual. Apparently the brewmeisters are brought in on contract since they are only open for the cruise ship season. You may want to pass on this one.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Ellis Bill Ellis, Ft. Wright, KY
(08/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
We stopped in here during our port call on the GTS Infinity on June 4, 2001.

We had the sampler in the morning and returned for a pint of Oosik Stout, but they were out of it, The Porter was a tasty treat. The food was good pub food

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rick Jarvis Rick Jarvis, Wexford, PA
(06/10/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy So So Good Good
Dick Steward must be an idiot. This is the worst brewpub in America. If you come to Skagway, go across the street and order a Molson.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from K. Fielding K. Fielding, Fairbanks, AK
(03/21/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
This brewpub is in a restored 1890's hotel which had its heydays during the Gold Rush Days. Four very good beers available: Spruce Tip Ale, Red Star Amber, Klondike Gold, and Blue Tip Porter. Great to find good beer in such a tourist town.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dick Steward Dick Steward, Upper Marlboro, MD
(08/17/1999)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.432 seconds) 15:58:29 54.225.18.187, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS