PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


North by Northwest Restaurant and Brewery - Austin, TX
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 25, 2014 @ 04:06 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > TX > Austin > North by Northwest Restaurant and Brewery
North by Northwest Restaurant and Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
North by Northwest Restaurant and Brewery
Overall: Great    Score: 75.3 / 100
10010 North Capital of Texas Hwy
(FM 360 and Stonelake)
Austin, TX 78759
United States
(512) 467-6969
Listed Since: October 1999
Last Updated: November 2001
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Austin, TX
Beer Guide for Texas

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
32 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(7 within 5 miles)
1) B. B. Rovers
(0 mile)

2) Jester King Craft Brewery
(0 mile)

3) Alamo Drafthouse Cinema
(3 miles)

4) Bagpipes Pub and Eatery
(4 miles)

5) Mister Tramps
(4 miles)

6) Circle Brewing Company
(4 miles)

7) Austin Beerworks
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Hart To Heart Wellness
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) AMERISUITES AUSTIN ARBORETUM
2) AMERISUITES AUSTIN N. CENTRAL
3) BEST WESTERN ATRIUM NORTH
4) BRADFORD HOMESUITES AUSTIN
5) BRIDGESTREET QUARRY LAKE
6) BRIDGESTREET SUMMIT ARBORETUM
7) COMFORT INN
8) COMFORT SUITES
9) CORPORATE LODGING AUSTIN
10) COUNTRY INN & SUITES NORTH
11) COURTYARD AUSTIN ARBORETUM
12) DAYS INN NORTH CENTRAL
13) EMBASSY SUITES
14) EXTENDEDSTAY AUSTIN ARBORETUM
15) EXTENDEDSTAY AUSTIN ARBORETUM
16) EXTENDEDSTAY AUSTIN METRO
17) EXTENDEDSTAY AUSTIN NORTHWEST
18) EXTENDEDSTAY AUSTIN NORTHWEST
19) FAIRFIELD INN & STES AUSTIN NW
20) FOUR POINTS BY SHERATON
21) HAMPTON INN AUSTIN ARBRTM
22) HAMPTON INN AUSTIN NORTH
23) HAWTHORN SUITES NORTH WEST
24) HEARTHSIDE AUSTIN I-35
25) HLTN GRDN INN AUSTIN NW ARBORET
26) HOMESTEAD AUSTIN ARBORETUM
27) LA QUINTA INN AUSTIN NORTH
28) LA QUINTA INN/STES MOPAC NORTH
29) OAKWOOD NORTH AUSTIN
30) RAMADA LIMITED ARBORETUM
31) RED ROOF AUSTIN NORTH
32) RENAISSANCE AUSTIN HOTEL
33) RESIDENCE INN AUSTIN ARBORETUM
34) SPRINGHILL SUITES AUS NW
35) SUPER 8 AUSTIN NORTH TX
36) THE HEARTHSIDE AUSTIN HWY 183
37) TOWNEPLACE SUITES BY MARRIOTT
38) TRAVELODGE SUITES UNIVERSITY
39) WINGATE INN AUSTIN NORTH
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Aynesworth-Wright House
2) Rogers, Edward H., Homestead
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 1001 Restaurant
2) A Catering By Yoli
3) A La Carrera
4) A La Carrerra
5) Alvin's Sandwich Shop
6) Amy's Ice Cream
7) Antonio's Mexican Restaurant
8) Appetite In-Home Culinary Svc
9) Austin's Pizza
10) Baby Acapulco
11) Big Daddy's Tacos & Bbq
12) Bombay Bistro
13) Bone Daddy's
14) Boston Market
15) Brick Oven Restaurant
16) Brio Vista
17) Buca Di Beppo
18) Carrabba's Italian Grill
19) Catfish Parlour
20) Cheesecake Factory
21) Chick-Fil-A At Braker Lane
22) China Cafe
23) China Garden Restaurant
24) Chisholm Trail Ice House
25) Chuy's
26) Cozymel's Coastal Mexican Grll
27) Creekside Cafe
28) Dan Mc Klusky's Restaurant
29) Dan's Hamburgers Inc
30) Dave & Buster's
31) Donn's Pit Stop Bar-B-Que
32) Edge City Cafe
33) Fire Bowl Cafe
34) Fresh Choice
35) Fugiyama Japanese Steakhouse
36) Grady's American Grill
37) Hangtown Restaurant
38) Hotschedules Com
39) Hwa Yuan Chinese Restaurant
40) Hwa Yuan Chinese Restaurant
41) International House-Pancakes
42) Iron Cactus Mexican Grill
43) Iron Cactus Sw Grill
44) Jason's Deli
45) Jersey Mikes Subs
46) Joe's Crab Shack
47) Kaleidoscoops Ice Cream
48) Kelly Cooks
49) Kelly Cooks
50) Kerbey Lane Cafe
51) Kyoto II Restaurant
52) La Madeleine French Bakery
53) Lizzard Rock Cafe
54) Manuel's At Great Hills
55) Marble Slab Creamery
56) Marie Callender's
57) Mc Donald's
58) Mc Donald's
59) Mezzaluna Gateway
60) Ms B's
61) North By Northwest
62) On The Border Mexican Cafe
63) Outback Steakhouse
64) P F Chang's China Bistro
65) Panda Rajendra
66) Papa John's Pizza
67) Pok-E-Joe's Smokehouse
68) Quizno's Classic Subs
69) Ranken Inc
70) Razzoo's Cajun Cafe
71) Reeds Jazz & Supper Club
72) Romano's Macaroni Grill
73) RSR Enterprises
74) Ruby Tuesday
75) Rudy's Country Store & Bar-B-Q
76) Saltgrass Steak House
77) Sam's Boat
78) Schlotzsky's Deli
79) Serrano Cafe
80) Short Stop
81) Smoothie King
82) Sonic Drive-In
83) Souper Salad Restaurant
84) Starbucks
85) Starbucks
86) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
87) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
88) Super China
89) Sushi Sake Japanese Cuisine
90) Taco Bell
91) Taco Cabana Inc
92) Teleworks
93) Texadelphia
94) Tgi Friday's
95) TGI Friday's
96) Thundercloud Subs
97) Trattoria Grande
98) Triumph Coffee House
99) Trulucks
100) Twin Lion Chinese Restaurant
101) Unreal Catering
102) Western Beverages
103) WIKI WIKI Teriyaki
104) Works
105) Z Tejas Grill
106) Zio's Italian Kitchen
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
While I didn't find the beer undrinkable, I will say it wasn't as good as what you'll find at Uncle Billy's. The Pyjingo Pale Ale tasted more like a pilsner than a pale ale, but it at least had some flavor. The Onkanogan Black Ale was a little thin for a schwartzbier but had a decent taste.

All things considered, it was an okay place that's worth visiting but not where you'd go if you can only visit one Austin brewery.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kent Kent, Holts Summit, MO
(03/26/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Great N/A So So Good
NXNW has a good selection of bourbon, Scotch, etc. This is important because after trying their beers, you will need to gargle to get the foul aftertaste out of your mouth. A friend and I each got a sampler and as we tasted each beer, rated on a scale from 1 to 10. None got over a 5. Most had an uneven balance of hops and malt that made the beer unpalatable. Thank heaven for Wild Turkey Rare Breed! Oh, and the bartendresses seemed genuinely unhappy to be working there. Overall, a disappointing experience.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Hiss Steve Hiss, Memphis, TN
(07/26/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Get there outside of rush hour. Valet parking if you don't.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Louie Strano Louie Strano, Gabriola, BC
(04/09/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
Stopped in on a weekday night recently. Sat outside-a little chilly but not bad. Had the IPA-first one I ever had here. A very nice beer similar to the Dogfish Head 60 minute. Had the barleywine/holiday ale-spiced and strong. Would have bought a growler but I had to fly back. The food was good-I had chicken pasta.

One issue-my companion ordered a top-shelf margarita. It was horrible. We both took one sip and cringed. The waitress took it back but it was still on our bill at checkout. That is not good service.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from R. Davis R. Davis, Spring, TX
(12/15/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
I really enjoyed it a few years back. Nice selection of beers and the food was good. I'm going back to Austin in Feb., so I'll try it again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Rob, New Orleans, LA
(01/22/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
Have gone here numerous times since it opened and have consistently been disappointed by the beer. HOWEVER, I recently went (after about a 2 year absence) and had their IPA and was impressed. I travel for a living and get to try beers all over the US. My favorite is an IPA, Stout, Porter, or ALE... Their IPA had the perfect hoppiness and floral notes. Their food is excellent... I've been back again and tried the Angus Burger, and Chicken Pot Pie. Lots of love in the food. I'll be back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pam Pam, pflugerville, TX
(01/21/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
The quality of beer has improved dramatically since my last visit. All the beers have much better body, flavor, mouthfeel, etc.

Hefeweizen-German style Hefe, nice cloudy color, a little undercarbonated and could have been a bit colder. Overall a good beer

Bock-Big malt flavor, strong ABV, solid body beer. Well done.

Black-a style that I rarely drink. very dark and well balanced. A nice tasting, very flavorable beer.

I'll put this place back on my frequent visit list if the beers continue to improve.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from R. Davis R. Davis, Spring, TX
(08/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great
Being from the Northwest, I was drawn to this establishment on a recent trip to Austin. The decor is full of historic photos of the Northwestern U.S. They offer nice happy-hour specials. The beers have names reminiscent of the region, though the breath of styles was not as wide as would typically be found in Oregon or Washington brewpubs. The beers are well made and the spring seasonal hefeweizen is particularly fine -- not Northwestern in origin but rather Bavarian. Wonderful clove-y yeast finish, refreshing and clean. The wait staff told me the locals are somewhat put off by this assertive wheat beer but I say "Three cheers for the brewer!"

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ken Kane Ken Kane, Portland, OR
(05/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Great Great Good
I give this a good overall rating based on the food only. The amber is tart, and the pale, although hoppy is sour in the middle. The black is the best beer NXNW makes, but who can afford it? A $20.00 growler ($34.00 when filled) and a $15.00 refill fee. OUCH! Come on guys, you're in Austin TX, not New York City. Go for the food. Order a Coke.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Timothy T. Timothy T., Austin, TX
(02/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Richard A. Sabo Richard A. Sabo, Austin, TX
(01/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Richard A. Sabo Richard A. Sabo, Austin, TX
(10/05/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
I tried the beer sampler, $3.95, which seemed like a great deal until i got the glasses (they were tiny). I really enjoyed most of the beers, although I could have done without the Northern Light and the pale ale. nxnw is a beautiful place, but it's more of a restaurant without the fun bar atmosphere. the food was alright.

anyone in Austin should check out austinbrew.com, a new site dedicated to austin's breweries and beer!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from lauri lauri, austin, TX
(08/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Great
My wife and I visited on Valentines Day so it was pretty packed. We each tried two beers (had to save room for the other breweries in town). The Black Ale was extremely tasty - we stopped back here on the way out of town and bought a growler of it (a very fancy and overpriced growler - but it looks great on the shelf in my garage brewery and brings back good memories of drinking it).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bearded Dave Bearded Dave, Pine Springs, TX
(06/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Lousy Lousy
This kind of joint is as out of place in Austin as the Pope would be in an orgy. Beer is OK, but not worth the effort. Food is overpriced and unimpressive.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Austin, TX
(04/10/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Beer and food are great. The Amber is awesome. The food selection is wonderful.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Eric, Austin, TX
(01/13/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good
We tried the sampler and found the pale ale and black to be quite good, the others were alright, but nothing special. The food was excellent as was the service. A very nice atmosphere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jon Bernardi Jon Bernardi, Hudson, OH
(10/13/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Great
I have been in the past and wasn't throughly impressed. It's a little upscale, no smoking and weird bar area layout. But a friend recommended we meet there for a couple last week and the place blew me away. The Pale Ale was awesome, the dark ale was great and service and food were oustanding. I'll be back!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike R. Mike R., Austin, TX
(07/16/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good So So Great
I went there about 5 times in the summer of 2001 and enjoyed each experience mightily. If you don't like one brew, switch to another, they are all different. Food was really good each time, but the service varied from constant attention once to being ignored with an empty glass a couple other times.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steven Purdy Steven Purdy, Oklahoma City, OK
(06/22/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
This northwest Austin brewpub has a stone motif, from the stylish exterior to the large dining area. The Pale Ale, Black Ale, and Stout were all excellent. They also offered a Light and Amber, but they were both too light for me. The moderately proced food was well prepared and plentiful, and the service was just as good. The only negative aspect from North By Northwest was the take home growlers. A filled, 2-liter, German-style growler was available for $34!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike McKenna Mike McKenna, Aberdeen, MD
(05/20/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
Very good microbrew...food is on par with the beer..atmosphere is outstanding..a little pricey but worth it..a bit of the Northwest in the Southwest!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott McAvoy Scott McAvoy, Austin, TX
(03/20/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So So So So So So So
Not worth the effort.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Austin, TX
(03/09/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good Good
I am the extremist looking for the habenero of beers. The beers were all very uninteresting and not worth a second visit. When I walked in the door I was offered a wine list. Why in the heck is a brewery offering a wine list? Perhaps because their beers are not any good? Very nice atmosphere and decor in the building, great place for yuppies to hang out at.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gerald Averill Gerald Averill, League City, TX
(02/05/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I've been to brewpubs all across the country and this one is among the best! The beer is excellent. I've been to too many brewpubs where the brewer is trying to prove just how many hops or black malts can actually go into a beer without any regard to the actual style. This brewer is right on with his styles and has crafted his beers to have lots of drinkability. Those who complain are extremists looking for the habanero version of beer. As for the food, it is creative and consistent. The service is friendly and efficient. The decor is open and cheerful. I will go back again!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mary Mary, Dallas, TX
(01/15/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The beer and food were both excellent. The first time I visited NxNW the beer wasn't very good. Now that thay have had time to perfect it, they ended up with some top notch brew.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Resch John Resch, Austin, TX
(04/21/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So N/A Good Lousy
We've been to the Good, the Bad, and the Ugly of brewpubs both in the US and abroad and this one wins hands down for the Ugliest. We had a friend with us that drinks Budweiser and even he didn't like the beer. They were all weak and tasted the same. We visited this "brewpub" (aka Yuppie market) and The Laboratory in San Antonio and got fed up. The Shiner Bock and its Winter Ale far exceeds any of the beers these places produce.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sharon Wilbraham Sharon Wilbraham, Bath, ME
(03/19/2000)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.246 seconds) 04:06:19 54.81.80.156, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS