PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Colorado Brewery and Trading Company - Danbury, CT
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 21, 2014 @ 07:26 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > CT > Danbury > Colorado Brewery and Trading Company
Colorado Brewery and Trading Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Colorado Brewery and Trading Company
Overall: Great    Score: 77.4 / 100
[Closed - 2004]
6 Delay Street
Danbury, CT 06810
United States
(203) 791-1450
Listed Since: October 1999
Last Updated: September 2004
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Danbury, CT
Beer Guide for Connecticut

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
25 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(5 within 5 miles)
1) Hat City Ale House
(0 mile)

2) Molly Darcy's Traditional Irish Pub and Grill
(0 mile)

3) One Front Street
(4 miles)

4) Greenwoods Restaurant
(4 miles)

5) LumberYard Pub
(6 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Inn Seekers
2) Tailoring Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) AMERICA'S BEST INN&STE DANBURY
2) BEST WESTERN BERKSHIRE INN
3) BEST WESTERN STONY HILL INN
4) COURTYARD BY MARRIOTT DANBURY
5) HILTON GARDEN INN DANBURY
6) INN AT ETHAN ALLEN HOTEL
7) MARON HOTEL & SUITES
8) MICROTEL INN & SUITES
9) OAKWOOD DANBURY
10) QUALITY INN DANBURY
11) RESIDENCE INN DANBURY
12) SHERATON DANBURY HOTEL
13) SPRINGHILL SUITES DANBURY
14) SUPER 8 DANBURY CT
15) WELLESLEY INN DANBURY
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Ball and Roller Bearing Company
2) Barlow, Aaron, House
3) Ely, Rev. John, House
4) Hearthstone
5) Hyatt, Thomas, House
6) Ives, Charles, House
7) June, Lewis, House
8) Locust Avenue School
9) Meeker's Hardware
10) Octagon House
11) Rider, John, House
12) Ridgebury Congregational Church
13) Robinson, P., Fur Cutting Company
14) Seelye, Seth, House
15) Umpawaug District School
16) Union Station
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 337 On Main
2) Abe's Seafood & Steak House
3) Alfonso's Pizzeria
4) Angelo's Pizza Co
5) Anthony's Lake Club Catering
6) Antonio's Restaurant
7) Atlantic Restaurant
8) Banana Brazil Luncheonette
9) Bannana Market
10) Beijing Chinese Restaurant
11) Bennigan's Grill & Tavern
12) Bentley's Restaurant
13) Berkshire Food Distributors
14) Bertucci's Brick Oven Pizzeria
15) Billy Bean's Cafe & Pub
16) Blimpie Subs & Salads
17) Brickyard Steak & Seafood
18) Cajun Cafe Grill
19) Capers Too
20) Caravela Restaurant
21) Cerveira's Pizza & More
22) Charley's Steakery
23) Chi Cho Deli & Grocery
24) China King Chinese Take Out
25) China Wall
26) Chuck's Steak House Inc
27) Ciao Cafe
28) Classic Rock Brew Pub
29) Clubhouse Deli
30) Colorado Brewery & Trading Co
31) Cor's Restaurant
32) Cosmos Brick Oven
33) Cowboys Bar
34) Cynthia's Jamaican Restaurant
35) D & J's Kozy Kitchen
36) Danbury General Store Deli
37) Deep's Trellis Restaurant
38) Desert Moon Cafe
39) Domino's Pizza
40) Double Twister Ice Cream Shop
41) Doughboy
42) Downtime Online Cafe
43) Dragon Cheng
44) Duchess Of White Street
45) Eagle's II Cafe
46) Eat-At-Joe's
47) El Bandido
48) El Milenio Restaurant
49) El Quetzal Cafe LLC
50) El Ranchero
51) El Rancho Foods
52) El Sabor Ecuatoriano
53) Elans Of Connecticut
54) Eldorado Grille
55) Eleven Ives Street
56) Empanada King
57) Evoltion
58) Federal Road Deli
59) Fortune Cookie
60) Friendly Food Store
61) Friendly's Restaurant
62) Germantown Diner
63) Giorgio's Brick Oven Pizzeria
64) Giovanni's
65) Gloria Jean's Gourmet Coffees
66) Good Taste Chinese Restaurant
67) Goulash Place
68) Gracie's Mansion
69) Great Wraps
70) Greenery Cafe
71) Gusto Restaurant
72) Haagen-Dazs Ice Cream
73) Hanna's Mideastern Delights
74) Hat City Ale House
75) Holiday Diner
76) Ichiro Japanese Restaurant
77) Il Bacio Ice Cream LLC
78) Ives Deli
79) J K's
80) Juice Bar
81) Kabuki Japanese Steak House
82) Karl Ehmer Quality Meat Prods
83) Kfc
84) Lafonda Antioquena Restaurant
85) Lake Avenue Coffee Shop
86) Lenny's Deli & Convenience Str
87) Leo's Breakfast & Lunch
88) Liberty Deli Bakery
89) Little Athens Diner
90) Little Tokyo
91) Little Tokyo
92) Los Andes Restaurant
93) Los Hermanos Pizza II
94) Lou's Everything Store
95) M & M Gourmet
96) Main Moon Restaurant
97) Main Street Diner
98) Majestic Cafe
99) Mambo
100) Manchu Wok
101) Manchu Wok
102) Manny's Diner
103) Marcel's Place Restaurant
104) Marcus Dairy Restaurant
105) Mario's Restaurant
106) Mc Donald's
107) Mc Donald's
108) Mc Donald's
109) Mc Donald's
110) Mc Nally's Steak & Ale House
111) Michael Angelo's Pizzeria
112) Mike's Pizza Restaurant
113) Mina's Carne & Deli
114) Mitad Del Mundo
115) Molly Darcy's Pub
116) Nathan's Famous
117) New Deli & Groceries
118) New Englander Diner
119) Newtown Italian Deli
120) Nick's Catering Pizza & Rstrnt
121) Nico's Pizza & Pasta
122) Nosso Restaurant & Deli
123) O Alfacinha
124) O'faia Cafe Restaurant
125) Office Cafe
126) Old Oak Restaurant & Pizzeria
127) Olive Garden
128) Oregano's
129) Original Texas Hot Wieners
130) Osaka Japanese Cafe
131) Pacific Seafood Market
132) Pancho's Deli
133) Panchos Tacos Pizza
134) Papi's Deli
135) Philly Steak
136) Pippa's Sports Cafe
137) Pizza Pit
138) Place Cafe
139) Players
140) Porcini's
141) Pure Country Of Conneticut
142) Rancho's Tacos
143) Red Lobster Restaurant
144) Royal Guard Fish & Chips
145) Ruby Tuesday
146) Santos Pastry & Deli
147) Sbarro
148) Sesame Seed Restaurant
149) Sheesh Mahal Restaurant
150) Sinapi's Pizza & Restaurant
151) Smitty's Southern Bar Bq
152) Soup 2 Nutz
153) Speedy Pizza
154) Store
155) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
156) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
157) T K's American Cafe
158) Taipei Tokyo
159) Three Brothers Diner
160) Treat Street
161) Triangle Cafe
162) Tropical Ices & Coffee Shop
163) Tuxedo Junction
164) Two Steps
165) Uncle Al's Cafe
166) Uncle Bill's Pizzeria
167) Uno Chicago Bar & Grill
168) Wendy's
169) Windmill Diner Restaurant
170) Wonkas Specialty Hot Dogs
171) World Cyber Cafe
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So So So Good
Out of business! They've been closed for several months now. Great while it lasted

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from AlanCon AlanCon, newtown, ct
(09/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I hate to let everyone know, but this place has closed.

The day that it closed the owner also died...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from paris lundis paris lundis, Pittsburgh, PA
(03/01/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Stopped in with the kids over Christmas break. Big place, kind of empty on a Sunday afternoon, but the beer was good (Trance Porter especially), my barbecue pizza was disgustingly good (I mean, I felt like a pig eating ALL of it, but I just couldn't stop), and the service was on the spot but not annoyingly clingy. Well-done all-round. Only complaint would be that the place is almost too big; kind of echo-y.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Langhorne, PA
(01/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
I really enjoyed this place especially being the 'beer geek' that I am. Solid selection right from the Blonde {a little thin) to the Belgium Abbey (being a dubbel this is a great showing with huge nose, great texture,and wonderful blend of fruit and spice on the pallet) Also had a very good cask Old Ale on. Food was very good for brewpub grub. Alot of BBQ and thin crust pizza. Can't wait to go back but this time checking the music listing, band was a little questionable.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steven Steven, Brewster, NY
(12/15/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I don't know about the beer, but there's going to be some great music there on October 10th... Dave King!

Check it out: www.davekingmusic.com

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Danbury, CT
(09/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great So So Good Good
Having just moved to Danbury from Cleveland, I was in a hurry to find a brewpub. One has to get out of the hospital once in a while! I really like the stout and the cask conditioned ale (and at the same price as the stout!). And only slightly higher priced than the regular #3.50/pint in Rochester, N.Y. Food is overpriced and only so-so. French fries served cold, fish - no great shakes. Bartender Lisa-always friendly and quick to serve. If they'd only improve the food and lower the prices..I could make it a regular "haunt" while living here in ultra high-priced Danbury! If only the owner/owners were listening!! 'Dr. Doug'

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Douglas S. Shearer Douglas S. Shearer, Danbury, CT
(09/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Lousy Good So So
this place is not serious about their beer, and not worth the visit. They tell you nothing about the beers and serve them too cold.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review New York, NY
(03/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Awesome! Good
Dec. '02 I have been a frequent customer here since it opened 3+ years ago, and have always enjoyed my visit (mostly because I live within crawling distance and greatly appreciate fresh brew). I really love the warehouse atmosphere, never feeling cramped like in most pubs. I have also appreciated many fine brews here over the years,especially when Paul Saylor was the BrewMaster. However, I'm sad to say that I've noticed a slight dropoff in beer freshness, flavor and overall quality on several of the lines (especially the Red Rocks, Gorgeous Blonde and Stout). The Hat TrickIPA and TransPorter, though, always taste great to my buds. I love the attitude of the owner Michael, who always treats his customers with class and exceptional hospitality. The food here is quite good although the dining area is a bit too noisy for an intimate dinner but has great accomodations for large groups, which is one of its best features. Bottom line is I love this place and I believe and hope they can make a few adjustments so they can survive in this very tough business and remain in Danbury for many years to come. HOPPY Holidays!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jake Jake, Danbury, CT
(12/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Good place for quality beer - the brewer also brews at the Ramapo Brewing Co - nice folks.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geoff Geoff, Morris Plains, NJ
(06/30/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Phil Phil, Bronx, NY
(06/28/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great N/A Good Good
VERY noisy on a Saturday night, to the extent that you can't even talk to the person next to you. The beer selection was decent, but each of the beers was woefully thin that I tried. Red - tasted like Piel's with food coloring (I know, a little harsh); Weiss - very thin, no spice character or flavor (tasted like a light lager); IPA - overhopped, with no balance. Service was good, and the atmosphere (other than the loud, awful band) was acceptable, but the beers come up short.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Stimmel Bill Stimmel, Waterville, OH
(07/12/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Awesome! Good Good
Some fantastic menu items. Almost makes up for the beer not being as excellent as it should be

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Skotrat Skotrat, East Kingston, NH
(12/09/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Awesome! Great
Highly recommended. One of the most freindliest staffs I have ever been too. I have been to over 300 brewpubs and this staff goes the extra mile. Owner and brewer included. I did not try the food but the selection of beer was top notch. Beer quality was average on some and very good on others. Nice place, entertainment, and good people. Go, enjoy, you will not be disappointed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bart Fellin Bart Fellin, Flemington, NJ
(11/15/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Met with a large party for my wife's 30th reunion. Terrific place. The Blonde and IPA were outstanding,the stout a bit thin and weak tasting. Highly recommend this pub.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Peter Lambert Peter Lambert, West Ossipee, NH
(10/14/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great So So Great
Some very good beer here. The porter and the blonde are excellent. The red is solid as well. Thin crust pizza is also a must try. The service can be inconsistent.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Chris, Danbury, CT
(08/17/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
We visited the pub about three weeks ago,just getting around to posting a review.We stoped in for a Sunday afternoon lunch.Food and beer were both great. The porter was the best and chilled to just the correct temperiture.Josh our waiter was great and made our visit a great experience.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from FRANK & GWEN ZDANCEWICZ FRANK & GWEN ZDANCEWICZ, PRESTON, CT
(04/19/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
We visited on a Saturday night. Large crowd but no problem. This place is great for large groups and even families, young to old. The Hat Trick IPA was excellent. The Black Strap Stout was good. The Georgeous Blonde (beer of course) was good too, but a bit plain. I would recomend trying the sampler ($5.00 for all 5 presented). The food was good but portions very skimpy (6 little babyback ribs and only 4 little shrimps in the sauted shrimp entre)! Order an appetizer and salad. We had NY apple cinnimon cheescake and raspberry chocolate truffle for desert which were excellent. Prices were reasonable. I will be going back again but perhaps trying one of their burgers (which looked great)or specialty pizzas

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review New Fairfield, CT
(04/09/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great Great Good Good
A buddy of mine and I were on our way home from judging a homebrew competition in Pine Plains NY. put on by the Hudson Valley Home Brewers and we decided to stop in for a little dinner and of course to try the beers! Walking into this place its like a warehouse, very open, huge. I had judged Bitters/IPA's earlier in the day and decided to try the Hat Trick IPA. Beautiful hop nose and nicely malty in the foreground, brilliantly clear and wonderful color, all right on track as per the style-guidelines. Taking the first sip, right off the bat I noticed this beer was lacking greatly in flavor complexity and balance, the intitial hop blast was nice, but the malt presence fails to achieve the proper body and mouthfeel as per the style. Possibly another victim of cutting back on production costs? We shared a three or four ounce sampler of Black Strap Stout, which we did not finish. As above beautiful nose and visuals, but exactly the same problems with the IPA were shared here. No complexity, body and mouthfeel was extremly thin for the style. Both were good beers, but nothing exceptional here by any means and could easily be made a whole lot better. A nice simple 10 bbl. brewing set up exposed for all to see, curiously close to the exposed kitchen though. Now, the food on the other hand was great! The burger and BBQ chicken pizza was exceptional, great band too. I would go back for the food, but the beer on the other hand I would not, which is really to bad.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Broad Brook, CT
(03/26/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great
I had a very pleasant visit here. The Hat Trick IPA is, to my taste, the best of the lot; a medium-bodied, hoppy/malty beer without the (too often) overdone Cascades flavor. The Gorgeous Blond struck me as a bit light flavored for a blond ale but I found out (from Paul - the brewer) that it's beong turned into a Muenchner helles now that he has the tank capacity to lager some of his beer. I anticipate a very good helles. The Sweet Time Pilsner is an excellent German pils (as opposed to the heavier, maltier Bohemian pilsner). The Red Rocks and the Trance Porter are good examples of their respective styles. My only disappointment was the Black Strap Stout. It is too smooth for my taste. I like my stouts to have a noticable bitterness from the roasted unmalted barley - a bit rough, if you will.

For food, I had a superb bruschetta and the fresh strawberries with sabayon sauce.

The service was prompt and friendly.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ralph S Sturgen Ralph S Sturgen, Easthampton, MA
(03/11/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great
What a fine place to find on a drive from New Jersey to Hartford! The beers on tap (5 in all) were across-the-board the best tasting I've had east of Denver. Most breweries have one or two that stand out, but Colorado had it together on all their offerings. My favorite was the porter, followed closely by their stout. I was there too early to eat, but met one of the owners, Mike, who was exceptional in his hospitality. I'd drive 50 miles out of my way to get back there for more!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeff Morris Jeff Morris, Huntington Beach, CA
(03/02/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
Popular new place in Danbury. Open, noisy atmosphere but friendly service and decent food. Beers are very respectable if not overwhelming. IPA was the favorite (very hoppy) followed by the stout. Worth a visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from WLR WLR, Brookfield, CT
(02/20/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
IPA and Stout were very good as was the service and the food

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo. Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(11/07/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good
The only beer that was worth drinking was the IPA. All the others had absolutely no taste or body.. No atmosphere at all. The dining area made you feel like you were in a warehouse or cafeteria. Needs a lot of work!! One of the bartenders even told me they were using dry yeast, UGHHHHH..

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Brookfield, CT
(10/18/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
Just opened and the place is unbelievable. All the beers are excellent, the Hat Trick IPA is real hoppy, the Red Rocks has a good malt flavor, and the Wheat Me is a good beer after a long hot dry day to start a night off right. Food was great and the people working there are great. Brewmaster Paul knows his stuff, Mike Gilmour putting 200% into making sure everything is perfect (and he's not done yet) I can't wait till it's finished. Definitely worth a trip to check this place out, and there's a Porter and Octoberfest on the way.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steven Bowman Steven Bowman, Bethel, CT
(09/22/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
On opening night they had (3) of their own brews to try. All three were very good, but I was most impressed with the sample of the IPA (cannot wait till Friday when it's on tap). Over all, the people were extremely enthusiastic, and food was available.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from S. Bowman S. Bowman, Bethel, CT
(09/13/1999)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.324 seconds) 19:26:29 54.167.96.124, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS