PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Big House Grill - Albany, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
August 22, 2014 @ 01:14 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > Albany > Big House Grill
Big House Grill Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Big House Grill
Overall: Great    Score: 74.2 / 100
112 Wolf Road
Albany, NY 12205
United States
(518) 458-7300
Listed Since: December 1999
Last Updated: April 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Albany, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
15 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(8 within 5 miles)
1) Firkin and Fox Pub
(0 mile)

2) Old Chicago
(0 mile)

3) German-American Club of Albany
(0 mile)

4) Malt River Brewing Company
(4 miles)

5) Pauly's Hotel
(4 miles)

6) Mahar's
(5 miles)

7) Lionheart Blues Cafe
(5 miles)

8) 61 Local
(6 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Holiday Inn
2) Pine Haven Bed & Breakfast
3) State House
4) State Street Mansion B & B
5) The Northway Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) ALBANY MARRIOTT
2) BEST WESTERN ALBANY AIRPRT INN
3) CLARION INN & SUITES AIRPORT
4) COMFORT INN AND SUITES ALBANY
5) COMFORT INN ARPT AND CONF CTR
6) COURTYARD ALBANY THRUWAY
7) CRESTHILL SUITES ALBANY
8) DAYS INN ALBANY
9) DESMOND HOTEL & CONFERENCE CTR
10) EXTENDEDSTAY ALBANY CAPITAL
11) FAIRFIELD INN ALBANY
12) HAMPTON INN ALBANY LATHM
13) HAMPTON INN ALBANY WOLF
14) HILTON GARDEN INN ALBANY ARPT
15) HOWARD JOHNSON ALBANY CENTRAL
16) MORGAN STATE HOUSE THE
17) QUALITY INN ALBANY
18) QUALITY INN HOTEL ALBANY
19) RAMADA ALBANY LIMITED
20) RED ROOF ALBANY
21) THE NORTHWAY INN
22) WINGATE INN ALBANY AIRPORT
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Abrams Building
2) Albany Academy
3) Albany City Hall
4) Albany Institute of History and Art
5) Bacon--Stickney House
6) Bryan's Store
7) Byrne, Senator William T., House
8) Cathedral of All Saints
9) Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception
10) Chapel House
11) Cramer, Frederick, House
12) D. D. T. Moore Farmhouse
13) Dunsbach, Martin, House
14) Hughson Mansion
15) Humphrey, Friend, House
16) Kemp, John Wolf, House
17) Lawton, George H., House
18) Merchant, Walter, House
19) New York Executive Mansion
20) New York State Court of Appeals Building
21) New York State Department of Education Building
22) Newtonville Post Office
23) Newtonville School
24) Newtonville United Methodist Church
25) Niskayuna Reformed Church
26) Pruyn, Casparus F., House
27) Reformed Dutch Church of Rensselaer in Watervliet
28) Springwood Manor
29) St. Peter's Church
30) Strong, Jedediah, House
31) Verdoy School
32) Verdoy Schoolhouse
33) Washington Avenue (Tenth Battalion) Armory
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) A-Art's Beverage
2) Amazing Wok
3) American Cafe
4) Anthony's Pizza Palace
5) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
6) Arby's
7) Arby's
8) Arby's
9) Arby's
10) Automatic Juicer
11) Bangkok Thai Restaurant
12) Barnsider Restaurant
13) Big House
14) Big Kahoona Picnic Co
15) Blessing's Tavern
16) Bombay Grill
17) Bridgeway Tavern
18) Bruno's Restaurant
19) Buca Di Beppo
20) Burger King
21) Burger King
22) Butcher Block Steak & Seafood
23) Cajun Cafe & Grill
24) Capital Buffet
25) Central Catering & Fine Foods
26) Cheers
27) Chili's Grill & Bar
28) Cindy's Deli
29) Classe Catering
30) Colonie Beverage
31) Colonie Diner
32) Colorado Mine Co Steakhouse
33) Cosimo's Pizza II
34) Cranberry Bog Restaurants
35) Crossgates Restaurant
36) Cuozzo's Deli
37) Deli
38) Deli Warehouse
39) Delmonico's Italian Steakhouse
40) Demetros Enterprise LLC
41) Denny's
42) Dewey's Diner
43) Di Carlo's Gentlemen's Club
44) Domino's Pizza
45) Dragon Buffet & Motel
46) Dragon Garden Restaurant
47) East Wok Chinese Restaurant
48) Emperor's
49) Empress Restaurant
50) Firkin & Fox
51) Friendly's
52) Friendly's Restaurant
53) Friendly's Restaurant
54) Fuller Road Banquet Hall
55) Fuller Roadhouse
56) Garcia's Mexican Restaurant
57) German-American Club-Albany
58) Golden Corral Family Steak Hse
59) Grandma's Restaurant
60) Ground To Air Catering
61) Happy Jacks
62) Heritage Cafe
63) Hil Boys Pizza Place
64) Holiday Inn Turf On Wolf Road
65) Hungry Harry's Deli
66) I Love New York Pizza Of East
67) I Love Ny Pizza
68) IHOP
69) Inge's Diner
70) International House-Pancakes
71) J T Maxies
72) Kababish Of Albany Inc
73) Kfc
74) Kurver Kreme
75) L'ecole Encore
76) L-Ken's Drive In
77) Lakeview Restaurant & Catering
78) Lee Lee's Cafe
79) Little Anthony's
80) Little Tokyo
81) Lone Star Steakhouse & Saloon
82) Longhorn Catering Co
83) Maurice's Central Delicatessen
84) Max's Lunch Box
85) Mc Donald's
86) Mc Donald's
87) Michael's Cafe
88) Mings Wok
89) Mr Subb Inc
90) Mr Subb Inc
91) Mr Subb Inc
92) Mr Wus Chinese Gourmet
93) Nathan's Famous
94) New York Grill
95) Ninety Nine Restaurant & Pub
96) O'toole's Restaurant & Pub
97) Olive Garden
98) Orange Julius Dairy Queen
99) Outback Steakhouse
100) Pacific Prime Steak & Seafood
101) Pancho's Mexican Restaurant
102) Panera Bread
103) Papa John's Pizza
104) Peony Restaurant
105) Pizza Hut
106) Pizza Mare' Restaurant
107) Polish Community Ctr
108) Professor Java's Coffee Snctry
109) Ralph's Tavern
110) Ramiro's
111) Real Seafood Co
112) Real Seafood Co
113) Red Lobster Restaurant
114) Restaurant Operator's Co-Op
115) Romano's Macaroni Grill
116) Sahara Deli
117) Sbarro
118) Shamrock II
119) Smokey Bones Bbq & Sports Bar
120) Starbucks
121) Steak-Out Charbroiled Delivery
122) Stromboli Italian Eatery
123) Subshop Limited
124) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
125) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
126) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
127) T J's Cafe
128) Taco Bell
129) Taco Bell
130) Taco Bell
131) Tcby
132) Tex's Bbq/Longhorn Catering
133) Turkey & Salad Cafes Inc
134) Uncle Sam's Pizza
135) Uno Chicago Bar & Grill
136) Vellano's International Rstrnt
137) Village Cafe
138) Village Inn
139) Weathervane Seafood Restaurant
140) Wendy's
141) Wendy's
142) West Albany Fire Dept
143) West Albany Italian Benovolent
144) Wolf Road Diner
145) Xtreme Bar & Grill
146) Zia's Pizza
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Big House on Wolf Rd is closed. It's now a Firkin & Fox.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Tom, Albany, NY
(07/19/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Great Good
This venue is now the Firkin & Fox, the first of five "Pubs" from north of the border to open in the Albany area. As is always the case with new places to tie the feed bag on, they could do nothing but turn away customers Saturday prime time as it was so crowded. The beer selection was ho-hum at best. The food was edible, fairly reasonably priced, but was essentially of the “pub” variety (OK with me). The service however was very attentive, friendly, and I didn’t get thrown out for having five beers and hogging a table of four for way longer than we should have. However, it’s not worth writing a review under their own name - this is not a beer lover’s bar.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Timothy J. O'Connor Timothy J. O'Connor, Troy, NY
(02/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Unfortunately, from the local scuttlebutt it sounds as if the Big House Grill will not be reopening. It appears that financial difficulties were involved. Too bad, because it was a haven among all the chain restaurants on Wolf Road.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Ouderkirk Paul Ouderkirk, Albany, NY
(02/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Awesome!
The Parent Big House Brewery is located on North Pearl Street in downtown Albany, NY. It is located kitty corner from the Capital Rep Theater. The great beer will always be there. Check them out. The Big House Grill still remains closed for renovations.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick Ravida Patrick Ravida, Albany, NY
(01/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
This outlet for Big House Brewery is closed and up for sale! Alas, I'll have to visit the brewery itself, wherever that is..

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Seeley Doug Seeley, High Bridge, NJ
(01/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
A worthwhile stop. Friendly staff and good beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo. Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(09/25/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great
I haven't had the beers at the brewery, but I thought they were very well delivered here: fresh, tasty, and a good, diverse selection: I didn't try the Light: the barkeep said it was for Coors Lite people.

The Bootlegger Berry Wheat was not at all treacley, it tasted like a light, raspberry wine, crisp and delicious!

The Ale Capone Amber tasted like a typical american beer (you know who I mean): I think they boiled old shoes in the wort to give it that sour, dead, beery taste.

The Legs Diamond Pale Ale was very fresh, but fairly hoppy (you never know if a PA is going to be malty or hoppy!), just to my taste!

The Bad Boy Brown was a typical brown ale, very malty, cut with a high alcohol content, like brandy plus maple syrup (I'm not saying that is bad...)

Prohibition Porter was very pleasant, a full bodied porter with a lot of chocolate overtone, almost a dessert beer, but not sweet like a milk stout.

The Bonnie & Clyde IPA was my favorite: very hoppy, yet a fresh, fruity undertone.

Overall, I think they do a good job on a diverse selection of beers.

The food was good pub food; no complaints, except the portions were huge, and I couldn't finish it.

The service was great, but it almost always is when you sit at the bar.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Seeley Doug Seeley, High Bridge, NJ
(08/24/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Great Place to take the family!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ken Ken, Troy, NY
(02/05/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy So So So So So So
3 of the 8 beers on the wall they didn't even have. The waiter was not very good. The food was ok, but nothing great. I'd rather go to a place that had decent food and fresh major micros than this place. It doesn't seem they take their craft very seriously. When I asked the waiter if they had any ice cream for my kids he said yes; but he would not recommend having it as it has been sitting for 6 months. Next thing I saw was another waitress bringing out an elderly lady a ice cream sunday !!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Ryan Mike Ryan, Austin, TX
(08/13/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
On my last visit the beer showed nice gains. Not a great place to take a date for a meal, but the food was not bad. Nothing very impressive, but decent. If you're stuck at a Wolf Road hotel, this is worth the stop.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rick Lyke Rick Lyke, Clifton Park, NY
(06/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Good Good
I had Big House (or Big House brewer-brewed) beers four places last week, and of the four this was the least impressive. Not sure why; I was told it turns over quickly here. But the Amber was bland, as was the pale ale. Porter and Light were both good, though, which saved things somewhat. Unfortunately the food was disappointing. The "roast turkey dinner" my dad and uncle both got was turkey loaf, inexplicably served on top of slices of white bread. My meatloaf was delicious, but the side dishes -- filling, corn -- were not, the corn was chewy and tasteless, the filling without body. My chili tasted like Hormel with some tinkering. Sorry to be so bitchy, but all three of us were disappointed with the food, the only bad meal we had in four days on the road in eastern NY. The beers are mostly brought over from the Pearl St. location, though there is some brewing done on the in-house system. Beers tasted at Pearl St. were much better.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Newtown, PA
(04/15/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Good Good
While it should be noted that most of the beers are not made on premesis, it's a much better place to taste the beers brewed downtown without the crap that annoys me about Pearl Street (ie: service/plastic cup/video game/dance club/ cell phones , bitchy waitresses.. etc..) Atmosphere is comfortable pub/resturant, in fact hard to tell that is not the Lex Grill anymore. Beers = good. Pale Ale very hoppy and balanced. Porter also tasty..

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from GUS GUS, ALBANY, NY
(05/09/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Solid IPA, food was good, worth another visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mangan Mike Mangan, Buffalo, NY
(03/07/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Husband and I both enjoyed this pub. Especially appreciated the ease of parking. We don't go to the other Big House downtown Albany because of the "no parking" situation.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Adrienne Knight Adrienne Knight, Schenectady, NY
(12/24/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Good
Very Knowledgable staff and very friendly. I definitely recommend this brewpub.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bart Fellin Bart Fellin, Flemington, NJ
(11/01/1999)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.297 seconds) 01:14:16 54.89.10.19, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS