PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Downtown Brewing Company - Wilmington, DE
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
April 24, 2014 @ 08:59 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > DE > Wilmington > Downtown Brewing Company
No logo - please upload one (logo placeholder)
Type: BrewPub
Downtown Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 73.6 / 100
[Closed - 2003]
1210 North Market Street
Wilmington, DE 19801
United States
(302) 984-BREW
Listed Since: January 2001
Last Updated: December 2003
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Wilmington, DE
Beer Guide for Delaware

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
12 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(3 within 5 miles)
1) Washington Street Ale House
(0 mile)

2) Iron Hill Brewery and Restaurant
(0 mile)

3) Kelly's Logan House
(3 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Armitage Inn
2) Fox Lodge At Lesley Manor
3) Olde Canal Restaurant & Tavern
4) Terry House Bed & Breakfast
5) William Penn Guest House
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN BRANDYWINE VALLEY
2) BRANDYWINE SUITES
3) COMFORT INN AND SUITES
4) COURTYARD WILMINGTON DOWNTOWN
5) ECONO LODGE CARNEYS POINT
6) HOTEL DU PONT
7) KNIGHTS INN NEWCASTLE DE
8) QUALITY INN CARNEYS POINT
9) QUALITY INN SKYWAYS
10) SHERATON SUITES WILMINGTON
11) WELLESLEY INN/STES PENNS GROVE
12) WYNDHAM WILMINGTON
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Amstel House
2) Armstrong Lodge No. 26, A. F. & A. M.
3) Brandywine Manufacturers Sunday School
4) Braunstein's Building
5) Brown, Dr. John A., House
6) Collison House
7) Continental Army Encampment Site
8) Crosby and Hill Building
9) Delaware Avenue Historic District
10) Delmarva Power and Light Building
11) Dingee, Jacob, House
12) Dingee, Obadiah, House
13) Dupont, P. S., High School
14) Ferris, Zachariah, House
15) Fort Christina
16) Friends Meetinghouse
17) Galloway--Walker House
18) Gibraltar
19) Glebe House
20) Glynrich
21) Govatos'/McVey Building
22) Grace United Methodist Church
23) Gray, Charles, Printing Shop
24) Harlan and Hollingsworth Office Building
25) Hermitage, The
26) Holy Trinity
27) Howard High School
28) Keil, Max, Building
29) Keil, Max, Building
30) Killgore Hall
31) Killgore, Joseph, House
32) Kingswood Methodist Episcopal Church
33) Laurel
34) Lesley-Travers Mansion
35) Lobdell Estate, Minquadale Home
36) Logan House
37) Lombardy Hall
38) Lore, Charles B., Elementary School
39) Louviers
40) Main Office of the New Castle Leather Company
41) Marcus Hook Range Rear Light
42) Masonic Hall and Grand Theater
43) McLane, Louis, House
44) Mount Pleasant Methodist Episcopal Church and Parsonage
45) New Castle Ice Piers
46) New Castle Leather Raw Stock Warehouse
47) New Century Club
48) Newport National Bank
49) Newport Railroad Station
50) Old Asbury Methodist Church
51) Old Courthouse
52) Old Customshouse
53) Old First Presbyterian Church of Wilmington
54) Old Town Hall
55) Philips-Thompson Buildings
56) Postles House
57) Public School No. 19
58) Pyle, Howard, Studios
59) Reynold's Candy Company Building
60) Rodney Court
61) Schagrin, Charles, Building
62) Schoonover, Frank E., Studios
63) St. Anthony's Roman Catholic Church
64) St. Hedwig's Roman Catholic Church
65) St. Joseph's on the Brandywine
66) St. Mary of the Immaculate Conception Church
67) St. Mary's School
68) Starr House
69) STATE OF PENNSYLVANIA (steamboat)
70) Stonum
71) Swanwyck
72) Tatnall, Joseph, House
73) Torbert Street Livery Stables
74) Townsend, Henry, Building
75) Trinity Episcopal Church
76) U.S. Post Office, Courthouse, and Customhouse
77) Walker's Mill and Walker's Bank
78) Weldin, Lewis, House
79) Wilmington Amtrak Station
80) Wilmington Savings Fund Society
81) Wilmington YMCA
82) Woman's Club of Newport
83) Woodward Houses
84) Woolworth, F. W., Company Building
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 2 Go
2) 814 Club Restaurant
3) 814 Club Restaurant
4) A & G Steak Shop
5) Acw Corp
6) Africaribbean Variety Food
7) Ambrosia Restaurant & Lounge
8) Anthony's On Shipley Street
9) Aunt Bumpy's
10) Avyons Bar & Restaurant
11) B-N-E City Subs
12) Bank One Ctr Catering
13) Barn Door Restaurant
14) Basil Restaurant
15) Bean Bag Cafe
16) Becky's First Stop Bagel Shop
17) Benjamnin's On 10th
18) Bennie's Big Scoope
19) Bernie's Tavern
20) Big Guy Intl Inc
21) Big Jawn's
22) Big Kahuna Restaurant
23) Bohemian Brew
24) Brandywine Brewing Co
25) Brandywine Room
26) Brandywine Suites Hotel
27) Brew-Haha
28) Bubba's Coffee Shop
29) Bullets Restaurant
30) Cactus Annie's Restaurant
31) Cafe Abyssinia
32) Cafe Mezzanotte
33) Carribean Cafe Inc
34) Casablanca Restaurant
35) Casbar
36) Cavanaugh's Restaurant
37) Chester Fried
38) Chestnut Street Cafe
39) China House Express
40) China King Take Out Restaurant
41) China Palace Restaurant
42) Choice Deli
43) Christina River Club
44) City Pizza
45) City Tavern
46) Club Utopian
47) Club X
48) Concord Deli
49) Conley Ward Steakhouse
50) Crumbs
51) Curt's Creams
52) D & H West Indian & American
53) Deep Blue Bar & Grill
54) Delta Restaurant
55) Direco Inc
56) Dominican Cafe
57) Downtown Brewing Co
58) Enzo's Italian Eatery
59) Essex Restaurant
60) Fantasia Gentlemen's Club
61) Fast Lane
62) Fiesta El Rodeo Inc
63) Fleur-De-Lis Catering
64) Four Brothers Restaurant
65) Fox Point Diner
66) Franko's
67) Friar's Cafe
68) Front Door Cafe
69) Fry Korner
70) Fuliy Restaurant
71) G & P Pizza
72) Genelle's Bakery & Cafe
73) Gerado's Pizza
74) Gino's Pizza
75) Golden Pot Restaurant
76) Gordon's Seafood
77) Gourmet Salad & Eatery
78) Govatos Candies
79) Green Room
80) Greenery
81) Greenery Caterers
82) Greenery Food Court
83) Gremlin
84) Gus's Sub Shop
85) Hak's Restaurant
86) Harry's Seafood Grill
87) Healey's Cafe
88) Hi-Way Inn
89) Ho Ho Deli
90) Hoss's Enterprises Inc
91) Hot Spot Pizza & Restaurant
92) Hotel Dupont
93) Iron Hill Brewery & Restaurant
94) Iron Hill Brewery & Restaurant
95) J & B Restaurant
96) Jade Palace Restaurant
97) Jay Farmer's
98) Jeewong Thai Cuisine
99) Joe's Crab Shack
100) Kahunaville
101) Kennedy Fried Chicken
102) Kentucky Fried Chicken Corp
103) Kentucky Fried Chicken Intl
104) Kfc
105) King Deli
106) Knotty Pine Restaurant
107) Kyoto Japanese Restaurant
108) LA Mer
109) Lapp's Rotisserie
110) Lee's Chinese Restaurant
111) Leo & Jimmy's Delicatessen
112) Lethsome Catering Svc
113) Lettuce Feed You
114) Libby's Restaurant
115) Little Africa
116) Lucky Horse Restaurant & Tavrn
117) Maine Course
118) Mc Donald's
119) Mc Donald's
120) Mediterranean Grill
121) Mexican Express
122) Miami Pizza Food Market
123) Mike's Warehouse Grill
124) Mikimotos Japanese Restaurant
125) Minato Japanese Restaurant
126) Minquadale Fire Co Inc
127) Molly's Old Fashioned Ice Crm
128) Mutts Hotdogs
129) Mystic Pizza
130) N Y Fried Chicken Inc
131) New Garden Restaurant
132) Norman's Kitchen
133) Number 1 Lung Hwa Amer Chinese
134) O'friels Irish Pub
135) Olympic Subs & Steaks
136) Omelette King
137) Panan Restaurant
138) Panghat Indian Restaurant
139) Paradise
140) Party Planning & Photography
141) Patio
142) Perky Bean Coffee Cafe
143) Pete's Pizza
144) Pharos Of Wilmington
145) Piane Cater
146) Pisces Island Cuisine
147) Pizza Man
148) Primo Cappuccino
149) Printz Grill
150) Quality Charcoal Subs & Steaks
151) Queen Bean Cafe
152) Quick Cuisine
153) Quiznos Sub
154) Ray's Deli & Grocery
155) Reagan's Tavern Restaurant
156) Reata Restaurants Inc
157) Redd's Southern Cuisine
158) Restaurant 821
159) Rodento Enterprises Inc
160) Scott's
161) Sea Finn Restaurant
162) Shades Of Blue
163) Stan's Courtyard Cafe
164) Star Pizza
165) Steak N Eggs
166) Sterling Grille
167) Steve's Deli & Restaurant
168) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
169) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
170) Sugarfoot Fine Food
171) Talkin Turkey Cafe
172) TCB Cafe
173) Thirty-Fifth Street Cafe
174) Tiki Sub Shop
175) Timothy's On The Watefront
176) Tokyo Sushi
177) Up The Creek
178) Village Delicatessen
179) Wall Street Deli Inc
180) Walnut Room
181) Walnut Street Deli
182) Warehouse Grill
183) Washington Street Ale House
184) Waterworks Cafe
185) Wild Child Cafe
186) Xing Chung Restaurant
187) Yia Yia's Cafe
188) Zoe's Express
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Cummings Jim Cummings, Elsmere, DE
(10/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Lousy Lousy
I just spend 55 minutes waiting for a "cold" chicken salad sandwich and a bowl of the soup of the day. The cold sandwich didn't even need to be cooked, and i assume the "soup of the day" is made that same day - it takes over an hour to get my food on a plate? Never, ever, ever again will I waste my lunch hour "waiting" for food that I need to swallow in 5 minute. Lunch "hour" does not mean take your time, I'll eat when you feel like bringing me food. Never again!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Wilmington, OTHER
(06/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
Our last lunch before arriving home. Had a good chicken sandwich with a better Stout, they were out of IPA. Worth a visit. The brewpub is housed in a neat old building amongst modern highrises. Eat on the outside deck.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Kerry M Daigle, Acton, MA
(04/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
You need a bigger cigar smoking room!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Newark, DE
(12/20/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Good place nothing special. Got the sampler, 5 in all. All beers with the exception of the pale ale, bacteria, tasted as what they should be. Burger was a little undergood. Good thing was they had the fireplace going on a cold & wet Saturday night. For a complete review check out my site

www.thedanandjohnbeersite.com

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Berger Dan Berger, Philadelphia, PA
(12/16/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Awesome! Great
Stopped in yesterday afternoon between the lunch and dinner crowd and had the place virtually to ourselves. This was my second visit to this place (first - Aug 2000) and decided to give it another try to see if they worked out the kinks. I'm happy to report that they did! The food was tasty, slightly upscale pub fare (i recommend the pizza di pollo!) and the beer selection was great. I had the Pale Ale, which was right on the money, and the ESB, which was nice, but not the best i've had. My fiance tried the Hefe. The taste was there, but the body seemed a bit off. Her second was a Pale, after sampling mine! I also questioned the waitress about the Burton Ale - she gave me a taster before i made my decision. This was an interesting ale, but not my cup o' brew, especially with a meal, due to it's malty sweetness. I would definitely recommend this place to friends back home that might be passing through this neck of the woods. Oh yeah -- and our waitress was great - cheerful, responsive and knowledgeable. Thanks for a great lunch!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from steve steve, somerset, NJ
(08/16/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
I was impressed. I especialy liked the Pale Ale, hoppy and balanced. The Stout, while being tasty, came across as a little thin. Food was superb. Well done Owen. BTW, I used to patronize Blue-N-Gold the original home of your tanks. Great beer has been brewed in them, keep it up.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steven Gerard Steven Gerard, Arlington, VA
(06/07/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Great Good Good Good
GET RID OF THE RINGWOOD YEAST AND YOU WILL GET RID OF THE DIACETYL FLAVOR WHICH IS NOT A CHARACTERISTIC OF A KOLSCH BEER AT ALL I LIKE BUTTERSCOTCH ON MY ICE CREAM BUT NOT IN MY BEER. THE FOOD IS GOOD THE BUILDING NICE BUT I DONT UNDERSTAND THE PICTURES THAT ARE HANGING AROUND. I WILL TRY AGAIN IN A FEW MONTHS

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from DAN SMITH DAN SMITH, PROSPECT PARK, PA
(06/04/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Good Great
Wide selection of beers. I liked the abiltiy to pick and choose to make a sampler of 4. Bartender was a little aloof, but didn't bother me much. I would go back to try the food & have a few more beers. I especially liked the special/seasonal Burton Ale.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from S Groene S Groene, Columbus, OH
(05/18/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
Good Place. Food is excellent. Had potato soup, crab quesdillos and the Chesapeake Pizza(Crab and Old Bay). I had the Irish Red, Scot Export (Delicious), the Porter, and the Winter Spice(the best).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Bordentown, NJ
(02/14/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A Great Great Good
The pale ale is nice and hoppy, the bitter is OK, the stout is tasty but weak. I would have liked something more substantial since it is winter. They probably haven't been open long enough to have any high gravity brews ready yet. It looks like they have a decent brewhouse set up. This place has great potential

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from frank  d frank d, mantua, NJ
(01/25/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I'm the brewer, I'm not rating my own place! Please come in, try my brews, tell me what you would like to see on tap.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Owen Hutchins Owen Hutchins, Philadelphia, PA
(10/30/2000)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.467 seconds) 08:59:14 54.227.5.234, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS