PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Cumberland Brews - Louisville, KY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
December 20, 2014 @ 05:49 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > KY > Louisville > Cumberland Brews
Cumberland Brews Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Cumberland Brews
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 84.3 / 100
1576 Bardstown Road
Louisville, KY 40205
United States
(502) 458-8727
Listed Since: January 2001
Last Updated: January 2005
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Louisville, KY
Beer Guide for Kentucky

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Cumberland Brews
63 Reviews / 3 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(16 within 5 miles)
1) Buckhead Grill and Bar
(0 mile)

2) Diamond Station
(0 mile)

3) Za's Pizza Pub
(0 mile)

4) Dundee Tavern and Grill
(0 mile)

5) Molly Malone's Irish Pub and Restaurant
(2 miles)

6) Hideaway Saloon
(2 miles)

7) Baxter Station Bar and Grille
(2 miles)

8) Phoenix Hill Tavern
(2 miles)

9) Flanagan's Ale House
(2 miles)

10) Sergio's World Beers
(3 miles)

11) Bluegrass Brewing
(3 miles)

12) Uerige Obergärige Hausbrauerei GmbH / Zum Uerige
(4 miles)

13) Browning's Brewery
(4 miles)

14) Bluegrass Brewing Company
(4 miles)

15) Fox and Hound Pub and Grille
(5 miles)

16) BJ's Restaurant and Brewhouse
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Aleksander House
2) Inn At Woodhaven
3) Inn Off the Alley
4) Old Bridge Inn
5) Rocking Horse Manor B & B
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) ANTIQUE INN OF LOUISVILLE
2) BEST WESTERN AIRPORT EAST
3) BEST WESTERN ASHTON INN SUITES
4) BEST WESTERN BROWNSBORO INN
5) BRECKINRIDGE INN
6) BRIDGESTREET OVERLOOK ST THOMAS
7) CLARION HOTEL LOUISVILLE
8) COMFORT INN DOWNTOWN
9) COMFORT INN LOUISVILLE
10) COUNTRY INN STE LOUISVILLE AIR
11) COURTYARD LOUISVILLE AP EXPO
12) COURTYARD LOUISVILLE DOWNTOWN
13) DAYS INN CENTRAL UNIVERSITY
14) DAYS INN JEFFERSONVILLE
15) DAYS INN LOUISVILLE KY
16) ECONO LODGE LOUISVILLE
17) EXECUTIVE INN
18) EXECUTIVE W HOTEL
19) EXTENDEDSTAY LOUISVILLE DUTCHMN
20) EXTENDEDSTAY ST MATTHEWS
21) FAIRFIELD INN LOUISVILLE NORTH
22) HAMPTON INN LOUISVLE APT
23) HAWTHORN LOUISVILLE
24) HLTN GRDN INN LOUISVILLE ARPT
25) HOLIDAY INN LAKEVIEW
26) HOWARD JOHNSON EXP INN AIRPORT
27) HYATT REGENCY LOUISVILLE
28) INN AT JEWISH HOSPITAL
29) LA QUINTA INN/STES LOUISVILLE
30) LOUISVILLE EAST LOUFT
31) QUALITY INN & SUITES
32) QUALITY INN N STES UNIV ARPT
33) RAMADA INN RIVERFRONT
34) RAMADA INN ZORN
35) RED ROOF LOUISVILLE AIRPORT
36) RED ROOF LOUISVILLE SE-FAIRGROU
37) SLEEP INN LOUISVILLE
38) SUPER 8 LOUISVILLE AIRPORT KY
39) THE BROWN HOTEL
40) THE GALT HOUSE HOTEL
41) TOWNEPLCE LOUIS NORTH
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Adath Israel Temple
2) Adath Jeshurun Temple and School
3) Almsted Brothers Building
4) Atherton Carriage House
5) Bannon, Patrick, House
6) Belknap, Willam R., School
7) Blankenbaker Station
8) Bloedner, August, Monument
9) Bosler Fireproof Garage
10) Bradford Mills
11) Brandeis House
12) Brown Hotel Building and Theater
13) Brown, J.T.S., and Son's Complex
14) Brown, James, House
15) Brown, Theodore, House
16) Bullock-Clifton House
17) Calvary Episcopal Church
18) Caperton Block
19) Castleman, John B., Monument
20) Cathedral of the Assumption
21) Chenoweth House
22) Christ Church Cathedral
23) Church of the Messiah
24) College Street Presbyterian Church
25) Commodore Apartment Building
26) Crescent Hill Branch Library
27) Cumberland, The
28) District #1
29) District #2
30) Dolfinger, J., and Company Building
31) Eclipse Woolen Mill
32) Electric Building
33) Elks Athletic Club
34) Emerson School
35) Ewing, D. H., & Sons Creamery
36) Falls City Jeans and Woolen Mills
37) Finzer, Nicholas, House
38) First Lutheran Church
39) First Street District
40) French, Henry, House
41) Gaar-Fenton House
42) German Bank Building
43) German Evangelical Church of Christ Complex
44) German Insurance Bank
45) Grisamore House
46) Hayfield
47) Heyburn Building
48) Hikes-Hunsinger House
49) Hite, Abraham, House
50) Hite-Chenoweth House
51) Hook and Ladder Company No. 2
52) Hook and Ladder Company No. 3
53) Hook and Ladder Company No. 5
54) Hope Worsted Mills
55) House of Weller
56) Howard Home
57) Howard-Gettys House
58) Humphrey--McMeekin House
59) Inter-Southern Insurance Building
60) Jewish Hospital Complex
61) Kaufman-Straus Building
62) Keneseth Israel Synagogue
63) Kentucky National Bank
64) Kentucky Street School
65) L & N Steam Locomotive No. 152
66) Lee, Addison W., House
67) Levy Brothers Building
68) Lewis, Dr. John, House
69) Locust Avenue
70) Loew's and United Artists State Theatre
71) Louisville Cotton Mills
72) Louisville Free Public Library
73) Louisville Male High School
74) Louisville Water Company Pumping Station
75) Lowell, James Russell, Elementary School
76) Madrid Building
77) Main Street District, Expanded
78) Marmaduke Building
79) Marvin, Dr. J. B., House
80) MAYOR ANDREW BROADDUS
81) Midlands
82) Old Presbyterian Theological Seminary
83) Old U.S. Customshouse and Post Office
84) Old U.S. Customshouse and Post Office and Fireproof Storage Company Warehouse (Boundary Increase)
85) Paget House and Heigold House Facade
86) Peterson-Dumesnil House
87) Preston-St. Catherine Street Historic District
88) Preston-St. Catherine Street Historic District
89) Repton
90) Republic Building
91) Ridgeway
92) Rose Hill
93) Rossmore Apartment House
94) Saint Frances of Rome School
95) Saint Francis of Assisi Complex
96) Savoy Historic District
97) Schneikert, Valentine, House
98) Schuster Building
99) Second and Market Streets Historic District
100) Seelbach Hotel
101) Selema Hall
102) Shelby Park Branch Library
103) Southern National Bank
104) Speed Building
105) Spring Station
106) St. Elizabeth of Hungary Roman Catholic Church
107) St. James Roman Catholic Church, Rectory, and School
108) St. Paul's German Evangelical Church and Parish House
109) St. Therese Roman Catholic Church, School, and Rectory
110) St. Vincent DePaul Church, Rectory, School, St. Ursula Home and Convent
111) St.Bonifacius Kirche Complex
112) Steam Engine Company No. 10
113) Steam Engine Company No. 11
114) Steam Engine Company No. 20
115) Steam Engine Company No. 22
116) Steam Engine Company No. 3
117) Steam Engine Company No. 4
118) Stewart's Dry Goods Company Building
119) Stewart, W.K., Bookstore
120) Stivers, Zodia, House
121) Sunnyside
122) Taggart House
123) Taylor, Zachary, House
124) Theater Building
125) Third and Jefferson Streets Historic District
126) Third and Market Streets Historic District
127) Three Mile Tollhouse
128) Tingley, George H., Elementary School
129) Tompkins--Buchanan House
130) Trade Mart Building
131) Tyler Block
132) Tyler Hotel
133) Tyler-Muldoon House
134) Union Monument in Louisville
135) University of Louisville School of Medicine
136) Ursuline Academy and Convent
137) Weissinger-Gaulbert Apartments
138) Widman's Saloon and Grocery
139) Wilson, David, House
140) Winchester House
141) Wirth, Lang and Company--The Louisville Leather Company Tannery Building
142) Woodside/John T. Bate House
143) Wright and Taylor Building
144) Y.M.C.A. Building
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Air Devil's Inn
2) Alameda Bar & Grill
3) Andrew's Restaurant
4) Angio's Italian Restaurant
5) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
6) Arby's
7) Asiatique
8) Asiatique Restaurant
9) August Moon Chinese Restaurant
10) Bakery
11) Bambi Bar
12) Bamboo House Restaurant
13) Bearno's Pizza Bowman Field
14) Bob Evans Farms Restaurant
15) Bristol Bar & Grill
16) Bristol Catering
17) Buckhead Grill & Bar
18) Burger King
19) Cafe 360
20) Cafe Metro
21) Chi-Chi's Mexican Restaurant
22) Chick-Fil-A
23) Club Grotto American Bistro
24) Cumberland Brews
25) Dairy Queen
26) Danish Express Pastries
27) Darryl's 1815 Restaurant & Bar
28) De La Torre's Restaurant
29) Diamante Bar & Grill
30) Domino's Pizza
31) Dundee Tavern
32) East West Cafeteria
33) El Caporal
34) Empress Of China Restaurant
35) Ernesto's Mexican Restaurant
36) Fat Jimmy's
37) Fishery
38) Frisch's Big Boy Restaurant
39) Frolio's Pizza
40) Geli Cakes
41) Graeter's
42) Heavenly Ham
43) Heine Brothers Coffee
44) Hideaway Saloon
45) Homemade Ice Cream & Pie
46) Impellizzeri Pizza
47) India Palace
48) Jicama Grill
49) Jo Jo's Restaurant
50) John E's Restaurant & Lounge
51) Judge Roy Bean's
52) Juleps Catering
53) K F C
54) K T's Restaurant & Bar
55) Kaelin's Restaurant
56) Kern's Korner
57) Kfc
58) King Fish Restaurant
59) Kingfish Restaurants
60) Krispy Kreme Doughnuts
61) Le Beaujolais
62) Le Relais Restaurant
63) Lee's Korean Restaurant
64) Left Field Lounge
65) Lentini's
66) Lolita's Tacos
67) M T's Catering
68) Main Street Management Assoc
69) Mark's Feed Store Bar-B-Q
70) Mazzoni's Oyster Cafe
71) Mc Donald's
72) Mc Donald's
73) Mike's Place
74) Moby Dick Seafood Restaurant
75) Morris' Deli & Catering
76) Mr Gatti's Pizza
77) Nan King Restaurant
78) Olmecas Mexican Restaurant
79) Palermo Viejo
80) Papa John's Pizza
81) Penn Station
82) Penn Station
83) Pizza Hut
84) Pizza Magia
85) Pizza Place
86) Poboys Shoppe
87) Popeye's Chicken & Biscuits
88) Qdoba Mexican Grill
89) Rally's Hamburgers Inc
90) Ray Parrella's Italian Cuisine
91) Sapporo Japanese Steakhouse
92) Seviche A Latin Restaurant
93) Shenanigan's Pub
94) Springs Valley Deli
95) Stan's Fish Sandwich
96) Steak N Shake
97) Steam
98) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
99) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
100) Sweet 'n Savory Cafe
101) Taco Bell
102) Taste Of Bosnia
103) Texas Roadhouse Inc
104) Thai Siam
105) Tony Boom Bozz Pizzeria
106) Tricon Global Restaurants Inc
107) Tumbleweed Southwest Mesquite
108) Twig & Leaf Restaurant
109) Uptown Cafe
110) Waffle House
111) Wendy's
112) Winston's Restaurant-Sullivan
113) Za's Pizza Pub
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Good Great
I think Boozy must have been the one to drop the dooby dust on the commode. Yes it gets busy sometimes and they do not have the largest selection of beer in the world but what they have is excellent. I have had craft beer all over the US and this pub is up toward the top tier of the best. I have had to wait a bit, but have had no complaints at all with the bartenders. Young ladies mostly but very nice in my humble opinion.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from MurrellKinkade MurrellKinkade, Louisville, KY
(04/26/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Great Great
I'm a soldier with First Cavalry Division stationed at Ft. Hood, Tx. I grew up with my German family in Southern California and my great grandmom brewed beer at home. I loved her beer and she taught me a lot about the different styles and how to taste each one. This small brewery in Louisville, Ky always brings me back to her memory. When I am in town to visit with My mom and sisters who relocated to Louisville a few years back I always make sure to visit Cumberland Brews. The food is limited and Great! The kitchen comes up with the best of the best on their menu. I am never disappointed. My best friend loves the stout and fish on rye, and I tend to get something kinda hoppy like the red ale because it goes well with the black bean and blue corn nachos or a bison burger<-- Delicious:P keep up the good work and I'll see you in the spring '10;)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from damien roberts damien roberts, apo, AE
(07/11/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
The atmosphere at Cumberland Brews is fantastic. This entire area of Louisville is a "must see." Reminds me of the Haight-Asbury section of San Fran. The food we had was great - pulled beef bbq, sweet potato fries! The Nitro Porter surprised me - it is very good! Friendly bartenders, just a neat place to go to and enjoy an afternoon beer or two (or three)!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Berta Pettis Berta Pettis, Syracuse, NY
(07/10/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So Lousy So So
My friends and I decided to go to this little microbrewery, filled with memories of other microbreweries found out West, especially Portland.

The beer selection is found on a chalkboard facing to the left of the ordering customer about 25 feet away or on the glass behind the server, written in marker. This was slightly disorienting, but a minor distraction at best.

The waitresses are the bartenders, which can be annoying, since they are multitask and you simply want to drink. It also makes for a weird crowd of friends drinking and dining, couples trying to be romantic (why in a microbrewery?) and other 20 somethings crowding the walkway. Did I mention the narrowness? Literally 5 ft between chairs at the bar and chairs at the table. Your face will be 5 ft away from a beerdrinkers butt if you are the unlucky one on the outside of the table.

But the beer, oh the beer...was pretty average. They have about one of every color: yellow, red, brown, black. So you get to choose a pale, a red, a nut brown, or a heavy black/porter. There are a couple other like "banana grabber", which honestly sounds slightly homosexual to me but they taste like feet.

This all would be alright because the upstairs is really nice with a fireplace, four hobbitesque tables with stools, and another bar. Not to mention a bathroom that has a shower! Where else can you get that? I found some weed crumbs above the commode in the downstairs from some amateur trying to roll a doob in haste, but I digress...

My biggest disdain was with the waitstaff, with the exception of one girl downstairs, whom my friends and I basically forced into a conversation by us knowing someone that she knows (who would've guessed in our 350,000 pop town?) She made a hasty retreat to kiss her boyfriend, slightly unprofessional, very, very UNCOMFORTABLE.

But the worst was getting a lecture from the waitress upstairs, telling us that since are tabs were downstairs that we should settle up before coming upstairs. Wait for it, wait for it capslock go!

IF I WANTED TO WALK UP AND DOWN STAIRS AND DEAL WITH TABS ON A SATURDAY NIGHT I WOULD HAVE BECOME A WAITER AT CUMBERLAND BREWS!!!!

Don't get me wrong, I've worked in the industry before and I'm more than happy to wait on people when they are busy and stuff but I also happen to know that the customer is always right and you should never make them feel uncomfortable if you want return service and/or a tip.

I'll not be going there any time soon, the place just doesn't score high enough on food, beer, atmosphere, service, friendliness, and the most underrated aspect of bars: usage of space that allows conversation and comfortability.

Sincerely,

Boozy McLiverdamage

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Boozy McLiverdamage Boozy McLiverdamage, Louisville, KY
(12/11/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Awesome! Awesome!
My wife and I found this place when we first started dating. We were both stationed at Fort Knox at the time and went to Louisville a couple of times a week on dates. Bardstown Road is one of the best areas in the city for pubs, restaurants, and dancing. We walked by Cumberland one night and decided to stop in. After that, every adventure in Louisville either started or ended at Cumberland. The service is great, the beer is excellent (Cream and Pale Ale are the best), and you can't beat the atmosphere. The outside seating is a plus. Depending on the day of the week, there are young people (college kids), regulars, and an older crowd. Some nights, it seems like everyone is there. The staff handles large crowds with ease. Once you've finished your beer and food for the evening, you can take a nice stroll up and down Bardstown Road. Out of all the cities we've been to, this is by far the best microbrewery we've found.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Carl Hoffman Carl Hoffman, Van Wert, OH
(07/27/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Awesome! Awesome!
Stopped in here for a few hours while in Louisville recently. I won't bother to go anywhere else next time I'm in town.

Stout, porter, and brown ale were all superlative and true to type. The stout could have been a little warmer, but that's about the only issue I had. The bartender was very friendly and attentive.

Foodwise, I tried the vegan burger (had been eating junk food all week - don't ask). It was basically a felafel on a bun. Take that for what it's worth.

Excellent establishment - highly recommended.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Chris, Falls Church, VA
(04/21/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
The brewpub doesnt open until 4:00 p.m. on weekdays, and I was wavering between waiting and going to Bluegrass Brewing earlier. Im glad I chose to wait.

Every beer (excluding the light blonde) served at this brewpub is more than adequately hopped. It was a refreshing change to bland, conservative brews Id been drinking all weekend at BW3s during the NCAA basketball tournament. Every beer pops at you in a good way. The Irish stout, porter, and nut brown ale were all excellent examples of their categories. But my favorite was the seasonal Dortmunder (a rare find at a brewpub). It was light bodied yet fully flavored with a citrus nose and after-taste. Brewmaster, I tip my hat to you.

The menu is pretty limited to pub fare, but its pretty good. The bison burger was decent, and I loved roasted garlic as a topping choice. The steak fries were meaty and extremely well prepared, and go great with a crock of homemade beer cheese.

Of special note is their homemade ice cream that incorporates the sweet malt from their unfermented porter blend that gives it a rich, deep, complex flavor that can only be described as awesome.

For more details and more brewpubs, check out http://www.kingsbrewpubtour.com/Web%20Pages/Brew%20Pubs/Cumberland%20Brewing.html

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ken Ken, Bloomington, IN
(03/31/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great
The atmosphere is not for everyone. This is a "college bar" for the most part, but an old fart like me really enjoys this type of atmosphere. The beers were very good - the Red and the Pale Ale were good but the nitro porter was excellent. Regina and Lucy are both very nice bartenders and were always attentive. I get to Louisville several times a year and I will be back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from bill caraway bill caraway, pittsburgh, PA
(02/17/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Awesome! Awesome!
Some growing pains recently, as the kitchen specials have been less enticing and the seasonal beers are gone within days. They are getting a bigger brewing system up and running, and hopefully that will solve the beer shortages. Note, thursdays have cask upstairs from six pm

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review louisville, KY
(01/21/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
My wife and I stayed overnight in Loisville on our way home from Charleston SC. I seen this brewpub on Pubcrawler so we decided to stop in. We are very happy we decided on this place. Although it was a Thursday night it was fairly busy. We sat inside for a little while then moved outside to the tables on the sidewalk. Very cool atmosphere. Quite a few students were there, and all were very friendly. The food was very good but the beers were better. We tried all beers available that evening. I was most impressed with the Nitro Porter but all beers were good representation of styles. This is a small place and after checking out the brewery area behind the bar I don't know how they crank out enough beer! However they do it, it is well done. We travel this route a couple times a year and we look forward to stopping in again and again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Sears Michael Sears, Rockford, IL
(10/02/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
Great beer! I recommend the Pale Ale.... hoppy, bitter, delicious, try with the Bison Burger during the summer. Nitro Porter is quite nice too, a wonderful cold weather beer. Food products usually come from local farms and/or locally owned stores. BIG UP's!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kenny Kenny, Louisville, KY
(08/28/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
This is a must stop if you are serious about having awesome beer. The place is small looking but there is plenty of seating upstairs. I had to wait 45 minutes for Cumberland to open but the experience was well worth it. Parking around the area can be a challenge. Make sure you heed the No Parking or Standing rules along Bardstown during rush hour. The staff was just wonderful. If I wasn't going to take in the Louisville Bats baseball game later in evening I would have stayed longer. Don't pass Cumberland Brews by if you're in Louisville.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Butler John Butler, Mountain Home, ID
(08/07/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
one word: Meade. Other than visiting my friends in Louisville while I'm in on bsuiness, there is only one place else I always make a run for: Cumberland Brews. The service is always friendly, the meade is fantastic, the atmosphere is calm, eclectic. Good people, good food, great beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Aaron Schram Aaron Schram, Chicago, IL
(07/27/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Awesome!
PROBABLY THE SMALLEST BREWPUB I'VE VISITED. HINT: LOTS OF SEATING UPSTAIRS, WITH A BAR AND T.V.S. THIS IS A MUST STOP IF IN THE AREA. ON TAP: NITRO PORTER, PALE, CREAM ALE, MATT'S RED, WHEAT, STOUT, NUT BROWN. EACH ONE UNIQUE IN ITS OWN WAY. GREAT BREWING GOING ON HERE.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JIMBO JIMBO, SPRINGFIELD, OH
(07/09/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Great Awesome!
Stopped in on a business trip and was completely surprised. Great eclectic neighborhood just east of University. The building was a converted home that made the place very familiar and comfortable. Didn't see the total beer selection but the Matts Red and Porter Ale were great micro brews. Had the bison burger and was satisfied with taste of the other food as well. Lori our server was cute and eclectic indicative of the area and patrons.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John S John S, Chicago, IL
(05/24/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Awesome! Great
Great little brewpub in the heart of Louisville's Highlands neighborhood. It is now non-smoking which only adds to the enjoyment of the beers. Beers are always good and will even sometimes surprise you. Food is often original and usually pretty good. Service is almost always great! Check it out!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from AJE AJE, Louisville, KY
(03/19/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Awesome! Awesome!
I believe this to be the best brewery in the Louisville area. I stop by almost weekly for a good brew and the Pale Ale is one of the finest I've ever had. A very small establishment with great food and fine service, a beer lover who is passing through Louisville should check out Louisville's Highlands neighborhood and have a brew or two at the Cumberland.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Andy Andy, Louisville, KY
(01/02/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great
The Pale Ale is very good. Very Hoppy. I was just passing through town and stopped by to pick up a growler. The staff was very knowledgable and helpful.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe D'Angelo Joe D'Angelo, Marysville, MI
(04/28/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome!
Been going here for a few years now. THis place is great. It has never let me down and the service is phenominal. Great atmosphere. The Nitro Porter is ridiculously tasty and satisfying. visit twice weekly

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Paul, anchorage, KY
(04/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Awesome! Great
I visited this brewpub on 2/23/06 and had the following brews; Nitro Porter, Pale Ale, Cream Ale, Nut Brown, Meade, Matt's Red, & Milk Stout. The wait staff was extremely helpful, knowledgable and courteous. The place is very small and the smoke can be overcoming though. I tried to stop in for lunch earlier and found that they do not open until 4pm.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from G. L. Averill G. L. Averill, Lakeway, TX
(03/03/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
Get the sampler, its cheap and plentiful. Nice atmosphere. I love to visit tiny places like this where you can only get their beer at the establishment. The food was good and I enjoyed the beers I had. The mead wasn’t really good. It’s a nice place to roll back a few if you’re in town. The waitress was very friendly and gave us directions to another brewpub in town. I would definitely stop in again to have another sampler and a few more beyond that. It was a good time.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from thomas sup thomas sup, schnecksville, PA
(01/02/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great N/A Great Good
Hate to buck the trend, but I was here last month and found the beers to be iffy, and on the verge of being nasty. The Pale Ale and Porter were drinkable, at least, but the others just didn't cut it: stale, mineraly, on the edge of sour. That's a shame, because the place itself was very cool, and service was right on the money. The brewhouse was kind of grungy, though, which should have been a tip-off. Sorry, folks, not a good impression.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Philadelphia, PA
(09/27/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Tiny place, seating inside for maybe 35-40 people. 6 beers on tap. Cream Ale and Summer Wheat way on the lighter side of things, Cream kind of a mass-market quality. Meade is obviously unique, very subtle, with hints of sweetness and tartness. Nut Brown was nice with smoky notes, malty. Nitro Porter was smooth, slightly sweet with cocoa flavors. Pale Ale had a great balance--smooth and creamy. Tanks are right behind the bar. Very Bohemian area with a varied crowd--cool. Careful of the parking on the main street, it ends right when they open. Rachel Hunter's twin was working behind the bar when I visited, so they've got that going for them, which is nice!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(07/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Good Awesome! Great
The beer is just excellent. Matt Gould does a fine job. A little stinky from the smoke sometimes though. Other than that, the best beer in town.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from MRK MRK, Louisville, KY
(02/20/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from VON PRICE VON PRICE, LOUISVILLE, KY
(07/17/2004)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.717 seconds) 05:49:02 23.23.9.5, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS