PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Moat Mountain Smokehouse and Brewing Co - North Conway, NH
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 21, 2014 @ 02:37 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NH > North Conway > Moat Mountain Smokehouse and Brewing Co
Moat Mountain Smokehouse and Brewing Co Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Moat Mountain Smokehouse and Brewing Co
Overall: Great    Score: 76.4 / 100
Rte 16
North Conway, NH 03860
United States
(603) 356-6381
Listed Since: February 2001
Last Updated: October 2001
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for North Conway, NH
Beer Guide for New Hampshire

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Moat Mountain Smokehouse and Brewing Co
40 Reviews / 3 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) 1768 Country Inn
2) Buttonwood Inn
3) Cabernet Inn
4) Country Inns in the White Mtns
5) Cranmore Inn
6) Cranmore MT Lodge
7) Darby Field Inn
8) Eastman Inn
9) Farm By the River
10) Forest-A Country Inn
11) Langley House Inn
12) Lavender Flower Inn
13) Locust Hill Bed & Breakfast
14) Merrill Farm Resort
15) Merrill House Inn
16) Mount Washington Vly Rsrvtns
17) Mountain Valley Manner
18) Nereledge Inn
19) New England Inn
20) Old Red Inn & Cottages
21) Open Door B & B Assoc
22) Oxen Yoke Inn & Motel
23) Oxen Yoke Motel
24) Victorian Harvest Inn
25) Wyatt House Country Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BW RED JACKET MT VIEW RESORT
2) COMFORT INN NORTH CONWAY
3) FOX RIDGE RESORT
4) LUXURY MOUNTAIN GETAWAYS
5) NORTH CONWAY GRAND HOTEL
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Abenaki Indian Shop and Camp
2) Eastern Slope Inn
3) Eastman, William K., House
4) North Conway Depot and Railroad Yard
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Amanda's Restaurant
2) Amato's
3) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
4) Artisan Sausage-New Hampshire
5) Bangkok Cafe
6) Bellini's Cafe Britalia
7) Bellini's Tuscan Steakhouse
8) Ben & Jerry's
9) Blueberry Muffin Restaurant
10) Brandli's Pizza Grille
11) Cliffside
12) Dancers Cafe
13) Domino's Pizza
14) Dunkin Donuts
15) Elvio's Pizzeria
16) Fandangle's
17) Flatbread Co Of No Conway
18) Friendly's Restaurant
19) Frontside Grind
20) Gunther's Restaurant
21) Horsefeathers
22) Jackie's Restaurant
23) Lickety Splitz
24) Lobster Trap
25) Lobster Trap Express
26) Marcello Vito Gourmet Foods
27) Marcello's Italian Ristorante
28) Mario's Delivery
29) Mario's Family Italian Rstrnt
30) Mario's Italian Restaurant
31) Mc Donald's
32) Merlino's Steak House
33) Metropolitan Coffee House
34) Ming Garden
35) Monte Bello Ristorante
36) Morning Dew Espresso
37) Panda Garden Chinese Restrnt
38) Panda Garden Chinese Restrnt
39) Papa Gino's
40) Papa Gino's
41) Peach's
42) Peking Restaurant
43) Primo's
44) Stonehurst Manor
45) Sugar House Eatery
46) Taste Of Thai
47) Thai Star
48) Thai Star Restaurant
49) Toasted Lab Woodgrill & Bar
50) Tony Lena's Italian Pizzeria
51) Up Country Saloon
52) Wendy's
53) White Mountain Hotel & Resort
54) Wylie's Restaurant & Tavern
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I hear you there man. I picked up some Tuckermans at the Esso down the street and it was comparable to all the brews offered here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Reg Pedersen Reg Pedersen, Fredericton, NB
(10/12/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
My bride and I were honeymooning in New England and as a brew pub fanatic I searched "North Conway NH" on pubcrawler and found this place. I read the previous reviews and had to try it. Ordered the sampler (of course) but they just finished an octoberfest celebration so they only had 6 on tap rather than the typical 8 or 9. The Weiss was decent, the pale ale and the brown were excellent. They did not have a porter or a stout available so I was a bit dissapointed. My wife had the steak and it was the best ever! Black Angus and seasoned and cooked to perfection. The sides were also great. I had the ribs and must say that I was a bit dissapointed with them. They were black and really dry and the sauce was something to be desired (even though I got the spicy habanaro).

Overall the atmosphere was good, the steak was freakin' great, and the beer was pretty darn good too.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Reg Pedersen Reg Pedersen, Fredericton, NB
(10/12/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Get the sampler...8 samples for 8.00 (rack only "hold" 6)! Can't go wrong! Loved the pale ale, brown, weiss and especially IPA. IPA not too bitter. Had combo platter...Ribs which were pretty good for BBQ in the NE, really enjoyed the pulled pork. had the pot sticker type app...amazine slaw under those things. Oh, you will bring food home. Redicuous potions. Our server was the BEST...will ask for her again! Would highly recommend!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scotty Scotty, Lebanon, NH
(03/26/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Good
Unfortunatly they had none of their stout when i got their. I had heard great things about their stout and so i returned to California disapointed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from SERGIO SERGIO, SAN DIEGO, CA
(03/24/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
This place is excellent. I've had the oppurtunity to stop in twice. Both times I treated myself to the beer sampler. They gave me 8-9 samples with a rack that only held 6. The Weiss was excellent the 1st time, but slightly different the second time. It was probably just an odd batch. I throughly enjoied the amber, it was my favorite. All of the beers were good. In addition, the food was excellent. They offer 3 different rubs for ribs. The barbecuse sauce is pretty much applesauce, not so good. The second time I wel however, I asked for the "Chef's choice bbq sauce. They jazzed itup and it was great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Theriault Mike Theriault, Concord, NH
(01/31/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Good Great
Food is very good, and the portions are huge. It's not really barbeque in the southern US sense of the word, but it is good smoked meat. The beer is generally decent, although the brown and the wheat are excellent.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David David, Asheville, NC
(05/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Great Awesome! Good
Brought my out of town company for dinner after not having stoped for quite some time. My food was very tasty, my guests were pretty much satisfied, service was exellent. I had the Iron Mike which was OK, I prefer more hoppsy. Guess we hit the place on the quiet between seasons time, not much going on including beer making. Was hopeing this would be a better time to go when not overwhelmed by flatlanders. Maybe just hit them on an off night, we did go on a cloudy foggy day and could not even see the mountains. Guess we will have to give them awhile to brew up a few new batches and try again.

Harry hughen Madison NH

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from HARRY HUGHEN HARRY HUGHEN, Campton, NH
(05/06/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
Been there three times in the last six months. The beer is OK. The brown ale was good, the pale ale average. The place does have somewhat of an unfinished feel to it-almost as though they ran out of money for finishing the decor. The real reason to come here is the food. Excellent smoked meats, and one time had a great meatloaf special. The side dishes -mashers, butternut squash, were truly excellent.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from alberto alberto, milwaukee, WI
(04/06/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good
I was expecting not greatness, but I guess, a bit more than I experienced here. While they did have 8 brews to offer, there were too many I characterize as bland; you know, different versions of the same mass-market knock off to please the tourists. To give their due, the Square Tail Stout was good, and the porter wasn't bad either. The fact that ALL the staff I saw on the afternoon I arrived was busy in some chit chat with the locals who were at the bar, this did not give me a good vibe. As this is off the slightly beaten path, I can't say that I'd make the effort again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(10/31/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great
Overall a pleasant place. Several of the ales, stout were a little light in body, but fresh and pleasant.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geoff Geoff, Morris Plains, NJ
(10/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good
Although I tend to base most of my brewpub reviews on the quality of the IPAs or more hoppy styles offered, I must adamit that what really got my attention at Moat Mountain were the two excellent wheat beers: a hefeweizen and a dunkelweizen. More often than not, American brewers tend to produce the "American Wheat" variety of the style, without the pronounced banana-clove notes that are so indicative of traditional Bavarian wheat beers. Not so with Moat. The dunkelweizen was especially good....a nice turn on a style that doesn't show up too often at U.S. brewpubs (and, when it does, is not particularly good.) The rest of the styles I tried were pretty standard-issue. The IPA was somewhat thin...not too much in the hop department, surely. The food was excellent. Who knew that they could smoke a fine pork shoulder in New Hampshire?!? Very impressive.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kirk Struble Kirk Struble, New York, NY
(08/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Great Good Good
Food was really good. Beer was on the weak side. Looking for a hoppier beer then what they had.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from kelly and bill kelly and bill, belchertown, MA
(07/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Lousy Good
Choice of beers was good, but the service sucked. Most behind the bar were more interested in when their shift ended. Beer was good though

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob & Ang Bob & Ang, Lebanon, NH
(06/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Good
Had been a number of years back when they were billed as brewpub and turned out not to be … I think I still harbor a little grudge from that moment of disappointment after having made a special trip. Passing through this time and am a sucker for a second chance. I tried the 9 brews they had on tap, mostly by way of 4 oz samplers and then a couple of pints since the Sox game was on.

In general, the beers were average and occasionally slightly above average, none great. (Top Three) The Hefe & Dunkel were the best. I'm not a wheat expert but they both had the vanilla-like esters and rich mouthfeel that makes or breaks the style for me. Surprisingly low on the carbonation which is a hit with me, maybe not true to style though. The Vienna lager earned a pint glass pour for me. Smooth with easily discernable yeast character. Some toasted and caramel hints made this their most complex beer. (Bottom Three) The IPA had an assertive bitterness, but lacked body, hop flavor and presence of specialty grains. The brown was not as billed on the menu, not malty or nutty but it was hard to tell with the high carbonation level. The Blueberry Wheat was nothing like the Hefe, not sure it had any wheat at all. With all flavored beers, I prefer the flavoring to be more of a hint than a kick in the head.

The bar atmosphere was a little stark, with painted plywood floors and a very sticky concrete bar top. Away from the bar overlooking the brewing vessels was a nice span of windows looking out at the White Mountains which would be majestic if not for the parking lot and other buildings in the foreground. The food was good but not as much zip as I would have liked, generally unique in character though. The Yam fries were special. The barkeep was pleasant and attentive. Logo glasses available. Easy find on Rte 16, northern outskirts of town.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sean Sean, Lyman, ME
(04/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Lousy Good So So
I RETURNED FOR A VISIT SEPTEMBER LAST, AND HAVE TO SAY IT NOT AS PLEASENT AS MY FIRST. THEY SEEMED TO BE OUT OF MOST OF THERE BREWS, AND THE FOOD... WELL NEVER MIND

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JAMES STOODLEY JAMES STOODLEY, PORTSMOUTH, NH
(12/25/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Lousy Lousy So So
I was not very impressed with the place in 2001, and when we returned a couple of weeks ago Moat Mountain had skidded further. There was nothing memorable about either their pale ale or their stout. The food was served lukewarm, and my barbecued pork was just this side of charcoal. The service was amazingly slow even though there were only two other tables occupied at lunch. If you want good beer in the White Mountains, motor over to North Woodstock.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rick W., Rick W.,, Philadelphia, PA
(08/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Just stopped by this place again recently and was happy to see it was doing as well as ever. We had the family barbaque dinner and it was awesome. The meat was practically falling off the bone, the chicken was perfectly done, the brisket was so tender and smokey, and the pulled pork was exactly how it should be. The service was awesome. The beers were better than my first visit. The larger was excellent, all of the beers were excellent. There are so many good restaurants that server great food and beer on tap in this area but if you only have time to visit one, this is the place to go.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Don Diamant Don Diamant, Milton, NH
(08/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy N/A Lousy Lousy Lousy
A good gauge of the quality of an establishment is not so much how they handle the satisfied customer but how it deals with problems. I recently visited the Moat Mountain and ordered the ribs. I love Ribs and had a great rack the night before at a restaurant called the Red Fox or something like that. The kids wanted to go somewhere else so we wound up at the Moat. The rack of ribs were horrible! They had a layer of burned charcoal on them and when I brought it to the waitresses attention she tried to interest the cook (she said no Manager although it was Saturday night dinner hour)but he said that's the way we serve them if he doesn't like it tough luck. She said that maybe a bartender would talk to me. I was offered desert on the house but left my whole inedible meal and passed on the desert! I don't know how the beer is but drink plenty before you try to put down the stuff they pass off for food and worse, for service!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Herlihy Tom Herlihy, Braintree, MA
(08/04/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
After having many of the wonderful smokehouse meals and sampling the variety of the beers offered at the Moat, I find this place to be one of my favorite spots in town and I highly recommend it to all.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Larry, Madison, NH
(03/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Eating at this establishment was one of the highlights of our trip to the White Mtns. The smoked salmon was excellent. For someone who rarely drinks the server made the excellent suggestion of trying Woodpecker Cider. That is now my beverage of choice whenever I go out to dinner. Overall it was a fun experience.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Braintree, MA
(02/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Good So So
I wasn't impressed by anything here except the building. The beers were mediocre and had a funky aftertaste. The bar area is really small and service was pushy. Unfortunately, it's about the only place to get a drink around Conway. Next time I'm up there, I'm just gonna by a sixer of Tuckerman's Ale and head off to the lake.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ben Ben, Lake Nebagamon, WI
(01/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
We eat at Moat Mountain every chance we get! The food is excellent, as is the beer, and the view and atmosphere just our style. You've done a great job! We're from Southern Maine originally and have spent time at Gritty's in Portland and the Brewery in Portsmouth. Now that we live in West Ossipee, it's good to know there's a good brewery in reach! We're taking a break from the busy camping season and will be back often! We recommend Moat to all our visiting friends from Maine!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan & Jan Hussey, Whit's End Campground Dan & Jan Hussey, Whit's End Campground, West Ossipee, NH
(12/28/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
My husband and I just stayed in the White Mtns. for our honeymoon over Thanksgiving. Everytime we passed your sign on Rte.16, my husband drooled at the thought of tasting some good ribs and brew. We were NOT disappointed when we finally stopped in the night before the holiday. Had a quiet dinner for two, had the porch corner all to ourselves (perfect spot!). Ordered the smoked chicken boneless buffalo strips (WOW!!!), ribs, garlic mashed (to die for!), cornbread (the real deal) and brews (found me a new favorite!). He opted for the Raspberry Wheat, I for the Bear Peak Brown Ale. Though he wasn't crazy about his (likes the fruity beers, but not the wheat), I ended up getting a growler of the Bear Peak to go for the holiday (and went back before leaving NH, to get two more growlers to bring home to MA.) The service was superb, though we did end up taking the scrumptious cornbread home because they forgot to put the order in, and though the ribs did fall of the bones, we were disappointed with the bbq sauce. We got the "sweet and tangy", and were expecting something along the lines of the traditional thick sauce, but ended up pushing ours off the ribs because it was too acidic and a bit spicy, with a strange consistency. More than a spoonful would have given us major heartburn. But it tasted good anyways. And, we loved the garlic mashed so much we had to take two orders to go for the holiday! We had a Moat Mountain Thanksgiving and we'll be coming back next year for sure! Any chance of distributing in central MA?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Worcester, MA
(12/05/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Great Great
Had a very good meal. Great fries and wrap. The Pale Ale is their best beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jason Jason, Northbridge, MA
(11/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
On a girls weekend in November of 2001, we decided to try this place for dinner. The service was wonderful, the food outstanding. Ther beer great! We even bought some extra salsa and some salad dressing to bring home. One of my friends is a vegetarian. She was thrilled with the red lentil stew. (Once I saw her bowl, I ordered a cup for me.) It was great. Returned with my husband and our two kids in late August. Had the blueberry wheat beer. It was wonderful. I had two glasses. While standing in line at a ride at Story Land the next day, I happened to mention that I was tired. My 7 year old in quite a loud voice said, "it must have been all that beer you drank last night!" After dying of embarrasment, I explained that we had gone to your place for dinner and gave directions to those that wanted it. I had the bbq pork sandwich with cole slaw on the cinn/raisin bread. It was fantastic! My husband and kids were just as happy. I would highly recommend this place! I will be looking to your websight for more info on staying there. Ellen Dononvan, Hudson, NH

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review hudson, NH
(11/11/2002)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.791 seconds) 02:37:33 54.81.109.37, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS