PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Oyster Bar Bistro and Brewery - Fort Wayne, IN
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 30, 2014 @ 09:57 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > IN > Fort Wayne > Oyster Bar Bistro and Brewery
Oyster Bar Bistro and Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Beer Bar
Oyster Bar Bistro and Brewery
Overall: Great    Score: 75 / 100
[Closed - July 2009]
1509 West Dupont Road
Fort Wayne, IN 46825
United States
(260) 490-6755
Listed Since: June 2001
Last Updated: August 2009
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Fort Wayne, IN
Beer Guide for Indiana

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Oyster Bar Bistro and Brewery
14 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(1 within 5 miles)
1) Granite City Food and Brewery
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Comfort Suites North
2) Roebuck Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) AMERICAS BEST INN FORT WAYNE
2) AMERISUITES FORT WAYNE
3) BEST VALUE INN-FORT WAYNE
4) COMFORT SUITES NORTH
5) COUNTRY INN STES FT WAYNE N
6) COURTYARD FORT WAYNE
7) DAYS INN FT WAYNE IN
8) DAYS INN FT WAYNE IN
9) DON HALLS GUESTHOUSE
10) FAIRFIELD INN FORT WAYNE
11) KNIGHTS INN FORT WAYNE IN
12) LEES INN & SUITES FORT WAYNE
13) MARRIOTT FORT WAYNE
14) RED ROOF FORT WAYNE
15) RESIDENCE FORT WAYNE
16) SLEEP INN & SUITES FORT WAYNE
17) SUPER 8 FT WAYNE IN
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Bass, John H., Mansion
2) Brown, John, Stone Warehouse
3) McColloch--Weatherhogg Double House
4) Randall Building
5) Wells Street Bridge
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) AAJ India Restaurant
2) Arby's
3) Baan Thai Restaurant
4) Bandidos
5) Big Apple Chinese Buffet
6) Big Daddy's Pizza
7) Blimpie Subs & Salads
8) Bob Evans Farms Restaurant
9) Bogey's Bar & Grill
10) Buffalo Wild Wings Grill & Bar
11) Burger King
12) Burger King
13) Canterbury House
14) Casa Grille
15) Cebolla's Mexican Grill
16) Chappell's North
17) Chi-Chi's Mexican Restaurant
18) City Super Buffet
19) Cork'n Cleaver Restaurant
20) Dairy Queen
21) Dairy Queen
22) East Of Chicago Pizza Co
23) Famous Fish Of Stroh
24) Fender's Restaurant & Lounge
25) Golden House Restaurant
26) Hall's Factory Restaurant
27) Hall's Restaurants
28) Harvey's Restaurant & Lounge
29) House Of Hunan
30) IHOP
31) Jefro Tucce Barbecue & Pasta
32) Joe's Crab Shack
33) KFC
34) La Bamba Fort Wayne Inc
35) La Hacienda Mexican Restaurant
36) Lee's Famous Recipe Chicken
37) Lexy's Pizza
38) Lone Star Steakhouse & Saloon
39) Mancino's Express
40) Mancino's Grinders & Pizza
41) Mandarin
42) Marco's Pizza
43) Mc Donald's
44) Mc Donald's
45) Misono Japanese Steak House
46) Munchie Emporium
47) New China Garden
48) New Hong Kong Restaurant
49) Noble Roman's Inc
50) Old Country Buffet
51) Oley's Pizza Express
52) Oriental Seafood Buffet
53) Papa John's Pizza
54) Papa Murphy's Take 'n' Bake
55) Pine Valley Bar & Grill
56) Pizza Hut
57) Pizza Hut
58) Pizza Hut
59) Quiznos Sub
60) Raja Restaurant
61) Red River Steaks & Bbq
62) Rib Room Express
63) Richards Restaurant Inc
64) Ritter's Frozen Custard
65) Ritters Frozen Custard
66) Scoop
67) Siam Restaurant
68) Steak N Shake
69) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
70) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
71) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
72) Taco Bell
73) Taco Cabana Inc
74) Texas Road House Restaurants
75) Trolley Bar
76) Uno Chicago Grill
77) Wendy's
78) Wendy's
79) Willies Cozy Nook
80) Yokohama Japanese Restaurant
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
The OB on Dupont closed in early July 2009. Per their sign on the door, the economy finally nailed them. Since Ft. Wayne is short of even marginal craft beer places the closing is very disappointing as the OB served a few good taps (Dogfish 90, 3-4 Bells). Come on, FWA, let's get on the craft beer train!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Fort Wayne, IN
(07/23/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Good Great Good
They did indeed stop brewing beer. I visited at the end of July. However, I should note that they now have a pretty good selection of regional microbrews on tap, so should qualify as a "beer bar." Food is good... among the best you'll find in Ft. Wayne. It's a regular stop for me when I visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Todd McComb Todd McComb, Mountain View, CA
(08/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Was told over the phone by a member of the staff that the brewery has ceased operations and the equipment is up for sale.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Zamites Rob Zamites, Chesterton, IN
(05/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
I got the sampler and really wasn't all that impressed with what I got. The stout was on the watery side and the IPA was a little too tame for my tastes (it's more of an English IPA not the West Coast variety). The food for our party wasn't really all that good. I wouldn't go out of my way to go back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Paynter Eric Paynter, Richmond, OTHER
(02/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good
They weren't serving food on a Sunday afternoon (it looks like they start at 5), so I just had a couple of beers at the bar. The Amber Ale was average, but the Dopplebock was very good. The bartender was attentive, but the atmosphere seemed forced. As a native New Englander, the decor was a far cry from a genuine seafood stop - sort of like plastic wood trim in a car. Anyway, aside from my ranting, it's a good stop, and I'll look forward to eating there soon; the menu looked attractive.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Stimmel Bill Stimmel, Waterville, OH
(12/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I think the service is a really big part of the Oyster Bar. The people are very nice and took good care of me.....i'm definatly eating there again!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jessica Jessica, Fort Wayne, IN
(12/03/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
Great beer, great food, you'll leave satisfied! NO COMPLAINTS HERE!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lynn Lynn, Roanok, IN
(12/03/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good So So Good
The new brewmaster has really got something going here... I notice a MAJOR improvement over my previous visit a year ago. The Dunkles is AMAZING

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Marker Bob Marker, Grand Rapids, MI
(11/08/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bart Fellin Bart Fellin, Flemington, NJ
(08/19/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Great Good Good
The beers here were average. The best out of the sampler had to be the stout. The IPA was a bit weak on the hops, for my tastes. The food was very good. This is more of an upscale brewpub, however they didn't seem to mind people in shorts and T-shirts.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Adkins Kevin Adkins, Redford, MI
(05/06/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Good Great
I enjoyed this place a ton. Great food! The menu is mostly seafood and steaks, so it isn't inexpensive, but there were sandwiches available too. Loved the patio seating (it was a rare warm sping night). There were both non smoking and smoking bars which I thought was a nice touch. Nice beer selection with styles ranging from Kolsch ale through Stout. This brewpub is also making some great lager beer. No one was in jeans and t-shirts while I was there, but I didn't get the impression that I would be out of place if I were wearing them.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Fort Wayne, IN
(04/29/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Something must have changed since the first review. I didn't feel at all out of place in my jeans and t-shirt, the service was fine, the beer wasn't bad, and the prices weren't that high - oysters and fine seafood are their specialty so you can't expect to leave with a $6.95 food tab. None of the beers were bad, but a couple did lack character. As note by the last reviewer, the raspberry wheat was just about perfect. The stout, which was a sweet version, was excellent. The seasonal pumpkin ale was also very good. I had a chance to talk to the brewer, who proved to be knowledgeable, friendly, and honest - admitting that he was better at certain styles than others. The beer selection showed that he was willing to try many different styles. I will go back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ct ct, Elgin, IL
(12/10/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Lousy Good
I'll say the help was horrible, mainly due to the waiter calling Barley wine " Brandy wine". The Rasberry Wheat was dead on. However the IPA was lacking hop character . I think the previous poster may have been looking for something a little less "homebrew" tasting. P.s. try the ale bread

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eddie Eddie, Auburn, IN
(07/23/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Good Lousy So So
The Oyster Bar proves that just because a place is packed with patrons at all times doesn't mean that the beer is good! This is not a T-shirt and jeans brewpub; I was the most underdressed person there, and the staff seemed to not acknowledge my presence (and they didn't know anything about the beer!) Nothing on the menu for under $10; you'd think they'd have enough money to brew decent beer. But alas- of the eight beers offered, I could barely tell the difference between five of them. Very weak and bland, they are geared for macrobrew drinkers who want to feel like they're drinking something special. If your nose is stuck in the air and you don't care what you drink, come here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jason P. Rich Jason P. Rich, Bloomington, IN
(02/07/2001)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.214 seconds) 09:57:20 54.161.214.221, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS