PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Burgh's Pizza and Wing Pub - Bridgeville, PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
April 20, 2014 @ 04:31 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Bridgeville > Burgh's Pizza and Wing Pub
Burgh's Pizza and Wing Pub Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Beer Bar
Burgh's Pizza and Wing Pub
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 83.6 / 100
533 Washington Avenue
Bridgeville, PA 15017
United States
(412) 257-8767
Listed Since: June 2001
Last Updated: June 2009
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Bridgeville, PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
14 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(8 within 5 miles)
1) Pittsburgh Bottleshop Cafe
(0 mile)

2) Paddys' Pour House
(5 miles)

3) Ciao!
(5 miles)

4) Sapphire's Lounge
(5 miles)

5) Bella Piatto
(5 miles)

6) Wright's Seafood Inn
(5 miles)

7) McGrogans's Tap Room
(5 miles)

8) Sharp Edge Brasserie
(5 miles)

nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) COMFORT INN BRIDGEVILLE
2) EXTENDEDSTAY CARNEGIE
3) HGI PITTSBURGH SOUTHPOINTE
4) KNIGHTS INN BRIDGEVILLE PA
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Boyce Station
2) Carnegie, Andrew, Free Library
3) Erie Trust Company Building
4) Neville House
5) Oakdale Public School
6) Walker-Ewing Log House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Abicristo Pizzeria
2) Angelia's Pizza
3) Any Thyme Gourmet
4) Armstrong's Express
5) Bee'z Pizza & Pasta
6) Bob Evans Farms Restaurant
7) Boots Texas Roadhouse
8) Bruster's Old Fashioned Ice
9) Burger King
10) Burgh's Pizza & Wing Pub
11) Chuck E Cheese's
12) Cici's Pizza
13) Classic Chinese Cuisine
14) Country Style Pizza
15) Dairy Delite
16) Fairview Sunset Room
17) GAC King Buffet
18) Good Wood Grill
19) Grey Stallion Inn
20) Icee USA
21) King's Family Restaurant
22) Massetti Co
23) Mc Donald's
24) Metro Media Restaurants
25) Moon Chinese Buffet
26) New Dragon Express
27) New York Pizzeria
28) P J's Deli & Catering
29) Pepe's Fairview Inn
30) Pittsburgh Ice Cream Co & Deli
31) Rag Top Bar & Grill
32) Railroad Street Cafe
33) Raya's Pizzeria
34) Renaissance Deli Provision
35) Rotelli Pizza & Pasta
36) Rythm House Cafe
37) Senor Frogs Restaurant
38) Serafina's Pizza
39) Starbucks
40) Station Sandwich Shop
41) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
42) Taco Bell
43) Tambellini Bridgeville Rstrnt
44) Village Inn
45) Wheel Bar & Lounge
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! So So Great
I've been visiting Burgh's for about to 10 years so I'll try to be as comprehensible as possible! The beer is off the hook! They keep adding more and more. It's good, too. Unfortunately as others have stated, the entire waitstaff is not up on what's on tap. I think you have to catch one of the brothers that owns the joint if you want a free sample of a new draught. I had a waitress give me a look of stupor and disbelief when I described a new beer that I knew they had. Instead of just finding out what it was, she forced me to pick something else. Food, food, food. Lots and good. Classic Pizza will kick your ass. It's my pick for best overall pizza in the Pittsburgh area. The wings are great too, though there has been times when they were overcooked and dry. One thing I must mention is the annoyance of certain members of the kitchen crew. I'm sure they are responsible for the deliciousness of my dinner, but can they just stay in the kitchen? Every time I'm there, this guy that looks like Leatherface from the Texas Chainsaw Massacre saunters out of the kitchen, gets a drink, talks to waitresses and saunters back. It happens 20 times a night! Now for the Service/waiting area. Service is most of the time a debacle. It takes too long, your beers are forgotten and the attitudes just aren't always pleasant. I don't know if its the tight layout of the tables or the lack of a paging system but it's a mess! The waiting area at Burgh's is a 3'x3' square which slams you right up against the front door. There is also a weird clothes changing divider on the left to add to the pre-dinner claustrophobia. PREPARE TO WAIT AT LEAST 1 HOUR unless it is 10 degrees below zero in January or Zombies have eliminated most of the Earth's population. The parking here is also an atrocity. There are 20 spaces to park and 18 of those require a permit. Way to go, Bridgeville. Anyway, you may think "why should I go to Burgh's with all the negative publicity?" Well, sometimes great food and great beer are worth a little bit of sacrifice!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Brew City, PA
(06/22/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Great Great
i've been to burgh's pizza & wing pub many times for their salad and vege pizza, always fresh and consistent. last night's beer specials were the draft penn pilsner and bottled dogfish head apricot beer. the waitstaff is friendly and attentive always, despite the crowd. they serve good food later than most places in the area.

burgh's supports the montour trail every year and displays the oversized checks of donation on their walls.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from amanda amanda, pittsburgh, PA
(04/27/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! So So Awesome!
Excellent draft beer selection, inlcuding Kastell and karmeleit Tripel, and Cherish Rasberry which I have not seen before on tap. Had more common belgiums as well: Hoegarden, stella artois, and leffe. They claim 28 beers on tap but this includes michelob, michelob ultra, bud, bud light etc. The thin deck pizza was one of the best I have ever eaten.

The service was OK, but the beer knowledge of the waitstaff was abysmal. The board listed a victory and a stoudt's; the waitress didn't know which beer from that line was available. We finally figured out that the stoudt's was their scarlet lady. I asked what style of beer this was, and the answer came "I'm not sure. I like Bud. I bet it's a pale ale...we get lots of pale ales". No offer to taste a sample or any desire to find more information.

It's just disappointing becuase you want places to "be all they can be". I'd still go back. It's hard to top of the combination of belgiums and fine pizza there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Romano Michael Romano, Morgantown, WV
(11/28/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
Burgh's sure has grown better and more popular since I last reviewed back in 2001. I will give you more info in this review.

Burgh's is in a psuedo main street block but itself occupies a big portion of the first floor of a newer looking mixed use office building. Public parking for about 200 cars is directly across the side street. Burgh's is very close to Bridgeville exit on 79 South and sits on Route 50.

The interior of Burgh's is made up of four seperate areas - the main large area - 1980's feeling high ceiling child friendly area. The second area is on your way to the bar and is a service area with beer coolers and some straggling seats. The bar is the most interesting area and is visually more pleasant. Lower ceilings, worn in wood floors - tons of TV's everywhere with 2-3 different sports shows on. Comfy booths along the perimeter in places. Bar seating on stools around the bar which takes 75% of the bar area up. Fresh popcorn free for taking out of the popper, dart board game.

The fourth room is the new tapas bar- which I haven't been into - so I can't comment.

Since Burgh's isn't far from my home - I have tried stopping 4-5 times in the past 6 months. Everytime the public parking lot was over capacity and you could see easily that Burgh's was filled to capacity. Good for them, bad for me.

So we finally found parking and an empty table / booth at Burgh's on a Tuesday night January 16, 2006 at 9 PM. So glad we did because it was one of the best meals we have had in a while.

I ordered a 20 oz Bell's White which was good and as expected. $4.50 - not bad on price as a good half of the beer - micros and imports are cheaper than elsewhere around Pittsburgh.

So we split this house salad with cheese and artichokes which was a huge bowl suitable for 5 people. Delicious mix of salad and veggies. One of the best salads you can find locally. Again, fair if not cheap price on this.

Main course was a Primavera pizza with tomato sauce. Wow, 18 inch pizza if not larger. Hearty dough with some thickness but a good even crispiness. The veggies were all seperately prepared with individual tastes and spices. We left with nearly half of this pizza which is 2-3 lunches for someone portion wise.

$32 + tip for two very satisfied diners.

The food at Burgh's is even better than it was in 2001. The crowd here on a Tuesday was 20 somethings to 60 somethings. Everyone seemed to get along and enjoyed Burgh's.

Highly recommended.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from paris lundis paris lundis, Pittsburgh, PA
(01/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Awesome! Great Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from sheri sheri, bridgeville, PA
(11/10/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great So So Great
Love this place! Go here quite often just because it is a nice place to hang out, grab a bite to eat and get a beer. Love the renovations to the pub area, looks really good & quite contemporary. Need to show the dining room a little love, the spatter paint look went out in the 80's guys. Not really understanding the wine & tappas bar, but hey, whatever, as long as I can still grab a seat at the bar we are all good.

Beer selection is impressive and tremendous head-way has been made to serve it correctly (went in there once and got a Leffe in a pint glass!). Servers do not tend to be real knowledgeable about the beers, but thats ok by me, I already know what I want. Funny anecdote- went there when they had Kwak of draught, ordered it, the server actually said to me "are you sure, that beer is really disgusting?" But regardless, always can get a good beer there.

As far as the food goes, I love it. I have never had a bad meal, portion sizes are generous and the pricing is also in line with the portions. My only complaint is that it can take to the second coming of Christ to get a meal. It is always good, don't get me wrong, but unless you are traveling to Bavaria to get the Super Pretzels that are on their app menu, it shouldn't take 30 minutes to get them. I understand with pizzas it can take awhile, and the Chicago Deep Dish is soooo worth the wait, but 45 minutes is the average lunch/dinner check time, even for salads & wings. As I said, quality here is not the issue, but it would be nice to see the kitchen move just a bit faster. I always see the kitchen crew out in the bar chatting with the other staff, but I just can't help but wonder if they spent less time out front and more time in the back that maybe it would not take as long to get the food. Long story short, don't plan to eat here if you are in a hurry, but if you have the time, give the food a try, it is really yummy.

Great local place with great local feel, close to home. All I can ask for is quicker food check times.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from M Johnson M Johnson, Carnegie, PA
(07/12/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great So So Great
I like the food here. Their pizza is wonderful, and I'm known to chow down an entire plate of nachos (huge!). Great Pittsburgh-style salads, too. The beer selection is great if you are into that, and it is a nice place to take the kids. The only thing it tends to lack in is service. The food really makes up for that!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Elizabeth Elizabeth, Washington, PA
(04/22/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
Stopped in on a Friday afternoon. Although the tap selection is none too shabby, most of the choices here come in bottle form. Which is fine as there was a nice choice of seasonals from which to select.

The pizza was really tasty, but the wings - both hot & mild left something to be desired. The sauce had too much butter in it and consequently, would not stay on the wings. I like butter in my sauce, but more importantly, I like it to stay on the food rather than running through the basket and over the table.

I rate this Good overall as it more of a "stop in if in the neighborhood" place rather than a destination unto itself.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Padgett Michael Padgett, New York, NY
(12/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good So So Great
You need to hire lady's with a personality very rude.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review na, NA
(09/21/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Food is great, just what pizza should taste like. Italian hoagies great too! Everthing great!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Pittsburgh, PA
(07/25/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
i love the 6 cheese pizza it is really the shit !!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from christy christy, upper st clair, PA
(10/01/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Great
It doesn't look like a place that would have a couple of belgium's on draft (along side budlight and coorslight), but thankfully it does.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from G. Michael Yingling G. Michael Yingling, Canonsburg, PA
(06/25/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Great
It doesn't look like a place that would have a couple of belgium's on draft (along side budlight and coorslight), but thankfully it does.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from G. Michael Yingling G. Michael Yingling, Canonsburg, PA
(06/25/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Local eatery and bar. Excellent brew selection on tap and in bottles... They even have Delerium on tap..

Excellent food, several TV's with sports playing, video games and more...

Stop in on the way to/from Southpointe...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paris Lundis Paris Lundis, Pittsburgh, PA
(06/18/2001)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.341 seconds) 16:31:43 54.204.200.90, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS