PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


The Brew Pub was Ramapo Valley Brewery - Suffern, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
November 22, 2014 @ 10:52 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > Suffern > The Brew Pub was Ramapo Valley Brewery
The Brew Pub was Ramapo Valley Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
The Brew Pub was Ramapo Valley Brewery
Overall: Great    Score: 71 / 100
[Closed - 2005]
122 Orange Avenue
Suffern, NY 10901
United States
(845) 369-7827
Listed Since: June 2001
Last Updated: April 2005
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Suffern, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
67 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) COMFORT INN MAHWAH
2) COURTYARD MAHWAH
3) DOUBLETREE HOTEL MAHWAH
4) HOMEWOOD SUITES MAHWAH
5) SHERATON CROSSROADS HOTEL
6) WELLESLEY INN SUFFERN
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Brick Church Complex
2) DeBaun, John A., Mill
3) Dutch Reformed Church at Romopock
4) Hopper-Van Horn House
5) Tuxedo Park Railroad Station
6) US Post Office--Suffern
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Bellavita Italian Rest & Pizza
2) Brew Pub Bar & Grill
3) Chalet At Spook Rock
4) Eagle Superstore
5) Gramercy Restaurant
6) Hong Kong City
7) LA Vera Cucina Restaurant
8) Michael Angelo's Pizza & Pasta
9) Mimosa's International Cuisine
10) Mr Kold Kuts
11) Mulligan's Pub
12) Nicky's Pizza & Heroes Shop
13) Pasquale Pizzeria & Restaurant
14) Pizza Shoppe
15) Ramapo Fish Tale Grill
16) South Airmont Delicatessen
17) Starbucks
18) Suffern Diner Inc
19) Uncle Marty's Pub
20) Wahidy Corp
21) Wendy's
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Sorry about that...the system didn't take my update. Here's the URL:

http://www.ramapovalleybrewery.com/

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Thomas Plummer Thomas Plummer, Nyack, NY
(05/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
The link to the website wasn't working, do you have more information? Thanks so much!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from CBG CBG, boulder, CO
(05/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
While the pub/restaurant "Brew Pub" has indeed closed, the brewery is very much alive & well in nearby Hillburn, and welcomes visitors for tours & tasting. See website above for details...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Thomas Plummer Thomas Plummer, Nyack, NY
(05/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Closed 2/7 because new owner could not get live music license from town. This is the 2nd time this location has closed right after moving the brewing off site.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Leo Leo, foofly, EA
(02/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
Stopped in for the first time after the change over. Decor is a little nicer, brighter. The 'house' beers were ok, not great but I ordered a guest Stella and it was clean, fresh, very nice. I was a little surprised at the low number of different beers offered. Maybe 4 non-macro bottles & 2 or non-macro taps. A friend who goes here often said the selection was much bigger two weeks ago, might be distributor trouble or similar. Food was much nicer, chicken wings large & tasty.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Leo Leo, Randolph, NJ
(01/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I haven't yet been to the new brewpub, formerly known as Ramapo Valley, but I will give the new owners a chance...they have gone out of their way to address the past problem this place had. Geez, if anything I give Chad credit for coming to a website like Pubcrawler and actually speaking to the real beer lovers out there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed Ed, Brick, NJ
(01/10/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
While I have no problem with Chad announcing that the Brew Pub has replaced RVB, I don't like the fact that he rated his place. This site is for people to rate places they've visited and not for owners to praise.

Still, out of fairness, I'll visit it and get here with a review.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Phil Phil, Bronx, NY
(12/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The Brew Pub bar and grill also has a brand new and much more extensive menu. We offer steaks, seafood and pasta as well as plenty of appetizers with the beer drinker in mind. Our web site is still very much under construction which would explain the stock photography and spelling errors, the site should be complete by the end of the month. Please if you have any comments or suggestions post them here or call our new number 845-357-3942.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from chad chad, suffern, NY
(12/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Hello, Im one of the new owners of the Brewpub Bar and Grill. Im well aware of the many problems Ramapo Valley had as far as cleanliness and consistency. My partner and I have and are continuing to fix these problems as fast as possible .Although the brewery has been moved doen the road we are carrying a minimum of 8 beers from Ramapo Valley and are in the process of adding 10 more microwbrews to our menu.Brooklyn brewery, hyde park brewery and dogfish are a few we are already in the process of recieving.Please if you are in the area give us a chance and ask for Cliff or Chad we are happy to get your comments and suggestions, thank you

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from chad chad, suffern, NY
(12/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Lousy N/A Great So So
It's a hard time to rate this place as the brewing side of the business is moving offsite and the new bar owners are trying to revamp. They had 5 or 6 house beers for sale in bottles but only Skullcrusher strong ale on tap. It was very good, boozy and well balanced. It didn't crush the skull, exactly, but it wore down the corners. The place is a dank cave with a small club venue on one side and a bar on the other. The three fireplaces only add to the bear den feel. Nice, scenic bartender and good strong ale made it worth the trip.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Roach Roach, Plano, TX
(11/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Location is now "The Brew Pub". 21 taps/30 bottles apparently 4 are brewed. Hope the location is better than new website http://www.brewpubbarandgrill.com which has dozens of spelling mistakes, photos that have no relevance and screwed up menus. If it was done by a 12 year old then it's pretty good, duh. I would be scared to go out of my way to go here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from SC SC, Carlstadt, NJ
(11/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A Lousy
I checked the web site and they said that It was a family oriented place and even had a kids meal. When we showed up with my wife and kids for dinner at 5 PM on Saturday, we were met with a Heavy Metal Band and tons of drunk and rowdy patrons. We went 20 miles to be disapointed, embarassed and really pissed off. The owner clearly has no idea on how to run a brew pub that serves food. You are supposed to put the entertainment on AFTER DINNER you idiot! I look forward to hearing his reply.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John J John J, Piermont, NY
(08/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A Lousy
I was hoping to stop in today, but thte big Budweiser posters hanging in the brewery windows scared me off. I guess this place doesn't have much faith in their own product if they sell Bud.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed Ed, Kingston, NY
(07/31/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Tim, sorry to disappoint. We're open seven days a week from noon to after midnight. There are folks here on the weekends and your call simply fell through the cracks, but we're pretty informal and dinner reservations are generally not an issue, which makes full time monitoring of the phone less important. Anyhow, I know it's a bit of a haul for you, but I hope you're able to swing by in the near future. Cheers!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Calen John Calen, Poughkeepsie, NY
(06/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
It would be nice if someone answered the phone on a Saturday afternoon and/or had a recording saying what time they were open. They can't be bothered telling you on their web site either. But looking at the bands and the times they play, I see what crowd they must want to attract. I was pining for one of John Calen's fresh-made ales yesterday and forgot to bring the map. Oh well.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Timothy J. O'Connor Timothy J. O'Connor, Troy, NY
(06/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So So So Good So So
Their website claims to have "award winning" beers? How many years ago did this happen? The beers are terrible!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from donovan donovan, yonkers, NY
(04/04/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So So So Good So So
Mediocre at best.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from karen karen, New York, NY
(03/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
pulled pork and sweet potato fries,mmmmmm.It goes great with any of there awsome beers

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from vinny vinny, blauvelt, NY
(02/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Great
Just "Good" beer but worth a stop if in the area

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo. Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(01/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
Wow! I stopped by for lunch while in the area (after several month hiatus) and was very impressed with both the selection and quality of the beers, ales. I was particularly pleased with their Scotch ale and took a growler home. I will definitely be back whenever I can get here!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geoff Geoff, Morris Plains, NJ
(12/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So So So Great
Beer was pretty good, especially compared with the last few months Neill was brewing here. The IPA is outstanding and the Dry Stout excellent. The Demon Fuel is also a favorite. Food still stinks, very limited menu. If you want something other than buffalo wings or burgers, eat elsewhere & come here to drink.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James James, Riverdale, NJ
(11/25/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
There are no new owners. And except for the new cook, nothing here has changed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Bronx, NY
(11/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!
This place ROCKS! I don't know what you people are talking about....I was there last night and the beer was terrific! I am a long time homebrewer and I thought the "smoke" beer was AWESOME! As for the music, I was talking to one of the NEW owners and apparently they are in the process of really turning this place around! Keep this place in mind because its gonna be awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Saddle River, NJ
(10/24/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So N/A N/A N/A N/A
Sad to say the quality of the beers have gone WAY down since Neill has left. If anyone at RVB reads this, heed: you are screwed! Your new brewer is amateur at best (Gentleman Jim's in Poukeepsie was always so-so). Seriously, why bother even re-opening the place if only to serve sub-par beer? All hail the memory of RUFFIAN!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from A concerned man for good suburban New York beer A concerned man for good suburban New York beer, Westchester, NY
(09/04/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy So So So So So So
I've lost all hope for this place. No matter how good your beer is, nobody wants to walk into a bathroom with pee all over the floor and fruit flies buzzing around. Most of the bands that now play there, which is what they use to try to attract people, are low grade amateurs at best, with a few exceptions. And by the way, the beer is an insult to anyone with any taste. Bland, bitter and warm are not supposed to be flavors, but that's all that comes to mind here. Bottled beer is the only way to go here. The place now attracts alot of bikers, boozers and druggies. No bar stays around for long with that as your main customer base. All the decent folks who don't mind drinking guest beers and want a nice place to hang with decent people should go up the road to Ireland's.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Suffern, NY
(07/31/2003)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.953 seconds) 22:52:40 184.73.104.82, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS