PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Swashbuckler Brewing Company Limited - Manheim, PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
August 21, 2014 @ 05:10 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Manheim > Swashbuckler Brewing Company Limited
Swashbuckler Brewing Company Limited Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Swashbuckler Brewing Company Limited
Overall: Great    Score: 74.3 / 100
83 Mansion House Road
Manheim, PA 17545
United States
(717) 664-3930
Listed Since: June 2001
Last Updated: December 2003
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Manheim, PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Swashbuckler Brewing Company Limited
8 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(2 within 5 miles)
1) Summy House Restaurant (Prussian Street Brewing)
(0 mile)

2) JoBoy's Brewpub
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Dutch Pride Guest House & B&B
2) Dutch Pride Guesthouse
3) Inn At MT Hope
4) Manheim Manor
5) Old Square Inn
6) Rose Manor English B & B
7) Trolley Track Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) COUNTRY INN SUITES MANHEIM
2) HAMPTON INN MANHEIM
3) OLDE SQUARE INN
4) RODEWAY INN PENNS WOODS
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Brown's, George, Sons Cotton and Woolen Mill
2) Kaufman's Distillery Covered Bridge
3) Shearer's Covered Bridge
4) Shenk's Mill Covered Bridge
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Blimpie Subs & Salads
2) Blimpie Subs & Salads
3) Caribbean Inn
4) Cheers
5) China One
6) Dutch Kountry Kitchen
7) Ela's New York Deli
8) Enck's Custom Catering
9) Graziano's Pizzeria & Grill
10) Kreider Farms Dairy Stores
11) Metzler's Home Style Foods
12) Miller J Harlan Chick Barbcue
13) Mudpies Cafe & Emporium
14) Papa Dino's
15) Raub's Sub Shop
16) Rettew's Catering Svc
17) SHB Restaurant Corp
18) Stefanos Pizza
19) Swashbuckler Brewing Co
20) Two Cousins
21) Wanda's Chicken Bar-B-Q
22) Wilson's Roast-Rotisserie Pig
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good So So
We were VERY disappointed with our visit to the Swashbuckler Pub. To pay $5.50 for a glass of beer is outrageous.

We feel it is a big tourist trap and feel sorry for the tourists. We remember the old days at Mt Hope. How charming then!

We are locals and will NOT return!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mary Phillips Mary Phillips, Lebanon, PA
(12/05/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A Good
Got to try some Swashbuckler beer at their inaugural beer fest and at the Stoudt's fest recently. Most of the beers were pretty average, but clean and drinkable. Of the lot, I liked the barrel aged porter the best. Some nice flavors rolling around in that brew made it a pleasure to taste.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(07/03/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So N/A N/A N/A
Nick, did they have the Pyrate cider on tap? I got some at John J. Jeffries at the Lancaster Arts Hotel a couple weeks back. Very Tasty.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beer Island Beer Island, Lancaster, PA
(11/11/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
well the prices went up again but the beer was very high quality. wish this place would brew year round!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beertrekker Beertrekker, Ellicott City, MD
(10/28/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Great
Considering that they are the only beer served at the Renaissance Faire, so they have a built-in audience, the beer selection is more than adequate, and the qualit isn't bad either (also the raindrops that managed to find their way in my cup as I wandered might have hindered that a bit.)

Service was immediate, especially considering how crowded the bar was with people trying to get out of the rain. The atmosphere was great, particularly when the Bulley Boys dropped by to sing for a while. Do yourself a favor and buy some kind of drinking vessel from the pub store. If you plan on staying at the Faire for any length of time, the refill prices make it worthwhile.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Collingswood, NJ
(08/21/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So N/A Great Great
Way too expensive for a pint of beer no matter what the quality but hey your drinking at a renn fest where even a soda cost @$3. Loved the beer and the free samples at the winery made up for the beer prices. Will go again this year for sure.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beertrekker Beertrekker, Ellicott City(Baltimore), MD
(08/15/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
I'm glad I finally got a chance to get in here for an extended session. Due to a knee injury, I wasn't up for a lot of walking and shopping, more like sitting and sipping. I had a nice chat with Tom who was holding forth in the works. I was impressed with the size of the operation. On Labor Day, they were pouring IPA, Stout, Amber, Red, and Lager. I was impressed with the lager and the stout was a mouthful. The IPA was hoppy and full bodied. Swashbuckler has definitely upped the ante since the Summy House days. Some folks may think $4.75 is a little stiff for less that a pint (plastic cup) but it's in line with the overall environment. Check it out.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beer Island Beer Island, Lancaster, PA
(09/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A Great
Well, this is kind of fun. This is my 350th "review" (I'll admit that some of them were less review-like than others), the first Pubcrawler to hit that mark, and I get to do it on a brewery that has no reviews yet. Cool. KEEP REVIEWING, EVERYONE!! And please do your best to really give people something more than just dots on the ratings and "Nice place." Doesn't have to be long-winded, but let us know WHY you liked it or didn't. Helps everyone.

Anyway... Swashbuckler is on the grounds of the PA Renaissance Faire, which is actually on the grounds of the Mt. Hope Winery. They make only four beers -- Golden Ale, Golden Lager, Red Skies Amber, and Old Peg Leg Stout -- and they only sell them on draft at the Faire grounds. But they do sell a LOT of beer in only 15 weeks, enough to keep them in business. Right now the Faire's opening for the first day of the season, and they were brewing frantically yesterday to be ready for the rush. The beers are okay, no flaws, but the only really outstanding one is the stout. They know that, and they're brewing to their audience: thousands of thirsty folks who didn't come for the beer; they came for the jousting and the wenches and the fun. The setting is unmatched for a brewpub, far as I know, a sprawling recreation of a medieval fair (or a cleverly crafted money sieve, depends on your perspective!). It's a lot of fun, the family went two years ago. There are three places in the fair where you can get Swashbuckler, and Mt. Hope wines by the glass. "Live free, eat well, and drink fine ale!" Indeed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Philadelphia, PA
(08/13/2004)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.207 seconds) 17:10:43 54.237.18.51, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS