PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Rosie's Brewpub - Leadville, CO
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 22, 2014 @ 10:27 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > CO > Leadville > Rosie's Brewpub
Rosie's Brewpub Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Rosie's Brewpub
Overall: Great    Score: 77 / 100
115 East 7th Street
Leadville, CO 80461
United States
(719) 486-2349
Listed Since: June 2001
Last Updated: August 2006
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Leadville, CO
Beer Guide for Colorado

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Rosie's Brewpub
28 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun 11:00AM - 10:00PM
Mon 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Tue 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Wed 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Thu 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Fri 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Sat 11:00AM - 11:00PM

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Apple Blossom Inn
2) Ice Palace Inn Bed & Breakfast
3) Leadville Country Inn
4) Peri & Ed's Mountain Hide Away
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) DELAWARE HOTEL
2) SUPER 8 LEADVILLE CO
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Dexter Cabin
2) Healy House
3) Leadville National Fish Hatchery
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Cloud City Coffee House
2) Greatful Hut
3) Groggy Bottoms
4) High Mountain Pies
5) Manhattan Bar
6) Manuelita's Restaurant
7) Pastime Bar
8) Provin Grounds Coffee & Bakery
9) Scarlet Inn
10) Silver Dollar Saloon
11) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
12) Tenneessee Pass Cafe
13) Zichittella's Italian Rstrnt
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
The brewery is now closed for business as of September 11, 2009

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jon Jon, Lawrence , KS
(09/11/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
My wife and I visited Rosie's 1/10/08 and 1/12/08. We loved the Brewpub! We especially enjoyed the staff who were kind, personable, and just plain good people. Their service was excellent. They ran around quite a bit for us, changing big screen channels and finding the correct size t-shirt for me. The food was really great. Leadville doesn't have the number of restaurants a larger city would have, but Rosie's is great! Of course the main attraction for a brewpub is the beer, and Rosie's didn't dissapoint. I especially liked their Irish ale and enjoyed their amber and pale ales. I highly recommend Rosie's Brewpub!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Denver, CO
(01/24/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
The below review is not an accurate or fair one. The error made was just that, an error. It was properly handled by our manager by giving the reviewer credit on the incorrect charge. We here at Rosie's are fair business people. If something is wrong we do correct it immediately. As far as saying the town needs a bulldozer, well were sorry we're not a metropolitan city with all the ammenities, we are a community that is revitalizing. Also writing that we should "fire" one of our employees is out of line. We make the decisions on who we employ, not the customers. Maybe the reviewer was just having a bad day?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gary C. Yonocsko Gary C. Yonocsko, Leadville, CO
(11/07/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy N/A Lousy
waitress rude, she even added on a $10 tip to our final reciept, after we left, and left her a $10 tip for a $46 meal in cash. Lot of nerve, they even admitted it when we called up to check it out after we saw it on our bankstatement online that night! Not only that food average, atmosphere, boring. Town old, decrepit, boring, nothing to do. Drive on through, the scenery is worth it, town needs a bulldozer. I've lived in Colorado all my life, and beleive me, EVERYONE I know from South Park to Winterpark will NOT be visiting you establishment. Fire her!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Denver, CO
(11/04/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
I was in Leadville this past weekend, and stopped at Rosies' brew pub, and found it to be a very down home and friendly atmosphere. I tried the sampler,and found it be extremely tasty. Rosie herself had me try the newest of the microbrews, Honey Apple Brown, which I found to be unique, tasty but not heavy. She also told me of the newest upcoming brew, Chocolate Porter. This brew is being specifically developed to celebrate Rosie and Gary's anniversary of the pub, which I am looking forward to, on my next visit. The food is excellent as is the service. The owners are as friendly as can be and very accommodating. Overall I have to say this is one of the finest establishments that I have had the pleasure to visit. Banjo Bobby

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from bob bob, easton, PA
(11/04/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Stopped by while passing through Leadville. Had the Pale Ale, which was good. The wraps are good, and big enough for two. The fries are great! The space is small and little too homey for my taste.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chriistian Chriistian, philadelphia, PA
(09/22/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A So So So So
I'm both a history buff and a brewpub aficionado, so I enjoyed my stay in Leadville and highly recommend it for others with similar interests. I was delighted to discover a brewpub here. I sampled various brews and settled on slomething they called an Irish ale, which was pretty much a brown ale. Not bed, but not exceptional either. They had an amber that was 11%, but I just had a taste; if I hadn't had to drtive to Denver I probably would have had one; not bad. The menu is starndard brewpub fare, like shepherd's pie, burgers and fish 'n' chips, and is not very imaginative; I ate elsewhere so I could have rainbow trout. Bought a pint glass, which boasts that Rosie's is the higfhest brewery in North America at 10,251 feet; probably so.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robert Buckman Robert Buckman, Lafayette, LA
(08/04/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Great Great Great
We had some decent beer and some excellent burgers at Rosie's. Their salads also had very good dressings, which were all made on site. The service was good - I'd definitely go back again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Julie M. Julie M., Arvada, CO
(06/24/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Lousy Good So So
We dropped in a few days ago on our way through Leadville. The beer was bland and unmemorable. As for the food, we only had a couple of appetizers, and they were truly horrid. I'd only recommend this place for the purpose of drinking a beer above 10,000 ft.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bruce G. Bruce G., Seattle, WA
(10/02/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Visiting relatives in Leadville this past week and found Rosies to be a great place to eat and relax - very nice atmosphere, great service, high quality food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sharon Sharon, Easton, PA
(09/26/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Awesome! Great
I live in Leadville, and just got back from dinner and a few beers at Rosie's. Their beer has improved TREMENDOUSLY during the course of their first year of running the pub. I have to agree with some of the earlier reviews that, a few months ago, the beer was of inconsistent quality. But this weekend I've had 3 of the 5 brews on tap (stout, pale ale, amber ale, and wheat) and all were very good.

The pale ale is crisp, clear, with a light, quaffable taste but it also has a nice hoppy bite and is very refreshing. The amber ale is a bit darker, with a slight carmel taste. The stout had a good roast bite to it complemented by a creamy texture. I didn't have the wheat or the malt liquor, and they are temporarily out of the Scottish ale (one of my favorites).

Brewing, and cooking in general, at 10,000 feet is a challenge. At this elevation, water boils at 194 degrees F, considerably lower than at sea level. Who knows how that might affect the brewing process?

The food is down-right fantastic, recently I've had the ribs, various burgers, salads, fish and chips, etc, and its always top-notch and reasonably priced.

The service is friendly, they get the orders right, and all seem to be knowlegable about the food and the beer.

If you went to Rosie's earlier this year and were not excited about the beer, come back to Leadville and give them another try!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Al Al, Leadville, CO
(08/27/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Good Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Leadville, CO
(08/12/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
I was in a couple of weeks ago, and had sampled the beers in the small taster glasses. They currently have 6 beers on tap. Overall, they all tasted pretty good. The Scottish had some nice roast overtones, but was mellow for the style. The Pale was a bit hoppy which I like, but I thought it could be a bit more spicy, and have a little less flowery taste. They also serve an Amber, Wheat, Stout, and a Malt Liquor. All were quite tasty. I ended up drinking a pint of Malt Liquor which I very much enjoyed with its nice balance of hops, but at over 7% I opted to have the Wheat as my second beverage. The Wheat was also very tasty with the orange that was served with it. I have been in only a couple of times since I live in Denver, and both times the food was great. I think most would find this pub a nice experience while visiting Leadville.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pat Pat, Denver, CO
(06/11/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Awesome! Awesome! Good
Have tried the place twice since they opened. Fantastic food and service. Hopefully they find a brewer that can produce something palatable at 10,000+ feet - the current brews are some of the worse I've ever had. Bummer to have have to drink wine at a brewpub.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill B. Bill B., Leadville, CO
(05/15/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Definately worth visiting!!

Great food and own brewed on the premises. Worth the visit if ever in the High Country of the Colorado Rockies. Highest brewery in North America at 10,250 feet above sea level.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Leadville, CO
(03/14/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Opened it's doors December 31, 2005 as Rosie's Brewpub. Serves 5 of it's own brewed ales. Mt. Massive Malt Liquor, Aggies Amber, RAM Stout, Scottish Ale, and a Pale ale. Also has a great menu selection. If ever in the Colorado Rocky Mountains its worth a visit to this establishment.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Leadville, CO
(03/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Awesome! Awesome! Great
Great food. The beer is another thing. I tried the Scottish brown and stopped there. I wanted to like it but it was terrible; I wouldn't even call it a Scottish Brown. It starts out fine with nice roasted malts but then it hits you - no hops - with a dirty dish water finish... possibly a bad batch? I'll head back for the food and an attempt at the other beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Jim, Leadville, CO
(02/22/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Awesome! Awesome! Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Leadville, CO
(02/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I think its been closed for at least a year now, but someone else does have the building under contract and is going to open up a new brewpub. Name of pub and details to follow as they come available.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Leadville, CO
(11/28/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
uh-oh...drove over independance pass from aspen to revisit the boomtown bp...only to find it closed. this was on a monday, but no hours were posted in the window. the inside does not appear to be abandoned, yet there is a big real estate for sale sign in the window. the phone number listed now belongs to a private residence and some other websites show this place closed...bummer. bottom line, i can neither confirm nor deny the closure of this brewpub, but i would definately not drive all the way to leadville with out some confirmation that they are indeed open.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ric Kempton Ric Kempton, Annapolis, MD
(06/28/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So N/A Good Good
We came for the beer and were greatly disappointed. We tried a sampler of all. The wheat: thin and watery, the Amber: tastless. the Scottish was drinkable but was not really a Scottish in my opinion, more an Amber. The Stout wasn't too bad. It definitely had a good burnt aroma and oatmeal flavor, but again watery and thin. And the Pale Ale; I'm not sure what was going on with that one. Maybe we got a bad batch. It literally tasted like dishwater. I drink a lot of beer and this is the first time I have ever refused to take a second sip.

Go to Boomtown for the food (I assume), not the beer.

The beer

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Derek Menke Derek Menke, Denver, CO
(10/05/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
I made plans to spend a Tuesday night in Leadville on a recent trip, which allowed me to have several beers and a leisurely dinner at Boomtown, rather than a quick pint and perhaps a small bite while passing through town. I had pints of three of Boomtown's six house beers, and a taster of a fourth. The amber ale was not available and I passed on the wheat beer, which others seemed to enjoy. The pale ale was solid and seemingly true to style, the malty Scottish Ale has been a favorite since I first tried it several years ago, and the stout was filled with an appropriate amount of roastiness with hints of coffee and chocolate. I ordered the grilled tuna steak and was well satisfied. Be sure to ask for the made from scratch mashed potatoes. Our server offered me a taster of Boomtown's malt liquor, which at over 7% alcohol is potent at an elevation of greater than 10,000 feet. Don't think Colt 45, but rather something more complex, with the alcohol presence and a hint of fruitiness being the dominating qualilities. This always an enjoyable stop for me.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(09/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
This brewpub is great at exactly what it supposed to be. A small town local where you can enjoy the atmosphere, drink a quality beer and have some great food. To top it off, the people are good at what they do; SERVICE!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Scott, Fullerton, CA
(10/26/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good N/A N/A N/A
I've done formal reviews of most of the brewpubs in eastern Colorado now (on another site), and this is by far the blandest along with Walnut Brewery. Of the six standard brews, only one (the stout) had a noticeable aroma (and even that was mostly burnt grain, a very simple and impotent stout at best), and virtually all were nearly flavorless. Granted, I am a beer snob and critic, but my reviewing companion felt the same. The drive up to Leadville is very nice, but beer geeks need not bother with the beer here. The root beer is pretty good, however.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from EC EC, Denver, CO
(10/21/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
We stopped in one evening after rock climbing near-by. The beer was really tasty. The scottish ale and stout were my two favorites. They also had a potent brew that was 7.1%. They mention on the menu that it will knock your socks off. You also have to remember that you are sitting at an altitude of 10,200 ft above sea level so the average alcohol content brews will also knock your socks off! I would highly recommend stopping by this fine establishment if you are in the area. The food and beer will hit the spot. The town of Leadville is an old mining town which is a nice setting for a brew pub. Enjoy!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rodney Rodney, King, NC
(08/31/2002)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.151 seconds) 10:27:54 54.211.0.191, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS