PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Boscos Squared - Memphis, TN
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 02, 2014 @ 04:56 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > TN > Memphis > Boscos Squared
Boscos Squared Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Boscos Squared
Overall: Great    Score: 78.7 / 100
2120 Madison Avenue
Overton Square
Memphis, TN 38104
United States
(901) 432-2222
Listed Since: July 2001
Last Updated: October 2005
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Memphis, TN
Beer Guide for Tennessee

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Boscos Squared
16 Reviews / 2 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(2 within 5 miles)
1) Flying Saucer
(3 miles)

2) Beale Street Tap Room
(3 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Bed & Breakfast in A Castle
2) King's Cottage Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) AIRPORT INN
2) BAYMONT INN & SUITES AIRPORT
3) BEST WESTERN BENCHMARK HOTEL
4) BEST WESTERN EXECUTIVE INN
5) BRIDGESTREET ESTATES RIVER POIN
6) COMFORT INN AIRPORT GRACELAND
7) COMFORT INN DOWNTOWN
8) COURTYARD MEMPHIS AIRPORT
9) DAYS INN MEMPHIS
10) FRENCH QUARTER SUITES HOTEL
11) HAMPTON INN MEMPHIS MED C
12) HAMPTON INN STES MEMPHIS
13) HOWARD JOHNSON MEMPHIS
14) KNIGHTS INN MEMPHIS AIRPORT TN
15) MADISON HOTEL
16) MARRIOTT DOWNTOWN
17) PEABODY MEMPHIS
18) RAMADA INN MIDTOWN
19) RED ROOF MEMPHIS DOWNTOWN
20) SLEEP INN AT COURT SQUARE
21) SUPER8 MEMP DWNTN GRACELND AR
22) THE CLARION
23) TRAVELODGE GRACELAND
24) WYNDHAM GARDEN DOWNTOWN
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Ashlar Hall
2) Boyce-Gregg House
3) Brister, John Willard, Library
4) Calvary Episcopal Church and Parish House
5) Capt. Harris House
6) Columbian Mutual Tower
7) Crump, E. H., House
8) Elam Homestead
9) Ellis, William C., and Sons Ironworks and Machine Shop
10) Fairview Junior High School
11) First Baptist Church
12) Fowlkes-Boyle House
13) Hunt-Phelan House
14) Lee and Fontaine Houses of the James Lee Memorial
15) Lenox School
16) Libertyland Grand Carousel
17) Martin Memorial Temple CME Church
18) Maxwelton
19) Melrose School
20) Memphis Merchants Exchange
21) Newburger, Joseph, House
22) Patton-Bejach House
23) Peabody Elementary School
24) Peabody Hotel
25) Porter, Dr. D. T., Building
26) Porter--Leath Home
27) Second Presbyterian Church
28) St. Mary's Catholic Church
29) Union Avenue Methodist Episcopal Church, South
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) A Real Place
2) Al's Tasty Burger Inn
3) Allstars Hot Wings
4) Anderton's Restaurant
5) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
6) Arby's
7) Back Yard Burgers
8) Back Yard Burgers
9) Bar-B-Q Shop Restaurant
10) Barksdale Restaurant
11) Bayou Bar & Grill
12) Beauty Shop Bar
13) Best Wings Of Memphis
14) Bhan Thai
15) Big S Grill
16) Blue Monkey Pizza & Potations
17) Bogie's Delicatessen Midtown
18) Boogeys Bistro
19) Bosco's Squared
20) Brother's Bar-B-Que
21) Brushmark Restaurant
22) Buccaneer
23) Burger King
24) Burger King
25) Burger King
26) C K's Coffee Shop
27) C K's Coffee Shop
28) Cafe 1912
29) Cafe De France
30) Cafe Ole'
31) Cafe Palladio
32) Cafe Society
33) Camy's
34) Captain D's Seafood Restaurant
35) Casa Blanca
36) Central BBQ
37) China Doll Chinese Restaurant
38) Church's Chicken
39) Church's Chicken
40) Church's Chicken
41) Church's Chicken
42) Club Unique
43) Coletta's Italian Restaurants
44) Creole Cafe'
45) Crossroads Bar
46) Crumpy's Express
47) Crumpy's Hot Wings
48) Cupboard
49) D O Sushi Restaurant
50) Danver's Llc
51) Delectables Catering
52) Denny's
53) Dino's Grill
54) Dove Nest
55) Dragon China Buffet Restaurant
56) Dyer's Midtown Inc
57) Exline's Best Pizza In Town
58) Exline's Best Pizza In Town
59) Fino's Italian Grocery
60) Fish House
61) Full Moon Club
62) G M Foods Multinational Corp
63) Glass Onion Bar & Grill
64) Golden India
65) Gridiron Restaurant
66) Gridiron Restaurant
67) Harry's Detour
68) Harry's On Teur
69) Hattley's Garage
70) Hattley's Garage
71) Heavenly Hoagie
72) Heavenly's By Don Fine Dining
73) Hi-Tone
74) House Of India
75) Huey's
76) Huey's
77) Huey's Corporate Office
78) IHOP
79) India Palace Inc
80) Indochina Vietnamese & Chinese
81) International House-Pancakes
82) J J's Lounge
83) J-Wag's Lounge
84) Jackson Corned Beef House
85) Jasmine Thai & Vegetarian
86) Java Juice & Jazz
87) Jungle
88) Justine's
89) K C's Cafe
90) Kfc
91) Koto's Restaurant
92) Krystal
93) La Tourelle Restaurant
94) Lamplighter Lounge
95) Le Chardonnay Wine Bar
96) Lenny's Sub Shop
97) Lilly's Dimsum Then Some
98) Little Italy Pizza
99) Lorenz
100) Lunch Box
101) Lupe & Bea Texican Restaurant
102) Madison Ave Hot Wings Deli
103) Madison Country Kitchen
104) Madison Flame
105) Magnolia Room
106) Marena's Restaurant
107) Mc Donald's
108) Mc Donald's
109) Mc Donald's
110) Mc Donald's
111) Mel's Fish Market
112) Melange Restaurant
113) Melos Taverna
114) Memphis Pizza Cafe
115) Metro Nightclub
116) Midtown Fish Market
117) Molly Gonzales' La Casita
118) Mrs Winners Chicken & Biscuits
119) Ms Regina's Les DO Lunch
120) MTV Coffee Video
121) Murphy's
122) Neighborhood Coffee Shop
123) Neil's
124) New Lin's Garden
125) Obadiah's Cafe
126) One More
127) Orange Mound Grill
128) Outback Steakhouse
129) P & H Cafe
130) Palm Court Inc
131) Papa John's Pizza
132) Paulette's
133) Payne's Bar-B-Q
134) Payne's Bar-B-Que
135) Petra
136) Pho Hoa Binh
137) Pho Hoa Binh
138) Pho Pasteur
139) Pie In The Sky
140) Pinkies Restaurant
141) Pirtle's Fried Chicken
142) Pirtle's Fried Chicken
143) Pirtle's Fried Chicken
144) Pizza Hut
145) Popeye's Chicken & Biscuits
146) Poplar Lounge
147) Printer's Alley Bar & Grill
148) Pumping Station
149) Quiznos Sub
150) Raji
151) Rally's Hamburgers Inc
152) Rally's Hamburgers Inc
153) Rockapiggies Bar-B-Que
154) Royal Dragon Cuisine
155) Rudabagas Upstairs
156) Saigon Le
157) Sbarro
158) Sekisui Midtown
159) Shang Hai Restaurant
160) Shoney's Restaurant
161) Shoney's Restaurant
162) Side Street Grill
163) Sonic Drive-In
164) Starbucks
165) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
166) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
167) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
168) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
169) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
170) Taco Bell
171) Taco Bell
172) TCBY
173) Tgi Friday's
174) Tops Bar-B-Q
175) Tops Bar-B-Q
176) Tsunami Restaurant
177) Tucker's Pizzas Wings & Subs
178) Two Way Inn
179) Tyler's Place
180) Vine
181) Wendy's
182) Wendy's
183) Wingdom Hot Wings
184) Wrappery
185) Yosemite Sam's
186) Your Corner Lounge & Rstrnt
187) Yum's
188) Zachary's Catering
189) Zinnie's
190) Zinnie's
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A So So Awesome! Awesome!
I was in town for a few nights so I decided to check Boscos out so I could compare it to the many brewpubs I have visited during my business travel. I have to say, this place is worth a visit while in the Memphis area. I tried their Scottish Ale which was excellent. Scottish Ale is my favorite style of ale and they did not disappoint. They happen to have a Scotch Ale on tap when I visited and that was excellent as well. I tried a sample of their IPA on cash which was excellent considering I am not that big of an IPA fan. It was very smooth and had a hoppy finish.

I ordered the rib eye steak and it was good except it had way too much fat even for a ribeye. The service was excellent and the bartenters knew their beer and provided samples when asked.

Check them out. As a beer geek, this place warrants a visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Johnston Rob Johnston, Walnut Creek, CA
(12/03/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Awesome! Great
Went there with my wife and son for lunch this past Sat. Was impressed with the number of beers on tap (8). I ordered the sampler and I thought all the beers were pretty much on style. I really liked the Scotch ale and the American stout. The IPA was decent and the others were solid. Nothing really unusual, but good. Food was very good and the service was outstanding.

Since its the only brewpub in town, its an easy recommendation. Also, pretty close to the zoo and in a neat area of town.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Paynter Eric Paynter, Richmond, VA
(09/24/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Awesome! Good
I had dinner here twice during a business trip. They were featuring the XXX Pale Ale available both on draught and in a cask. On the second trip the bartender was very knowledgable explaining the differences in temp., taste and carbonation due to the delivery and storage methods. On both trips the dining area was half-full but the bar was packed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Brewer Chris Brewer, Mount Clemens, MI
(02/16/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good
It's the only brewpub in town, so, where else can you go?

The food is good and the beer is decent, but the service is hit or miss. Some members of the waitstaff know nothing at all about beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Nowatney Michael Nowatney, Plano, TX
(09/06/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good So So So So
People describe me as a beer nut. I've been visiting brewpubs and sampling microbrews since 1992. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone. I stopped in for the second time in two years and this has to rate as one of the most unremarkable, mediocre brewpub experiences I've had.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Vince Faggion Vince Faggion, East Lansing, MI
(10/11/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Stopped by for the second time in the last couple of years. This place is as great as ever. All the beers were outstanding, especially the Harvest and Red Lagers, Honey Wheat, and the Krystal.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Cedar Rapids, IA
(05/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This was our last stop on the honeymoon and we definitely saved the best for last. We had so much fun, we stopped in twice. We enjoyed their ESB, sticke and alt. The mug club nights are busy but you get a chance to meet the locals. Also throw your name in for a chance to be cellarman. Its just as much fun to watch as it is to participate in. The bartenders and managers are friendly and fun. The food is wonderful. I dont think there is room for all the things I want to say about this establishment.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Shannon Helling Shannon Helling, Tampa, FL
(02/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
Not just the best in Memphis (and Nashville) but it rates with Pyramid and Red Hook in Seattle.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin LaBerge Kevin LaBerge, Cordova, TN
(06/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
Food a little pricey for a brewpub. Cask IPA very very good- it's too bad that they make such a production out of it, and don't just have it routinely available.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Groveland, MA
(02/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
Brewmaster Chuck Skypeck was an excellent host during my stop into Boscos Squared. His beers are excellent!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Mertie Scott Mertie, Nashville, TN
(01/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Sampled their IPA, which was excellent: very hoppy but nicely balanced. The porter was also excellent, with a good roasty bitterness. Brown ale was very bland. Menu is largely pub-grub but has some better dishes, too; I had a very good steak and my companion enjoyed his pork chops. Caesar salad was so-so.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rick Womer Rick Womer, Philadelphia, PA
(11/05/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Awesome! Good Great
Tennessee might not have many brewpubs, but this one is a gem! Wonderful food, incredible beer. Don't miss it/

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review williamsburg, VA
(09/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
I visited here on 7/25/02 and had the following beers... Boscos Bombay IPA, Midtown Brown, Isle of the Skye Scottish Ale, London Porter, Boscos Flaming Stone Beer, Wild Mannered Mild, Tennessee Cream Ale & Boscos American Style Wheat. I was disappointed that the cask of the day was not tapped but still there was a nice sampling. Watch out for the no Parking Zone behind the building.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from G. L. Averill G. L. Averill, Austin, TX
(08/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Arrived in time for the cask porter. Did not try anything else as it was outstanding. Out of the way location but worth finding.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from steve steve, ogden, UT
(05/26/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Good
Commercial. I didn't find a favorite beer in the batch, but the cask conditioned IPA was a special treat. Didn't like the Hefe Weizen, it was overpowering. Porter was average. Pale was good but nothing special. The others in my party had the food and loved it, though the portions were smaller. Still, I'll return to sample others.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ricochet Ricochet, Jeffersonville, IN
(09/05/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Great
The Cask conditioned ale is the one to seek out. The others are almost as good. A different cask is opened each night at 6 PM. The food menu is varied, but not as carefully prepared as at their Germantown location. Worth visiting if you are in Memphis and want an alternative to drinking expensive, yellow fizzy beer from plastic cups on Beale street.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nigel Wilcox Nigel Wilcox, Vancouver, BC
(07/27/2001)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.263 seconds) 04:56:30 54.82.66.236, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS