PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Half Moon Bay Brewing Company - Princeton-by-the-Sea, CA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
April 20, 2014 @ 11:20 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > CA > Princeton-by-the-Sea > Half Moon Bay Brewing Company
Half Moon Bay Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Half Moon Bay Brewing Company
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 81 / 100
390 Capistrano Avenue
Princeton-by-the-Sea, CA 94019
United States
(650) 728-2739
Listed Since: July 2001
Last Updated: October 2004
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Princeton-by-the-Sea, CA
Beer Guide for California

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Half Moon Bay Brewing Company
20 Reviews / 8 Photos
hours of operation
Sun 11:30AM - 10:00PM
Mon 11:30AM - 10:00PM
Tue 11:30AM - 10:00PM
Wed 11:30AM - 10:00PM
Thu 11:30AM - 10:00PM
Fri 11:30AM - 10:00PM
Sat 11:30AM - 10:00PM

alternatives
(1 within 5 miles)
1) Cameron's Pub, Restaurant and Inn
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
2) Mill Rose Inn
3) Millrose Inn
4) Milrose Inn
5) Old Thyme Inn
6) Pacific Victorian B & B
7) Pillar Point Inn
8) Princess Port Bed & Breakfast
9) San Benito House
10) Zaballa House
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) B W HALF MOON BAY LODGE
2) BEACH HOUSE AT HALF MOON BAY
3) COMFORT INN HALF MOON BAY
4) RAMADA LTD HALF MOON BAY CA
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Johnston, James, House
2) Methodist Episcopal Church at Half Moon Bay
3) Simmons, William Adam, House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 3 Amigos
2) Bangkok House
3) Baskin-Robbins
4) Burger King
5) Caddy's
6) Cafe Capistrano Inc
7) Cafe Salet
8) Caffino
9) Cameron's Restaurant & Inn
10) Casey's Cafe
11) Cetrella
12) Chateau Des Fleurs
13) China Kitchen
14) Diamen Catering
15) Earthy Delights
16) Getaway Wedding
17) Half Moon Bay Brewing Co
18) Half Moon Bay Coffee Co
19) Half Moon Bay Crepe House
20) Half Moon Bay Golf Links
21) Happy Cooker Restaurant
22) Happy Taco
23) House Of Crab Pot & Prime Rib
24) It's Italia Pizzeria
25) It's Italia Pizzeria Ristorant
26) Joe's On The Coast
27) La Di Da
28) M Coffee
29) Main Street Grill
30) Mc Donald's
31) Moonside Bakery & Cafe
32) Navio Restaurant
33) Old Princeton Landing Corp
34) Original Johnny's
35) Pasta Moon
36) Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay
37) Round Table Pizza
38) Sam's Coffee Shop
39) Sample This Fine Catering
40) San Benito House
41) Senior Coco
42) Siam Restaurant
43) Spanishtown Mexican Restaurant
44) Starbucks
45) Straw Hat Pizza
46) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
47) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
48) Sushi Main Street
49) Taqueria La Mexicana
50) Two Fools Cafe & Market
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Half Moon Bay is a trip! Literally. Caltrain from San Francisco to Hillsdale, then SamTrans bus 294 for a spectacular sightseeing tour going from the suburbs to the Pacific while mountain climbing by bus!! Well worth the trip (without having to pay to park at your hotel). I made the trip for a late afternoon lunch of their SPECTACULAR IPA and fresh seafood sampler. I also tried a sample of the Pumpkin Ale. Not at all a fan of anyones pumpkin ales, this one was pretty good; not over flavored or sweet. Nice people, good food and very good beers all come together at Half Moon Bay.

Hop Head Rick

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from rick rick, hackensack, NJ
(09/19/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Good
I stopped in on a Friday afternoon. Since the patio was sparsley occupied, I asked the hostess (as the sign in the door requires), if I could sit outside. She said "yes", and gave me a menu. I took a seat by myself outside. It was cool and breezy, but sunny and the heaters were on. But then: no attention from the wait staff. I waited perhaps 8 minutes, after that, I pulled the plug and went inside to sit at the bar. (I had just gotten done with surfing so wanted to warm up anyway).

Inside the atmosphere was nice, almost cabin-like. I sat at the U-shaped bar and was immediately waited on the by the bartender. I ordered the Amber, some clam chowder, and the Albacore melt. The Mavericks Amber was good beer, but less of an amber style and more on the pale-ale (a.k.a. hoppy)side. Refreshing and tasty nonetheless. The clam chowder was thick and relatively flavorless. Needed it lots of salt and pepper to make it palatable (it certainly wasn't a good match for the Amber). I'd say the clam chowder needed much more claminess.

The Albacore Melt was good, but expensive ($14!!). Needless to say this is one of the ritzy areas South of San Francisco, and their prices reflected it.

After the Amber, I tasted their cask Pale Ale. It was lifeless, don't bother.

I then ordered a pint of their Stout. More like it, but it was a Stout on the order of Guinness Draft, not the Extra or Imperial Stout.

Overall a nice place and worth a return visit, but avoid the chowder!

mark, Ripon, CA

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Lisa Mark Lisa, Ripon, CA
(05/10/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
I went there this past weekend and enjoyed the place even though it took a long time to get there due to traffic from San Mateo. The place was really packed and I had to settle for sitting outside on the large patio due to a long wait inside. It was pretty cool outside but our waiter came, took our order and promptly returned with the beer sampler and my clam chowder. Their were 10 beers on top which is a pretty good selection in my book and even though I only tried 6, they were all pretty good to great. The food we ordered was pretty good as well. Definitely worth checking out if you are in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Johnston Rob Johnston, Walnut Creek, CA
(02/18/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Good Lousy Lousy
This is the worst review I have ever written. In the previous week before this last trip I was in two new brew-pubs and on both occasions the owners came to chat to me and the beer was good. In contrast, both occasions we got seated here (we left once before because of the wait for a table and attitude of the staff) the service was poor and the beer lousy. This time, I complained about the beer, two types. The water apologized and offered to take it off the bill. However, he came back and said the manager had told him to charge me for it and thats the way their beer is - FLAT and stale tasting? The waiter offered to bring the manager over, I said not to bother as I would simply tell him what I told the waiter. So while the food can be fine, the beer is not and the service is slow because they dont have enough staff. Incidentally, they use bussers to serve the food not waiters, they who know nothing abut what they are delivering but cant even speak in English to tell you!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Killey John Killey, Sacramento , CA
(09/09/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
Echoing the sentiments of past reviewers;come for the beer,stay for the atmosphere. This place is always on my hit list when in this neck of the woods. And even with the closure of Hwy.1 at the Devil's Slide calamity, the place is always jamming. Of the eight beers they had on tap (to go along with a full bar), tried a pint each of the Bootleggers Brown Ale(4%), Mavericks Amber Ale(4.8%) and the Extra Stout(5.9%). Had better Browns before and the Stout was good but not great. The Mavericks Amber is their signature beer and it's easy to see why. They even sell 22 oz. bottles to add to your picnic basket. The menu is extensive and a bit on the pricey side but the Mahi Mahi Club Sandwich I had was excellent. Seems like they have a really good staff of employees. As an added bonus to an already great place, they offer live music every evening except Monday.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J. King J. King, Campbell, CA
(06/04/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
The Crab Louie made from local Dungeness crab is huge, and they don't skimp on the crab meat. I asked for a lemon wedge on the side and the waiter brought what amounted to a whole lemon worth of wedges! Prime Rib nothing spectacular but good.

The current offering of Mavericks Scotch Ale on tap is a lovely mellow ale, beautifully dark in color with a sweet taste.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dorrie Dorrie, Montara, CA
(05/09/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
Stopped in on a Tuesday night for beer and supper. Our group started off with the sampler to get a taste of all the beers. Not a bad one in the bunch. I picked the IPA and Stout as my favorites. We sat in the bar area and food and service was good. They had a 3 pc band playing, big screen TV, fireplace, very good beer, and a nice looking waitress - what more can you ask for. I recommend the drive to this place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Daryl VB Daryl VB, Lakeville, MN
(02/19/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!
We come here quite often on Sundays after a walk on the beach with the dog. The only downside is that sometimes you have to wait for a table - but you can have a beer while waiting! Awesome Nachos!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Morten Morten, San Francisco, CA
(02/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
A very nice selection of beer to top off the location and music - Great jazz quartet there on the Tuesday I was there - a real treat.

Standout on the beer front in my mind is the Mavericks Amber Ale - Normally a big fan of IPA, I came back to the Amber for a second glass because it is that good. I think it is their signature beer, or something too.

Food shows promise and clearly above average, though mine wasn't exactly what I had hoped for - but I won't let that dampen my review.

So, if you are on Hwy 1 near SF, drop by for the view and a bit of nosh, but clearly stay for the beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric E. Eric E., St. Paul, MN
(02/10/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The Half Moon Bay Brewing Company has incredible views and very comfortable. This is a welcoming place to go on a wet day and camp out by the fireplace. The beer selection was great and the quality terrific. I have been there at both busy and off-hours and the service has always been friendly and excellent. This is a real brewing company with views, awesome beer and a place to call home on the coast. You have to eat here as well!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chuck Dalldorf Chuck Dalldorf, Sacramento, CA
(01/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Other reviewers have mentioned the oceanfront setting of Half Moon Brewing Company. The pub is truly a comfortable place, with its restaurant seating overlooking the bay, the bar area with its big fireplace, and the outdoor seating complete with comfortable chairs surrounding a couple of large firepits. My sampler came with eight beers: Harbor Light Ale – malty and clean with slight hop presence – seemed like a kolsch. Sandy Beach Blonde – a Bavarian-style unfiltered hefeweizen. Mavericks Amber Ale – very tasty, with Cascade hops. Pillar Point Pale Ale – a bit light on the hops for the style. Princeton-by-the-Sea IPA – a deep gold color with both British and American hops. Bootlegger’s Brown Ale – a true-to-style, malty but not overly complex British brown. ESB – Deep amber color with a good malt, hop balance. Paddle Out Stout – a mildly sweet stout served on nitrogen. If you are there for lunch, try the swordfish taco. Half Moon Bay Brewing is definitely worth a stop.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(05/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeff Baker Jeff Baker, Santa Clara, CA
(03/01/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Warm and Friendly place on the Harbor 5 miles up HWY 1 from Half Moon Bay. Great Sunday afternoon place. Live musis is always good, always a great crowd. 2 gas fire-pits outside, like camping, minus the mess.

Full Bar, great Barf-ood, oops, I mean Bar- Food.Best Bartender between Highway 1 and that big, wet thingy to the west. His name is Glen, I don't know if he has a last name. Actually, I think it's "Thebartender" with the accent on "art". I think it might be a czeck name or sumpin'. Can see world famous Mavericks surf break while standing on the #2 stall in the womens bathroom, providing women don't throw you out before you see it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Kostrzewa Mark Kostrzewa, Montara,, CA
(02/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Good selection of very tasting beers. Pale Ale was a standout for me. Menu is far above normal pub grub.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from dennis dennis, San Diego, CA
(11/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
7 beers on tap. I tried all of them by ordering their sampler tray, then chose a pint of their IPA. Their Maverick ale and IPA were excellent; their stout was slightly smoky, but good. Food also good - okay, somewhat overpriced, but it *is* the SF Bay Area! Great location; lots of seating both inside and outside. I was there on a saturday early afternoon. All types of people there; it was quite busy. I will definitely go there again. For the beer!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brooke Miller Brooke Miller, Los Altos, CA
(07/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review montara, CA
(02/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Voted "Best New Restaurant on the Coast in 2001". Spectacular ocean and harbor views from the patio, ocean view bar and dining room. Outdoor dining. Fresh food, full bar, and excellent micro-brewed beers served in a relaxing, California Coastal atmosphere. "Unofficial watering hole" for some of the world's best big wave surfers, who surf the world-famous Mavericks giant waves, nearby. Music and dancing with an ocean view every Sunday 4PM - 8PM.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review El Granada, CA
(06/03/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
I spent an enjoyable sunday afternoon here. Well worth a visit.

(As yet there is no beer brewed here. They want to brew but this is being held up by planning permision not yet being granted for a brew house. Having said that it has a good selection of beers and is still well worth a visit.)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Phil Child Phil Child, The Netherlands, NL
(05/26/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
One of the best beer lineups I've tasted for a while. The bar gets crowded late weekend afternoons with live music fans, but there are plenty of tables in a huge restaurant space. Nice views of the harbor, too. Worth the drive!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Schar Brian Schar, Menlo Park, CA
(01/29/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great
This is a great place to spend a Summer Afternoon. Sit out on the deck overlooking the ocean and kick back w/ a couple of cold ones. The Hefeweisen is great on a warm day, and the pale and amber were both above average. The food was tasty, but a bit expensive for the pub grub we ordered. Well worth the trip for a short escape from the craziness of the nearby city.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David Johnston David Johnston, San Francisco, CA
(09/07/2001)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.43 seconds) 11:20:29 54.82.122.194, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS