PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Hal and Mal's Restaurant and Brewery - Jackson, MS
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
April 20, 2014 @ 02:05 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MS > Jackson > Hal and Mal's Restaurant and Brewery
Hal and Mal's Restaurant and Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Hal and Mal's Restaurant and Brewery
Overall: Good    Score: 70 / 100
200 South Commerce Street
Jackson, MS 39201
United States
(601) 948-0888
Listed Since: July 2001
Last Updated: August 2001
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Jackson, MS
Beer Guide for Mississippi

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Hal and Mal's Restaurant and Brewery
8 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(2 within 5 miles)
1) Mellow Mushroom
(1 mile)

2) Fenian's Pub
(2 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Fairview Inn Bed & Breakfast
2) Millsaps Buie House B & B
3) Old Capitol Inn
4) Poindexter Park Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN AIRPORT INN
2) CABOT LODGE MILLSAPS
3) COMFORT INN PEARL
4) COUNTRY INN STES JACKSON AIRPT
5) DAYS INN JACKSON COLISEUM
6) DAYS INN SOUTHWEST
7) ECONO LODGE PEARL
8) EDISON WALTHALL HOTEL
9) FAIRFIELD INN JACKSON ARPT PRL
10) JAMESON INN JACKSON AIRPORTPEAR
11) LA QUINTA INNSTES JACKSON AIRPO
12) MARRIOTT JACKSON DOWNTOWN
13) QUALITY INN AND SUITES JACKSO
14) RAMADA SOUTHWEST CONFERENCE
15) RED ROOF JACKSON FAIRGROUNDS
16) RESIDENCE INN JACKSON
17) SLEEP INN AIRPORT JACKSON
18) SUPER 8 JACKSON NORTH MS
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Armour Company Smokehouse and Distribution Plant
2) Ayer Hall
3) Bailey Hill Civil War Earthworks
4) Bellevue Court Apartments
5) Capitol Green
6) Central Fire Station
7) City Hall
8) Edwards Hotel
9) Evers, Medgar, House
10) Fountainhead
11) Galloway--Williams House
12) Green, Garner Wynn, House
13) Hinds County Armory
14) Hinds County Courthouse
15) Houses at 500, 505, 512 and 513 North State Street
16) Manship House
17) Manship House (Boundary Increase)
18) Merrill-Maley House
19) Millsaps-Buie House
20) Mississippi Federation of Women's Clubs
21) Mississippi Governor's Mansion
22) Morris, Joseph Henry, House
23) Naval and Marine Corps Reserve Center
24) New Orleans Great Northern Railroad Passenger Depot
25) North Manor Apartments
26) Oaks, The
27) Old State Capitol
28) Robertson, Smith, Elementary School
29) Sims House
30) Smith Park Architectural District (Boundary Increase)
31) Spengler's Corner
32) Spengler's Corner Historic District
33) Virden-Patton House
34) Warren-Guild-Simmons House
35) Welty, Eudora, House
36) Williams, Alex, House
37) Wilson, Woodrow, Bridge
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 105 Capitol Restaurant & Nght
2) 930 Blues Cafe
3) Al's Deli
4) All Good Lounge
5) Andrew's Hamburger Stand
6) Annie D's A Family Grill
7) Big Apple Inn
8) Birdland Restaurant & Lounge
9) Blackwater Cafe
10) Blimpie Subs & Salads
11) Blue Cafe
12) Bobby & Mary G's White House
13) Bonnie's
14) Broad Street Express
15) Bubba's Bar-B-Q Inc
16) Buckley's
17) Bullock
18) Burger King
19) C S's
20) Centerfold's
21) Chick-Fil-A
22) Chick-Fil-A
23) Chimneyville Bbq Smoke House
24) Christy's
25) Church's Chicken
26) Church's Chicken
27) Clarion Hotel
28) Club City Lights
29) Coffee Roastery
30) Collins Dream Kitchen
31) Cool Beans Coffee Co LLC
32) Country Market Restaurant
33) Cozumel Mexican Restaurant
34) Daily Diner
35) Daniel's Downtown Deli Ii
36) Dennery's
37) Dial & Deliver
38) Dial-A-Waiter
39) Domino's Pizza
40) E & L Barbeque
41) Edison Walthall Hotel
42) El Potrillo Authentic Mexican
43) El Potrillo Mexican Restaurant
44) Elegance Catering Delight
45) Elite Restaurant
46) Estell's Cazbar & Grill
47) Eurest Dining Landmark Ctr
48) Fazoli's
49) Fenian's Pub
50) Fernando's
51) Frank's Restaurant
52) Freelon's Groove
53) Freelon's Restaurant Bar
54) Fryday's Bar
55) G's On The Avenue
56) George Street Grocery
57) George Street Grocery
58) Gli Food Svc
59) Godfrey
60) Green Light Inn
61) Grisham Cafe
62) GSA Cafeteria
63) Hal & Mal's
64) Hero's Deli
65) Hide A Way Lounge
66) Hms Host
67) Homer's Barbeque Store
68) Hooks Fish & Hot Wings
69) Hub Cafe
70) Jack's Tamale House
71) Jazzy's Restaurant & Lounge
72) Keifer's Restaurant
73) Keifer's Restaurant
74) Kfc
75) Kim's Seafood Restaurant
76) Krystal
77) La Cazuela Mexican Grill
78) Lamar Restaurant
79) Lenny's Sub Shop
80) Logan's Roadhouse
81) Los Compadres Mexican Rstrnt
82) Marble Slab Creamery
83) Mardi Gras Restaurant
84) Martin's Restaurant & Lounge
85) Mayflower Cafe
86) Mc Alister's Deli
87) Mc Alister's Select
88) Mc Alisters Deli
89) Mc Allister's Soul Food
90) Mc Donald's
91) Mellow Mushroom
92) Mid-Town & Christy's Rstrnt
93) Miller's Grill Downtown
94) Miller's Grocery
95) Mr Fish
96) Mr George's Sandwich World
97) Ms D's Southern Cuisine
98) Ms T's Eatery
99) Old Town Deli
100) Osaka Japanese Restaurant
101) Palette
102) Palette Restaurant
103) Papa John's Pizza
104) Peaches
105) Popeye's Chicken & Biscuits
106) Popeyes Chicken & Biscuits
107) Primos Cafe
108) Primos Restaurants
109) Que Sera Restaurant
110) Raising Canes
111) Rally's Hamburgers Inc
112) Red Rooster
113) Redwood Inn
114) Rio Grande
115) Rufus Restaurant & Lounge
116) S & M Cafe
117) S & T Restaurant & Lounge
118) Saigon Restaurant
119) Sammi's Deli
120) Santiago's Restaurant & Lounge
121) Saucers Delicatessen
122) Seattle Drip
123) Seven
124) Shoney's Restaurant
125) Soulshine Pizza Factory Rstrnt
126) Southside Grill
127) Steak-Out Charbroiled Delivery
128) Sterling Cafe & Catering
129) Stix Restaurant
130) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
131) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
132) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
133) Suncoast Restaurant LLC
134) Taco Bell
135) Tai Hong Restaurant
136) Thai House Restaurant
137) Thelma's Lounge
138) Tom's Bar-B-Q
139) Two Sister's Kitchen
140) Up The Creek Fish Camp & Grill
141) W C Dons
142) Waffle House
143) Waffle House
144) Wendy's
145) Woods Restaurant
146) Yang's China Buffet Restaurant
147) Zaxby's Chicken Fingers & Buf
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
This is an interesting look at our place and it is quite close to reality. We did, in fact, loose our last brewer over a year ago and we are throwing in the barley. We will be selling off our gear and only serving beers bewed elsewhere. After 5 years of fighting the battles of brewers coming and going, a faulty instalment from the get go, legislation written by the malt beverage lobbying concerns and a general lack of interest in craft brewing in Jackson, Hal & Mal's will join the other 4 brewpubs to open in Mississippi and move on. We are the last of the 4 operators in the state, including 2 casinos (Treasure Bay and The Beau Rivage) on the cost who elected to eliminate the brewing operations upon reopening after Hurricane Katrina and a Hops, who is closed period out on I55. Hal & Mal's will continue into our 22nd year serving good food, live music and a neighborhood gathering place to locals and visitors as well. Thanks for stopping by to check us out. Malcolm White

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Malcolm White Malcolm White, Jackson, MS
(12/26/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
I was very disappointed to learn upon entering that they were not making their own beer. The did however have an excellent pecan (yes with real pecans) from another Miss brewer. It was excellent! I sampled the two other beers from this brewer and was not impressed. They did have some other decent beers on tap. The fried pickles were to die for and the crawfish pasta dish I had for dinner was very good as well. Their saving grace was the excellent waitress and the band, The Rounders. After several Pecan ambers, some VERY good music and good food…. all was forgiven. The waitress explained they had lost their brew master. Hopefully, when I return they will have found a master brewer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Todd Burns Todd Burns, San Marcos, TX
(03/22/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Good So So So So
I traveled to Jackson, MS this past weekend and inquired about my options for brewpubs. I was told Hal and Mal's was probably the only place around that brewed their own and had about seven or so home brews. I went there with high expectations. I asked for a pale ale and was told they had only one brew available and that was the lager light. This was on a Saturday night. I wondered how they kept any customers advertising all these beers and having one when you get there. Reluctantly I tried the light lager. It was horrible. Tasted like apple cider which usually means a batch gone bad. I couldn't believe they even allowed someone to serve that. I asked the waiter what they had in a bottle. He said the usual stuff...bud, coors light,etc. He made no attempt to give me a detailed list of the beers and I could tell he did not even want to try. I finally had to go to the bar and see what they had. The food was not too bad. A little overpriced but tasted good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Hot Springs, AR
(12/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I did not succeed in trying this pub but I am posting a photo from the outside and giving a couple of warnings. First, Hal & Mal's is closed Sundays, and also holidays. It was closed the entire 4th of July long weekend that I visited Jackson. Jackson, despite being a state capitol, seems to be a town that closes and rolls up the sidewalks after banking hours, although the highway strip around the edge of town stays open. At any rate, don't visit Sunday. The reason this pub is hard to find is that it is not on a main street and does not look like a pub or restaurant. It seems to be in a converted warehouse or similar and has no signs other than their name painted on the building wall. The photo should help folks know what to look for.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Stewart Eastman Stewart Eastman, New Orleans, LA
(07/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
This long established restaurant and music venue added a brewery a few years ago. The music theme is emphasized throughout the décor. The men’s room is a tribute to Elvis Presley, and the woman’s room is dedicated to “sweet potato queens” (www.sweetpotatoqueens.com).

When we stopped for lunch as we passed through Jackson, I could not sample any of the six listed house brews due to some problem with the dispensing system. The bottle selection is decent but generally unremarkable. My wife and I ate light, sampling soup, some good salads, and very tasty beer battered mushrooms. We made a return trip through Jackson about a week later and found the house beers available. I sampled four of the six beers offered: a light lager (somewhat sweet and designed for mass appeal), an amber ale (good but not overly complex), a pale ale (nice hops), and the seasonal sweet potato ale (see reference above – actually very tasty). The other two available were an unfiltered version of the pale ale and a stout. Not available but on the printed menu were a pilsner and a Scottish ale that was the favorite of one of the servers we spoke with.

I’m a bit puzzled by the previous review saying that this place was difficult to locate – Hal and Mal’s is easy to find right off of the Pearl Street exit of I-55 – just follow the directions on their website.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(04/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Awesome! Great
I visited this brewpub on 5/31/03. Unfortunately I ate at Hops before coming here. Brews available for my sampling were Halfmoon Light, Pilsner Prospere, Zita Vienna Lager, Pearl River Pale Ale, Munots Scottish Ale, Trophy Buck Stout. This was a hard place to find and the manager was very helpful getting us there. Collector pint glasses are not available. Next time I am in town I will stop by for dinner.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from G. L. Averill G. L. Averill, Austin, TX
(06/10/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Good Good Good Great
If you catch lunch later in the day the crowd is gone and the service is good. But the best thing is after dark! Then it rocks.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kate Kate, Jackson, MS
(07/31/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Lousy So So Lousy

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Jackson, MS
(12/19/2001)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.265 seconds) 14:05:49 23.21.34.188, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS