PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Thunderhead Brewing Company - Kearney, NE
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
April 18, 2014 @ 10:51 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NE > Kearney > Thunderhead Brewing Company
Thunderhead Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery
Thunderhead Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 79.6 / 100
18 East 21st Street
Kearney, NE 68847
United States
(308) 237-1558
Listed Since: August 2001
Last Updated: April 2005
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Kearney, NE
Beer Guide for Nebraska

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Thunderhead Brewing Company
28 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(2 within 5 miles)
1) Platte Valley Brewing Company
(0 mile)

2) Old Chicago
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Park 5th Avenue Bed/Breakfast
2) Woodland Park Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Barnd, John, House
2) Frank, George W., House
3) Hanson-Downing House
4) Kearney Junior High School
5) Klehm House
6) Saint Luke's Protestant Episcopal Church
7) Thomas, Dr. A. O., House
8) U.S. Post Office
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 3
2) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
3) Arby's
4) Casey's Carry Out Pizza
5) Chili-Dippers Sports Cafe
6) Chug A Lug Bar & Grill
7) Coop Properties
8) Copperfield's
9) Dad's Tavern
10) Dairy Queen
11) Eagles Lounge
12) Fast Eddy's
13) Gillie's
14) Jimmy John's
15) King's Buffet
16) Loft
17) Lumberg's
18) Nick's Gyros
19) Palm Garden Lounge
20) Pane Bello
21) Papa John's Pizza
22) Party Pros
23) Pizza Hut
24) Platte Valley Brewery
25) Play Pen Lounge
26) Restaurant Concepts
27) Runza
28) Runza
29) San Pedro Mexican Restaurant
30) Sax's Pizza
31) Shooters
32) Skeeter Barnes
33) Sonic Drive-In
34) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
35) Take Out Express
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Lousy So So
We went on a Tuesday night, only 1 waitress working. Do they not know about customer service in Nebraska? Had a long wait to get drinks and order. We sat upstairs by the kitchen. Ordered a salad,saw it sitting at the kitchen bar waited 10 minutes and went and picked it up myself. Same thing with the food, I finally went down stairs to the bar and got another beer. Had the blackberry wheat 9/10 and the IPA 9/10. The beer and food were great but the service was the worst. Just be sure to sit at the bar.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from GT GT, KC, MO
(08/09/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Lousy So So
The overall rating is just a so so because of the service. The beer is truly great. The beer selection is truly good...but the service is lousy which keeps us away. Sitting in the dining area we continually have to ask for more beer and we're lucky to get the food we've ordered. The moral of the story, sit at the bar where the bartender can pay direct attention to you or don't go at all.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Falliaux Dan Falliaux, Hildreth , NE
(11/17/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Lousy Lousy Lousy
awful service. our tabs had to be sent back three times. food was cold and very skimped on sandwich fillings and calzone fillings. after an awful night with no apologies and no compensation. yikes.

maybe this was a unique experience, and i've given it 2nd and 3rd chances.

3 out 3 = awful

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review kearney, NE
(02/18/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great
Very good beer. I tried an amber that was very pleasant, a great IPA and though I am not a big fan of honey wheats, I tasted theirs and it was very good. I didn't try the food so no comment, but the beer was definately worth another visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patty Patty, Lilburn, GA
(06/01/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Possibly one of the best brewpubs I have been to in the past year. The beers are excellent and if you have a taste for good IPA's, the Ceremony Tatanka IPA is excellent.

I spoke with the owner (Trevor) and the staff at length and was treated as a long-lost regular. I will definitely make this stop every time I pass through Kearney.

Many thanks to Trevor & the gang. Keep up the great work!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from h gordon h gordon, New Braunfels, TX
(11/10/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Yep, I agree with my son! We did have a great tour and this place was the surprise of the trip! Who'da thunk it - in the middle of Nebraska - a brewpub that you wished would be in your own town? I sure do! Great beer - great service - great food. You've gotta' check out their mug club set-up. I wish I could get this back here in Pennsylvania!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian G. Miller Brian G. Miller, Sarver, PA
(08/18/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
On our annual Beer Barrel/Orange Barrel Tour, we stopped in this place on our way to Omaha. We started with a sampler (Krystalweizen, IPA, Honey Wheat, Amber, and Pale Ale), and all were fantastic. My dad had the Amber, and I chose the IPA. The IPA had a very abundant hop quality both in the nose and in taste. The Amber was nice and refreshing, but had a nice hoppiness that stood out. The food was fantastic, and the service was stellar. Definitely make this a stop when you're in the area. You WILL NOT be disappointed!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Keith Miller Keith Miller, Pittsburgh, PA
(08/02/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo. Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(06/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
Beers come in wheats, ales, stouts. At the time we went, there were 8 in all. Dry Irish Stout was fine, a little thin, but refreshing. The Monty's Pale Ale was fruity and cloudy like fruit. However, the Irish Red Ale was clear and that and the Expresso Stout had good body. We were well pleased to find this place, as the other brewpub around the corner didn't open till 2p.m. Check-out the little bit of history posted on the wall near the restrooms.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Louie Strano Louie Strano, Gabriola, BC
(04/09/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Great
Trevor has a wide selection of great beers, there is a style for anyone here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ronald Phillips Ronald Phillips, Pleasanton, NE
(11/19/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great
The beer was impressive. However, the Espresso Stout tap was temporarily dry (Easter Weekend 05), so I unfortunately missed out on the award winner. Staff was very friendly. I don't frequent Kearney much, but I will make a point to stop by Thunderhead whenever I am in town.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nick Nick, Lincoln, NE
(05/19/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
The beer choices are always something new each time you come in. The food is always great no matter what you have. This is one place to check out anytime you are in Kearney.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Logan Tucker Logan Tucker, Hastings, NE
(02/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
The pale ale is wonderful, tangy! Did you know the brewmaster's coffee stout won a Gold Medal in San Diego at July's American Brew Fest?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sherry Sherry, El Cajon, CA
(01/10/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
This might just be the best brewery in Nebraska. Kearney is lucky to have Trevor and his talented brew masters.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Todd Todd, Kearney, NE
(04/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Try the Strong Porter - it truly is one of their best.

Also, right now they have a strong honey-wheat on tap called "Tiny Tim". Damn, its like drinking wheat "barley" wine. Only serve it 1/3 liter at a time. Very good. Its a "must".

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Hebron, NE
(11/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Had a great cheesesteak sandwich one night along with a couple of Thunderhead's Cream Ales. Great style for a warm night. On the following evening, I made it for the "Beer Gimmick" (free keg until it's gone). It was the Amber Ale. A good solid brew, if a little on the tangy side. Met some great people and smoked a good cigar. I followed up my quart of Amber with a pint of Strong Porter. I highly recommend this beer. Now that UNK is back in town the place gets crowded. Lots of eye candy though, and great company. Sergey the bartender is the best.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Hebron, NE
(09/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Nice place. Got there late on a weeknight. The place was not very busy. There was someone smoking a cigar at the bar which was making it very hard to breath, so we moved upstairs which was closed. Service was great and all of the beers are good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed Weller Ed Weller, Holland, MI
(08/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A Awesome! Great
I visited again and had the Gottberg Pale Ale, which is not a Thunderhead brew. The beer gimmick (free keg on Thursdays) this night was peach wheat, I avoid pie-beers. But the Pale Ale was exceptional and had great hop aroma and flavor.

I was disappointed they were out of Spilker Hopaluia, maybe next time.

Sergey the bartender is a great guy with a good sense of humor. This is definately a MUST on the list of brewpubs to stop by and quaf some ale.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Hebron, NE
(08/04/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
Great beer, just had the "Summer" brew, a lot of lemon flavor, very tasty. I love the Peach Wheat, also. Great food, I agree the prices on the food are a little high. Great atmosphere, great service. Highly recommend Thunderhead Brewing to anyone who enjoys good food and great beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joshua Joshua, Shelton, NE
(06/21/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Awesome! Great
Great place and friendly.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Jeffrey, Omaha, Ne
(05/05/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Right now Thunderhead has a Russian Imperial Stout on tap that is fantastic!! They can't put it into a growler to go, unfortunately, but its one of the best stouts I've ever had!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Hebron, NE
(11/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
Thunderhead is an atmosphere where you can just hang out and talk without being drown out by music or TV sports. The staff is very friendly. While the food is a bit on the high side, the quality is great, as are the portions. The beer is fantastic. Kearney is a college town, and Thunderhead is the kind of place where the professors like to go and unwind, so you can have some great conversations there too.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gary Banner Gary Banner, Kearney, NE
(09/22/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great
The Thunderhead is a must for anyone travelling through Nebraska on I-80. Its gotta be the only Brewpub between Lincoln and ?? Rock Springs WY? Anyway, Thursday nights they have a free beer "gimmick", that is, they tap one of their own kegs and serve it free until its gone. Only problem is, they serve it in plastic cups.

They currently have a great Pilsner on tap (Pub Pilsner), and a superb IPA. There other selections are a wheat beer, and a stout. The pils is great I recommend it to all. THe food selection isn't that great, but I do recommend their "Brewers Burger". The fries served with meals are great also.

Check it out, its in the old downtown part of Kearney and well worth the trip.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Hebron, NE
(08/24/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
really good beer and the selection is great, the food is great especially the thunderballs, also try the burgers, great place to stop on that next trip through nebraska.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from steve steve, hastings, NE
(07/08/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good Good
The beer isn't bad but it's thin. Had better and had much worse. The atmosphere is very comfortable!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rick Beus Rick Beus, Salina, KS
(06/24/2002)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.339 seconds) 10:51:02 54.227.5.234, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS