PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Barley's Taproom - Knoxville, TN
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
April 20, 2014 @ 11:42 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > TN > Knoxville > Barley's Taproom
Barley's Taproom Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Beer Bar
Barley's Taproom
Overall: Great    Score: 77.2 / 100
200 East Jackson Avenue
Knoxville, TN 37915
United States
(423) 521-0092
Listed Since: November 2001
Last Updated: December 2004
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Knoxville, TN
Beer Guide for Tennessee

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
19 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun 12:00PM - 12:00AM
Mon 11:00AM - 03:00AM
Tue 11:00AM - 03:00AM
Wed 11:00AM - 03:00AM
Thu 11:00AM - 03:00AM
Fri 11:00AM - 03:00AM
Sat 11:00AM - 03:00AM

alternatives
(6 within 5 miles)
1) Downtown Grill and Brewery
(1 mile)

2) Preservation Pub
(1 mile)

3) Urban Bar and Corner Cafe
(1 mile)

4) Mellow Mushroom
(2 miles)

5) The Half Barrel
(2 miles)

6) New Knoxville Brewing Company
(2 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Maplehurst Inn
2) Masters Manor Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) COMFORT INN KNOXVILLE TN
2) DAYS INN CAMPUS
3) DAYS INN EAST
4) DAYS INN KNOXVILLE NORTH
5) HOWARD JOHNSON NORTH
6) RADISSON SUMMIT HILL KNOXVILLE
7) RAMADA LIMITED SUITES
8) TRAVELODGE NORTH KNOXVILLE TN
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Bleak House
2) Blount, William, Mansion
3) Burwell Building Tennessee Theater
4) Camp House
5) Cowan, McClung and Company Building
6) Craighead-Jackson House
7) Daniel House
8) Dulin, H. L., House
9) Fire Station No. 5
10) First Baptist Church
11) First Presbyterian Church Cemetery
12) General Building
13) Holston National Bank
14) Jackson Avenue Warehouse District
15) Jackson Avenue Warehouse District Extension
16) Johnson, Andrew, Hotel
17) Knox County Courthouse
18) Knoxville Business College
19) Knoxville Iron Foundry Complex-Nail Factory and Warehouse
20) Knoxville National Cemetery
21) Knoxville Post Office
22) Knoxville YMCA Building
23) Lamar House Hotel
24) Louisville and Nashville Freight Depot
25) Louisville and Nashville Passenger Station
26) Mabry, Joseph Alexander, Jr., House
27) Mall Building
28) Market Square Commercial Historic District
29) McCammon, Samuel, House
30) Mechanics' Bank and Trust Company Building
31) Medical Arts Building
32) Old Knoxville City Hall
33) Old Post Office Building
34) Ossoli Circle Clubhouse
35) Park City Junior High School
36) Park, James, House
37) Peters House
38) Racheff, Ivan, House
39) Savage House and Garden
40) South Market Historic District
41) St. John's Lutheran Church
42) Trinity Methodist Episcopal Church
43) Tyson Junior High School
44) Westwood
45) Wilder, Gen. John T., House
46) Williams, Col. John, House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 195 Degrees
2) 4620
3) A J's Restaurant
4) Abner's Attic
5) Ale Ment
6) Arby's
7) Arby's
8) Arby's
9) Banana Joe's Knoxville
10) Barley's Taproom & Pizzeria
11) Bistro At The Bijou
12) Blue Cats
13) Brews Q
14) Buddy's Bar-B-Q
15) Burger King
16) Burger King
17) Butcher Shop Steakhouse
18) Calhoun's
19) Central Park Usa Inc
20) Chandler's Deli
21) Chef Daves's At Cedar Hills
22) Chesapeake's
23) Chesapeake's
24) Chick-Fil-A
25) Club Corp
26) Comedy Zone
27) Corky's Rib & Bbq CATERING
28) Corky's Ribs & Bbq
29) Country Garden
30) Country Table Restaurant
31) Court-Top Cafe
32) Domino's Pizza
33) Domino's Pizza
34) Doris' Diner
35) Downtown Grill & Brewery
36) East Side Soul Food
37) Fairbanks Roasting Room
38) Fiction
39) Foundry On The Fair Site
40) Frances' Diner
41) Garelli's Deli
42) Garelli's Deli
43) Glenwood Sandwich Shop
44) Gli Food Svc
45) Great Southern Brewing Co
46) Great Wall
47) Gus's Restaurant
48) Hanna's Cafe
49) Hardee's
50) Hardee's
51) Harold's Kosher Style Food Ctr
52) Hibachi Factory Inc
53) Higher Grounds Inc
54) J Scott's
55) Java Old City
56) Jo Ann's Restaurant
57) Jockey Club
58) Junior's Restaurant
59) Kfc
60) Kfc
61) KFC District Office
62) Krystal
63) Krystal
64) L & N Station
65) Lazy J Fish & Chicken Caterers
66) Lema's World's Famous Chttlns
67) Long John Silver's
68) Long John Silver's
69) Lord Lindsey
70) Lucille's
71) Lunch Box
72) Lunch House
73) Mac Leods
74) Macleod's
75) Magnolia Lounge
76) Magnolia Warehouse
77) Manhattan's Bistro & Bar
78) Marcella's Restaurant
79) Mc Donald's
80) Mc Donald's
81) Mc Donald's
82) Melting Pot Restaurant
83) Melting Pot Restaurant
84) Mid-America Corp
85) Mountainview Enterprises Inc
86) Mrs Winner's Chicken & Biscuit
87) Ms D's Restaurant
88) Nama Sushi Bar
89) New China Town Restaurant
90) New City Cafe
91) Off Da Hook Ltd
92) Old City Java
93) Papa John's Cafe
94) Pasta Trio
95) Patrick Sullivan's Saloon
96) Peking Chinese Restaurant
97) Pete's Cafe
98) Pete's Coffee Shop Restaurant
99) Petro's Chili & Chips
100) Philippine Connection Carry
101) Pilot Light
102) Pizza Hut
103) Pizza Palace
104) Preservation Pub
105) Rally's Hamburgers Inc
106) Real Peking Chinese Restaurant
107) Red Iguana
108) Regas Restaurant
109) Regency Caterers By Hyatt
110) Riverside Tavern
111) Round Up Restaurant
112) Ruby Tuesday
113) Sapphire
114) Sassy Ann's
115) Scruggs Real Pit Barbecue
116) Shoney's Restaurant
117) Smoky Mountain Ribs & Bar-B-Q
118) Soup Kitchen
119) Spicy's
120) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
121) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
122) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
123) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
124) Taco Bell
125) Taco Bell
126) Tennessee Business Enterprises
127) Tennessee Grill
128) Tennessee Riverboat Co
129) Texas Roadhouse
130) Tijuana Taco Co
131) Tomato Head
132) Urban Bar & Corner Cafe
133) Wendy's
134) Wendy's
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Good Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Great
Lots of beers on tap, plus bottles. Around 50 or so different beers. $1.50 off draughts on Mondays.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Alan Webster Alan Webster, Knoxville, TN
(04/19/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
If great beer, pizza, and music is your thing; this is your place. They have over 40 microbrews on tap spanning all of the US. Their food is top notch, I recommend their pizzas and calzones the most, but I haven't had a bad meal there yet. If you like jam band, reggae, bluegrass, accoustic music they have plenty of it. It is two stories so if you want to see the music be downstairs while they are playing. If you just want to hear the music AND carry on a conversation then be upstairs. They also have pool tables if that is your thing. The only negative about Barley's is if you are upstairs they don't have all 40 taps available, but I've never not been able to find a tastey beer up there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from carl mcginn carl mcginn, knoxville, TN
(04/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Vince took great care of us! 40+ taps with lots of microbrews. Very comfy place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Shannon Helling Shannon Helling, Tampa, FL
(02/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Full service bar. Live music nightly. Game room with billiards tables. Voted best beer selection in Knoxville every year since opening(six straight years).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ken Stuart Ken Stuart, Knoxville, TN
(12/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
The beer is always good and the selections are fresh, always something new to try. Goods apps and the service gets better everytime i go. And there are two floors lots of landscape to rome if you want to/

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Lenoir City, TN
(12/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This place has gone from good to incredible since a change in ownership two years ago. The best beer selection in town. Great live music.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Knoxville, TN
(12/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Great
There are pubs in Knoxville which offer great beers, good food, or quality entertainment. Barley's is the only one to consistently deliver all three. I am especially fond of their great selection of bottled imports and American microbrews. Being a huge fan of Stone Brewing, Barley's always allows me to enjoy a Ruination IPA or Arrogant Bastard. You will also find some wonderful Belgian trappist ales. If draft beer is more your style, the selection is broad and varied and includes most of the better Southern microbrands. Depending upon who's working behind the bar during your visit, the service and beer knowledge varies from excellent to abysmal. The food menu won't make you forget the beers, but it's more than passable with the pizza taking center stage. The talent mix on-stage is eclectic, interesting, and usually quite good. With Blue Cats located just across the street, Barley's is a great place to begin and end the evening when taking in one of the frequent shows there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Gore Jim Gore, Pigeon Forge, TN
(12/04/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Good Great
This is a great place to enjoy on a night out. Lots of beer, live music downstairs, pool tables upstairs, and a very roomy establishment as well. Sit outside here on a nice summer evening and enjoy a beer and a burger. When you are finished, head upstairs, get a table, and enjoy a few more beers. This is a must stop if you are in the Knoxville area. 'Good times here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Oakhurst, NJ
(07/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Barley's is located in the Old City area of Knoxville, close to the downtown. This establishment covers all the bases of what one would expect to find in a complete, full- service tavern: A great selection of craft beer (about 40 on tap, many of which are very hard to find), great pizza and other grub, pool tables, darts, electronic games, live music, and big screen televisions.

Barley's is divided into two levels, with the upstairs housing the pool tables, dart boards, and a second bar with about 15 taps. The excellent craft beer is discounted by half during happy hour and this discount extends upstairs for an additional hour. So, if the happy hour is about to end on the lower level, never fear- just walk up the steps or take the elevator to the second level and enjoy another hour of cut- rate prices.

The area of town where Barley's is located might appear old and worn out, but don't let this stop you from visiting this fun establishment with its great selection of craft brew. It's one of my favorite places in East Tennessee!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bryan Carey Bryan Carey, Knoxville, TN
(05/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Glen Glen, Maryville, TN
(02/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good So So So So
Need to clean up their attitude and CLEAN THEIR TAPS! Too much old beer, no attention to detail. Served too cold, bartenders and waitstaff clueless. Selection dismal.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mr. Weekend Mr. Weekend, Middleton, WI
(11/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Great
This place has one of the best selections I have ever seen. Coming from Ohio the emphasis on craft products are usually in retail and the bar/restaurant side is weak in their selection. After talking with the barman he told me I would unlikely be able to find most of the products he had on tap at any retail location in the area...what the f^#k? They have about 40 faucets with an emphasis on American craft and I cannot get any of them at a store. This is just the opposite of Ohio.

I had two excellent IPAs and a brown ale that were in very good condition. The service was a little rough but the bartender was knowledgable and we both laughed about how bad the Rocky River brewing company products are.

If you like a hell of a selection of craft beer this is one of the best places I have seen.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Derek Zomonski Derek Zomonski, Cincinnati, OH
(06/18/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Lousy Good
The beer's pretty dang good. I've never been impressed with Barley's service though. I've also had times when I ordered a drink at the bar but the bartender never returned with my drink, so I left the place. The service has always been rotten, but I go there religiously when Blue Mother Tupelo plays there. I've also go on the WDVX show nites but I haven't been in a while. I'm a big fan of good music and that's what brought me to Barley's at first. Unfortunately they have not had Blue Mother back in a while so I haven't been back in a few months

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Dave Schelling, Knoxville, TN
(03/23/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
I have never had bad service in Barley's ... although I don't like their pizza very much the beer is top notch, and they have a very nice atmosphere. Not many frat guys make it off of the Strip to the Old City so it is a nice place. There is more character in 1 brick of Barley's than 90% of the places west of the UT area

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from anthony hurd anthony hurd, powell, TN
(02/05/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Great N/A Lousy Lousy
I know the beer selection was good, because I had ten minutes to study the beers that were on the chalkboard. I can't say much more about the place though because the barttender never came over to get out order. Its not that they were super busy, there were only 7 people in the place. We were looking to do some good drinking and eat a meal there, but that's not easy to do when you can't get anybody to wait on you. We finally just walked out and the funny thing was the manager asked us how we enjoyed our stay at Barley's. What a joke!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ed almekinder ed almekinder, Raleigh, NC
(09/03/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great So So Great
Knoxville's Barley's also has great music. I really love it when Blue Mother Tupelo plays there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ray Ray, Knoxville, TN
(08/23/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good So So Good
there certainly are few places in the sprawl of old city knoxvegas that offer the social atmosphere or quality beer selection that barley's does. if, however, you are interested in a truly enjoyable beer drinking experience, then barley's may not be your ideal fare. the service may strive for some quality, but any effort is lost in the impossibilty of communication in the overcrowded and noisy environment. it tends to be more of a no-cover club parading as a true beer bar. you'll likely have a more pleasant experience elsewhere in knoxville, even at a beer serving restaurant.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review knoxville, TN
(05/17/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Anchoring the shopping & nightlife disctrict known as the Old City, Barley's is pretty much the top dog when it comes to places to get a good beer in Knoxville. And why not when they have 40+ craft beers, free pool tables, an outdoor patio, a menu with no fried foods that's reasonably vegetarian friendly, free parking, and free live music at least 5 nights per week. Topping it off is a staff that is knowledgeable and cares about beer. Every tap room should be this way.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Rutledge Tom Rutledge, Knoxville, TN
(11/27/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Great
A branch of the popular alehouse in Asheville, NC and Greenville, SC. Over 40 beers on tap plus bottle specials. Great pizza and pub fare. Upstairs has pool tables and more taps (open after 4). Food the day I visited was not up to the standard of the other locations but still above-average, and it was very slow and at an odd time of day. I like Barley's because they refuse to serve cheap swill, and offer only premium microbrews.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Stoffan Mark Stoffan, Asheville, NC
(07/20/2000)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.222 seconds) 23:42:53 54.198.36.179, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS