PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Oak Creek Brewery And Grill - Sedona, AZ
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 21, 2014 @ 04:30 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > AZ > Sedona > Oak Creek Brewery And Grill
Oak Creek Brewery And Grill Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Oak Creek Brewery And Grill
Overall: Great    Score: 77.5 / 100
Tlaquepacque Village
Hwy 179
Sedona, AZ 86339
United States
(928) 282-3300
Listed Since: November 2001
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Sedona, AZ
Beer Guide for Arizona

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
28 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) A Sunset Chateau B Inn
2) Alma DE Sedona Inn
3) Apple Orchard Inn
4) B&B at Saddle Rock Ranch
5) Boots & Saddles
6) Briar Patch Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) A TERRITORIAL HOUSE AN OLD WE
2) BEST WESTERN ARROYO ROBLE HTL
3) BEST WESTERN INN OF SEDONA
4) CEDARS RESORT
5) COMFORT INN SEDONA
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Midgley, W. W., Bridge
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Brooklyn Cafe
2) Burger King
3) Cafe & Cattle Co
4) Cafe Rouge
5) Canyon Breeze Restaurant
6) Cowboy Club
7) Dairy Queen
8) El Rincon Restaurante Mexicano
9) Garland's Oak Creek Lodge
10) Heartline Cafe
11) Hideaway Restaurant
12) Hitching Post Restaurant
13) Hot Highway Cafe
14) Javelina Cantina
15) Joey Bistro
16) Jro Assn
17) Judi's Restaurant & Lounge
18) Jumpin' Jacks Deli
19) Junipine Cafe & Grill
20) Kona In Sedona
21) L'auberge Restaurant
22) Mesquite Tree Barbecue
23) Oaxaca Restaurante & Cantina
24) On The Rocks Bar & Grill
25) Orchards Grill Restaurant
26) Osho Caffe
27) Polar Bear Inc
28) Red Planet Diner
29) Rene- At Tlaquepaque
30) Rincon Del Tlaquepaque
31) Roadrunner Cafe & Delivery
32) Robert's Creekside Cafe
33) Rosebuds Restaurant
34) Secret Garden Cafe
35) Sedona Airport Restaurant
36) Sedona Culinary Concepts
37) Sedona Memories Bakery Cafe
38) Shugrue's Hillside Grill
39) Sommelier De Sedona
40) Steak & Sticks
41) Takashi Japanese Restaurant
42) Taste Buds
43) Terrace
44) Trickster Cafe
45) Wen Deli's Delicatessen
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Great Good
We ate here a couple of times during our visit. I had the seven dwarves the first time which is a taste of 7 pours. The micro light should be avoided at all costs. The nut brown was the best of the lot. DOC's Ipa had a nice hoppy start but seemed to finish short. The hefeweizen was notable for a hoppier taste than normal, which I liked. Subsequent visits confirmed these views. The food was very good and the wait staff proficient. Prices are above average, but hey it's Sedona and the only choice around, especially when the weather is hot.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from nels eklund nels eklund, west sacramento, CA
(07/15/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good
Stopped in here for lunch one day while vacationing in Sedona. Beer selection and quality are typical for a brewpub - good but not great. Food was very good as was the service. Planned to come back Friday evening for their advertised May 4th Cinco de Mayo party. Got there at 8:30 PM and were told it was closed. Tried to explain we didn't want food but to just sit at the bar. "No" the man at the door exclaimed, "Everything's closed"! Talk about a bummer. This seems to be typical of most bar/restaraunts in Sedona.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Lewis John Lewis, Pittsburgh, PA
(05/22/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good
what do you do when the weather is lousy all three days that you're in sedona? yep, i spent a lot of time at the brewpub. the hefeweizen, pale, and nut brown are all very good. the porter and stout have good flavor but lack body. the amber and golden ale seem to be brewed more for the tourists and are not as good. also geared toward the tourists are the prices, so be prepared. food is good, a bit eclectic, and expensive. the wood-fired pizzas are excellent and enough for two. if all you want is the beer, you're better off visting the brewery.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from max max, nashua, NH
(04/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Tried this and several others during a week in Phoenix. Varied, elegant, delicious and delightful food, more upscale than most brewpubs but not more expensive. Even the pizza styles were exotic and the best crust I've had in years. I sampled everything our party of 3 had and there wasn't a weak sister in the lot. Wish I could say the same about the beer, it seems brewed to tourists' tastes more than afficionados'. Doc's IPA has a nice but short-lived floral finish. The hefeweizen barely hinted at banana-clove-citrus flavors. The Porter was the best of the sampler, quite opaque and smoky with prominent coffee-chocolate flavor that lingered.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gary Schneider Gary Schneider, Madison, WI
(03/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Awesome! Great Good
Sat at the bar and had a great meal, cajun shrimp pasta. The beer was good, but not great. Maybe because we had visited so many outstanding brewpubs in the week before.

The service was excellent. The bartender knew the beers well. It is pricier than most brewpubs, but not unexpected in Sedona.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from DR DR, Athens, OH
(04/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Good Great
Service was slow at the bar but our waiter was much better. The food was excellent and would come again just for the food. The beer ranged from good, the light beer, to great for the nut brown ale. One thing irked me though, why do breweries assume I want beer in the lightest in color to the darkest in color with the sampler?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ken Ken, Oak Creek, WI
(04/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
Visit on August 16, 2004

Microlight - 8.5. Described as an American style pilsner and pitched by the wait staff as the beer for the Bud drinker, but it's neither of those. I'm not a fan of thin, light , yellow beers (though I can appreciate them). This beer had some body and was really very good. Not sour or bitter like most American pilsners. Very drinkable. To be honest, I think a Bud drinker would be disappointed, but I'm happy.

Gold Lager - 8.5. Similar to Microlight with a light hint of hop.

Pale Ale - 9. Very good aroma - fresh hop flowers at your nose. Excellent Pale Ale. Very fresh.

Hefe - 5. This was special brew and I don't think they've got this recipe down yet. It's supposedly brewed with oranges and it's served with a wedge of orange. Without the wedge, I picked up no citrus aroma or flavor and was uninteresting. I should score it lower, but it wasn't "bad", just bland.

Amber Ale - 9. Solid copper ale. Good malt and hop character.

Brown - 8.5. Rather good. It was a little mild but had a good malt profile. I've had this in the bottle and it's more intense bottled. I wonder if this batch was older.

Porter - 7. Smooth, but too mellow. Not sharp enough for the style. A fine beer, but uninteresting.

Food - 9.5. I had the fish and chips and onion rings. All of it was great. The cod was moist, tender, and flaky.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mattrazzo Mattrazzo, Chandler, AZ
(03/30/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
The weather today was absolutely perfect on the patio. Had the chicken penne and house salad, both were okay. The amber and porter were much better out of the tap than the bottles I'm used to buying in Flagstaff. 3/10 4:30pm

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kenneth N Kenneth N, Flagstaff, AZ
(03/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
Easy to be redundant here. Had the sampler and was not impressed with the beers overall. The hefe was quite good and the brown was decent, otherwise the rest were quite unremarkable. Did I mention it was $4.50 pint? Getting pretty $$$$ in my opinion, but considering the location and the yuppified atmosphere and clientele I am not surprised. For me it was definitely not worth the drive from Prescott. Based on the reviews of the sister brewery I would definitely try the other location next time.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Phillips Doug Phillips, Austin, TX
(12/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
My wife and I travel & live in an RV. We always like to check out the local breweries as we travel the US & Canada. This is one of the best that we have been to. Great beer and food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Al &Barb Al &Barb, Fitzwilliam, NH
(11/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Great Good So So
What the last guy said is all true, every word of it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from P & J P & J, Pittsburgh, PA
(07/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Very nice atmosphere, on the yuppie/high class touristy side. Overpriced but nice. Not the best beer in the world, but not the worst either. Good thing they don't have any competition in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed Almekinder Ed Almekinder, Raleigh, NC
(06/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Good
I visited this brewpub on 3-16-04. The following brews were available; Micro Light, Forty-Niner Gold Lager, Horshoe Hefeweizen, Doc's Pale Ale, Oak Creek Amber Ale, Village Nut Brown Ale & Pullman Porter. The menu was a little pricy and the parking was difficult. They call their sampler "The Seven Dwarves".

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from G. L. Averill G. L. Averill, Lakeway, TX
(03/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Good
We had a very good lunch with the sampler. The amber and the porter were our favorites. Seasonals - a dbl bock and a scotch ale were very good. Get a window seat to enjoy the super view.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from halada halada, milwaukee, WI
(02/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
It was a pleasant surprise to find good beer in a touristy town. The Horseshoe Hefe and the Villafe Nut Brown were excellent, while the Oak Creek Amber & Pullman Porter were just a step below them. They did offer a Micro Light and a 49er Gold for the Budmilloors drinkers, but that has to be expected. The food and service were very good, especially the friendly bartender that we bombarded with questions about the beer. Take a break from looking at the Red Rocks and stop in for an ale, you won't be disappointed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike McKenna Mike McKenna, Aberdeen, MD
(01/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Great
tried the pale ale and porter. pale ale was served too cold. once it warmed up some of the hops came out. porter was ok.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Hughes Tom Hughes, Albuquerque, NM
(12/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good
We tried just about all of the beers here and were not dissappointed. The sausage platter was great - so much food, we had leftovers for the rest of our trip.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bearded Dave Bearded Dave, Pine Springs, TX
(11/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good
Good beer but I think they could do better if there was some more microbrew competition in sedona. Food was great,had the wood grilled pizza's.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Curt Curt, Batesville, IN
(09/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Stopped for lunch. Parking can be a little tricky. Food was great. Tried the Hefe-Weizen & Nut Brown. Both beers were very good. The other location is more my style.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Conrac, Sears, MI
(07/23/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
Great beer. Chicken Wings are good, but the Wasabi Ranch & CHUNCKY Blue Cheese that come with them are out of this world!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review ditto, FL
(06/19/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
A very good restaraunt, and if you dont go there the penguins will kill you.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Penguin, Penguin, FL
(05/25/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
This was one of the best brewpubs my wife and I went too. Great views from the second floor patio. The red rocks are breathtaking along with the award winning beers. Nut brown ale was the best brown ale I ever tasted. The Hefe was very good and the microlight was excellent. Not usually a light beer drinker but the owner/retired Anheiser Bush brewmaster insisted I try the light.WOW. The Oak Creek Amber Ale is a winner in my book also. If your anywhere near Sedona please make every effort to stop here. Friendly waitstaff, great food and excellent beer. So many brewpubs and so little time!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Predojevic Michael Predojevic, West Paterson, NJ
(05/24/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
We've been to this brewpub a time or two, as we pass through Sedona. The food and beer are excellent, the view delightful, and the service attentive. What's not to like?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Esther Schindler, Scottsdale, AZ
(05/23/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
Oak Creek Brewery, located in the shopping village of Tlaquepaque in downtown Sedona, is an upscale and friendly place. Although it was early in the tourist season, the restaurant was very busy. Service, however, was prompt and efficient.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ron and Ruth Barrick Ron and Ruth Barrick, Newville, PA
(04/26/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Great
Wonderful brew pub with spectacular view of the mountains.Just so people do not get confused as I did: there are 2 seperate brew pubs and depending on who you talk to will determine where you end up. We went to both(Talaquepacque Village and on Yavapai Drive). The village offers the spectacular view and better dining. The brewery on Yavapai Drive is just that. Litterally, you sit in the brewery next to the mashing tanks.The beer here is the same but the menue is traditional German only.If your wife/girlfriend is with you better go to the Village location or you may be in the doghouse. Beers were all very true to style with traditional German influence from the head brewmaster and proprietor who lived and trained in Pottenstein Germany at the Hufeisen Brauerie. micro lite is exactly the way it sounds bland, tastless and virtually colorless bound to make even the most diehard coors light fan happy) or anyone else when the temperature hits 115 degrees!!). Forty-niner gold lager(a 2002 gold winner of the NABA) is crisp and balanced with a beautiful gold hue and a zesty noble hop bouquet.The Hefe was a great traditional unfiltered Bavarian style with plenty of bannanna and cloves. Doc's Pale Ale is an american pale bittered with centennial and cascade hops. Your run of the mill pale, nothing special but very drinkable.Amber ale was deep copper colored, medium bodied with a very mellow and nutty/caramel flavor. Nut brown, Pullman porter, and the seasonal Oatmeal stout were all very true to style and were the standouts. Rich chocolate, roast barley,and carmel/munich malt flavor and aroma were evident throughout.A must stop for any beer enthusiest who may find him/herself in Sedona.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review matt zaccheo, bethlehem, pa
(03/09/2003)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.481 seconds) 04:30:06 23.22.204.36, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS