PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Lengthwise Brewing Company - Bakersfield, CA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 21, 2014 @ 05:29 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > CA > Bakersfield > Lengthwise Brewing Company
Lengthwise Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery Type: BrewPub
Lengthwise Brewing Company
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 82.1 / 100
6720 Schirra Court
Bakersfield, CA 93313
United States
(661) 836-ALES
Listed Since: November 2001
Last Updated: March 2006
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Bakersfield, CA
Beer Guide for California

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
19 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Bakersfield California Building
2) First Baptist Church
3) Jastro Building
4) Tevis Block
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Amigo's Mexican Grill
2) Bbq 4U Catering Inc
3) Busy Buns Sandwich Shop
4) Crusty's Take N Bake Pizza
5) Day & Night Market
6) Denny's
7) Jack In The Box
8) LA Tormenta
9) Lengthwise Brewing Co
10) Lisa Borda Bord A Petite
11) Los Arcos Restaurant
12) Mountain Mike's Pizza
13) New York Burrito Gourmet Wraps
14) Nuevo Loasis Restaurant
15) Panda Express
16) Papa O's Pizzeria
17) Papa O's Pizzeria
18) Popeyes Chicken & Biscuits
19) Que Pasa Mexican Grill
20) Sonic Drive-In
21) Spencers Cafe
22) Starbucks
23) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
24) Tacos El Camino
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
While on my first trip to CA for the Hot Rod Reunion in Bakersfield last week I had the great pleasure to visit this brewpub, the place was thriving upon arrival and I can see why, the brews that I tried (Centenial and Three Hop) were great and the very different Fish and Chips were awesome!! Will be back there again next year and will make this my first stop!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, North Port, FL
(10/21/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
If you are in the area, definitely come here. THIS IS A BREWPUB, contrary to confusion in beer newspapers. I was all set to have to buy bottles or growlers, but then saw with my very own eyes the thriving pub. The Centennial Ale was very nice. The Crude Porter was great, exactly what a porter should be. The Three Hop was well-balanced -- not three times the hops, just hopped at three stages.

A good experience and one to be repeated.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Louie Strano Louie Strano, Gabriola, BC
(10/24/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
Since I don't live in the area I've only been there twice but both times I have enjoyed the brews, beans and the food each of those times.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Thomas Thomas, Lakewood, CA
(06/18/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
As has been noted the outside appearance is nothing special. However, the beer, Crude Porter, and the Centennial Pale ale were both outstanding, food was good, limited menu, and Eric, the bartender was top notch.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nate McDonald Nate McDonald, Harrisburg, PA
(01/06/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
As has been noted in other reviews, the location and outward appearance made me wonder how this place survives.Just proves that a quality product and a good staff can be enough to draw in the customers.Got there about twenty minutes before they opened the doors on a Saturday and there was at least a dozen patrons waiting to get in.And they kept rolling in the whole time I was there. Went through a pint each of the Triple Hop Red Ale, Scottish Ale and The Kern County Crude Porter.All were great. The porter looked so good in my glass as it went thru its paces I almost didn't want to disturb it. Almost! Had a Tequila Chicken Sausage sandwich that was excellent. The barkeep, Eric,was not only extremely efficient at dealing with a steady flow but he had time to greet everyone cordially while taking care of existing customers.Just another indication of why this place should remain successful.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J. King J. King, Campbell, CA
(05/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
While in Bakersfield last week, several colleagues and I stopped for some beers at Lengthwise. Two of us got the sampler that consisted of seven beers. We agreed the first three beers, the golden ale, the wheat ale, and the raspberry wheat, were descent but did not overly impress (just too light in taste for us). The Triple Hop Red Ale was more complex with a nice malt-hop balance. The Centennial Ale was a superbly done IPA that we both thought was the best of the bunch. On the darker side, we enjoyed a fairly solid porter and the current seasonal offering, a malty Scottish ale. We just had a couple of ordinary appetizers, so I’ll leave the food assessment to other reviewers. After returning home I saw that the Centennial Ale was just awarded a silver medal in the English-style India Pale Ale category at the 2006 World Beer Cup in April (see the list of winners at www.beertown.org). No wonder we liked that beer the best!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(05/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
Darren and Jeff and all the guys at Lengthwise are great. The beer is fantastic, service is great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Lordan Michael Lordan, Bakersfield, CA
(12/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
What a find in Bakersfield. Enjoyed the stinky burger and wings. The beers were fresh and true to color and flavor. Largest sampler glasses I have ever seen. The Wheat beer and I.P.A. were a little mild for me, but very good just the same. Give this place a try when in town or passing thru. I will return.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Leo de Leon Leo de Leon, Redlands, CA
(10/29/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
I typically visit Lengthwise at least once a week and recently had their sampler. Here is how I rated all their brews (from lightest to darkest)- Golden Ale - good Harvest Wheat Ale - unappealing; has a banana nut flavor Razzberry Ale - very good, has a strong raspberry flavor, excellent mixed with the porter (called a Truffle), women seem to order this one. Red Ale - OK - too bitter for my taste Centennial - very good Porter - the best! Their Chicken Caesar wrap is to die for as well as their fish and chips. Chicken strips on the spicy side but good choice. Bands on Saturday nights, cover charge on occasion, but not always and usually after 9.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Karen Beaty Karen Beaty, Bakersfield, CA
(01/20/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
One of the best brewpub's I have ever been to. It is like someone took the feel of a northern Cali brewery and threw into a modern clean version of a industrial building. Can't go wrong with the Centennial Ale or the Triple Hop Red, but mix the two to make a Red Cent and your in microbrew heaven.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rowan O'Neil Rowan O'Neil, Bakersfield, CA
(12/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Awesome! Great
Third time to this place and they are always friendly. Don’t let the location and appearances fool you (situated in a large industrial sized building), try the beer! The red was good as always, and my personal favorite the black and tan (made with the pale ale and porter this time). Cool tie-dye t-shirts! 12/10/03 7:30pm

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kenneth N Kenneth N, Flagstaff, AZ
(01/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great
CORRECT ADDRESS IS IN THE 6700 block of Schirra Court. Three or four blocks WEST of address shown on Pubcrawler. They moved several months ago. Visit their web site for the CORRECT address

That being said, it is worth searching for. The Centennial IPA is first rate with a good balance of malt & hops. Match that with a sandwick and you're set. A very local crowd in this industrial park setting, but the bartender Jason could not have been friendlier. Worth a visit? You bet.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Gezelius John Gezelius, Orange, CA
(11/05/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
HELP I'M HAVING CENNTENIAL WITHDRAWLS!!

Great place to go, friendly atmosphere and great beer. I am Partial to this brewery but you will not go wrong by stopping in!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Wilson John Wilson, Bakersfield, CA
(10/12/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Awesome! Great
Pretty sweet place to stop in at. Wherehouse type atmosphere, relaxing, comfortable, cool tye-dye shirts. Our server, Brian, was extremely helpful and went the extra mile to satisfy. A return visit is in order. The Red was good as well as the IPA/Porter combo (black and tan).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kenneth Kenneth, Flagstaff, AZ
(06/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Good
I tried a sampler of the six brews that they had on tap at the time: Harvest Moon Wheat Ale 5%, spicy and fruity.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Wilson Bill Wilson, Mill Valley, CA
(05/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great
Tried to stop by on my way through town on a Friday but they didn't open until 3 PM. However, they were open on my way back on Saturday. Tried the Triple Hop and Brown Ales while I was there. They were fine and very similar but the Centential, which I got in the growler for later is excellant. Band plays on Saturday evenings

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Morseburg Bob Morseburg, Seattle, WA
(04/23/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Great
Centennial Ale is one of the best hopped pale ales I have ever tasted

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Crawford Dan Crawford, Bridgeport, WV
(04/01/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
I rarely go to a brewpub where I like nearly all of their brews. Granted, because this is my hometown brewpub I am a little biased, but I love this place. They will soon be opening a restaurant as well. The Centennial is great but the best is the Kern River Crude (a porter) which is seasonal, so if you are lucky enough to get it, buy a growler or two.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Glenn Glenn, Bakersfield, CA
(12/31/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Good Good
Nice little place. Friendly people with a little homebrewers corner oh and the beer is excellent! I really enjoyed the Centeniel!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Goularte Doug Goularte, Exeter, CA
(12/22/2001)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(1.012 seconds) 17:29:40 54.226.7.15, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS