PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Rock Bottom Restaurant and Brewery - King of Prussia, PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 31, 2014 @ 04:56 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > King of Prussia > Rock Bottom Restaurant and Brewery
Rock Bottom Restaurant and Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Rock Bottom Restaurant and Brewery
Overall: Great    Score: 72.4 / 100
1001 King of Prussia Plaza
King of Prussia, PA 19406
United States
(610) 337-7730
Listed Since: December 2001
Last Updated: February 2003
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for King of Prussia, PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
25 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(5 within 5 miles)
1) Chap's Taproom and Sports Grill
(4 miles)

2) Audubon Ale House
(4 miles)

3) Capone's Restaurant
(4 miles)

4) Gullifty's Pizza Grille and Bar
(6 miles)

5) Brothers Spano
(6 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Bed & Breakfast of Phila
2) Country Angel Tea Room
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) B W INN AT KING OF PRUSSIA
2) BW THE INN AT KING OF PRUSSIA
3) COMFORT INN VALLEY FORGE NATL
4) COURTYARD DEVON
5) COURTYARD VALLEY FORGE
6) FAIRFIELD INN PHIL-VALLEY FORGE
7) HAMPTON INN - EXTON
8) HAMPTON INN KNG OF PRUSSA
9) HILTON VALLEY FORGE
10) HOMESTEAD STUDIOS KING OF PRUS
11) HOMEWOOD SUITES VALLEY FORGE
12) MAINSTAY SUITES KING OF PRUSSIA
13) OAKWOOD KING OF PRUSSIA
14) RADISSON VALLEY FORGE
15) RADNOR HOTEL
16) SCANTICON HOTEL AND SUITES
17) SHERATON PARK RIDGE HOTEL
18) SLEEP INN KING OF PRUSSIA
19) SUMMERFIELD SUITES PLYMOUTH
20) THE VILLANOVA CONFERENCE CTR
21) WAYNE HOTEL
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Barley Sheaf Inn
2) Bridge in Tredyffrin Township
3) Bridge in Upper Merion Township
4) Bryn Mawr Hotel
5) Cramond
6) Cressbrook Farm
7) Globe Knitting Mills
8) Greenwood Farm
9) Hanging Rock
10) Kennedy Mansion
11) King of Prussia Inn
12) Old Norriton Presbyterian Church
13) Poplar Lane
14) Radnor Friends Meetinghouse
15) Rittenhouse, David, Junior High School
16) Saturday Club
17) Sinnott, Joseph, Mansion
18) St. David's Church and Graveyard
19) Stewart, Gen. Thomas J., Memorial Armory
20) Strafford Railroad Station
21) Thomas, M. Carey, Library, Bryn Mawr College
22) Walker, Joseph, House
23) Wayne Hotel
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Alfredo's Restaurant
2) All American Hot Dog Co
3) Amedeo's Restaurant
4) Angelo's Pizza Co
5) Arby's
6) Bahama Breeze
7) Bain's Deli
8) Baja Fresh Mexican Grill
9) Bamboo Club
10) Bennigan's Grill & Tavern
11) Bertolini's
12) Bistro Europita
13) Bistro Sensations
14) Boardwalk Fries
15) Bravo Bistro
16) Brew Moon Restaurant Microbrew
17) Bridgeport Rib House
18) Burger King
19) Burger King
20) Cajun & Grill
21) California Cafe Bar & Grill
22) California Pizza Kitchen
23) Canton
24) Champps Americana
25) Charley's Place
26) Charlie's U Turn Inn
27) Cheesecake Factory
28) Chick-Fil-A
29) Chili's Grill & Bar
30) China House
31) China King
32) Chris Ruth's Steak House
33) Cinnabon
34) Cold Stone Creamery
35) Corner Bakery Cafe
36) Cosi
37) Cosimo's Pizza
38) Crown Corporate Catering
39) Dairy Queen
40) Denny's
41) Desi Village Restaurant
42) Dick Clark's American Bndstnd
43) Duffy's
44) Dunkin Donuts
45) El Cancun II Inc
46) Entree Express Restaurant Svc
47) Event Caterers Inc
48) Famous George's Pizzaria
49) Fiddler's Green Dining House
50) Fox & Hound Pub & Grille
51) Fresco Pizza & Grill
52) Friendly's Restaurant
53) Fruit Sensations
54) Gateway Cafe II
55) Haagen-Dazs Ice Cream
56) Hilton Valley Forge
57) Hooters
58) Houlihan's
59) House Of Hunan
60) Italian Delight
61) Jade Garden Inn
62) Jaipur Indian Cuisine Inc
63) Jasmine Thai Restaurant
64) Jeff's Lunch Box
65) Kabuki Japanese Restaurant
66) Kfc
67) KFC
68) Kildares Irish Pub
69) King Of Prussia Dinner
70) King Of Prussia Wok Inc
71) Kon Tiki
72) Let's Talk Turkey
73) Little Sicily Pizza
74) Lone Star Steakhouse
75) Marrone's
76) Mc Donald's
77) Mc Donald's
78) Mc Donald's
79) Mc Donald's
80) Mesa Fresh Mexican Grill
81) Michael's Jewish Deli & Rstrnt
82) Morton's Of Chicago
83) Mrs C's
84) Nate's Deli
85) Orange Julius
86) Orange Julius
87) Original Philly Steaks
88) Papa Guido's
89) Passerelle Restaurant
90) Pastino's Catering
91) Patio Caterers
92) Peace A Pizza
93) Peg's Place
94) Peppers Italian Restaurant
95) Petrucci's Ice Cream Co
96) Pizza Hut
97) Plaza Food & Spirits
98) Puffen
99) Red Lobster Restaurant
100) Rock Bottom Restaurant
101) Ruby's King Of Prussia
102) S E Larson Catering
103) Salad Sensation
104) Skylight Cafe
105) Soupmasters International Inc
106) Starbucks
107) Sullivan's Steakhouse
108) Sullivan's Steakhouse
109) Sundaes
110) Taco Bell
111) Taqueria Mexico Lindo
112) TCBY
113) Tgi Friday's
114) Tokyo Bay
115) Tuscany Pasta Grill
116) Valley Forge Grill
117) Vito's Pizza
118) Wendy's
119) Wild Blue Creative Catering
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
I apologize for two reviews so close in time, but I had the opportunity to visit Rock Bottom soon after my last writings. Tried four that were new to me, and happily all were winners. American Dream IPA (7.9%) had a citrusy and Amarillo hop profile which was well in balance with the malt--really good with my meal. Saison D'Ete really emphasized the spiciness to the point that they dominate the flavor. Goat Toppler kept the caramel very prominent, not what I expect in a maibock, but good nonetheless. Dublin Dragon was a nice stout. Roasty, and tended toward dry. Jambalaya was very good and was a good deal pricewise. Bartender Dave did a great job in spite of a big lunch crowd which kept him hopping.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(07/22/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
I can happily update my review from a few years ago with some positive notes. Beer quality has made a quantum leap since my last review--hooray! Prussian Pride IPA is a go-to beer, if no interesting seasonals are on, but many of the seasonals are very fine as well. Happy Hour special prices on brews and some menu items make for an economical good time. Join the beer club--it's free, and get your beer "upgraded" to a tall boy. Yes, it's still in a mall, but lots of great things are happening here at Rock Bottom!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(07/03/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Awesome! Good Great
oddly enough, my munich gold and my friend's dark lager (i forget which one it was) were both flat. she said it was a problem they were having all week, which is fine, and i could tell the beer would have been even better had it been carbonated. the food was tremendous. if you are considering the titan toothpicks, make no mistake, they are titan. the fish and chips were delicious, no mistakes here either. overall i enjoyed my meal, would reccomend it to friends

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gabe Gabe, Drexel Hill, PA
(09/17/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Good Good
Don't go on a Sunday after 8PM. They are in a mall and keep mall hours. Only bar menue avaiable. The order of wings had 6 of the tiniest wings I've seen. The Prussia's Pride was pretty good, though. The others were nondescript.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, Hornell, NY
(06/15/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
Since they replaced the old brewmaster, the new guy has made new recipes for all of the standard beers, and the difference is certainly clear to those who have been here and tasted the old beers. His specialty beers are also much better, definitely works very hard to make sure his beers don't taste like crap and won't put them out there if something is wrong with them. Food menu has also improved since new hires in the kitchen. Overall change in management and staff has made this a much better restaurant and brewery and those who haven't been here in a while should consider a return visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review philadelphia, PA
(11/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great
Been to this Rock Bottom many times (an oasis from the mall outside) and thought it was o.k. at best but stopped in during a business trip recently to have a few beers and watch the football game at the bar. Tried the Prussia Pride IPA which I have to say was very tasty (I am a major IPA fan and am very selective regarding what I consider good). The bartender was friendly, the food was good and best of all I could walk back to my hotel so I was able to thoroughly enjoy many IPA's!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beer Snob Beer Snob, Wernersville, PA
(09/21/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Great beer and service for a chain operation.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo.  Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(02/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good
Good place to unwind after walking the entire mall. Which we did! Ironically, the Pale Ale was from my hometown of Pittsburgh, as they had a problem locally. Typical Pittsburgh Ale, not to exciting. Service was great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kurt O. Kurt O., Wexford, PA
(11/15/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So So So So So
This joint took a turn for the worse. Beers are watery and low quality. The flagship IPA was removed and a new one made in it's place. The Prussia Pride IPA was not so good. The Thursday beer night used to be a good idea until now. Now we have a $3 cover to get in to the bar. Why? No band, no DJ. $3 just to get a beer. But if you get a seat in the restaurant section there is no cover, but beers are not $1. And oh yeah, half the beers on the menu are not on special, but you wouldn't know that unless you found out by asking a server. Food went downhill, servers looked like they were contemplating suicide, nad the brews were rank. I suffered through 2 and had to leave and cut the night short. The RockBottom has truly hit RockBottom. Beware. Drive alittle further to Sly Fox and try some real beer where people are a little more upbeat.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from scottya scottya, west norriton, PA
(04/15/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Great So So
Located in the lower level of King of Prussia Plaza near the Sears. Typical mall, chain restaurant vibe. Was told that while there usually is a dark beer on tap, that I just missed an Imperial Stout @10%ABV. What a shame, because even by Rock Bottom standards, these beers were pretty weak. Barely any nose to most, not much flavor to many. I'd say that of the 7 they offered, the Double Barrel IPA on hand pump was the best of a sorry lot. Well, I can say that I've been here, but not much else.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(03/26/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Beer, food and service solid in every way. Several beers outstanding; all above average. Their Mug Club is a great deal - be sure to ask about it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Madison, NJ
(09/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Lousy So So
staff needs to be replaced ASAP.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review sa, philly, PA
(07/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Awesome! Great
For a Chain the quailty of the beers is very good and consistent through the different cities that I have been to. A larger variety would be nice. The servcice is fast and friendly. The food has been great each time I have eating here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Matthew Killinger Matthew Killinger, West Chester, PA
(04/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Lousy Lousy So So

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Bedford Bob Bedford, Linden, NJ
(10/03/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
Typical Rock Bottom chain, nothing special in the lineup and no cask beer available during my visit. Munich Helles was fair, but for $1 pints on Thursdays it was a good bargain.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Roach Roach, Plano, TX
(09/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Good Good
I'm usually good at giving places decent reviews if it warrants it. I went in for a second visit last night and got what I expected to get; slop beer. It's a shame because I know that many people who talk highly of them and ask me to check them out because I am a craft beer lover. The first time around, I had the IPA, Amber, and Pale. None of which were to my liking. I figured either this was just a junk batch, or it was supposed to taste like a chain brew garbage pint. Well, last night, I had a porter, which is one of my favorite styles. They described it as having chocolate notes with a sweet finish. There was basically zero nose to it. It tasted very watered down with an awful bitterness finish and it wasn't a balanced hop finish either. It was like they didn't clean the lines or something. The gross, unpalatable taste seemed to get slightly better as it warmed up. It seemed overall that people were having a good time at the bar with the free "mug club". I just don't get it. I actually liked Brew Moon when they were there, even though I thought the service sucked. Their brews started to grow on me. The funny part is that I see some of the horrible staff left over from Brew Moon in this joint. This stuff brewed now is just awful garbage which shouldn't be consumed by a half knowledgable beer drinker. Do yourself a favor and drive 25 minutes out of the way to hit either General Lafayette, Ortleibs, Sly Fox, or even Valley Forge Brewery.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike I. Mike I., Jeffersonville, PA
(02/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Good Good
I'm usually good at giving places decent reviews if it warrants it. I went in for a second visit last night and got what I expected to get; slop beer. It's a shame because I know that many people who talk highly of them and ask me to check them out because I am a craft beer lover. The first time around, I had the IPA, Amber, and Pale. None of which were to my liking. I figured either this was just a junk batch, or it was supposed to taste like a chain brew garbage pint. Well, last night, I had a porter, which is one of my favorite styles. They described it as having chocolate notes with a sweet finish. There was basically zero nose to it. It tasted very watered down with an awful bitterness finish and it wasn't a balanced hop finish either. It was like they didn't clean the lines or something. The gross, unpalatable taste seemed to get slightly better as it warmed up. It seemed overall that people were having a good time at the bar with the free "mug club". I just don't get it. I actually liked Brew Moon when they were there, even though I thought the service sucked. Their brews started to grow on me. The funny part is that I see some of the horrible staff left over from Brew Moon in this joint. This stuff brewed now is just awful garbage which shouldn't be consumed by a half knowledgable beer drinker. Do yourself a favor and drive 25 minutes out of the way to hit either General Lafayette, Ortleibs, Sly Fox, or even Valley Forge Brewery.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike I. Mike I., Jeffersonville, PA
(02/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Awesome! Great Awesome!
I really like the atmosphere of this funky looking bar/restaurant. The staff has been great all 5 times I have been there. I had the best steak of my life there. Beers were average at best but great funky drinks available too. Entertainment was hokey but better than nothing! Fun place to gather with pals.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tara McG Tara McG, Norristown, PA
(01/31/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jon Ingram Jon Ingram, Rockledge, PA
(01/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Good
Everything is excellent, but it is really overcrowded in the bar area. Worth the wait for the beer!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Perry Jim Perry, Spring City Boro, PA
(12/29/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Nice solid place. Went on a Friday afternoon for lunch. Got the sampler of 8 beers. The IPA abd American Pale Ale were really good. All the other beers were above average. That includes the beers made for the mainstreams. Had a burger which hit the spot. For a complete review check out my site www.thedanandjohnbeersite.com

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Berger Dan Berger, Philadelphia, PA
(09/28/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So Good So So
they had about 8 styles on tap, including a hand pulled stout, but there was nothing special about any of them. I really tried to like this place, but nothing really stood out. the food was not bad, but not great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from sj sj, midlothian, VA
(05/06/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Good
the beer was great. the atmosphere was awesome. they even had a beer pong tournament.i did not get a chance to try the food, but the beer is great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Don Don, feasterville, PA
(04/18/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Lousy So So
I have visited Rock Bottom several times since it opened and it has gone downhill each time. I went several Thursdays in a row because it was dollar pint night (and my other nights are already booked at other brewpubs in the area). I also signed up for the mug club (20 oz. mugs for the price of a pint, plus other perks). I found all the beer to be "good" but none stood out. The closest to making me go "wow" was the IPA because of the nutty, roasted flavor that put a nice spin on the style. Then one night I went in only to have the bartender tell me that they don't honor the mug club on Thursdays because of the dollar pint night. I explained I had used it on my first three visits but they told me I was wrong (I wasn't). I then ordered the scottish ale and was told it was not a dollar even though the board said all pints are $1. Of course, it also said they had an Imperial Stout on the hand pump which they didn't. We sat down for dinner and had a waiter who couldn't have cared less that we were there. I recognized him from the Brew Moon days and he was lousy then too. The table was a mess and he never offered to wipe it off, I had to. The food was tasty and well presented but the service ruined the whole experience. I think they retained most of the staff so the lousy service and management from before is still there. It is a shame because it started off well. I will give them another shot, just not too many more. Maybe they will straighten things out.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Clair Chris Clair, King of Prussia, PA
(12/24/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great
The Successor to Brew Moon, Rock Bottom is the next brewpub to service the infamous King of Prussia Plaza Mall. We decided to visit while we were Christmas shopping. I was a Brew Moon cardholder and was sent a $20.00 coupon to Rock Bottom to cover the points I had accumulated. Lisa also know the way to get me to this mall is to mention the brewpub.

We started off with the Asagio Cheese Dip (that was awesome). My wife has the Smoked Chicken Enchilada. I had the Adobo Smoked Pork Loin. My daughter had the Pretzel dip appetizer as her meal – She loved it. My wife and I tasted each other’s food and realized we should have switched. As beer goes I first tried the Irish Dry Stout. I found it to be very good taste with a good aftertaste. It seems a little too “light-bodied” as Irish Stouts go. It is a remarkable brew just the same. The second brew tried was the Double Barrel IPA. Good but not as great as the stout. It has a better body then the stout and a more distinctive taste.

One little note is that Rock Bottom has two entrances - one from the mall and one from outside. If you enter the brewpub from the mall entrance you will see a sign to go to the other end of the restaurant to check-in with the hostess. I asked about this and was told that the brewpub wants people from the mall to know that there is a bar here (not just a restaurant).

I think this is a good “chain” brewpub and a good addition to the KoPP Mall Scene. This is the second or third Rock Bottom I have visited around the country and I haven’t been disappointed yet.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Todd Hansell Todd Hansell, Roslyn, PA
(12/12/2001)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.778 seconds) 04:56:25 54.80.113.118, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS