PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Onopa Brewing Company - Milwaukee, WI
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 02, 2014 @ 01:15 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > WI > Milwaukee > Onopa Brewing Company
Onopa Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Onopa Brewing Company
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 81.2 / 100
[Closed]
735 East Center Street
Milwaukee, WI 53212
United States
(414) 264-3630
Listed Since: January 2002
Last Updated: May 2006
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Milwaukee, WI
Beer Guide for Wisconsin

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Onopa Brewing Company
45 Reviews / 2 Photos
hours of operation
Sun 12:00PM - 02:00AM
Mon 04:00PM - 02:00AM
Tue 04:00PM - 02:00AM
Wed 04:00PM - 02:00AM
Thu 04:00PM - 02:00AM
Fri 04:00PM - 02:30AM
Sat 12:00PM - 02:30AM

alternatives
(59 within 5 miles)
1) Lakefront Brewery
(0 mile)

2) Track's Tavern
(0 mile)

3) Uptowner
(0 mile)

4) Riverwest Tavern
(0 mile)

5) Polish Falcon's Nest
(0 mile)

6) West Bank Cafe
(0 mile)

7) Likely Story
(0 mile)

8) Linneman's Riverwest Inn
(0 mile)

9) Klinger's East
(0 mile)

10) Hooligan's Super Bar
(0 mile)

11) Dino's Lounge
(0 mile)

12) Bosoc's
(0 mile)

13) Stonefly Brewing Company
(0 mile)

14) River Horse
(0 mile)

15) Barrel Riders Pub
(0 mile)

16) U.W.M Gasthaus
(1 mile)

17) Paddy's Pub
(1 mile)

18) Cafe Brucke
(2 miles)

19) Treats
(2 miles)

20) Leinenkugel's 10th Street Brewery
(2 miles)

21) Brew City Barbeque
(2 miles)

22) Wolski's Tavern
(2 miles)

23) Tasting Room, The
(2 miles)

24) Up and Under
(2 miles)

25) Safe House
(2 miles)

26) Von Trier
(2 miles)

27) Y-Not II
(2 miles)

28) Milwaukee Ale House
(2 miles)

29) London Bridge Pub
(2 miles)

30) The Nomad World Pub
(2 miles)

31) Flannery's Bar and Restaurant
(2 miles)

32) Quinn's Shamrock Inn
(2 miles)

33) The Wicked Hop
(2 miles)

34) Pizza Man
(2 miles)

35) McGillycuddy's
(2 miles)

36) Mel's Corner Tap
(2 miles)

37) John Hawk's Pub
(2 miles)

38) Milwaukee Athletic Club
(2 miles)

39) Rosie's Water Works
(2 miles)

40) Elsa's On the Park
(2 miles)

41) Brett's
(2 miles)

42) Water Street Brewery
(2 miles)

43) Sequel's
(2 miles)

44) Thurman's 15
(2 miles)

45) Landmark Lanes
(2 miles)

46) Begga's Pub
(2 miles)

47) Midway Motor Lodge
(2 miles)

48) Mader's
(3 miles)

49) Byron's Beer Garden and Bistro
(3 miles)

50) Rock Bottom Brewery
(3 miles)

51) McBob's Pub and Grill
(4 miles)

52) Saz's State House
(4 miles)

53) Fritz's on Second
(4 miles)

54) Just Arts Saloon
(4 miles)

55) Tony's Tavern
(4 miles)

56) Chump's Rusty Bucket
(4 miles)

57) Zur Krone
(4 miles)

58) Sprecher Brewing Company, Incorporated
(4 miles)

59) Larry's Brown Deer Market
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Acanthus Inn Bed & Breakfast
2) Brumder Mansion B & B
3) County Clare Irish Pub & Inn
4) Golden Oak Bed & Breakfast
5) Lakeside Inn Cafe
6) Layton Guest House
7) Manderley Bed & Breakfast Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) AMBASSADOR HOTEL
2) BAYMONT INN & SUITES GLENDALE
3) BEST WESTERN INN TOWNE HOTEL
4) BW WOODS VIEW INN
5) COURTYARD MILWAUKEE DOWNTOWN
6) EXECUTIVE INN
7) EXEL INN OF MILWAUKEE NE
8) HOTEL METRO
9) HOWARD JOHNSON INN AND SUITES
10) HYATT REGENCY MILWAUKEE
11) MANCHESTER EAST HOTEL & SUITES
12) PARK EAST HOTEL-LAKE SHORE
13) PFISTER HOTEL DOWNTOWN
14) RAMADA INN DOWNTOWN
15) RESIDENCE INN MILWAUKEE DTWN
16) WOODFIELD SUITES GLENDALE
17) WYNDHAM MILWAUKEE
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Abbot Row
2) Abresch, Charles, House
3) All Saints' Episcopal Cathedral Complex
4) Allis, Charles, House
5) American System Built Homes-Burnham Street District
6) Arndt, Rufus, House
7) Astor on the Lake
8) Baasen House-German YMCA
9) Barfield-Staples House
10) Baumbach Building
11) Blatz Brewery Complex
12) Blatz, Valentin, Brewing Company Office Building
13) Bogk, Frederick C., House
14) Bossert, Thomas, House
15) Buemming, Herman W., House
16) Burnham, J. L., Block
17) Calkins, Elias A., Doublehouse
18) Calvary Presbyterian Church
19) Carpenter, Michael, House
20) Central Library
21) Chief Lippert Fire Station
22) Christ Evangelical Lutheran Church
23) Church, Benjamin, House
24) Coast Guard Station, Old
25) Commerce Street Power Plant
26) Congregation Beth Israel Synagogue
27) Cook, Thomas, House
28) Cords, Erwin, House
29) Dahinden, Edward J., House
30) Desmond--Farnham--Hustis House
31) Eagles Club
32) Elderwood
33) Esbenshade, Abraham H., House
34) Exton Apartments Building
35) Federal Building
36) First Church of Christ, Scientist
37) First Unitarian Church
38) Foth, Christian, House
39) Fourth Street School
40) Friedmann Row
41) Gabel, George, House
42) Gallun Tannery Historic District
43) German-English Academy
44) Germania Building
45) Gesu Church
46) Gimbels Parking Pavilion
47) Graham Row
48) Grand Avenue Congregational Church
49) Grant, Paul S., House
50) Greene, Thomas A., Memorial Museum
51) Hardie, Harrison, House
52) Hatch, Horace W., House
53) Hatch, Seneca W. & Bertha, House
54) Highland Avenue Methodist Church
55) Hoelz, Alfred M., House
56) Holy Trinity Roman Catholic Church
57) Home Office, Northwestern Mutual Life Insurance Company
58) Howie, David W., House
59) Immanuel Presbyterian Church
60) Iron Block
61) Jenkins, Halbert D., House
62) Johnston Hall
63) Kalvelage, Joseph B., House
64) Kane, Sanford R., House
65) Ketter, Frederick, Warehouse
66) Kilbourn Masonic Temple
67) Knapp-Astor House
68) Knickerbocker Hotel
69) Lindsay--Bostrom Building
70) Lohman Funeral Home and Livery Stable
71) Machek, Robert, House
72) Mackie Building
73) Mayer Boot and Shoe Company Building
74) McEwens, John F., House
75) McIntosh--Goodrich Mansion
76) Meyer, Henry A., House
77) Milwaukee City Hall
78) Milwaukee County Courthouse
79) Milwaukee County Historical Center
80) Milwaukee Fire Department High Pressure Pumping Station
81) Milwaukee News Building and Milwaukee Abstract Association Building
82) Milwaukee Normal School--Milwaukee Girls' Trade and Technical High School
83) Milwaukee--Western Fuel Company Building
84) Milwaukee-Downer "Quad"
85) Mitchell Building
86) Morgan, George E., House
87) North Point Lighthouse
88) North Point Water Tower
89) Old St. Mary's Church
90) Oliver, Joseph B., House
91) Oneida Street Station
92) Pabst Brewery Saloon
93) Pabst Theater
94) Pabst, Frederick, House
95) Public School No. 27
96) Public Sevice Building
97) Pythian Castle Lodge
98) Quarles, Charles, House
99) Saint George Melkite Catholic Church
100) Saint Peter's Evangelical Lutheran Church
101) Saint Vincent's Infant Asylum
102) Saints Peter and Paul Roman Catholic Church Complex
103) Salem Evangelical Church
104) Schlitz, Victor, House
105) Schuster, George, House and Carriage Shed
106) Second Church of Christ Scientist
107) Shorewood Village Hall
108) Sivyer, Fred, House
109) Sixth Church of Christ, Scientist
110) Smith, Lloyd R., House
111) South Branch Library
112) Sperling, Frederick, House
113) St. James Episcopal Church
114) St. John's Evangelical Lutheran Church Complex
115) St. John's Roman Catholic Cathedral
116) St. Josaphat Basilica
117) St. Martini Evangelical Lutheran Church
118) St. Patrick's Roman Catholic Church
119) St. Paul's Episcopal Church
120) State Bank of Wisconsin
121) Steinmeyer, William, House
122) Town of Milwaukee Town Hall
123) Trinity Evangelical Lutheran Church
124) Tripoli Temple
125) Turner Hall
126) Uihlein, Herman, House
127) Ullius, Fred W., Jr., House
128) Van Altena, William, House
129) Van Devan, G. B., House
130) Walker, Harry B., House
131) Ward Memorial Hall
132) Whitefish Bay National Guard Armory
133) Williams, Frank J., House
134) Wisconsin Consistory Building
135) Woman's Club of Wisconsin
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 801 Pub
2) A D's Clubhouse
3) ABC Beer & Liquor
4) Abu's Restaurant
5) Albanese's Tavern
6) All-City Bbq
7) American Subs
8) Anaba Tea Room
9) Anchorage Restaurant
10) Apollo Cafe
11) Archie & Roxie's Marquis
12) Art Bar
13) Ashley's Barbeque
14) Astor Street Restaurant
15) Au Bon Appetit
16) Axel's Inn
17) B & C Lounge
18) B & M Place
19) Bakers Square
20) Bangkok Orchid Thai Restaurant
21) Bartolatta's Restaurant
22) Baskin-Robbins
23) Baskin-Robbins
24) Beans & Barley Market & Cafe
25) Beccofino
26) Bella's Fat Cat
27) Benji's Delicatessen & Rstrnt
28) Big Larry's
29) Bistro Onopa Brewing Co
30) Blue Gardenia
31) Bosco's On Burleigh
32) Bronkos Chicken & Fish
33) Brown Bottle Pub
34) Buca Di Beppo
35) Bungalow Restaurant
36) Burbach's Market
37) Burger King
38) Burger King
39) Burger King
40) Calderone Club
41) Capitol Ice Cream
42) Carini's La Conca D'oro
43) Caspar's Lounge
44) Cataldo's Restaurant
45) Catfish Lounge
46) Cempazuchi
47) Champion's Pub
48) Chang Cheng Restaurant
49) Charles Catering Inc
50) Checkers Drive In Restaurant
51) Chef Pat's Catering
52) Cherry's Place
53) Chicago's Beef & Sausage
54) Chico's
55) Chin's Asia Fresh
56) China Palace Restaurant
57) China Wok
58) Chocolate Factory Ice Cream
59) Christopher's On Astor
60) Church's Chicken
61) Circle-A Cafe
62) City Market
63) Club 1806
64) Club 99
65) Club De Ville
66) Club Manhattan
67) Coffee Beans
68) Commons
69) Conversations
70) Corner Grill
71) Cottage Club
72) County Clare Irish Pub & Inn
73) Cousins Subs
74) Cousins Subs
75) Cousins Subs
76) Crawford's Cafe
77) Culver's Of Shorewood
78) Dairy Queen
79) Dancing Ganesha
80) Deli 1614
81) Deloney Lounge
82) Devonshire Victorian Tea Shopp
83) Di Salvo & Brennan's
84) Dino's Lounge & Restaurant
85) Domino's Pizza
86) Dorris & Petes Lounge
87) East Garden Chinese Restaurant
88) Ed's
89) Eddy's Place
90) Ee Sane Thai Cuisine
91) El Chico Mexican Restaurant
92) Elims Lounge
93) Elliott's Off Broadway Deli
94) Emeralds Ice
95) Emma's Place
96) Emperor Of China
97) Espresso & Christoph
98) Estate
99) Falcon Bowl
100) Family Restaurant
101) Fish Unlimited
102) Foundation
103) Fuel Cafe
104) Fun House Tap
105) G & G Fish & Chicken
106) Garfield Ave Tap
107) Gee Willickers
108) George Webb Restaurant
109) George Webb Restaurant
110) Gianelli's Pizza
111) Gig
112) Giovanni's Restaurant
113) Gold Coast Subs
114) Golden Chicken Carry-Out & Svc
115) Granny's D Restaurant
116) Grant's Restaurant
117) Grecian Delight
118) Groovin Inn
119) Ham House
120) Happy Family Buffet
121) Harry's Bar & Grill
122) Hazel's Place
123) Heinemann's Restaurant
124) Henry's & Bobbie's Bungalow
125) Hi Hat Lounge
126) Historical Met Hall
127) Hook Fish & Chicken
128) Hooligan's
129) Hopsheng LLC
130) Hot Spot
131) Hubbard Park Lodge
132) Ichiban Japanese Steak House
133) International Food
134) Izumi's Restaurant
135) J & B Lounge
136) J & J's Bar
137) J & J's Tap
138) J & R Catering
139) J J Fish
140) J T Bones LLC
141) Ja Stacy
142) Ja'stacy At Half Court
143) Jack Norman Catering
144) Jake's Delicatessen
145) Jalisco Restaurant
146) Jari
147) Jean Pierre
148) Jimmy John's Gourmet Sandwich
149) Joey's Italian Restaurant
150) John Ernst Restaurant
151) John's Red Hot & Fried Chicken
152) Judy's Vienna Red Hots
153) Kern's Penthouse
154) Kfc
155) Kfc
156) Klinger's East
157) Knickerbocker On The Lake
158) Kosta's White Manor
159) La Casita Mexican Cafe
160) Lacey Love
161) Lakefront Palm Garden
162) Libiamo Tavern & Hall
163) Lil WIL
164) Linneman's River West Inn
165) Lisa's Pizzaria Restaurant
166) Little Caesars Pizza
167) Lixx Inc
168) Lodge
169) London Bridge Pub
170) Luther's
171) Lyle's Sandwich Shop
172) M & M Lounge
173) Ma Fischer's Family Restaurant
174) Mac's Red Eye
175) Mad Mule Too
176) Madison's Time
177) Maharaja Restaurant
178) Mama Mia Felicci's
179) Martin Barbeque
180) Mc Donald's
181) Mc Donald's
182) Mc Donald's
183) Mc Donald's
184) Midwest Beverages
185) Milwaukee Hospitality Emplymnt
186) Milwaukee Wholesale Ice Cream
187) Mimma's Cafe
188) Montrell's Lounge
189) Mr Park's Place
190) Mr Perkin's Family Restaurant
191) Murray Place Inc
192) Nessun Dorma
193) New York Fried Chicken
194) New York Fried Chicken
195) Noodles & Co
196) Norm's Altruistic Lounge
197) North Star American Bistro
198) Oakland Gyros
199) Oakland Trattoria
200) Oakland Wine Bar
201) Odom's Pizza
202) Onopa Brewing Co
203) Oriental Coast
204) Original Betti's
205) Osteria Del Mondo
206) Ozpies
207) P J's Original Subs & Clubs
208) Paddy's Pub
209) Palermo Villa Restaurant
210) Palmero Villa Italian Rstrnt
211) Papa John's Pizza
212) Pasta Tree
213) Pitch's Lounge & Restaurant
214) Pizza Hut
215) Pizza Hut
216) Pizza Man
217) Pizza Shuttle
218) Place
219) Ponderosa Steakhouse
220) Popeye's Chicken & Biscuits
221) Popeye's Chicken & Biscuits
222) Prince Hall Masonic Temple
223) Pro Quality Catering Svc
224) Promises
225) Q F & H Diner
226) Qdoba Mexican Grill
227) Quarters
228) Quiet Place
229) Quiznos Sub
230) Rascals
231) Red Rock Cafe & Seafood Market
232) Redd's Snapper Seafoods Ii
233) Ret Lounge
234) Rips Barbeque King
235) Riverbrook Family Restaurant
236) Riverhorse Inn
237) Riverwest
238) Road Runners II Bar
239) Roast Inc
240) Robert D's Lounge
241) Rochambo Coffee & Tea House
242) Rocky Rococo
243) Romario's Pizza & Chicken Inc
244) Roots Restaurant
245) Rose's Place
246) Roth's Inn
247) Round One Sports
248) Roundhouse Concessions
249) Sammie's Place
250) Sandwiches & More
251) Sanford Restaurant
252) Savoy's
253) Scotty's Crab House
254) Seidita's Italian Deli & Meats
255) Shahrazad Middle Eastern
256) Shorewood Inn
257) Solly's Grille
258) Soup Ladle
259) Special Eats
260) Speed Queen Bar-B-Q
261) Starbucks
262) Still On 12th St II
263) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
264) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
265) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
266) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
267) Suggar Magnolia
268) Suzy's Hot & Spicy
269) Tap Whatever
270) Tastee Twist
271) Tess
272) Thai Kitchen
273) Tiny's Lounge
274) Tiny's Love Nest
275) TNT Lounge
276) Tony's Place
277) Tracks
278) Treats Tavern
279) Triple Play Hospitality
280) Twisters
281) Up & Under Pub
282) Uptowner
283) Valent's
284) Victor's Cocktail Lounge
285) Victorian Garden Tea Room
286) Village Pub
287) Vinifera At Passeggio
288) Warren's Lounge
289) Wash's Lounge
290) Wendy's
291) Wendy's
292) Wes's Place
293) West Bank Cafe
294) What's Fresh Deli
295) Wheelhouse Dinner Theatre
296) Wiley Building
297) William Ho's
298) Wong's Wok
299) Working Class LLC
300) Young's Bar
301) Zaffiro's Pizza & Bar
302) Zayna's Pizza
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
This place has been remodeled and reopened under a new name - Stonefly Brewing Company. There is a separate listing under the new name.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(05/07/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So N/A So So So So
all i knows is that i've not been able to finish a single pint at this place and i've returned at least a few due to unexpected dreadfulness. uhhh... mr. brewer let's work it out please. nobody wants a cup of syrupy shite. BUT. they have good music. adult. i mean anyone that books adult. has my approval. i just don't want to get sick drinking some half brewed shit. y'know? well it's a little better than i'm leading you to believe. maybe.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pat Lodge Pat Lodge, new york, NY
(03/28/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
Just down from St. Paul, MN. Went to the Ale House and was disappointed with average to poor beer. Glad I stoped in as Onopa, what a surpise. Outstanding Oatmeal stout. Full body, plenty of malt character to go along with the beautiful, rich black color and the everlasting creamy chocolate head. A great beer from a real brew pub. Food would be nice however. Also had a glass of Imperial Star Destroyer Stout. Wow. Heavy body, heavy malt, light hop finish, very very clean, rich, and decadent. Worth the trip just to drink their Imperial Stout.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David Buckman David Buckman, St. Paul, MN
(12/29/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A So So So So
The forgotten brewery, or that it seamed to me. We stopped on a Monday on the way north. The place was totally dead, 4 kids playing pool, all drinking cheep canned beer including the bartender. The place seamed run down, more like some local corner bar. The beer was good, not great, no special brews on tap and no food. There was literally nothing to make us stay and have a second beer, so we went to find the Ale House.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Philip Molloy Philip Molloy, Kalamazoo, MI
(04/06/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
To continue my previous review- this is my second time to Onopa but it has been a couple of years. In my opinion the beer quality has declined. The selection was nice but why do they still have a spiced ale on tap? Has it been here since Xmas? Wasn't bad but tasted a little old. The brown ale was quite hoppy (possibly like a northern brown) but was very cloudy and not malt balanced. drinkable but but more of an american amber. The pale ale which was the star on my previous visit was average but missing something. Less cascade used? I heard that a different owner/brewer is in place now. I didn't try other beers mostly because I started to feel OLD. Everyone there could have been my kid.Time to start concentrating on the brewing and not so much on getting college kids drunk. You can not even find Onopa on most sites and publications.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Todd Folkestad Todd Folkestad, owatonna, MN
(02/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Good
Hey this place is odd. They had six brews on tap. However there were 2 people out of thirty in the crowd drinking the good stuff. Maybe it was the big sign saying Grain belt for 1.50. A beer was only 3.25. Also the crowd appearred to be mostly young starving artist college kids. I'll add more to this later.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Todd Folkestad Todd Folkestad, owatonna, MN
(02/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome!
First and foremost, the house beers made there were very good. I sampled all of the eight beers that were on tap but the pale ale and the porter were my favorites. As previous reviewers stated, this place has a very unique atmosphere and is not upscale in the least. The giant mouse trap is a site to see. The bartender Christian was an awesome host and spent a lot of time talking to me about numerous subjects. I was also able to meet the brewer, very nice as well and took the time to talk to me for a bit. I would have to rate this place the best brew pub I've been to in the greater Milwaukee area. Milwaukee has a couple of great microbreweries but is severely lacking in the brew pub area. The food was OK but not outstanding. Menu was very limited. My only knock on this place would be that they don't take credit cards or let you run a tab. Not good for the beer loving business traveler. I will come back next time I'm in Milwaukee.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beer Boy Beer Boy, Suffield, OH
(12/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good
I had pretty high expectations from finding this place on pubcrawler. It was decent, but the APA, while solid, did not bring tears to my eyes, as one other pubcrawler described. A unique place with a diverse crowd and better than average beers for Milwukee, but simply average on a national scale.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Todd Clingman Todd Clingman, Centerville, OH
(11/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great So So
Here's a brewpub that makes no pretensions of inoffensive tidiness. If that's what you’re about, skip Onopa and head downtown to Rock Bottom. Rather, this place appears to cater to the Berkeley-like eccentric subset of the UW-M student body. (I certainly wasn't expecting a Burning-Man-type freak show clientele, but that's what you get here. Nonetheless they let this out-of-place conservative square drink his beer in peace, so freak show or not, they're OK by me.) The inside is dark and decidedly understated. Walls are black. Ceiling is black. Floor is black. Mood is black. Tables and chairs that looked as if they were salvaged from an abandoned diner were scattered haphazardly about. A 70s-vintage Blatz electric clock complete with ersatz pendulum is the most extravagant bit of decor.

They had 8 of their brews on tap, a pretty decent variety for such a small-scale operation. All the ones I sampled were very well-crafted. Tried the wheat first. Seemed more Belgian than German in style. Tart though it was, it was also surprisingly sweet and rather intense -- almost as though they had taken some Hoegaarden and concrentrated it. Probably the most unique wheat beer I've had. Not so unique was the "Moustache Ride" pale ale, your standard boilerplate West-Coast style American IPA. Well-done but not terribly original. Their House Ale almost seemed like “American IPA Lite.” Well hopped but without the telltale Cascade bite, which allowed the malt character to surface better than in the WestCoastBoilerplate. Their Special Bitter was an excellent English-style bitter (though unfortunately not on hand-pull) with a perfect balance of sharp but not intrusive hop bitterness and generous warm caramel malt. The oatmeal stout was the best of the bunch, and one of the best I've had anywhere. Starts out unusually sweet, then the dry-roast flavor mows you down, until alas the slight oatmeal sweetness makes a small comeback. Didn't try the porter or the brown -- maybe next time.

So with all the praise, why the "So-So" overall rating? Because while my visit started out as a quiet, contemplative beer-pondering experience, that serenity was soon shattered by a band so goddamned loud I thought my ears were going to bleed. Can someone tell me why bands that play in 2,000 square-foot bars feel the need to turn their amps up as if they're trying to fill Madison Square Garden with their dreck? What's worse is that they sucked horse’s ass. Loud + Sucky = Insufferable. No wonder there was a grand total of about 25 patrons on a Saturday night. Even the bartender told us, "I'm so sick of these bands, I just wanna take a big-ass airhorn up on stage, blast it right in their ears and say, ‘that’s how much I'm enjoying your music.'" I'm with you, pal. It didn't take long for this aural bombardment to chase my date and me the hell out of there, promptly reducing the patron count to 23.

Onopa's got a good thing going with the beer. But if you want to sample it without incidental hearing loss, make sure to check their schedule and patronize the place when there isn't a Hellforsaken noise factory on the stage.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from The Enemy The Enemy, Chicago, IL
(11/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great
The former owner, (Paul?) Onopa, has sold the brewery. Two local woman have purchased it. This according to the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel. From what I have seen and heard nothing has immediatly changed. A very unique place. I went dressed in a polo shirt and jeans and definately stuck out, but the staff was nice and the beer was worth it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ken Ken, Oak Creek, WI
(08/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Milwaukee, WI
(07/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
they only had the 3 specialty beers available of which I had the Belgian Dubbel style. It was pretty good. They'd run out of their regular brews and for some reason didn't get the empties changed out. The bartender was friendly and answered my questions. We were there yesterday, Sat 3 July which is of course Summerfest. So, there were only two other customers and it was pretty mellow even with the hard guitar playing on the sound system. Great funky style to the place with some H. Bosch style line drawings. Would've bought a t-shirt with the art on it if the beer it referred to was available to try. Place is a perfect compliment to the Fuel Cafe coffee shop accross the street. Looking forward to going again next time that I can.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeff Hotson Jeff Hotson, La Crosse, WI
(07/04/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo. Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(06/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
i've always found erin to be a great bartender! she hates the world so much that she always makes me feel better about me life. the only thing that i don't like about her is that she moved away and doesn't work at onopa anymore.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gabriel Gabriel, Milwaukee, WI
(06/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great
Very strange place! Younger more eclectic crowd made me feel a little uncomfortable. I was probably the only person without multiple piercings. However the first sip of APA brought tears to my eyes. God I love the smell of Cascade in the evening! They also had a nice Belgian Strong Gold. Next time I'll wear my Grateful Dead T-shirt and doo-rag and I may never leave. I even tracked down the brewer and thanked him but did not get much of a response. Maybe it was my dockers and polo shirt. Hey I'm a democrat! Can't wait to return.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Todd Folkestad Todd Folkestad, Owatonna, MN
(03/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A Awesome! Great
A gem of a brewpub with real potential located in a somewhat questionable neighborhood. Best beer in Milwaukee.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Grant T. Averill Grant T. Averill, Louisville, KY
(02/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
This is the best bar in milwaukee if you care about beer and social issues, they have numerous benefits, which Paul the owner is all about, benefits, for the community, the beer is excellent i've been going since the very first day they opened and because they only have good beer i never get a hangover, Overall its a 10 out of 10.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Millersucks Millersucks, milwaukee, WI
(09/04/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great
What a GREAT spot. Although the other patrons make me feel about 100 years old, the beer is excellent and the genuine funkiness is a refreshing antidote to the yuppie sameness elsewhere. Very friendly service.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Hal Hackett Hal Hackett, Milwaukee, WI
(08/04/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Very tasty beer. Pale ale is my beer of choice, and the APA there is amazing. Fresh and lots of hops. The seasonal Sömmer ale is equally delicious. $2 pints on Thursdays. Keep up the good work!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Emily Emily, Milwaukee, WI
(07/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
Onopa is truly a unique place. The fine beers, eclectic ambience and local patronage all help give the place an old school beer hall feel, yet remains quite contemporary. No T.V.'s. People drink and speak here. The house brew's are all top notch and priced right. The beer garden still needs work, but is already a comfortable place to hang out. I've always found the bartenders to be on the ball, with or without attitude. Go there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Orson Gordon Orson Gordon, Milwaukee, WI
(07/12/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!
I am king of beer! So it Onopa!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Justin Justin, twin cities, MN
(07/10/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A Good Awesome!
Very cool place. By cool I mean Sinatra's corpse meets 3.5 tons of ice.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Braden Braden, mount prospect, IL
(07/10/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Awesome!
Can you believe it? Guys... I'm on TV!!! PHENOMENAL BEER - quite a compliment coming from an experienced brewmaster.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jason Jason, Neenah, WI
(07/10/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Great
The beer is excellent, both their own brews (APA! ESB!) and the non-Onopa selections(Bells!). I've been going there with some regularity (once a month or so) since it opened, and I've found everyone there to be friendly and helpful. The only "attitude" I've detected from Erin the bartender is that she's smart, funny, and pleasant to be around.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Milwaukee, WI
(07/10/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Lousy So So
Most of the bartenders have total attitude, especially the white girl with black dreadlocks. The place would be ALOT cooler with a different, less self righteous, and downright inconsiderate bar staff. I've tried coming in there for happy hour a few times and walked right back out when upon entering blaring, screaming grindcore at 5 int he afternoon, gimmie a break what is this high school? Anyone whose just finished a long, hard days work just wants to unwind. This staff is NOT properly representing the Riverwest community.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sarah Sarah, Milwaukee, WI
(07/09/2003)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.264 seconds) 13:15:43 54.91.82.25, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS