PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Brenham Brewery - Brenham, TX
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 30, 2014 @ 01:42 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > TX > Brenham > Brenham Brewery
Brenham Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery
Brenham Brewery
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 82.5 / 100
[Closed - 2003]
201 West First Street
Brenham, TX 77833
United States
(979) 830-0854
Listed Since: March 2002
Last Updated: January 2004
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Brenham, TX
Beer Guide for Texas

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Brenham Brewery
12 Reviews / 14 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Ant Street Inn & Gallery
2) Brenham House
3) Captain Clay's House
4) Ingleside B & B
5) Mariposa Ranch Bed & Breakfast
6) Murski Homestead B & B
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN INN OF BRENHAM
2) COMFORT SUITES BRENHAM
3) RAMADA LIMITED BRENHAM
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Bassett and Bassett Banking House
2) Blue Bell Creameries Complex
3) Brenham School
4) Giddings-Stone Mansion
5) Giddings-Wilkin House
6) Lenert, Dr. Robert, House
7) Matchett, Edgar, House
8) Pampell-Day House
9) Red House
10) Santa Fe Railway Company Freight Depot
11) Schuerenberg, F. W., House
12) Seelhorst, W. E., House
13) Southern Pacific Railroad Freight Depot
14) Synagogue B'nai Abraham
15) Washington County Courthouse
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Buffet Style Pizza
2) Capital Grille
3) Cow Trail Restaurant & Bar
4) Daisy's Mexican Food & Trtllr
5) Design II
6) El Charro T Mexican Restaurant
7) Ernie's Restaurant
8) Fluff Top Roll Restaurant
9) Fricke's
10) J's Bar-B-Q
11) Little John's Pizza
12) Los Caporales Mexican Rstrnt
13) Lupita Latinos' Market
14) Mc Donald's
15) Mc Donald's
16) Michaelinda's
17) Otto's
18) Petticoat Junction Restaurant
19) Popeye's Tavern & Game Room
20) Scooters Bar & Grill
21) Seafood & Steak
22) Service Novelty Co
23) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
24) Texas Tavern
25) Volare Italian Restaurant
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A N/A
I've been searching for info on this beer so we could serve it @ our wedding. Drank it a few time and LOVED IT! Thats too bad of him closing the place. I was looking forward...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Houston, TX
(11/09/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A
Sadly this little brewery will soon be extinct. Word has it that it will be shut down soon. Everyone support your local breweries.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Fred Swain Fred Swain, Houston, TX
(10/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A N/A N/A

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Columbus, TX
(09/19/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
mmmmmm good!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Brenham, TX
(09/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!
I had the pleasure of drinking the Black Lager last night while listening to 3 good songwriters at the Hops House. I started with the Lager and there was no reason to order a different beer for the rest of the evening! How many DID I have anyway? Great job James!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Thomas Witanek Thomas Witanek, Cypress, TX
(06/13/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I visited the Brenham Brewery and went on the tour. James the Owner/Brewmaster gives tours every Saturday at 1:00pm and is a very generous host. If your lucky enough you may even get fed. His Grill skills are exceeded only by his brewing skills. It's a very laid back and friendly atmosphere with lots of true Texas character, but when it comes to brewing beer, it's serious business. I understand that James spent time learning his craft in Germany and it shows. The Lager is great but the Bock is *outstanding*! I think Shiner Bock is great beer but his is *better*. It's worth a trip to Brenham. I look forward to seeing some Brenham Bock in B/CS soon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Blitzcraig Blitzcraig, College Station, TX
(11/20/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A N/A
I have tried the Pils, Lager, and Bock and like them very much. I have been drinking soley German Beer for the past 10 years but have decided to support Americas economy by only drinking American beer. I have lived in Texas for 11 years and love it so, there is no better way for me to support America's economy than by supporting Texas' economy. This being said, I enjoy the Brenham beers enough for it to be my brews of choice. I am anxiously waiting for Brenham beers to show up in Specs here in Houston.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Houston, TX
(11/19/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Great
Brenham Brewery is a small family owned brewery that is making great beers on a shoestring budget. I hope James gets enough support to make it, since it's a tough market to succeed in!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bev Blackwood Bev Blackwood, Houston, TX
(11/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great
This review might seem a bit 'partial' only because I live one block from this brewery!!! But the beer is honestly great! James and John are awesome guys who have a great product and are 'totally' into this place! I have had the opportunity to help James brew one batch of beer, form beginning to end, and I can tell ya, it is a science. He is a perfectionist when it comes to the process and was very informative as well. Hope you guys can get out to the brewery to experience their beers soon!!!!!!!!! Ragan Bond (Main Street Coffee and Trading Co.)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ragan Bond Ragan Bond, Brenham, TX
(10/09/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A Great
The Brenham Bock is now available. I found it at the Stag's Head in Houston, and I've heard that the first keg of Brenham Bock went quite fast at the Hops House. The bock has a nice medium brown color. It did not have the strong malty sweet taste that some bocks deliver, and was really quite refreshing. I will be looking forward to trying it again soon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(10/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So N/A N/A Great
I was at the brewery twice this summer. The beergarten does not have a functional bar, so you have to go inside to get your beer, but the brewer, James, is more than happy to sit outside and drink with visitors. I tried his bock, which should be commercially available some time this month. For anyone living in or visiting or fair city of Austin, the Dog and Duck pub regularly serves the Brenham Brewery lager, of which I've grown quite fond.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kyle Friesen Kyle Friesen, Austin, TX
(10/03/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So N/A N/A Good
After some delays, Brenham Brewery has begun distributing two beers in kegs to accounts in Houston, and they may be available in Austin and/or San Antonio as well. The first two beers are light in color, a pilsner and a helles lager. I found them both on tap at the Flying Saucer in Houston. Brewer James Hudec has some additional recipes for darker lagers which may be available in the future. I had an opportunity to taste his four test brews, including a tasty dark lager and another recipe (perhaps an Oktoberfest style - I can't recall for sure), when I visited the brewery nearly a year ago after renovation had begun on the building that houses the brewery. The location is not far from the center of the historic town of Brenham. A beergarten adjacent to the brewery was in the plans as well. I hope to visit Brenham soon and see if the beergarten is open.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(03/16/2002)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.579 seconds) 13:42:24 54.81.77.93, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS