PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


McKenzie Brew House - Glen Mills, PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 01, 2014 @ 02:44 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Glen Mills > McKenzie Brew House
McKenzie Brew House Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
McKenzie Brew House
Overall: Good    Score: 70 / 100
451 Wilmington Pike
(Route 202, one mile south of Route 1)
Glen Mills, PA 19342
United States
(610) 361-9800
Listed Since: April 2002
Last Updated: September 2006
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Glen Mills, PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of McKenzie Brew House
33 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(1 within 5 miles)
1) Firewaters
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Old Country Antiques B & B
2) Sweetwater Farm
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BW CONCORDVILLE HOTEL AND CONF
2) COMFORT INN & STES BRANDYWINE
3) DAYS INN WILMINGTON NEWARK
4) OAKWOOD AT WINDERMERE PLACE
5) PARK INN & SUITES
6) PARK INN-STES BRANDYWINE VALLE
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Chamberlain-Pennell House
2) Concord Friends Meetinghouse
3) County Bridge No. 148
4) Forge Hill
5) Gilpin Homestead
6) Handwrought
7) High Hill Farm
8) Melrose
9) Newlin, Nicholas, House
10) Painter, William, Farm
11) Pyle, Joshua, House and Wagon Barn
12) Seventeen-hundred-and-four House
13) Stonehaven
14) Thompson Cottage
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) America Bar & Grill
2) Antonio's Steaks & Shakes Inc
3) Boxcar Cafe Inc
4) Bravo Pizza
5) Brothers Pizzeria & Restaurant
6) Bruster's Old-Fashioned Ice
7) Chistine Marie's Catering
8) Concord Pizza
9) Concordville Inn Restaurant
10) Country Deli
11) Crier In The Country
12) Crier In The Country Rstrnt
13) Duffer's Pub
14) Ebenezer's Cafe
15) Foodsource/Gatherings
16) Johnathan's Grill Inc
17) Lia's Catering
18) Maggiemoo's
19) Mc Donald's
20) Mc Donald's
21) Mc Kenzie Brew House
22) Meghan's
23) Mesa Fresh Mexican Grill
24) P F Chang's China Bistro
25) Pace One
26) Pat's Pizzeria Glen Mills
27) Philly T's
28) Sportsview Bar & Grill
29) Starbucks
30) Suburban Food Svc
31) Vincente's Restaurant
32) Wakita Of Japan
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!
It is rare to find good food and service at a Micro Brewery that actually has first rate beer. I read all the other posts and a few of them do not know what they are talking about. I would highly recommend trying McKenzie's when you have a chance.

Not only great food and service but entertainment also, how can you beat that, except maybe that the prices are good also.

This was our first time there, I will give a report back the next time we go.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Galant Mike Galant, West Chester, PA
(05/28/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So So So So So
I've been there quite a few times now, and always ask myself, "why did I go?" It is close to us, and I can't always go to Iron Hill which is right around the corner.

The beer is really, and quite honestly not very good. They seem to lack direction, and make not so tasty Belgian style beers. It's all I ever see in there it seems. I've tried them all and my opinion is they are undefined, muddy tasting creations that lack any definition. It takes an artist to make these beers, and these are far from artisitc creations. I just wanted a nice drinking pale ale, or amber and the house standards were also IMO muddy undefined beers. Iron Hill blows them away. Maybe they can hire one of their brewers to get it right?

They do have a good selection, but they all kinda taste the same.

Food? Well, if this pub was out in the middle nowhere, it would be very good. But in consideration of the local competition, I truly think it's so so. your much better off somewhere else.

Service was snarky. What is it with the attitude in this place? I mean, if I don't show up in a 5K suit I get snarky service? Bar staff sucked. When I got table service, much much better.

Sorry McKenzie, I'm sticking with Iron Hill, Quotations or firewaters, if I want good beer!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Don Don, Media, PA
(01/13/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
Very enjoyable and drinkable beers. They weren't outstanding, but the 3 we tried were good (pale ale, lager, red). The food was tasty and enjoyable. We would return.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dick Poynter Dick Poynter, Springfield, IL
(12/25/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Good So So So So
Visited this brew house tonight based on the reviews previously given. Had the seaasonal IPA which was mildly interesting and didn't do anything for my palate. Then had the Wicked Wills Pale Ale and could only drink half of it - not much flavor and body and tasted more like a watered down version of a mass produced beer. I didn't try the other beers on the menu but I suspect the target audience is more the general beer drinking population and definitely not brewed for hardcore beer drinkers like fans of the bigger, hoppier, fuller body types. The food was O.K. and the bartenders had an attitude. There were only two bartenders on duty and jusging by how many people were at the bar, they could have easily used a third person. I'm not saying this is a terrible place, but I was dissapointed because I was expecting more from it. The atmosphere here is smokey, loud, crowded, and reminded me of a continuation of the bars I used to frequent in college. If this is what you enjoy, then you will very likely favor this place. If not, maybe look for a different place to go.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Allentown, PA
(04/24/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good
Been a while since we were there but all of the beers were drinkable, most were tasty, with 1-2 stand outs...scotch for ex. Firewaters beerbar is very close by.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beertrekker Beertrekker, Ellicott City(Baltimore), MD
(08/15/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Good Good So So
The only reason I went there was because of scott(the brewmaster), a truly talented brewer and an even better person. They should just start selling miller lite as it seems they could care less about good beer. don't bother...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review malvern, PA
(01/18/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Good Good Lousy
Used to be one of my favorite local brewpubs. Unfortunately it seems they let go the reason why I was going there. Seems they've fired their head brewer today, I really don't see any reason to go back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Eric, Schwenksville, PA
(12/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Lousy So So
went on faijitas and margaritas night. the food was alright but the margarita was terrible, tasted like a mix - even after the waitress brought a replacement. Server was very inattentive.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gene Gene, Chadds Ford, PA
(10/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
This was our first beer stop on a week-long visit to southeastern Pennsylvania. My wife and I each had a pint (mine was a reasonably good brown ale) and a quesadilla appetizer, after visiting the Wyeth museum and sampling wines at the nearby Chadds Ford winery. This was a busy, noisy place on a late Thursday afternoon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(07/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So So So So So
How does this place stay in business when the John Harvard's two miles down the road couldn't draw a crowd? Everything about this place is mediocre. What is the point of a brewpub that brews the same thing you can buy mass produced? Very disappointing.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Kelly Brian Kelly, Dunwoody, GA
(01/15/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good So So So So
What is this place? talk about an idenity crisis! It's more of a bar than a brewpub, and that was what the wife had said! We went downstairs to play a game of pool, and ordered a few of the belgian bottles they have, but the bartender looked confused- said they were not available, so we ordered the solid regular tap brew. When we went up for dinner, it was an adventure. The waitress probaly has never eaten the food there, as she could not answer any questions. Beer questions?? No better. Clueless staff and management. It's amazing this place has been around! Don't get us wrong- the food was real good, and the beers on tap are very solid! We DID order those Belgian beers upstairs, and took some home.(why not downstairs???) The reason to go to McKenzie is to Pick up the Speciality bottles, World class! As for the rest, we'll try it again when it's less crowded.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Felix Felix, west chester, PA
(12/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good
A good stop on 202 if you're coming into PA from Wilmington. There were 5 regular taps, plus 2 seasonals. Four different 750ml bottles are offered as well: Saison, Biere de Garde, Baltic Porter, and Wit. While the draught beer was OK, I was a bit hesitant to try the bottles @ $10 a pop. I'm hoping to stop here with a friend to share a bottle or two. The Black Lab Stout was pretty good as was the Old Rogue Pale. Apps typical, wings spicy and big.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Awesome! Good Great
I was a little disappointed, as I had expected great things (from comments by others on Ratebeer and Beeradvocate, primarily). The ambiance is surburban huge new ugly "American Brewpub 2000", I don't know how to describe; I've seen several brewpubs that look exactly like this in ugly suburban areas. The beer was mostly just ok, though I haven't yet had any of the three (well-rated) bottles I bought. Service was fine; what saved the evening was the food which was one of the best brewpub meals I've had: flawless rare sesame-crusted salmon, black rice, well prepared veggies. I'd certainly recommend, but I'm guess the best beer is in the bottles you'll take home

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from muzzlehatch muzzlehatch, Burlington, VT
(05/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
Been here many times since my last review. I guess we've been lucky not to have service problems and the food has been quite good. Scott's beers are excellent. Unfortunately, his biggest seller is the Light which occupies most of his brewing time and keeps him from (but allows him financially)more creative endeavors. Stop in if only for the beers. If you get the chance to talk to Scott, do it!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Somers Point, NJ
(05/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
On the plus side: Beers generally good across the board (I found the Pale Ale the best of the regulars), and this place has a unusual two-tier system: regular beers on draft, and top-notch well-aged Belgian-styles for sale to go or to drink on site (ca. $9 a capped 750ml). No duds in the bunch, and the Belgians were/are truly top-notch (and you can take them home!) The down side to this visit: Talking to different barstaff finally revealed, late in the visit, that there were beers on draft that were neither on the menu or on the otherwise-informative wall beer menu board. That IPA would have gone unsampled had I not been tipped off. My thanks to the enterprising homebrewers who shared their McKenzie Belgians with me so I could taste the diversity of the McKenzie lineup; lack of kudos to the managers for not keeping the menus (or, apparently, some of the bartenders as well) updated.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Alexander D. Mitchell IV Alexander D. Mitchell IV, Baltimore, MD
(03/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great
Stopped by Monday 1/19/04 for lunch had super service and tried the Asian Lettuce wraps !! Awsome. My pal enjoyed the the sesame steak noodle bowl. Great Pub food, good service -- they really know how to please.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeff Jeff, Chadds Ford, PA
(01/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A So So Lousy So So
The waiter was horrible, he made numerous errors and didn't write anything down.The food took almost one hour to arrive, and the waiter kept making excuses when asked where our meals were. The owners attitute towards our complaints was not what she should have said. We will never come back, and I will recommend the same to others.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from stuart stuart, wilmington, DE
(11/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A Good Lousy Lousy
Waiter was "out of it"! Drink order had 2 out of 4 wrong. In addition, when the order took close to an hour (and was not correct); management asked "what do you want us to do". I think the correct responce is "why would you come back"? For a restaurants its "word of mouth" thats keeps them on business- so the word is "AVOID MCKENZIE'S"!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Scott, Conshohocken, PA
(11/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Lousy Lousy Lousy
I would never go back or recommend this restaurant to anybody. It took an hour to get our food and just about everything came out wrong--including the drinks. The management had an attitude when we complained, and did nothing to rectify the situation.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Roberta Roberta, Wilmington, DE
(11/01/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Typical brewpub, with typical brewpub fare. The beers were tasty, but nothing really stood out for me. I like a lot of room, but to be honest, it almost seemed too big. Prices were ok, and if you are a smoker in Delaware, you can't smoke in bars anymore. This place is just past the state line and you could do much worse.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Hops Dreibelbis Jr. Hops Dreibelbis Jr., Newark, DE
(10/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Unusual format here in that the tap lineup has standard US/UK/German styles and they bottle four Belgian styles for either on-premise consumption or to-go. The seasonal summer wheat was OK, bland in the American Wheat style. Pils was better, nice and sharp. Must return when they have labeled some of the Belgians for to-go sale. Sound tasty.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Roach Roach, Plano, TX
(09/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Good Good
steak and beer night very noisy and smokey an alright place but after victory it was sort of average

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review j ferner, baltimore, md
(05/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Great
Stopped in on a sunday afternoon and sat at the bar. Both of our first 2 beer choices had "just run out", so there were only 5 to choose from. The Setter's Pale was my choice, and it was a solid APA. Great citrus aroma, nicely hopped, good body. The Lager that my wife started with was a Pilsner that was brewed for the masses.(It looked like the Light Lager was even more so.) She switched to the Irish Red and was much more satisfied. Good malt character and nice body. The pizza we shared was ok, the crust was a little undercooked. Dave the bartender was right on top of the service. Cool place. I'd like to return some time for dinner, as the rest of the menu and other food we saw passing by looked great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review steve, somerset, nj
(04/13/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Great Great
Try the blackened salmon salad with orange vinaigrette! It's the best...Really great beer selection I enjoyed the Steamboat Ale--full bodied, great refreshing flavor. The whole place is light and airy with lots

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Nikki Meredith, Kennett Square, Pa
(04/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
Try the Chicken Stir Fry w/cashews....whether for lunch or dinner, it's the phat!!!!!!!!! Also, it's refreshing to be greeted to nice smiles when you enter the place!!!!! Who's that manager who works nights?? He is the 'host'ess with the most'ess

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Cj, Boothwyn, Pa
(04/07/2003)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.315 seconds) 02:44:05 23.20.103.100, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS