PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Porterhouse Restaurant and Brew Pub - Lahaska, PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 25, 2014 @ 07:51 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Lahaska > Porterhouse Restaurant and Brew Pub
Porterhouse Restaurant and Brew Pub Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Porterhouse Restaurant and Brew Pub
Overall: Great    Score: 74.5 / 100
5775 Lower York Road
(Route 202)
Lahaska, PA 18931
United States
(215) 794-9373
Listed Since: April 2002
Last Updated: November 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Lahaska, PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Porterhouse Restaurant and Brew Pub
23 Reviews / 2 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(4 within 5 miles)
1) Porterhouse Restaurant and Brew Pub
(0 mile)

2) Spotted Hog
(0 mile)

3) Triumph Brewing Company
(2 miles)

4) Heart of Oak Pub
(2 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) 1740 House
2) Ash Mill Farm
3) Barley Sheaf Farm
4) Centre Bridge Inn
5) Cordials B & B
6) Fox & the Hound
7) Hollyhedge Estate
8) Honey Hollow Farm B & B
9) Hotel Du Village
10) Inn At Ruins
11) Lahaska Inn
12) Lexington House
13) Mill Creek Farm B & B
14) Whitehall Inn
15) Wishing Well Inn
16) Woolverton Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN NEW HOPE INN
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Atkinson Road Bridge
2) Bridge in Buckingham Township
3) Bridge in Solebury Township
4) Bridge Valley Bridge
5) Cintra
6) Delaware and Raritan Canal
7) Gilbert, Thomas and Lydia, Farm
8) Kitchen, William, House
9) Lacey, Gen. John, Homestead
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Best Of British
2) Black Bass Hotel Restaurant
3) Buckingham Deli
4) Buckingham Mountain Brewing Co
5) Buckingham Pizza
6) Caffe Galleria
7) Candlewyck Beef & Ale
8) Carversville General Store
9) Cock 'n Bull Restaurant
10) Cock N' Bull Restaurant
11) Dairy Queen
12) Dairy Queen
13) European Connection
14) Giuseppe's Pizza & Restaurant
15) Hart's Tavern
16) Jenny's Bistro
17) Just Eat By Brown Gold
18) Just Food
19) Lacena Restaurant & Pizza
20) Lahaska Country Deli
21) Lahaska Village Market
22) Peddler's Village Restaurant
23) Porterhouse Restaurant & Brew
24) Siam Cuisine Thai Restaurant
25) Spatola's Pizza
26) Spotted Hog
27) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
28) Villa Covello
29) Waterlillies
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A Good So So
Arrived to find out that their equipment has been broken for over a month, so no house brews. There was a decent selection of guest taps and two that are brewed by Philadelphina Brewing for Porterhouse. Heard from another establichment that their beer is horrible anyway.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick Fines Patrick Fines, Temple Hills, MD
(06/02/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So So So So So
Use to be very good,,,,Slipped in the last few months

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review new hope, PA
(02/28/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Awesome! So So Good
I've been to this restaurant 5 or 6 times. Love the food. The crabcakes are stuffed full of actual crab, not filler like one often gets. Quality of the steaks have ranged from Awesome to good, depending on whether they've been cooked to the desired level of "doneness", for momentary lack of a better word. They "have" a decent selection of beers on tap, but the two most recent times I've gone, they've been out of the beer that looked most intriguing to me. My wife and I purchased a growler there once for what I realized afterwards was an insanely high price. I think the growler was the equivalent of like 5 beers as far as quantity, and the price was around 20 bucks!!! That's NOT including the price of the growler itself! I think I agreed to purchase it on the premise that my calculations had to be off somewhere, that it was inconceivable they could be selling the to-go beer for that much, but sure enough, they were. So now we have a growler that we never get refilled. Anyway, the beer we purchased was a Kolsch, which we loved, but which subsequently was not available.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Brian, Milford, NJ
(05/12/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
Our first visit. Stopped in for lunch. The Heidel Bock was very good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ben Ben , Hatfield, PA
(04/07/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
Riverhorse Brews (Lambertville NJ)Very good food across the street from Peddlers Village. A welcome break after shopping! Nice place. The type you wish was near your home!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from brian harto brian harto, milltown, NJ
(04/26/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good
Decent location on rt. 202 on the way to NJ. 8 on tap when I visited. Was told by the bartender, " River Horse is contracted to come on premesis to brew our beers." I wasn't terribly impressed by the beers' quality. Oktoberfest had a slight corn taste, while the Special Ale was quite watery. Irish Stout seemed to me to be a darker version of their Harvest Ale, but nothing special. The Belgian Frostbite was very sweet, as described on their beer menu, but the hops bitterness didn't balance well--it was quite an odd combo. Don't know that I'd venture here again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(12/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Awesome! Great
I frequent this place about twice a month. Head bartender is a great guy and the burgers are among the best I've ever had. Beer wise they are very good, though sometimes the selection seems a little weak. The Hop Hazard and Trippel Horse (cursedly not offered at this time but rumored to be back by fall) are excellent, as is their regular Bock, but it's rarely on tap. (They offer a Spring Bock at the moment which is fair.) The Raspberry Wheat is lame and the Stout leaves much to be desired, though the Dark Harvest is very good. The regular Special Ale and Lager drafts are also tasty. Food wise they also need to shake the menu up, but as mentioned earlier you can;lt go wrong with the burgers. They also offer a unique pork sandwich and a solid fish and chips. On the app side the mozzerella salad and duck quesadilla are both excellent. Wings are inconsistent...sometimes a little on the chewy side but other times done just right. Non-smoking atmosphere, TV sets and clean bar add more points.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Philadelphia, PA
(07/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Great Good Good So So
It is MUCH too noisy. The management should put up curtains, tapestries or something to absorb the sound.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Linda Barth, Somerville, NJ
(05/31/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Awesome! Good Awesome!
Beer: the Stout is very good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Tony Antonuccio, Philadelphia, PA
(05/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Steak and crab cakes are phenomenal!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Teresa, Newtown, PA
(04/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Great Great
The four River Horse beers (Special Ale, Hop Hazard, Dark Harvest, and Lager) are rather boring. Currently on tap (as of April 2003): An Irish Stout, a spring Maibock, a Blond Ale, and a Belgian Tripel. I haven't tried the Maibock yet (it was still conditioning the last time I went). The Tripel is amazing..... 9.4% ABV, strong, spicy flavor, yet goes down so smooth. It's the best Tripel I've had so far, even better than some of the true Belgian one's I've had.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Justin, Ewing, NJ
(04/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great So So Awesome!
The beer is very good, especially the Belgian-style. The food is surprisingly exceptional. But the number one reason my husband and I frequent Porterhouse on a regular basis, IT IS TOTALLY SMOKE-FREE!!! One can enjoy a beer without respiratory distress. Lovely atmosphere, good beer, great food, clean bathrooms, clean air. What more could you ask for?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Elizabeth Elizabeth, Newtown, PA
(02/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Awesome! Good Good
I think it's pretty well covered below, but the beers (RH and House) are drinkable, but nondescript. The Octoberfest had No real flavor at all when trying it after the RH Special Ale. The 2 best on the sampler were both RiverHorse: Special and Hop Hazard. The food was outstanding in the upstairs dining area. (Downstairs has a more pub-like menu, which the hostess should tell people as she's seating them. We saw at least 2 different tables of people get up and request to sit downstairs after looking at the pricier formal dining options). Our waitress did an efficient and friendly job, but lacked beer knowledge and we lost sight of her for a while when the place started to fill up with patrons. One major (to me!) complaint: I went to purchase a pint glass for my collection, but when I found out they charged $8.50 for one EMPTY, I told them no thank you...it's the first time i've ever turned one down, and i left disappointed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from steve steve, somerset, NJ
(11/25/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great So So Good
Beers: Raspberry Ale -- fresh fruit flavor, too sweet for me. Stout -- very roasted, chocolate-y, proper restraint on hops. Dark Harvest -- loaded with diactyl, not a good taste. Trippel -- mediocre. Prices reasonable for all beers. Food: Better than the beers. Smoked trout appetizer was excellent, enough to split with companion. Caesar salad large and well made. Chili thick and tasty. Seafood bisque rich and well-balanced. Service at the bar was uneven -- slow to refill empty glasses, but pleasant and enthusiastic. (Downstairs tables were noisy because of several cranky infants on Saturday evening.) Still, we'd go back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lynn Lynn, Haycock Twp, PA
(10/09/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Lousy So So
Well I finally made it there when they were open yesterday. I love Riverhorse beer but this establishment needs some work as restaurant and is not vegetarian friendly.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from john birkrem john birkrem, beverly, NJ
(09/23/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I went there yesterday and was annoyed to find out they are closed on Mondays. Only in PA have I come across so many restaurants that are closed every monday, this just added to the list. I do not understand.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from john birkrem john birkrem, beverly, NJ
(09/03/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Great Good
A very nice brewpub with great atmosphere. The food was outstanding and better than the beer. The Black & Tan was good even though they didn't know how to pour one. I would go back again. The Hop Hazard is by favorite here. Try it, you won't be sorry.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bart Fellin Bart Fellin, Flemington, NJ
(08/19/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
Well everyone knows by now that this is the old Buckingham Mountain brewpub. And everyone knows by now the River Hourse Brewing Company of Lambertville, NJ is operating the brewing end of this brewpub. Well I have visited this establishment a few times and I have very mixed feelings. As far as the beers go: I had the McHenry's Irish Stout that I found to be a pretty good and well-balanced brew. I also had the Dark Harvest Ale (lighter body and color then the stout but BIG on flavor). The Porter, however, is a little disappointing. You will notice a sweetness that never really goes away. As I tried it I kept hoping it would settle and be a great beer but it doesn't. I haven’t actually tried the food hear, however, friends have and said that liked it. He shall see.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Todd Hansell Todd Hansell, Roslyn, PA
(07/25/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Good So So
Mediocre beer. Only one (the Porter) reputed to be brewed on the premises. Expensive (but decent) food. Not exactly a "Brew Pub" atmosphere. If you're looking for a nice dinner and don't really care about the beer, stop in. Otherwise...There are too many other choices near by for better beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Ott Bob Ott, Bedminster, PA
(07/01/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
Simply one of the best combinations of food an beer I have encountered at a brewpub and I have visted over a hundred. Hats off to RiverHorse brewing company.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from DaveM. DaveM., Phila, PA
(06/15/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good
Stopped by for lunch. Place just opened for the day. At the time of this review, they only brew 3 beers on site. The rest is from RiverHorse brewing company about 10 minutes down the road in New Jersey. I got the sampler which included 3 house beers & 3 Horse beers. All where drinkable non really stood out. The Raspberry wheat didn't have any wheat flavor. The other three from Riverhorse where typical Riverhorse beers. Which to me are kind boring. The burger I had was really good. Check out my site The Dan And John Beer Site.com

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Berger Dan Berger, Philadelphia, PA
(06/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
This is the old Buckingham Mountain Brew Pub reopened under a new name and new ownership. I am told that River Horse Microbrewery is partnering with the owners to produce the beer-on premises. Matt, the brewer from River Horse was there on site, and I had a chance to chat. The selection of beers was quite diverse, especially since they have only been open i think about 2 months. They offer a sampler, always good to try what's new. Also, they had a porter and an stout, both hand drawn. I only stopped in for a beer and had the pale ale. It was excellent. Unfortunately I can't comment on the food, but those eating there seemed to be enjoying it. Certainly looked good.

Other than the obvious-being a BREW PUB, this place is totally non-smoking establishment, including at the bar. For us non-smokers, that is hard to find, other than in California where it is it the law. Usually by 8PM we are smoked out of the place. This is a nice change.

This a must stop and I know I will be back!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Steve, Langhorne, PA
(05/21/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lisa Lisa, Buckingham, PA
(04/25/2002)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.972 seconds) 19:51:21 54.196.62.132, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS