PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Copper Creek Brewing Company - Athens, GA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
November 23, 2014 @ 02:30 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > GA > Athens > Copper Creek Brewing Company
Copper Creek Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Copper Creek Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 76.9 / 100
140 East Washington Street
Athens, GA 30601
United States
(706) 546-1102
Listed Since: April 2002
Last Updated: April 2006
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Athens, GA
Beer Guide for Georgia

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
16 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(10 within 5 miles)
1) Globe
(0 mile)

2) Trappeze Pub
(0 mile)

3) Tasty World
(0 mile)

4) Allgood Lounge
(0 mile)

5) Transmetropolitan
(0 mile)

6) Mercury Lounge
(0 mile)

7) Tavern at the Arch
(0 mile)

8) Athens Steam Company Pub
(0 mile)

9) Wild Wing Cafe
(0 mile)

10) Mellow Mushroom
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Magnolia Terrace Guest House
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) ATHENS DOWNTOWN TRAVELODGE
2) BEST WESTERN COLONIAL INN
3) COURTYARD ATHENS DOWNTOWN
4) DAYS INN ATHENS GA
5) FOUNDRY PARK INN AND SPA
6) HOWARD JOHNSON ATHENS
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Athens Factory
2) Bishop House
3) Brightwell Shotgun Row
4) Camak House
5) Carnegie Library Building
6) Chase, Albon, House
7) Church-Waddel-Brumby House
8) Clarke County Jail
9) Cobb, T. R. R., House
10) Cobb-Treanor House
11) Crane, Ross, House
12) Dearing, Albin P., House
13) First African Methodist Episcopal Church
14) Franklin House
15) Garden Club of Georgia Museum-Headquarters House,Founder's Memorial Garden
16) Grady, Henry W., House
17) Hamilton, Dr. James S., House
18) Lucy Cobb Institute Campus
19) Lumpkin, Gov. Wilson, House
20) Lumpkin, Joseph Henry, House
21) Morton Building
22) Newton House
23) Parr, Calvin W., House
24) Parrott Insurance Building
25) President's House
26) Rocksprings Shotgun Row Historic District
27) Sledge, James A., House
28) Sorrells, R. P., House
29) Thomas-Carithers House
30) Upson House
31) Ware-Lyndon House
32) Wilkins House
33) Woodlawn Historic District
34) Young Women's Christian Association Complex
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 346 Club
2) 40 Watt Club
3) A Taste Of India
4) Achim's K Bob
5) All American Food Store
6) Allgood Lounge
7) Annex
8) Antojitos Salvadorenos
9) Athens Steam Co Pub
10) Bar Code
11) Bischero Italian Restaurant
12) Boars Head Downtown
13) Bombay Cafe
14) Bourbon Street
15) Bullets
16) Burger King
17) Caledonia Lounge
18) Center Stage Catering
19) Charlie Williams Pinecrest
20) Chasers
21) Classic City Saloon
22) Clocked
23) Cold Stone
24) Copper Creek Brewing Co
25) Cutters Pub
26) Doc Shey's Noodle House
27) Down Home Cooking
28) El Centro
29) Espresso Royale Caffe
30) Firehouse
31) Flanigans Bar & Grill
32) Forest Lodge
33) Frequency Management Inc
34) Fresh Air Barbeque
35) G Spot
36) Gandolfo's New York Deli
37) Gen Beauregard
38) Genco Import Co
39) Georgia Bar
40) Globe
41) Go Bar
42) Half Moon Pub
43) Hardee's
44) Harrison Hawkins
45) Hoyt House Restaurant
46) Huddle House
47) Infusia Cafe & Lounge
48) Insomnia
49) J R's Bait Shack
50) Jamaica Mi Crazy
51) Jimmy John's
52) Little Italy Pizzeria
53) Lunch Paper
54) Maggie Moo's Ice Cream
55) Manhattan Cafe
56) Mc Donald's
57) Mia Madonna
58) Mom's Down Home Cooking
59) Norwood Restaurant
60) Nowhere Bar
61) Paparronni's
62) Peaches Fine Foods
63) Pita Pit
64) Quiznos Sub
65) Rass N Ruby's Steak & Seafood
66) Roadhouse
67) Room 13
68) Rooster's Bbq
69) Scott Carither's Bbq
70) Shane's Rib Shack
71) Starbucks
72) Suburban Country Club
73) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
74) T N J's Cafe
75) Taco Mac
76) Tasty World
77) Thibodeaux's Cajun Coffee Cafe
78) Toppers International Showbar
79) Transmetropolitan
80) Trumps Catering
81) Two Eighty Three Inc
82) Waffle House
83) Walkers Coffee Shop & Pub
84) Washington Street Tavern
85) Whiskey Richards
86) Winery
87) Zaxby's
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Good
The venerable Copper Creek Brewing Company has been offering a special cask-conditioned house beer on the first Wednesday of each month. I was lucky enough to be able to catch the cask tapping on the first of July this year. The featured cask, presented by brewer Matt Buley and Georgia beer ambassador Owen Ogletree, was an English-style dark mild. We quaffed not only a pint of the special cask-conditioned mild, but also a pint of the mild that was being dispensed through the regular tap system. The cask version was lighter in mouthfeel with little carbonation and a nice clean finish. We actually enjoyed the tap version better, which featured a creamier, somewhat fuller mouthfeel with a toasty caramel sweetness. It was a treat to taste this rarely seen English-style ale, quite enjoyable in either version.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(08/23/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
For those of you complaining about the small selection of house beer on tap, please remember that the establishment is small and without a total renovation, there just isn't enough room to make more. As a local and regular patron, I think CC is doing an amazing job.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Athens, GA
(05/07/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A So So Great So So
we have been to this restaurant weekly for the past few years and have always enjoyed it until now. They have raised their prices and cut the food quality. We were there twice in the past two weeks when the temperature outside was below 32 and there was no heat in the restaurant We kept our coats on and still froze as the ceiling fans were on burr. I know that things are not that great for the restaurant business but this owner is not making smart decisions.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from terry terry, athens, GA
(02/02/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Good Great Great
I visited this place 3 nights in a row and I loved every kind of beer i tried, (Olde Ale, Scotch Ale, and Imperial I.P.A.) My favorite was the Imperial I.P.A. The staff was very freindly and attentive,(Dee I belive was her name). They even tried to contact the brewmaster for me so I could ask about the Imperial I.P.A.!! I agree with a previous reviewer that a larger beer menu would help, I'm kinda spoiled the local stuff here,(Pittsburgh), is among the best and the selection very large.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chuck Fatula Chuck Fatula, Ellwood City, PA
(12/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So N/A N/A Good
We just had some beers on this visit on a Friday evening. Only four house drafts available: kolsch, pale ale, oatmeal stout, and a seasonal pumpkin ale. All were well done and true to style. The pumpkin ale was actually quite nice, with a deep amber color and spiced to be strongly reminiscent of pumpkin pie. Other commercial beers are available in bottles but it would be nice to have a bit of a larger selection of house beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(11/26/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This place is a must-visit if you are in Athens. There is always a fab selection of beer and on mondays there is high-gravity night. The food is good for meat eaters...buffalo and stuff. Not much in the way of vegetarian fare, but the beer makes up for that...you can always get a big salad! Check it out if you are in town...you will be happy you did.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from RL Hodnett RL Hodnett, Athens, GA
(03/15/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
It's time for some new words here, folks. Copper Creek is even better than ever. The food, previously quite decent, has improved dramatically in the last few months and is now good enough to bring me in even when I'm not in the mood to drink (WHEN is THAT?!?!?!?). Monday night is High Gravity Night, with Matt offering 5 gallons of something wonderful for a paltry $ 4 per wine glass (the limit is usually 2 per person). Beer selection has improved, partly due to Georgia's allowing over-6% brews as of last year. Sierra Nevada Celebration and Bigfoot are available in bottles. Hours are from 4:00 P. M. to 2:00 A. M. Monday through Saturday; closed Sunday so owner Keith can sleep in "one damn day a week," as he once put it to me. Happy hour is opening to 7:00 P. M. - draughts are $ 2.25 (regularly $ 3.25) and bottles are all $ 1 off. Y'all come visit and enjoy yourselves. It's a good'un. Respectfully Submitted, Ort. Carlton.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ort. Carlton. Ort. Carlton., Athens, GA
(04/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
i really dug this place. quaint. good food. great beer. a refuge in a crazy drinkin town. and i mean CRAZZZZY!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Vince Gorman Vince Gorman, Pittsburgh, PA
(04/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
partner loved the stout. the food was amazing!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rhonda Lowe Rhonda Lowe, Athens, GA
(01/27/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
This brewpub is in a narrow building in downtown Athens. The beers and the food were all good. The beers were true to style and included a nice selection with a pale ale, a hefeweizen, a nut brown ale, and an oatmeal stout. They have 3 outside tables in the front. See the pubcrawler listing for Athens beer bars also. You can walk to most of these from the Copper Creek and can try the local micro, Terrapin Rye Ale. It is fantastic!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Greg Jenson Greg Jenson, Chicago, IL
(05/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Copper Creek is a small brewpub in the heart of downtown Athens that has some very nice food items and around 4 house beers that rotate. The beers are fantastic. Happy hour is all day Tuesday and before 7pm other days.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Owen Ogletree Owen Ogletree, Watkinsville, GA
(10/25/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
Want to do Marketing Research for Copper Creek as a project for class if the owners would allow it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John A. Canning John A. Canning, Zebulon, GA
(10/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Awesome! Great
A rather small, funky brewpub with a long narrow bar and adjacent dining area. Dozens of copper pans and kettles hanging from the high rafters gave the place a unique character. Four house brews were on, including a pretty good IPA which was served at the proper temperature (i.e., not ice cold!) My wife and I had a shrimp pesto pasta and the crab cakes, with a pork egg roll appetizer. The crab cakes were excellent, while my wife also enjoyed her pasta dish. Service was great. The bar was a bit noisy for my wife's taste, but it was Saturday night in a college town, so hey.... Worth a visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Mark Stoffan, Asheville, NC
(04/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great
Copper Creek is a couple of blocks from the Georgia campus. It is small and comfortable. There is a long bar on one side which is partitioned off from the tables. They had four beers on my visit, including Kolsch, Oktoberfest, IPA and Oatmeal Stout. The Kolsch was an excellent example of the style with a nice maltiness and just enough hops. The Oktoberfest was outstanding. It was smooth and sweet. The IPA was good, though I prefer more hop aroma. The Oatmeal Stout was great. It was full-bodied and roasty. The Rueben was delicious. I really like this place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Holl Doug Holl, Atlanta, GA
(10/06/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Good Good Good
The chalk board only listed three house brews and I tried two of them. The pale ale was flavorful and hopped just right, and was true in color as well. The nitrogen dispensed porter was quite smooth with just a hint of a smoky or burnt flavor – quite tasty. I did not try the Belgian Wit. The menu listed a number of “guest” beers (mostly imports) but I did not see other taps…..perhaps they were bottles only. The menu is not extensive but it did offer a variety of choices in terms of both ingredients and price. I was pleased with my steak special of the day (which included the first pint in the price), but my wife was less impressed with the baby back ribs that she ordered. The brew tanks are prominent in the front of this otherwise modest-sized pub. It is located a couple of blocks north of Broad Street where the University of Georgia campus meets downtown Athens.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(07/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Great
Brewer Matt Buley of the former Burntstone Brewhouse has wisely been retained by new owners here, and now produces even better beers than before; by the addition of a mash tun, he is able to do grain mashing now, and the brews are light years better (they were excellent before!). I've heard mixed reviews on the food, ranging from "better than fair" to "decent" and up to "fairly good" and "I'll go back and try some of the other menu items" - no pans and no raves. Time will tell.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ort. Carlton. Ort. Carlton., Athens, GA
(04/29/2002)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.559 seconds) 14:30:54 54.91.45.143, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS