PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Fox and Hound English Pub and Grille - Houston, TX
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 19, 2014 @ 11:04 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > TX > Houston > Fox and Hound English Pub and Grille
Fox and Hound English Pub and Grille Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Beer Bar
Fox and Hound English Pub and Grille
Overall: Good    Score: 67.9 / 100
11470 Westheimer
Houston, TX 77077
United States
(281) 589-2122
Listed Since: May 2002
Last Updated: December 2003
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Houston, TX
Beer Guide for Texas

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
15 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Mon 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Tue 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Wed 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Thu 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Fri 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Sat 11:00AM - 02:00AM

alternatives
(9 within 5 miles)
1) JP Hops House
(0 mile)

2) Bull and Bear Tavern and Eatery
(0 mile)

3) Alamo Drafthouse Cinema
(0 mile)

4) Time Out Ale House
(0 mile)

5) Ashford Arms
(2 miles)

6) Shakespeare's Pub
(2 miles)

7) Sherlock's Baker Street Pub
(2 miles)

8) Watson's House of Ales
(2 miles)

9) Coasters Pub
(4 miles)

nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BRADFORD HOMESUITES PARK TEN W
2) BW WESTCHASE MINI SUITES
3) COMFORT SUITES WESTCHASE
4) COURTYARD HOUSTON WESTCHASE
5) DRURY INN/SUITES HOUSTON WEST
6) EXTENDEDSTAY HOUSTON WESTCHASE
7) EXTENDEDSTAY KATY FREEWAY
8) FAIRFIELD INN I-10 WEST
9) FAIRFIELD INN WESTCHASE
10) HAMPTON HOU I-10W ENERGY COR TX
11) HAMPTON INN STES HOU WESTCHAS
12) HEARTHSIDE PARK 10 WEST
13) HILTON HOUSTON WESTCHASE
14) HOMEWOOD SUITES WESTCHASE
15) HOUSTON MARRIOTT WESTCHASE
16) LA QUINTA INN & STES PARK 10
17) LA QUINTA INN HOUSTON WILCREST
18) OAKWOOD WESTCHASE
19) OMNI HOUSTON HOTEL WESTSIDE
20) RADISSON SUITE HOTEL WEST
21) RED ROOF HOUSTON WESTCHASE
22) RESIDENCE INN WESTCHASE
23) STUDIOPLUS HOUSTON WESTCHASE
24) SUPER 8 HOUSTON I 10 AND HWY 6
25) TWNPL STE HOU W LAKE
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 2 K's Bar & Grill
2) A'La Carte Food Svc Consulting
3) Achille's Italian Cuisine
4) Adams Grill
5) Adrienne Cafe
6) Al's Sports Bar
7) Armadillo Sports Bar & Grill
8) Azzarellis Italian Restaurant
9) Bangkok Place Restaurant Ii
10) Bar At Lomante's
11) Barry's Pizza & Italian Diner
12) Baskin-Robbins
13) Baskin-Robbins
14) Berryhill Baja Grill
15) Big Daddy's Bbq
16) Bistro
17) Bistro 2575
18) Bistro Provence
19) Blimpie Subs & Salads
20) Blue Orchid
21) Brothers Pizzeria
22) Bucks Pizza
23) Buffalo Wild Wings Grill & Bar
24) Bull & Bear
25) Burger King
26) Burger King
27) Burger King
28) Caesars Coffee
29) Cafe 170
30) Cafe Adobe
31) Cafe Caspian
32) Cafe Caspian
33) Cafe European
34) Cafe Kolache
35) Cafe Maurice
36) Cafe Red Onion On Eldridge
37) Cafe Rita
38) Cafe Taipei
39) Cakes & Culinary Creations
40) Camino Real Mexican Restaurant
41) Captains Catch Seafood Restr
42) Carmelo's Italian Restaurant
43) Carvel Ice Cream Bakery
44) Cascadas Mexican Restaurant
45) Champps Americana
46) Charcoal Chicken
47) Chez George
48) Chez Georges
49) Chick-Fil-A
50) Chili's 1106
51) China Palace Restaurant
52) Chipotle Mexican Grill
53) Chipotle Mexican Grill
54) Chuck E Cheese's
55) Chuck's Place
56) Cliff's Old Fashion Hamburgers
57) Coffee Guy
58) Cold Stone Creamery
59) Daily Roast Cafe
60) Dam Icehouse
61) Danny's Sports Bar
62) Dawat Indian Cuisine
63) Del Pueblo Mexican Restaurant
64) Del Pueblo Seafood House
65) Denis Seafood Restaurant
66) Denny's
67) Denny's
68) Derrick Tavern
69) Divine Pizza
70) Domino's Pizza
71) Domino's Pizza
72) Don & Bravo Catering
73) Double Daves Pizza Works
74) Dugout Sports Bar & Grill
75) Durango's
76) Eden's Deli
77) El Charro Restaurant & Cantino
78) El Ranchito
79) El Yucatan Mexican Restaurant
80) Elegant Hogg Bar & Grill
81) Elix Coffee Shop
82) Energy Corridor Pub
83) Family Eats
84) Fantasia II
85) Fazoli's
86) Feng Ling Express
87) Fifth Avenue Cakes & Catering
88) First Tee Pub
89) Fry's Grill & Bar
90) Fuddruckers
91) General Joe's Chopstix
92) Georges Pastaria & Devine
93) Gigs Grill
94) Gil's Bar-B-Q
95) Golden Deli
96) Golden King Restaurant
97) Golden Samovar Banquet Fclty
98) Gondo Co Inc
99) Gourmet India
100) Green Interests
101) Grill Fish Pasta Restaurant
102) Hartz Chicken Buffet
103) Hickory Shack Bar-B-Que
104) Hospitality USA
105) Hot Dogs By Harlan
106) Houston Barbecue Co
107) Hunan Laikee
108) Hungry's Cafe & Bistro
109) Hungry's Cafe & Bistro
110) Idine
111) Isabel's Mexican Cafe
112) It's A Grind Coffee House
113) Jack In The Box
114) Jack In The Box
115) Jack In The Box
116) Jason's Deli
117) Johny's Pizza & Pasta
118) Joker's Pizza
119) K T Deli
120) Karen's Deli
121) Kayvon Enterprises Inc
122) Kfc
123) Kfc
124) King & I
125) King Fish Market
126) Kohsamui
127) KUDZU KAFE
128) Kurumaya Japanese Restaurant
129) LA Fiesta Restaurant
130) La Hacienda Mexican Restaurant
131) LA Tapatia Mexican Cafe
132) Lasagne House Iii
133) Lasalle Restaurant
134) Le Mistral Corp
135) Le Viet
136) Leaf 'n Ladle Cafe
137) Lemon Tree Restaurant
138) Long John Silver's
139) Los Mariachis
140) Los Tios Mexican Restaurant
141) Luby's Cafeteria
142) Lunch Stop-Owen
143) Lynn's Steakhouse
144) Maggie Moo's Ice Cream
145) Maggiemoo's Ice Cream
146) Maharajah Restaurant
147) Marble Slab Creamery
148) Marco's Mexican Restaurant
149) Mario's Creative Catering
150) Matahari Restaurant Inc
151) Matsusaka Sushi & Grill
152) Maximo's Pizza
153) Mc Donald's
154) Mc Donald's
155) Mc Donald's
156) Mc Donald's
157) Mc Donald's
158) Mediterranean Palace
159) Mexico's Deli
160) Murphy's Deli
161) Murphy's Deli
162) My Amigos Restaurant & Cantina
163) Napoli Flying Pizza
164) New York Pizzeria
165) Nikki's Irish Pub
166) Ninfa's Mexican Restaurant
167) Nit Noi Cafe
168) Nit Noi Thai Restaurant
169) Nori Japanese Sushi Bar
170) Opa Greek Restaurant & Club
171) Orchid Garden Restaurant
172) Original Pasta Co
173) Papa John's Pizza
174) Pizza Hut
175) Pizza Inn
176) Popeye's Chicken & Biscuits
177) Quizno's Classic Subs
178) Quizno's Classic Subs
179) Roll N Wrap Restaurant
180) Ron's Pub West
181) Schlotzsky's Deli
182) Shivani Indian Restaurant
183) Sonic Drive-In
184) Sonic Drive-In
185) Souper Salad Restaurant
186) Steak It Easy
187) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
188) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
189) Sweet Mesquite Vii
190) Sylvia's Enchilada Kitchen
191) Ta Hua Chinese Restaurant
192) Taco Bell
193) Tan's Hunan Chinese Restaurant
194) Texas Best Bar-B-Q
195) Thai Racha
196) Tri Continental
197) Verma's Ashiana Indian Rstrnt
198) Wendy's
199) Wendy's
200) West King Chinese Restaurant
201) Whataburger
202) Wing Stop
203) Wok Bo Chinese Restaurant
204) Wong's Chinese Restaurant
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Lousy Lousy
I was not asked to verify the bill before it was run against my credit card. I was charged for beer i did not order. If you want honest dealings avoid this place. They stole from me and were rude as well.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review aberdeen, TEXAS
(10/12/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Good
Why this is so highly ranked over places like the Ginger Man and Boondoggles, I'll never know. It's a fun place to shoot pool and hang out, since they are everywhere now, but if you are in arms reach of one of these other places I'd always opt for a quieter place with less white hat frat boys and thugs. Even if you can't get a pool table. Love the waitresses here, though.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kyle Martin Kyle Martin, Baytown, TX
(11/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Awesome!
This is the place me and a Bunch of my buddys love to hit up on Tuesday, thursday, and saturday nights. There is a huge selection of beer to choose from that NO other place I can think of has. Great looking girls, friendly service. and LOTS of TV's

D

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David David, Houston, TX
(12/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A So So So So Lousy Lousy
Might as well go to TGI Fridays. Lousy service, food is average. staff fairly unprofessional.

In this area, the Bull-n-Bear is much better!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Michael, Houston, TX
(11/21/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Awesome!
I think anyone who would bad-mouth this bar based on service is a ignorant looser anyway. I'm going to be talking with my buds and enjoying myself while you are alone with nothing better to do than evaluate. You are a dork and I would not want to be at any bar where you might hang out! The fox and the hound is awesome

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Bob, phoenix, AZ
(08/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good So So Good
Like most of the reviewers I didn't have great service. But plenty of TV's, and I played darts for free with their steel darts and felt board. I was there on a Friday night and they had a good looking crowd. Might have been the first time I've seen groups of women at a bar w/o a DJ. 2 side rooms let people choose which game they want to listen to, but even in there you can watch all the games. Main room had MTV2 for sound, all games on mute. Looks like it would be the kind of place that would overcharge for premium beers but it wasn't too bad. In short, good place to hang out, drink beer and watch the game, bad place to eat a meal.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul S Paul S, Eau Claire, MI
(03/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Lousy Lousy Lousy
About as English as Taco Bell. It's really more of a TGI Bennigan's than anything resembling a bar. Draft beer selection is both large and unimpressive. Less-than-attentive service by a very young and unprofessional staff. Lots of horseplay and jacking around but little care for their guests. Does have a huge (and blurry) big screen TV. Do yourself a favor and skip it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Zip Martin Zip Martin, Houston, TX
(01/31/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
I HAVE NEVER SEEN A WORSE RUN PLACE IN MY LIFE! I am shocked at how rude the manager is Scott and hopefully will not be attending any time soon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review HOUSTON, TX
(09/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Awesome! Awesome!
Great service. The manager and his crew are Great. Never had to wait for a beer and the food is good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Houston, TX
(09/03/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from rick rick, houston, tx
(07/31/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
Wow! I'm a friend of "Mr. Nutter" and neither one of us knows this loser Diego Morales who says he's "refuting" Mark's bar review. I've actually been there when visiting from out of town and asked him why he went to this place because of the losers who work there and are always hangin' with their buds at the bar. But then again, none of this surprises me, except for the fact that Mark never takes my advice. To quote another review, not written by either one of us, "I got sick of the BS and took my patronage elsewhere."

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Harry Tran Harry Tran, Philadelphia, PA
(07/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
Having patronized and enjoyed this bar for a few years now, I love this place. The beer and drink selection is great, there is a great variety of food and the service is fine. This review is mainly to refute the senseless babbling of a fellow patron with whom NOONE gets along with. This idiot, Mr. Nutter, constantly annoys the female patrons and waitstaff with his incessant babbling and unwanted advances. He has driven more people away from the bar than a plague of locusts and wonders why we get up and leave when he shows up and the staff does not put up with his ignorant comments and digusting personality. I have, on numerous occasions, had to get up and leave the bar area because this twit opened his mouth and ruined everyone's good time. As for the bartenders, I know for a fact that as soon as this twit asks for his check, it is given to him because the sooner Mr. Nutter is gone, the better off they are. Unfotunately, on this night, after he was given his check, an attractive female sat at the bar, so Mr. Nutter threw the check away and proceeded to order another beer, trying to bide his time while he figured out a way to talk to her without scaring the hell out of her. It didn't work. She got up, left and once again, Mr. Nutter worked his "magic". As for the attacks on the bartenders and their high school drop out friends, be careful on how you cast your aspersions, especially since you are receiving unemployment checks because your female boss couldn't tolerate you and your mouth. As for the manager, a female, nonetheless, (noticing a pattern?) she asked him to please leave on several occasions before he became obstinate and refused at which time he was escorted to the door. Mr. Nutter, if you don't enjoy this place, then please, don't go back. Go to Slick Willie's or Sherlock's or anywhere else for that matter, because speaking as a friend of the bartenders (I actually have a 4 year college degree) and managers, NOONE wants you around. You are a complete buzzkill for anyone who comes in contact with you.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Diego Morales Diego Morales, Houston, TX
(07/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So Lousy Lousy
I live nearby and go to this pub mostly because of the late night food menu. Last Friday, 7-25-03, after eating I asked for my check at midnight at didn't receive it until 2 a.m. (no kidding!) and had to remind the bartender at least once. Then this fat, pudgy manager was complaining because I was still in the bar after 2 a.m. and started screaming at me to "get the f*#% out!" Avoid this place at all costs. The service sucks and the bartenders (mostly young and inexperienced) are more interested in talking to their high-school dropout friends who always seem to be hanging around. There are plenty of other pubs to spend your money at that have better service and a more civilized wait staff.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Nutter Mark Nutter, Houston, TX
(07/27/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great So So Good
I used to frequent Fox & Hound regularly but curtailed my visits after a string of poor service at lunch. Their beer is generally very good and their food menu is varied and tasty. It's the lack of service that left a bad taste in my mouth. Fox & Hound is nice enough to have secluded dartboards off both red and green rooms. I used to practice during lunch until waitresses started forgetting about me. example scenario: day 1- waitress forgets I exist for 30 minutes; apologizes profusely. Day 2- same waitress apologizes again for prior day's incident and swears "it won't happen today." Waitress disappeared for 20 minutes after giving me my drink. It happened other times with other waiters, too. There's no excuse for the old disappearing waitstaff trick...especially when I'm one of only 5-7 customers in the place. Bottom line: Fox and Hound seems to succeed despite itself. I got sick of the BS and took my patronage elsewhere.

Ups: enough televisions to keep an eye on the game, nice pool tables, $2 US-pints on Tuesdays, smoke filters on hvac do good job of scrubbing air(from the night before), clean bathrooms

Downs:dartboards in awful shape, service quality is too unstable(bad experiences should be the exception not the norm), place is packed with chain-smokers at night

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Rob, Houston, TX
(08/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A N/A
I cannot speak to more than the beer at Fox and Hound, as I have not yet ordered food here. There are a good number of taps (20 or so) but too many of them are devoted to the major brewers and more common imports. I only recall seeing several US craft beers on draught: Saint Arnold Amber, Fat Tire, and Anchor Steam. There is a good bottle selection with many other choices. The place has pool tables, big TV's for sports, an outdoor deck, and generally seems to attract a younger crowd. Despite the name, you will not believe you are in an English pub. It is on the west side of Houston, a mile or so west of Beltway 8 on Westheimer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(05/11/2002)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.298 seconds) 23:04:03 54.161.166.171, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS