PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Moosejaw Pizza and Brewing Company - Wisconsin Dells, WI
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 20, 2014 @ 01:29 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > WI > Wisconsin Dells > Moosejaw Pizza and Brewing Company
Moosejaw Pizza and Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Moosejaw Pizza and Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 73 / 100
110 Wisconsin Dells Parkway
Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
United States
(608) 253-4687
Listed Since: June 2002
Last Updated: June 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Wisconsin Dells, WI
Beer Guide for Wisconsin

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Moosejaw Pizza and Brewing Company
54 Reviews / 3 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(1 within 5 miles)
1) Essen Haus
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Antiques and Lace Inn Bed and Breakfast
2) Bennett House Bed & Breakfast
3) Terrace Hill Bed & Breakfast
4) Thunder Valley Bed & Breakfast
5) White Rose Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) ATLANTIS WATERPARK HOTEL
2) BW AMBASSADOR INN AND SUITES
3) CHRISTMAS MOUNTAIN VILLAGE
4) COMFORT INN WISCONSIN DELLS
5) SUPER 8 WISCONSIN DELLS WI
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Bennett, H. H., Studio
2) Bowman House
3) Kilbourn Public Library
4) Wawbeek-Horace A.J. Upham House
5) Weber, Jacob, House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Ace's Supper Club
2) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
3) B-Hive Inc
4) Boondocks
5) Cheescake Heaven Cafe & Bakery
6) Christmas Mountain Village
7) Cold Stone Creamery
8) Country Keg Saloon
9) Crabby's Seafood Buffet & Cafe
10) Cruisin Chubby's
11) Dairy Queen
12) Dairy Queen
13) Dippin' Dots
14) Domino's Pizza
15) Essen Haus German Restaurant
16) Fat Boys Pizza & Bbq
17) Field's Steak & Stein
18) Firehouse
19) Fisher's Tavern
20) Giada's
21) Golden Crown Chinese Rstrnt
22) Grandma Honeys Family Rstrnt
23) Haupt Investments
24) Highrock
25) IHOP
26) J & S Family Restaurant
27) Java Potion Plus
28) Johnny's Bar
29) Los Primos
30) Mc Donald's
31) Moose Jaw Brew Pub
32) Nig's Bar
33) Northern Burger Co
34) Papa John's Pizza
35) Perkins Family Restaurant
36) Pirates Cove Ice Cream
37) Pizza Di Roma
38) Pizza Hut
39) Pizza Ranch Of Wisconsin
40) Quiznos Sub
41) River Moon Cafe
42) River Walk Pub
43) Sand Bar
44) Sarento's At The Wilderness
45) Showboat Saloon
46) Sidetracked
47) Starbucks
48) Sushi Bar
49) Tipper's Bar & Grill
50) Uno Chicago Grill
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So Good So So
Do not go here expecting some beer-geek bonanza. It's a very high volume family restaurant first and foremost. Hell, they hand out moose antler head pieces. But, I still expected decent beer, and it was OK at best. Finally, it's a pizza place, and it was about the blandest pizza I've had in some time. Some in my party got burgers, and they were reaching for the salt shakers after one bite, so they were bland as well.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Bosch Kevin Bosch, St. Louis, MO
(06/15/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Great
Ordered the beer sampler. Came with a full 10 ~6oz servings of beer. I was so putzed half way though I kinda forget how good they were, but generally all seemed very good at the time. The one exception was a pink, potpourri smelling/tasting beer had near the end. I think it might have been rasberry flavored. Over all though a great evening. Interesting log cabin decor a great ending to a long day of go-karting and water slide riding! I think the pizza was good, but honestly don't really remember.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nathan Nathan, Albuquerque, NM
(06/18/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great So So Great
Had the 6 point sampler and enjoyed them for the most part. Beers were a little thin, but that is how I like them. Really liked the Pilsner and Bucky Beaver Pale Ale. They need a good dark beer - the Imperial was good, but a porter or stout is preferred - even in summer! At $3.75 a pint, I guess the prices are reasonable enough for a tourist town.

Service was very slow, but after speaking with the manager, it was quickly rectified. I would go back here for sure. Even bought a pint glass. Place was very kid friendly too.

Their beers are also available when I went bowling later that week at Knuckleheads - was a nice surprise.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Randy G Randy G, Birmingham, MI
(09/09/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I went back again this week with my family while on vacation in the Dells. Moosejaw is fantastic!! The beer was excellent, the food was excellent, the whole family loved it. I got to sample about 10 beers, and every single one impressed me with its quality. The apple ale (must be a seasonal) was awesome. I also really enjoyed the honey lager, the IPA, the wild hop pale ale, and the imperial stout! All fantastic beers. My only wish is that I could have spent a LOT more time here. This has got to be one of the best brewpubs in the state, honestly. I will be coming back here year after year. The prices are only a tad too high, but it is well worth it IMO.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David M. Taylor David M. Taylor, Two Rivers, WI
(09/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good So So Good
Expensive, even for a tourist town. But, good beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Fowler Mark Fowler, Yorktown, VA
(08/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
I don't agree with all of the negative comments. I liked just about everything about this place... great food, great beer, and some of the best service I've seen. The ribs were very good... fall off the bone, tender and juicy. I got the 10-beer sampler, and all were tasty and within style. One negative comment is that they all seemed to me to be a bit thin in body, but tasty nonetheless. The pilsner was packed with Hallertaus, sort of like a blonde Sam Adams Boston Lager. They also had two different pale ales, both quite good. One was made with locally grown hops, the other with Cascades or the like IIRC. The amber and dunkel were also yummy. The dunkel has taken silver in the GABF and I could see why. Nevermind the raspberry beer, which was more like a wine cooler for the chickies, otherwise I really liked the place. Next time I'm visiting the Dells, I'm sure to be back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David M. Taylor David M. Taylor, Two Rivers, WI
(07/21/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
We had a great pizza there and the beer went well with the food. It is a huge family restaurant with a log cabin feel. Worth the stop while in the Dells.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from claire claire, baltimore, MD
(07/03/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Good Good So So
This place is an insult to the concept of a brew pub. I have never tasted such a non - descript collection of beers in my life. One has but to stop by the many local breweries to get a decent selection of high quality brews. The food was ok, much like the food at an old chicago resteraunt, but I do not go to brewpubs for the food. I do not even give their beers any marks for creativity, nor for following the german beer purity laws. Might I suggest the Great Dane in madison as a substitute. ( btw, the berry beer tasted like a watered down wine cooler )

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lance Davis Lance Davis, Spring Green, WI
(12/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Lousy So So
We stopped here for lunch on a Saturday. The place looks great, it has a big log cabin feel to it. The food (or at least the pizza) was great too. The beers were nothing special, although we really didn't try many. That's because the service was horrendous. After waiting 20 minutes with empty beer glasses and empty plates, we decided to leave rather than order anything more. Tried on multiple occasions to get our waitress' attention, but she was too busy gabbing with the large group at the table behind us. The Hop Ale was good, the pilsner so-so. Though their menu says it's a traditional example and I think they called it German, this was classic Miller Lite all over the place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Daniel Banks Daniel Banks, Hopkins, MN
(11/23/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy Good Great So So
I once again was back in the Dells area on Vacation and decided to give Moosejaw a try to see what their summer selection had to offer. Just as in the wintertime, I was highly disappointed. The 10 Beer sampler, though reasonably priced, is entirely inadequate. The #2 beer on the sampler, the Honey, is the most watered down microbrew beer I have ever tasted anywhere. (And surprise...it is their biggest seller) I didn't think it was possible to make a beer with less taste than the Macrobrewers, but they proved it can be done. And I couldn't help but notice that they also serve Bud and Miller products from the bottle, so I don't know why they waste the brewing equipment on actually making the same type of watery beer. They are obviously catering to the regular Blue Collar guy from Chicago who is perfectly happy with their Macrobrew swill they've been drinking for 20 years. It is a shame, when a place tries to pass itself off as a brew pub, and serves beer with such little taste as the macrobrews which can be found anywhere. If you are going to invest the capital in the brewing equipment, why not actually use it to produce some beers that are unlike the same beers you can find at any other bar? That said, there were 3 beers in the sampler which were drinkable, but would have still rated average or lower compared to other brewpubs which serve the same type. These were the Pilsner, Kilglubbin Hop Ale, and Stout. I know it's Summertime in Wisconsin, but some people actually come to a brewpub to enjoy the taste of their beer. Beer doesn't have to be watered down to quench your thirst.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Jim, Leon Springs, TX
(06/26/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Good Great
I've been here 3 times now in the last year and must say that it is a real treat. Wide variety of beers and a very reasonable sampler ( $12 for all 10 in 5 oz. glasses ). Being a fan of darker beers I am in love with the Stout. Great selection and the pizza ( thick or thin ) is out of this world. A must stop and a very nice place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from chris chris, wisconsin rapids, WI
(06/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
We went back with two children and had dinner. It was a Thursday night during Spring Break in the Dells, the place was packed. It was a 45 minute wait for a table. We played game and had a few beers in the basement game room. I have resubmitted a review because this time we had four dinners. The food was great, homemade soup, fries, pizza. The service and food was super, we will come back again. This is not a cozy brew pub, but what it does it does very well.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Tom, Beaver Dam, WI
(04/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Very good beer at decent prices. Friendly service, nice atmosphere. Avoid the plain lagers, good selection of real micro beers. Great burgers and fries.

We will definitely return.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Tom, Beaver Dam, WI
(02/04/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! So So Lousy Great
First time visitors to the dells, the food was over priced and we had a lot of problems with it, regardless, we had a great time. The beer isn't world class but it can definitely stand on its own. Come summer, we will surely be stocking up on their great beer. Hope it becomes available to buy outside of just in the restaurant.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jane Jane, Madison, WI
(01/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Good Good
I stopped in at Moosejaw over the weekend to try the beer. We didn't have a meal, so this review is strictly encompassing the beer. They have a large selection of beers, with 10 on draft. I had the 10 beer sampler (which was very reasonably priced at around $10, for 5 oz samples) As a fan of beer with flavor, I was mostly dissappointed with the selection. The first 6 beers on the sampler were very light tasting, watered down beers, which try to appeal to the macro beer drinkers. At least I can say that they all tasted fresh, and there was no evidence of contamination or dirty lines. It would just be a personal preference of mine to have more of the heartier tasting beers available, especially during the cold months. I did enjoy the Porter, Winter Ale, Kilbourn Hop Ale, and the Bock. The bartenders were wonderful on this visit, though I have seen bad service in Wisconsin Dells at other establishments on numerous occassions.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Jim, Leon Springs, TX
(12/01/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Good Great
I drove my family up from Georgia because I'm considering moving up there. While I was there we visited Moosejaw and had a wonderful time!! The beer(10 sampler) was great, and the pizza was awesome!!! 4 thumbs up from my wife, my 7 year old, my 3 year old and myself!! If I move back to Wisconsin, I'll definetely be back!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Isbell Michael Isbell, Woodstock, GA
(10/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
My wife and I went to mooseJaw 3 times on our short vacation in October. The beer was just great as was the food and service. I totaly disagree with some previous reviews. We tried several of their beers and kept going back for this reason. We tried differant food each time and were never disappointed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robert A. Krepsky Robert A. Krepsky, Sheboygan, WI
(10/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy Lousy So So
What happend to the great fresh food? Everything is so bland and blah now. This place has turned into just another dells restaurant serving the bare minimum garbage at high prices. The food is reminiscent of a denny's or IHOP now and the beer isn't much better. Did someone really find band-aid in their food? I can't believe how far this place has slipped, Please bring back the good food you used to have.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Cheryl Beisterson Cheryl Beisterson, Chicago, IL
(09/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Lousy So So
My family has been gathering in the Dells for almost 10 years now and for the 3rd consecutive year we have visited the Moosejaw. Reading the previously posted reviews, I must concur. There has been a drastic decrease in the quality of all aspects of this restaurant. The level of service was close to completely unacceptable, the beer isn't what it used to be and the food just doesn't seem as fresh as it did the previous 2 years. The current state of the restaurant is closer to what one would expect if this was their 1st summer, not their 3rd.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ron Donaldson Ron Donaldson, Sacramento, CA
(08/31/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A Lousy Lousy Lousy
Our visit started out quite well but, when we saw another table bite into a pizza and find a band-aid in it, it really ruined the whole night. A BAND-AID IN THEIR PIZZA!!!!! How repulsive is that?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Reuss Scott Reuss, Pokepsie, NY
(08/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Given what I would expect to find in a hideous artificial tourist sinkhole like Wisconsin Dells, this is actually pretty good. The beers were, to my palate, generally competent, unspectacular, but quite drinkable. You can sample all 10 on a cool Wisconsin-shaped platter. The Dunkel was the best, Pils and Blonde Bock were nice as well. Food: I had a taco pizza, odd choice I suppose but not at all bad. Friendly, efficient service. Hey, this is one of those times I'm not looking for "the best" and I didn't get it, but it was a nice pit stop on the road to the Twin Cities and I've certainly met worse, much worse food and beer in my travels.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from muzzlehatch muzzlehatch, Burlington, VT
(07/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So So So So So
I guess I should have read the reviews on this website before I walked into this place and drank their cookie-cutter beer. Just the fact that it attracts clientele who think being a tourist destination excuses lackluster quality and service speaks volumes about this joint. I really don't want to hear waitstaff whine about how they're fed up with tourists. Too bad -- either suck it up or find another line of work. Tourism is the *entire basis* of your town's economy, and it's the reason you have a job in the first place. Yeah, I know, Wisconsinites get tired of boorish Chicagoans conquering their state on every holiday weekend. I'll even grant that some of their complaints are legitimate. But when I'm minding my manners and I'm spending money keeping you employed, making me feel unwelcome is a sure-fire way to ensure I don't spend money in your place again and warn others to stay away.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Larry P Larry P, Geneva, IL
(07/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Lousy Good
An amazing building and tremendous atmosphere with a ton of unrealized potential. A real "catch-all" theme to the menu with no emphasis on anything being top notch and a second rate brewing system that turns out amazingly good beer, high five to the brewer. You will get just enough not to have complaints. This place COULD be a nationally renowned restaurant with its location and architecture but, it is in need of someone with restaurant experience to get ahold of it, for now its just unrealized potential.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Roger Delany Roger Delany, terre haute, IN
(07/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
There has been lot said about this place recently, some praising and some critical of Moose Jaw. This is indeed a large restaurant that primarily caters to tourist families visiting the Wisconsin Dells area. There was a waiting list on the Sunday evening of Memorial Day weekend. There is a bar on each of three levels, with displays of beer cans and trays in the lower level among the arcade games, darts and other diversions.

The several Moose Jaw beers that I tried were pretty good – a well-done altbier, a dark and complex brown ale that seemed more porter-like in terms of color and flavor profile, and the Kilbourn Hop Ale, a nicely hopped amber ale. Our food choices included a pizza, a calzone and a Portobello sandwich. We had no complaints. A couple of Moose Jaw beers were also found at the Showboat Saloon on Broadway in downtown Wisconsin Dells.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(06/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
OK, I think some people are over reacting here. Admittedly the menu is lacking in direction and the food has decreased in quality but, this is a tourist restaurant aimed at getting the money out of your pocket....you people complaining are expecting too much. The size of the place alone should tell you you are not gonna get the best service or food but, for being so big the place has great beer and edible food at normal high tourist place prices...you just have to be willing to wait a little longer than what you are used to at home.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from anon anon, LaCrosse, WI
(05/18/2004)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.541 seconds) 13:29:14 54.204.94.228, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS