PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Terrapin Beer Company - Athens, GA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
December 19, 2014 @ 11:59 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > GA > Athens > Terrapin Beer Company
Terrapin Beer Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery
Terrapin Beer Company
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 87.5 / 100
265 Newton Bridge Road
Athens, GA 30607
United States
(888) 557-BEER
Listed Since: August 2002
Last Updated: September 2009
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Athens, GA
Beer Guide for Georgia

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
10 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

Recent News
Tasting Notes: Terrapin Side Project Maggie’s Farmhouse Ale

From the archives: Brewery Spotlight on Terrapin Brewery


bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Magnolia Terrace Guest House
2) Nicholson House Historic Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) ATHENS DOWNTOWN TRAVELODGE
2) BEST WESTERN COLONIAL INN
3) COURTYARD ATHENS DOWNTOWN
4) DAYS INN ATHENS GA
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Athens Factory
2) Athens Manufacturing Company
3) Bishop House
4) Brightwell Shotgun Row
5) Camak House
6) Carnegie Library Building
7) Chase, Albon, House
8) Chestnut Grove School
9) Church-Waddel-Brumby House
10) Clarke County Jail
11) Cobb, T. R. R., House
12) Cobb-Treanor House
13) Crane, Ross, House
14) Dearing, Albin P., House
15) First African Methodist Episcopal Church
16) Franklin House
17) Garden Club of Georgia Museum-Headquarters House,Founder's Memorial Garden
18) Grady, Henry W., House
19) Hamilton, Dr. James S., House
20) Jones, Abe, House
21) Lucy Cobb Institute Campus
22) Lumpkin, Gov. Wilson, House
23) Lumpkin, Joseph Henry, House
24) Morton Building
25) Newton House
26) Parr, Calvin W., House
27) Parrott Insurance Building
28) President's House
29) Rocksprings Shotgun Row Historic District
30) Sledge, James A., House
31) Sorrells, R. P., House
32) Thomas-Carithers House
33) Upson House
34) Ware-Lyndon House
35) White Hall
36) Wilkins House
37) Woodlawn Historic District
38) Young Women's Christian Association Complex
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Bumpers
2) Burger King
3) Depalmas Italian Cafe
4) Lee Epting Catering
5) What's Cooking
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!
Terrapin has opened their new 45,000 square feet Athens brewery located at 255 Newton Bridge Road. Regular tours will take place every Monday and Thursday from 5-7pm and the second Saturday of each month from 2-5pm.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Owen Ogletree Owen Ogletree, Watkinsville, GA
(02/17/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
I had there beer at the Hickory Hops festival. The beer was great and everyone loves the Terrapin t-shirt that Irene awarded me. She sure knows hot to apply tatoo's ans is fun to be around. Sorry guys it took me so long to give you an A+ but I had a blast with you guys at the beer festival.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Andrew Horner Andrew Horner, Laurens, SC
(08/09/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!
Big Hoppy Monster... Thats all I have to say!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Sprague Steve Sprague, Cullowhee, NC
(01/09/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A Awesome!
I tried the Rye Pale Ale at both the Taco Mac and Mellow Mushroom in downtown Athens. They also have it at the Globe. This is a fantastic, hoppy beer and it's great to see not only such high quality but also something a little different. It's unlike any beer I've had and I've had thousands of different kinds over the years.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Greg Jenson Greg Jenson, Chicago, IL
(05/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Good Good Awesome!
RYE TERRAPIN PALE ALE IS THE BEST BEER I'VE EVER HAD, I TELL ALL MY COWORKERS AND FRIENDS ABOUT IT. ITS THE ONLY REASON WE GO TO THE RESTAURANT. MY WIFE EVEN DRINKS IT, AND SHE USUALLY DOESN'T ENJOY GOOD BEER.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ROSS ROSS, WOODSTOCK, GA
(12/19/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A N/A
I have had Terrapin Rye PA on tap at other various location about Atlanta including TacoMac's and the new Max Lager's at the Mall of GA....I also had it at the Beerfest in Duluth, GA on 7-19-03..... I had to keep going back for more as it was JUST THAT GOOD...plus it was the only beer that the beerfest ran out of...due to everybody flocking to it.... too bad you can't get it in bottles...kegs are a bit big to carry around..Terrapin is my favorite beer to date..I prefer Scotch Ales but, Terrapin Rye PA is top notch in my book....Doh!!!! I made me self thirsty off to Max Lager's I go...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Doug, Lawrenceville, GA
(07/26/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A Awesome!
My god, this Terrapin Rye Pale Ale is incredible! If these guys can raise the funds to start their own brewery, I want my own chair at the bar. Hopefully, it will not adversely affect Athens' only other current brewpub, Copper Creek, which is producing some outstanding beers in its own right. Run, don't wlk, to your nearest Terrapin Rye P.A.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Hopsedge Hopsedge, Athens, GA
(06/13/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A Great
Just a quick update: Terrapin Rye P.A. won a gold medal in its first try at the 2002 Great American Beer Festival in Denver - pretty impressive. The new website indicates that there is an effort being made to raise money to build a brewery in Athens.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(12/20/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A N/A
Wonderful brew! I can't get enough of it!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Athens, GA
(10/01/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So N/A N/A Great
This is a new contract brewery, so don't go looking for a brewing facility. The brewer is currently using Dogwood Brewing to produce his first beer. There is apparently talk of building a brewery, but you know how that often goes with these contract companies. The first offering is Terrapin Rye P. A., an assertively hopped version with an American Pale Ale with the rye grain adding to the distinctiveness of the flavor. It is available on draft at a number of locations in the Athens area, including the Mellow Mushroom. Reportedly, other brews are planned. Definitely worth a try if in Athens.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(08/25/2002)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.755 seconds) 23:59:39 54.166.33.25, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS