PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Downtown Grill and Brewery - Knoxville, TN
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
November 23, 2014 @ 04:44 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > TN > Knoxville > Downtown Grill and Brewery
Downtown Grill and Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Downtown Grill and Brewery
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 80.8 / 100
424 South Gay Street
Knoxville, TN 37902
United States
Listed Since: December 2002
Last Updated: November 2006
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Knoxville, TN
Beer Guide for Tennessee

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Downtown Grill and Brewery
37 Reviews / 2 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(6 within 5 miles)
1) Preservation Pub
(0 mile)

2) Urban Bar and Corner Cafe
(0 mile)

3) Mellow Mushroom
(1 mile)

4) The Half Barrel
(1 mile)

5) Barley's Taproom
(1 mile)

6) New Knoxville Brewing Company
(3 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Maplehurst Inn
2) Masters Manor Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) CLARION INN KNOXVILLE
2) COMFORT INN KNOXVILLE TN
3) DAYS INN CAMPUS
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Bleak House
2) Blount, William, Mansion
3) Burwell Building Tennessee Theater
4) Camp House
5) Cowan, McClung and Company Building
6) Craighead-Jackson House
7) Daniel House
8) Dulin, H. L., House
9) Fire Station No. 5
10) First Baptist Church
11) First Presbyterian Church Cemetery
12) General Building
13) Holston National Bank
14) Jackson Avenue Warehouse District
15) Jackson Avenue Warehouse District Extension
16) Johnson, Andrew, Hotel
17) Knox County Courthouse
18) Knoxville Business College
19) Knoxville Iron Foundry Complex-Nail Factory and Warehouse
20) Knoxville National Cemetery
21) Knoxville Post Office
22) Knoxville YMCA Building
23) Lamar House Hotel
24) Louisville and Nashville Freight Depot
25) Louisville and Nashville Passenger Station
26) Mabry, Joseph Alexander, Jr., House
27) Mall Building
28) Marble Springs
29) Market Square Commercial Historic District
30) McCammon, Samuel, House
31) Mechanics' Bank and Trust Company Building
32) Medical Arts Building
33) Middlebrook
34) Old Knoxville City Hall
35) Old Post Office Building
36) Ossoli Circle Clubhouse
37) Park City Junior High School
38) Park, James, House
39) Peters House
40) Racheff, Ivan, House
41) South Market Historic District
42) St. John's Lutheran Church
43) Trinity Methodist Episcopal Church
44) Tyson Junior High School
45) Westwood
46) Wilder, Gen. John T., House
47) Williams, Col. John, House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 17th Street Market & Deli
2) 195 Degrees
3) 4620
4) A J's Restaurant
5) Abner's Attic
6) Aklouk Mouna
7) Ale Ment
8) Arby's
9) Arby's
10) Arby's
11) Banana Joe's Knoxville
12) Barley's Taproom & Pizzeria
13) Bela Roma Deli Pizza & Pasta
14) Bistro At The Bijou
15) Blimpie Subs & Salads
16) Blue Cats
17) Buffalo Wild Wings Grill & Bar
18) Burger King
19) Burger King
20) Burrito Diablo
21) Butcher Shop Steakhouse
22) Calhoun's
23) Campus Pub
24) Captain D's Seafood Restaurant
25) Carousel
26) Central Park Usa Inc
27) Charlie Peppers Corporate Ofc
28) Charlie Peppers Restaurant
29) Chef Daves's At Cedar Hills
30) Chesapeake's
31) Chesapeake's
32) Chick-Fil-A
33) Chili's Grill & Bar
34) Club Corp
35) Comedy Zone
36) Cool Beans Restaurant & Tavern
37) Copper Cellar Restaurant
38) Corky's Rib & Bbq CATERING
39) Corky's Ribs & Bbq
40) Country Garden
41) Court-Top Cafe
42) Domino's Pizza
43) Domino's Pizza
44) Domino's Pizza
45) Doris' Diner
46) Downtown Grill & Brewery
47) Dynasty Express Restaurant
48) East Side Soul Food
49) El Charro Mexican Restaurant
50) Eleventh Street Expresso
51) Fairbanks Roasting Room
52) Falafel Hut
53) Fiction
54) Finish Line Subs & Such
55) Firehouse Subs
56) Flamingo's
57) Foundry On The Fair Site
58) Frances' Diner
59) Garelli's Deli
60) Garelli's Deli
61) Glenwood Sandwich Shop
62) Gli Food Svc
63) Great American Steak & Buffet
64) Great Southern Brewing Co
65) Great Wall
66) Gus's Good Times Deli
67) Gus's Restaurant
68) Hanna's Cafe
69) Hanna's Cafe
70) Hardee's
71) Harold's Kosher Style Food Ctr
72) Hawkeye's Corner
73) Hibachi Factory Inc
74) Higher Grounds Inc
75) Hoho Chinese Restaurant
76) House Of Dragon
77) J Scott's
78) Java Old City
79) Jerry's Cafe
80) Jimmy John's
81) Jo Ann's Restaurant
82) Jockey Club
83) Junior's Restaurant
84) Kashmir Indian Restaurant
85) Kfc
86) Kfc
87) KFC District Office
88) Knoxville Billiard Club
89) Krystal
90) Krystal
91) Kyoto Express Japanese
92) L & N Station
93) Linda's Country Kitchen
94) Long Branch Saloon
95) Long John Silver's
96) Lord Lindsey
97) Lucille's
98) Lunch Box
99) M & M Restaurant
100) Mac Leods
101) Macleod's
102) Magnolia Lounge
103) Magnolia Warehouse
104) Manhattan's Bistro & Bar
105) Marcella's Restaurant
106) Mc Alister's Gourmet Deli
107) Mc Donald's
108) Mc Donald's
109) Mc Donald's
110) Mellow Mushroom
111) Melting Pot Restaurant
112) Melting Pot Restaurant
113) Mike & Willies
114) Mike's Jersey
115) Moe's Grill
116) Moe's Southwest Grill
117) Moto Japanese Restaurant
118) Mountainview Enterprises Inc
119) Mrs Winner's Chicken & Biscuit
120) Mrs Winner's Chicken & Biscuit
121) Ms D's Restaurant
122) Nama Sushi Bar
123) Natours Time Out Deli
124) New China Town Restaurant
125) New City Cafe
126) O'Charley's
127) Old City Java
128) Old College Inn Restaurant
129) Panera Bread
130) Papa John's Cafe
131) Papa John's Pizza
132) Papa John's Pizza
133) Pasta Trio
134) Patrick Sullivan's Saloon
135) Peking Chinese Restaurant
136) Pete's Cafe
137) Pete's Coffee Shop Restaurant
138) Petro's Chili & Chips
139) Pilot Light
140) Pita Pit
141) Pizza Hut
142) Preservation Pub
143) Quiznos Sub
144) Rally's Hamburgers Inc
145) Ramsey's Cafeteria Inc
146) Rankin Restaurant
147) Real Peking Chinese Restaurant
148) Red Iguana
149) Regas Restaurant
150) Regency Caterers By Hyatt
151) Riverside Tavern
152) Room Service
153) Rt Warehouse
154) Ruby Tuesday
155) Ruby Tuesday
156) Sapphire
157) Sassy Ann's
158) Schlotzsky's Deli
159) Scruggs Real Pit Barbecue
160) Shoney's Restaurant
161) Silver Cuisine Pizza & Pub Inc
162) Smoky Mountain Ribs & Bar-B-Q
163) Smoothie King
164) So Ho Bar
165) Soup Kitchen
166) Southern Vittles Restaurant
167) Spicy's
168) Spicy's
169) Starbucks
170) Steak-Out
171) Steamboat Sandwiches
172) Stefano's Chicago Style Pizza
173) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
174) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
175) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
176) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
177) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
178) Sunspot Restaurant
179) Szechuan Garden Chinese Rstrnt
180) Taco Bell
181) Taco Bell
182) Taj Fine Indian Cuisine
183) Takeno Corp
184) Tap Room
185) Tennessee Business Enterprises
186) Tennessee Grill
187) Tennessee Riverboat Co
188) Texas Roadhouse
189) Tijuana Taco Co
190) Tomato Head
191) Urban Bar & Corner Cafe
192) Vick & Bill's
193) Viva Fajita
194) Wendy's
195) Wendy's
196) Wing Shack
197) Wing Zone
198) Wong's Palace
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Lousy So So So So
I am in Knoxville this week for a week long professional course and decided to try out the well known Downtown Grille & Brewery on 12-01-09, which just happens to be my 33rd birthday. We had fairly high expectations based on the reputation. The atmosphere is very cool and appealing, but the food was quite poor while the service was friendly but less than satisfactory. My brother and I both ordered their specialty steaks, and both were overcooked and tougher than any steak that we had previously consumed anywhere in the past. The steaks seemed comparable to a steak that one might get at an all-you-can-eat buffet at Barnhills or Ryan's Steak House buffet. The beer was fair, not terrible but not good either. Our waiter did not even ask us once if we were enjoying our meal, so maybe he knew better than to ask??? We were very disappointed in our experience, and we are not picky customers, to say the least... We will not return.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Clark Burrow Clark Burrow, Memphis, TN
(12/01/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Great
I had an IPA and an Alt, and I sampled the Stout and English Pale ale. Of the four beers I tasted, the English IPA was quite good. I'm not an expert on the Alt style, but it was malty and rather tasty as well. The English Pale ale was good, but the Stout left me flat. It was thin, and I believe just not matured. From my experience, this is not unusual for microbrew stouts. It seems they often sell stouts before they have time to fully develop. Overall, while there was only 7 beers on tap, they were worth sampling.

As for food, the place is just what it says it is; a grill and brewery. I had a grilled chicken sandwich that didn't let me down. The service was good, although I was there before busy hours.

If you're in Knoxville, this brewery is worth trying.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James James, Rome, NY
(04/24/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Good
Visited on a Tuesday night and the place was packed. (Always a good sign) Got carded, first time in 27 years, strict company policy. Tried their IPA, the best seller I was told and found it just OK. Also tried the State Street Stout, which was pretty good and the New World Porter which was just so-so. Food menu was pretty varied however, my burrito was pretty bland and tasteless. Great building and decor, worth a visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nate McDonald Nate McDonald, Harrisburg, PA
(10/15/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Awesome!
Incredible english style ales. Fun place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Wayne Wayne, Knoxville, tn
(08/28/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Great
I really like downtown Knoxville, and this spot is right in the middle. They have a good selection of some very solid beers. Nothing really knocked my socks off but on the other hand I didn't try anything that wasn't up to par. They have great happy hour deals on food if you're on a budget, and they no longer allow smoking inside.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dustin Dustin, Bend, OR
(02/27/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So So So Good
My boyfriend and I, along with another couple, went there a few weeks ago and I wasn't very impressed. The beer was really good but the food was over priced for what they offer. Not to mention the service was horrible. Our waitress disappeared after we got our food so the bartender had to give us refills. At one point, my boyfriend had to go to the bar to get a refill on his drink. Overall, it's a nice place to drink but I wouldn't recommend the food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Knoxville, TN
(10/05/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great
DIFFICULT TO APPRECIATE THESE FINE BEERS IN AN ASHTRAY. BLOWING SMOKE, SNEEZING, AND COUGHING INTO THE HANGING MUGS ISN'T TO APPEALING. I'M NOT A BIG MUG-CLUB GUY. I KNOW ITS THE SOUTH, YA'ALL, BUT STEP INTO YEAR 2007 AND ASK YOUR PATRONS TO SMOKE OUTSIDE. YOUR BEERS WILL THANK YOU FOR IT. HOME TEAM 0 VISITORS 1.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JIMBO JIMBO, SPRINGFIELD, OH
(03/10/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Visited at the end of December. Great atmosphere in downtown Knoxville. I tried the sampler and all the beer was a very good representation of its style. The IPA was good (more of a British, than an American IPA). My favorite was the Stout.

Kid friendly and the food was outstanding. You have to try the cheese dip with hot pretzel app. I could have just eaten that (the wife agrees).

Worth the stop and I'd recommend going. This will be a must stop for me if I'm ever in Knoxville again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Paynter Eric Paynter, Richmond, VA
(02/03/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
I visited this brewpub on 10/22/06 and had the following brews; Woodruff IPA, White Mule Ale, State Street Stout, New World Porter, Downtown Nut Brown, Downtown Blonde Ale, and Alt. The beers were well within my expected parameters. I had a very good experience here. They have darts and free pool on Sundays. Souvenier pint glasses are available. This will be my stop when I return to Knoxville.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from G. L. Averill G. L. Averill, Lakeway, TX
(11/01/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Outstanding experience. Quality beers and food. Professional, clean, courteous, popular. Great IPA! I loved the fish & chips and beer-battered mushrooms. Great location. Ample free parking on street.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review sf, CA
(05/25/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo.  Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(03/21/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo.  Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(11/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good So So Good
The brews at Downtown are average, but drinkable. The food is okay, but the menu in general is terribly overpriced, probably owing to its location in the heart of downtown Knoxville's white collar business district. My biggest complaint is that beer production is apparently conducted on a shoestring. I have never entered the establishment for a pint when at least one of their main beers was out. The biggest compliment I can give them is that they are at least trying to keep handcrafted beer production alive in Knoxville. For that alone, I will continue to drop in from time-to-time.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James Gore James Gore, Pigeon Forge, TN
(04/29/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Great
While their own microbrews are pretty good, I would like to see more variety of beers, although I guess if you want people to drink your beer, you don't want to sell everyone else's. Try the porter.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Alan Webster Alan Webster, Knoxville, TN
(04/19/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Great Great
This is a great establishment for Knoxville. During lunch it is crowded so expect it. At times during the night it gets pretty crowded too, but it is well worth the crowds at times. They have about 6 or 7 beers they make. The problem is several times you may go there and they'll be out of the ones you really want to try. Their IPA, Downtown Brown, and Porter are my favorite beers. Several of my friends think the beers leave a bad taste in their mouths once it is down the hatch, but I don't agree. If you want to join a Mug Club, I recommend this one. More pint nights, more beer per glass and the staff will get to know you alot more and have your mug poured when they see you approach with your favorite ale; what service. The food is also pretty good. I haven't had a meal I didn't enjoy, though I highly recommend the Sante Fe burger. Unlike lots of places too, if you order a piece of meat, they'll really cook it that way..again what service. Support this place and keep downtown Knoxville alive.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from carl mcginn carl mcginn, knoxville, TN
(04/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome!
Since this place is in downtown Knoxville, it gets very loud during the lunch hour. Burgers were great, service a little slow. They had a wide range of styles of beer on tap so their sampler was great. I enjoyed their white mule, clean adn crisp. The IPA was very hoppy buut had no body so it was too easy to drink.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Shannon Helling Shannon Helling, Tampa, FL
(02/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So N/A Good So So
The beer was the worst of the four I tried in Nashville

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Henry W. Milewski Henry W. Milewski, Panama City, FL
(12/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Lousy Lousy
The main problem I have is that your establishment is segregated. You seem to have different rules for people that you know. A rule such as "last call" should apply to everybody in your establishment, not just people that you do not know. Maybe you are used to 3rd world rules, but I am not. I will NEVER spend another dime in your establishment. It seems that your ownership does not care whatsoever about the service offered, but that is what is important to me--a FORMER customer! I would NOT recommend this as a place to visit! By the way, the service in general was also not good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tony Tony, KNoxville, TN
(11/21/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
Downtown Grill and Brewery is Knoxville’s premiere brewpub, with about six or seven products on tap at all times. Every product brewed here is ale, and that means all the beer products have a pronounced hop flavor- quite different from what you expect in the typical brewpub. I enjoy them all, from the lighter colored Downtown Blonde Ale (Kolsch style) to the darker and richer State Street Stout.

Food at this establishment is pretty good, and the prices are excellent. During happy hour, all pints are reduced by fifty percent, bringing the price down to about $2. Add to that the fun atmosphere with pool tables upstairs, televisions throughout, and bands on weekends and you have all the makings of a great American urban brewpub.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bryan Carey Bryan Carey, Knoxville, TN
(08/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good
The beers were good, I tried them all. None of them really stood out though. If you like to play pool they have a great place for that and to have a micro-brewed beer while playing was even better. Didn't try any of the food but it sure smelled and looked good. I would definetly stop again if I am ever in town.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from RANDY LIPSCY RANDY LIPSCY, Guthrie, MN
(08/21/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great
Spent a lot of time talking with Asst Brewmaster, Joey. He is very knowledgeable and he and Al brew some excellent beers!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Mertie Scott Mertie, Nashville, TN
(06/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Nice place. Beer was very refreshing. Had a little trouble trying to buy a mug, but worked it out with D.Goss. Awesome growler!!! I will be proud to serve my home brew from it. Thanks! See you at Bristol next year. Need to have pint glasses for sale on the web site so we can order online.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Brian, Staunton, IL
(03/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This was my first visit to the Brewery, and we had my birthday dinner there tonight, and it was wonderful. There was plenty of room for our table of 12, the service was helpful and timely, and the food was excellent. I will definitely return!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Natalie Natalie, Maryville, TN
(03/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy So So Lousy So So
They were out of two beers (of eight) that we requested on a Friday night. Our service was terrible!!!! And, the food was just okay. We'll never go there again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Knoxville, TN
(02/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
they now have patios front and back, and are running a shuttle service to ut football games. how cool!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from duane rogers duane rogers, knoxville, TN
(09/02/2003)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.882 seconds) 16:44:07 54.166.53.169, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS